Telstra finally the frontrunner in CABLE connections?

Seb

Apr 4, 2003
Searching.
Fulham + NJN
Finally, Telstra have managed to become Australia's best value for money CABLE Internet provider.

To be honest, I'm a little shocked this hasn't been mentioned already, and if it has on another forum, my sincerest apologies.

For those who haven't heard anything of the new deals, they are:

Telstra has published its new "unlimited*" BigPond pricing.
$69.95 for 10GB on cable, plus unlimited usage at 64Kbit/s speed after that

$86.45 for 10GB on ADSL at 256Kbit/s speed, plus unlimited usage at 64Kbit/s after that

$116.45 for 10GB on ADSL at 512Kbit/s speed, plus unlimited usage at 64Kbit/s after that

Taking the ambiguity into account (the official release states they MAY be capped after 10 GB of data) this is a top quality deal, and a step in the right direction for Australian Broadband connections.

Being an OptusNet customer, I'm pretty envious of such a deal, and I'm really hoping Optus come up with a similiar deal pretty soon. It's amazing, instead of actually coming out and producing a respectable deal, they decide to waste their cash on advertisements - has anybody else noticed the influx of Optus ads on television the last couple of days?

Obviously, nobody really knows what steps Optus are going to take, but i would be interested to hear what people have to say on the matter, whether they think they'll release a new deal or simply stay put?

I personally cannot see Optus unveiling a new deal, particularly if history predicts the future. If i remember correctly, when Telstra implemented their 3 gig plan, Optus stuck with the famous netstats plan and animatedly declared that they would not be changing their plans or following in Telstra's footsteps. Then, under new management of course, they changed to a similar 3 gig plan (with restrictions, no free sites) the following year.

I think Optus will wait and see how heavily the new Telstra deal affects their sales. If, after the first few months of the implementation, sales are still rather potent, i feel the worst.

Telstra definitely had this in the bag from the first day they introduced a 3 gig cap. They managed to hide it from Optus and consequently, Optus are being left in the cold and in my opinion, struggling to match such a superior deal.

Thoughts?

I pay $79.95 for 512/256 ADSL (8Gb limit), with 72kb for the next 8Gb and then 64K thereafter. There's a whole lot of stuff about Peak/Off Peak, WAIX traffic and the like as well that make up the other 2Gb easily if you're careful.

And I've been getting that deal since I signed up back in January (although they changed it from 6Gb to 8Gb at some stage).

Lets be honest here, Telstra/Optus etc only get the business they do because lots of people don't know its cheaper through other companies (or perhaps that other companies exist) because they don't spend millions on TV advertising.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
With Westnet (ADSL) I pay $79 a month for 6g peak 8g off peak @ 512/128k. Westnet also allow you to have more than 1 machine legally connected. It has been that rate since March.

Blow me down , just got an Email from westnet

Dear WestNet Member,

We are pleased to announce some exciting improvements to your WestNet Premium ADSL account.

Download Limit Increases:
We are introducing generous new download limits for your Premium ADSL account. Your monthly download limit will be increased to 14GB for both peak* and off peak* time periods. Your peak and off peak monthly download limits have both increased by 6GB which means that now you can do far more with your Premium ADSL service. All this for just a 95c increase, so your monthly cost is now $79.95

• The new monthly download limits are effective for December.
• Any plan price changes will take effect from January 1 2004.

*Peak times are between 7am and Midnight each day, with off-peak being Midnight to 7am.

Excess Downloads – Price Reduction:
Excess rates have been reduced from $60 per GB to a low $10 per GB. Of course the shaping option is still available but if you wish to remain connected at full speed once you exceed your monthly limit, you will only pay $10 per GB.

Don't know what to do with the extra 6G. Have to post more on the E-girls & Pies Board. :D

Lets be honest here, Telstra/Optus etc only get the business they do because lots of people don't know its cheaper through other companies (or perhaps that other companies exist) because they don't spend millions on TV advertising.

Name a better CABLE company, not ADSL.

Nevertheless, I agree.

ADSL with Telstra is a rip off and there are plenty of other companies out there providing a better service.

Originally posted by Jim Boy
It's an improvement, but it's still expensive compared to other first world countries. Prices should drop further in a truly competitive market.

True, but let's face it... There isn't as much of a demand for Broadband Internet here in Australia, as opposed to overseas countries.

Originally posted by Shaitan
True, but let's face it... There isn't as much of a demand for Broadband Internet here in Australia, as opposed to overseas countries.

That's certainly true, the only way I can watch the footy is through the broadband (around 240Mb a match), at least you guys have it on the tv.

Actually there's no reason why Broadband shouldn't be as much in demand in Aus as elsewhere.

Originally posted by Jim Boy
That's certainly true, the only way I can watch the footy is through the broadband (around 240Mb a match), at least you guys have it on the tv.

Actually there's no reason why Broadband shouldn't be as much in demand in Aus as elsewhere.

Hmm, how do you watch the footy... do you have a membership on the AFL site?

I was just wondering if there were alternatives, partly. 240 meg isn't too bad, would be blissful if I had Telstra... Free downloads :(

Originally posted by Lethal
Switched to the new deal yesterday afternoon from the 3 Gig plan I was on. I'm paying $99 for the 3rd one mentioned as the phones with Telstra also.

Ahh thats pretty expensive.

Good thing about BigPond (for me) is that you get to download files without em going on ur usage. When I have to download patches for games that would come in handy.

Except with Telstra, if you go over you have to start paying per MB.

Optus is pretty good and will probably stay with it.

Hmm, how do you watch the footy... do you have a membership on the AFL site?

Bugger that! Just because I use the Telstra Site to watch the Footy, doesn't mean I have to be a member. The thing's a leaky boat!

Mind you it is worth paying for if you don't have an alternative as the picture really is very good considering that it is streamed. I have it hooked into the TV and it is quite superb considering what I used to have to put up with.This is of course in contrast with the rest of the AFL site.

Over here I've had unlimited broadband at 512 for years, and I'm paying around $75. But that's expensive!

I was looking at some deals at 512 unlimited for $55 with only a $50 setup fee including modem. Although the one that really catches my eye at the moment is a whopping 2MB pipe at $65 a month, you also have the option of getting wi fi with that! This is with a ridgey-didge operator as well.

And unlimited means unlimited, no time restraints, no download limits, no throttling, no excess charges.

Only because it's too expensive.

I'm with Optus cable at the moment (switching between 3gb and 6gb depending on what I need at the time) and I have no doubt they'll drop their prices soon.

If they don't, they'll simply lose customers. (including me)

Optus - 6gb/month = $129

Telstra - 10gb/month = $69

Hmmm.

Hard choice isn't it.....

Optus will change.

Optus will introduce significant changes for cable in the new year when it introduces ADSL. However, in the short term, we will ensure that our current customers are not disadvantaged. Stay tuned for an announcement on that,"

Let's hope so.

Originally posted by gPhonque
Only because it's too expensive.

Yep! And the reason it is too expensive is because Telstra take up to $46 per ADSL account.

Image this .... Take away the $46 on a $80 account, and suddenly its an affordable $34 with that Westnet account with 14 gig peak and 14 gig off-peak!

telstra is finally coming down in price but netspace adsl was pretty good on 8 gig at 512/128 for $69.95, and then dial up speeds for free after that and that is on there 2nd plan.

remember that telstra should be cheaper still as they are the wholesale monopoly on adsl and telstra workers put up the optarse cabling.

one tip go adsl as the price may of come down but i left the bigpond as cables were down in my street on the first occassion it took two weeks to fix, and on the second occassion when i could see the cable swinging in the wind from my house it took over a week.

have heard optarse are better at maintenance.

saw the new plans at work yesterday the best one is probably telstra helping set up wireless households.

be wary of new plans shop around before you jump in head first with telstra just because it may be the first time youve heard of big download limits at cheap prices,

will tell you when i find the fine print.

Originally posted by rfctigerarmy
Ahh thats pretty expensive.

Good thing about BigPond (for me) is that you get to download files without em going on ur usage. When I have to download patches for games that would come in handy.

Except with Telstra, if you go over you have to start paying per MB.

Optus is pretty good and will probably stay with it.

Meh, doesn't worry me, can afford it, I'll actually be getting it cheaper than that from next month anyway.
And also if you go over the 10Gig on Telstra now the download speed is capped, so you can still download as much as you want, just unfortunately at a much lower speed.

I was shocked when I found out about this deal cause I was in the process of looking for anouther isp. When I phoned around getting prices I noticed that I was being ripped off by Telstra I then gave Telstra a call to see if there were any other deals I could go on that could maybe match other isp's. I was currently on cable paying $87 a month with a 3 gig bite limit and I found 3 gig bites was getting used to quick because they still charge you for streaming. So when I asked him what other deals they offer he told me cable was going to be unlimited as of 1st of january and at a lower price of $69.95 I thought there was some catch but nope this is the real deal.

As for the 10gig limit and then getting slower, I dont think ill worry about that as im used to trying to stay under 3 gigs heh.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Blow me down , just got an Email from westnet

Don't know what to do with the extra 6G. Have to post more on the E-girls & Pies Board. :D

Yeah, I got that one last night as well.

As for a better Cable company, that's pretty irrelevant here in WA where the cable rollout was canned after about 10 suburbs.

Originally posted by Ari
I use Netspace.

They are fast, reliable and cheap.

512/256 8gb limit.

I would not use Telstra on principle alone... not for free.

*Can't be bothered finding the info in this thread/on netsapce site*

How much, mate?

The deal sounds fantastic but beware, I don't believe Telstra can sustain such a deal. Is there any clauses in the contract that allows them to change the terms of the deal?

BTW, if you sign up before 31st Jan, you get installation free and the first 2 months access free as well.

The more people near you that have cable, the slower it goes.
The more people download, the slower it goes.
The more people per modem at the ISP, the slower it goes.

Telstra cable is about to get a LOT slower.
Plus which, they'll have to cut costs to pay for all those lawsuits for monopolistic business practices.

Telstra finally the frontrunner in CABLE connections?