Tasmanian Devils??

rene pogel

Draftee
Fitzroy
I just had a call from a mate of mine who works at Cadbury Schweppes, and he told me that he had just got out of a meeting where they were discussing the possibility of Melbourne playing 4-6 games a year at Bellerive Oval in Hobart, and for them to change their name to the Tassie Devils!!

Couldn't see it happening, but apparantly the company is keen to pump stacks of $$$$ into the club, and my mate reckons the club would be mad not to look at it.

Originally posted by rene pogel
I just had a call from a mate of mine who works at Cadbury Schweppes, and he told me that he had just got out of a meeting where they were discussing the possibility of Melbourne playing 4-6 games a year at Bellerive Oval in Hobart, and for them to change their name to the Tassie Devils!!

Couldn't see it happening, but apparantly the company is keen to pump stacks of $$$$ into the club, and my mate reckons the club would be mad not to look at it.

No thanx!

1 or 2 (In place of the Brisbane home game) maybe, as long as we get compensated with an extra MCG game like we do now.

I'm 100% against any more of these deals if they alter anything to do with the name or basic idea of a Melbourne Football Club HOWEVER we're not exactly in the strongest bargaining position and if we keep losing money and relying on handouts and the AFL were to say "Move to Tassie or we stop funding you" and it means the death of the club what are the board going to do? Tell them to get stuffed and play in the Western Districts League or something?

I sure as hell wouldn't be following them if they moved, but I'm sure some would see it as being a better option than the complete obliteration of the club.

Which city are they going to play in? And do they have to wear those traditional green and gold Tasmanian colors? I could come up with 20 nicknames if you told me that. Most of them would be ****, but you can't have it all :D

Im sure the Tassie Devils who play in the VFL, and will remain the Tassie Devils if they are ever involved in the AFL, would have some decent lawsuits filed against Melbourne if they pulled such a stunt!

cheers,
ons.
http://www.vflfooty.com

Originally posted by onslaught
Im sure the Tassie Devils who play in the VFL, and will remain the Tassie Devils if they are ever involved in the AFL, would have some decent lawsuits filed against Melbourne if they pulled such a stunt!

cheers,
ons.
http://www.vflfooty.com

I'm not taking it seriously & neither should anyone else.

Dunno if it was a couple of blokes who look at Big Footy or not, but I was talking to 2 blokes at a pub here in Sydney and they were talking about this.

I reckon it is rubbish, but where there is smoke.....

Originally posted by rabs68
Dunno if it was a couple of blokes who look at Big Footy or not, but I was talking to 2 blokes at a pub here in Sydney and they were talking about this.

I reckon it is rubbish, but where there is smoke.....

An AFL rumour about the MFC coming out of Sydney?:confused:

I smell something too...