Tasmanian Football Thread

mightymagpie1999 said:
Gary Hayes is a very underestimated player. Since his less skillful days at Glenorchy he has seen a specialist running coach,and AFL Tasmanian development coaches to work with him over the past two years. He now has the hands of Stewie Lowe, Skills like james hird, and the attitude of warrick capper. Look out for this boy. Nick Foot has also been working hard over the past few weeks to prepare for the game he misses football and is looking for a unlucky victim at the first bounce of the game for his welcome back to football

sorry i must be mistaken 4 another gary hayes barny

News just in...
E.C looking for the edge, plan to 'pull a Hobart' and stack their team with past E.C greats;
ALEX 'the kid' GILMORE
RYAN 'red rooster' OAKLEY
and MARK 'get me a cheeseburger' BOWDEN

cleo_2305 said:
Are you guys serious about taking Gary hayes in to the game i herd he wasnt 100% fit this could be an advatage to GYC also have herd there is a few other players underdone for the big clash

Hayes will undergo a fitness test tomorrow to see if he can play there are alot of people praying in the EC camp that he can play and will come through with the goods!! Apparently Ben Lehner will play a key position role at centre half back in the abscence of colin garland who is attending the draft camp

just been told that brendan midson will kick 4 goals and be best on ground. He will have a massive cheer squad there

TALK THE TALK
BUT
CAN THIS GAME WALK THE TALK
will the EC boy rise for glory
will the nick foot's rise
is it worth having a sick day For ?????

J Kleeman is set to pack his bags and head north after a 6 hour

long meeting with players and coaches for the Bunie Dockers

kleeman who will head up north knock back ofters from all over

that state Kleeman was not able to coment today

Thank f..k the AFL Grand Final wasn't a draw!

With all this publicity for Wednesday's blockbuster, there'd be nobody interested in the AFL GF replay!

Heard Dave Kamaric's name linked to DOSA today. Could throw a spanner in the works of Richmond/OHA/Claremont/Whoever else's hopes of getting "Disco"?!

Also heard Adam Whitford's name mentioned tonight among the New Norfolk influx to the Central Hawks, heard Gavin Hanlon mentioned yesterday as well, any others rumoured to be making the move, Ozguy?

Central Hawks on the rise, New Norfolk on the dive or both?

OR, as Michael Maple once told me - "She's the silly season for rumours!"

Barge said:
Thank f..k the AFL Grand Final wasn't a draw!

With all this publicity for Wednesday's blockbuster, there'd be nobody interested in the AFL GF replay!

Heard Dave Kamaric's name linked to DOSA today. Could throw a spanner in the works of Richmond/OHA/Claremont/Whoever else's hopes of getting "Disco"?!

Also heard Adam Whitford's name mentioned tonight among the New Norfolk influx to the Central Hawks, heard Gavin Hanlon mentioned yesterday as well, any others rumoured to be making the move, Ozguy?

Central Hawks on the rise, New Norfolk on the dive or both?

OR, as Michael Maple once told me - "She's the silly season for rumours!"

Have heard Adam's name mentioned as well. Former Bothwell player so would fit in well amongst his old mates.

Talk of Jarrod Horne returning from Richmond, and maybe he might bring Adad Daft along with him. That is pure speculation on my part however.

In othe news.
North Hobart utility player Micheal Hall has been said to have undergone negotiations with Dodges Ferry and also Kingston football club. Micky Hall has been in and out of the North Hobart senior side like a makeshift milk crate for a seat. Hall now thinks it is time to leave the demons for better opporunities and more cash. His career manager Jason '****ty' Devine stated that "hall has a 60% chance of going to the sharks and a 40% chance of going to the tigers. He also said that hall will play for no less than $25 a game".Jason also rubbed his eyes at the prospect of his long time mate and client Micky Hall furthering his career at the cream of the teams in the SFL.

Ozguy said:
Talk of Jarrod Horne returning from Richmond, and maybe he might bring Adad Daft along with him. That is pure speculation on my part however.

Daft was reportedly going to return to Glenorchy this year but was talked into having one more year at Richmond. I bet he's glad he decided to stay.

Would be very handy. Horne on his own will be handy should be return.

Would be very surprised if he doesn't.

Hi all, am a Tassie boy livin in canberra, goin to Uni here. This thread is great, gives me the low down about footy back home. Thanks. now that footys over, do most of yas switch to following cricket? Do you follow Tassie pretty closely, or just the Aussies. Just wondering, because after the success of this thread, i was looking at, or suggesting that someone start a Tas cricket thread over on the cricket board. Look foward to your thoughts/comments. Thanks.

hotdish said:
Hi all, am a Tassie boy livin in canberra, goin to Uni here. This thread is great, gives me the low down about footy back home. Thanks. now that footys over, do most of yas switch to following cricket? Do you follow Tassie pretty closely, or just the Aussies. Just wondering, because after the success of this thread, i was looking at, or suggesting that someone start a Tas cricket thread over on the cricket board. Look foward to your thoughts/comments. Thanks.

The idea sounds good to me. I'm in.

hotdish said:

Just start one.;)

One more sleep until the big game and things are hotting up!....Two GYC Students were seen yesterday afternoon to be peaking through the elizabeth college gym windows during a closed EC Training Session! Is this a sign that GYC may be worried going into the game and do not know what to expect? Gary Hayes will undergo a fitness test this afternoon so watch this space for information on him. EC positions will be announced today Pity that GYC haven't joined in the fun and put thier side on this website for those who are intrested but ohwell. Can garuntee this game should be a good contest

GOT_TO_LIFT said:
J Kleeman is set to pack his bags and head north after a 6 hour

long meeting with players and coaches for the Bunie Dockers

kleeman who will head up north knock back ofters from all over

that state Kleeman was not able to coment today

I can tell you now there wasn't a six hour meeting with any of Burnie's players. And that is a fact!

Two Blue said:
I can tell you now there wasn't a six hour meeting with any of Burnie's players. And that is a fact!

No thats right he couldnt of been at a six hour meeting with burnie as he was having a beer with the Bracknell football side and chatting about the possibility of joining for 2007 and perhaps reserecting his football career in the bush away from media hype and pressure from the big footy website.

Also heard a rumour that Alex Gilmour may be joining Glenorchy in 2007 however i very much doubt it as he is still contracted to coahing Brighton?

And finally i know everybody has been stressing over the Gary Hayes fitness test well i can tell you he has just sent me a txt and confirmed that he HAS passed his fitness test and is right to play in the game tommorow..However a new Hayes drama has occurd with the only problem now being he has no red socks or football boots! can anybody help the young man out

Barge said:

Where did you hear that one big fella? Can't say I am surprised, there would be a few clubs after him.

No offence Barge, but some of your sources have been a little dodgy during this season. :p

Time you came out of retirement too, I can see you lining up a full forward for the mighty Ships......we need a replacement for C Grace and you would have to be in the same weight division! :D

mightymagpie1999 said:
Also heard a rumour that Alex Gilmour may be joining Glenorchy in 2007 however i very much doubt it as he is still contracted to coahing Brighton?

my understanding at the time was that it's a 2 year deal

I heard a rumour that A certain former Footscray, Clarence, Devils, lauderdale (coach), Hobert (assist Coach non playing) could be DOSA's new Playing Coach for the '07 Season.....

Also heard he will be looking to take a few ex bombers with him

cleo_2305 said:
Sorry Mightymagpie but i dont see EC getting anywhere neer GYC MM who has the caption dutys for the game and who will also take Mitchy Butters

A large Big Mac meal with and extra cheeseburger would be the best match up for butters i reckon. If he's guilfords key play then their in alot of trouble.

If guilford dont win by 100 points tomorrow their not trying just havin a quick look at EC's team. Just be careful ya dont go near midson my fellow GYC boys ya might catch something.