Sausage roll

Suspended
Not Fremantle
Well, it took till his fourth year and third game in before he finally realised that tackling is fairly important. We dropped some players( including Bowden and petrified) and made tackling a priority. About f****N time!!

Well guess what happened? We starting playing a lot better and even winnning or pushing much more talented sides.

So, Terry, please don't forget that it is a very important part of any successfull side.

That means the tamblings and hughes of the world should be in trouble

Well, it took till his fourth year and third game in before he finally realised that tackling is fairly important. We dropped some players( including Bowden and petrified) and made tackling a priority. About f****N time!!

Well guess what happened? We starting playing a lot better and even winnning or pushing much more talented sides.

So, Terry, please don't forget that it is a very important part of any successfull side.

I agree. After just watching the '95 Semi Final v Essendon, I realised that the 1995 side had a lot of at the ball, tackling, hard nuts. These players included Chris Bond, Michael Gale, Stuart Maxfield & Chris Naishe. Mixed in the skill of Knights & Campbell & the likes we had a team that demanded respect.

I just hope players like Thomson, Hislop & others can fill some roles that the players of 95 did

Ok think about this, Terry is using tactics. He is thinking if we can win most our games without tackling, like last year, then we can add tackling to an already successful side (collingwood pressure style) and then dominate. Think of it that way.

I agree. After just watching the '95 Semi Final v Essendon, I realised that the 1995 side had a lot of at the ball, tackling, hard nuts. These players included Chris Bond, Michael Gale, Stuart Maxfield & Chris Naishe. Mixed in the skill of Knights & Campbell & the likes we had a team that demanded respect.

I just hope players like Thomson, Hislop & others can fill some roles that the players of 95 did
I remember watching Maxfield chase down 3 guys on the wing handballing between each other, was ferocious when he got his hands on the guy with the ball!!! Need to show the young guys that footage to get some spark into them!!

Thats why getting Thomson into the side and having Shane Tuck are so important. Cogs is a fair tackler aswell.

Tambling is one of our best tacklers. Averaged 3.5 tackles last year.

By comparison:
Deledio 2.2
Newman 2
Thursty 1.2
Thomson 3.6
Polo 1.8

Quoting tackling stats...please.

Some players have the opportunity or speed to lay more tackles than others. It is about how may you missed or how many you COULd have made if you weren't cleve hughes.

Quoting tackling stats...please.

Some players have the opportunity or speed to lay more tackles than others. It is about how may you missed or how many you COULd have made if you weren't cleve hughes.

Quoting tackling stats....please????
You singled Tambo out and when someone correctly informs you he's a good tackler you act as if the stats don't matter.
If you were gonna single someone out you should've targeted Brown or Newman (who is a defender)!

Geez you are a d1k sometimes snag. Richie has his flaws but tackling is not one of them. Using him as an example is uneducated grandstanding at its best.

I was going to start another thread, but l think that this thread is relevant enough.

What l took away more from Thursday nights game, other than our poor use of the pill, was that how Richmond are a team of indiviudals and have been for so long.

If l can give Collingwood one credit, or more specifically Mick Malthouse, its that he always manages to teach his playing group to play for each other. They may not be the most talented of individuals, but they all seem to get off on playing for each other... shepharding, tackling, hard running, running to positions that benefit the team rather than running to get the ball.

Wallace has never instilled that in our side... never. All premiership team always have that bond that if they play for each, more often than not, they will win - regardless of whether they have the better talent.

Richmond seems to only win games when we are a better side talent wise, or we have a day when everything seems to go to plan.

I hope that makes sense, but l wish our team were closer than they look or at least play with the team spirit. Reckon l might open myself for a spray here... :o

Nah Wally I think you raise a valid point. Actually I was having a beer with Balls of Steel the other day after 18 holes and he was saying exactly the same thing......

As much as I hate the filth, I have always been envious of the way they have played like a team under Mick.

Nah Wally I think you raise a valid point. Actually I was having a beer with Balls of Steel the other day after 18 holes and he was saying exactly the same thing......

As much as I hate the filth, I have always been envious of the way they have played like a team under Mick.

That Balls of Steel sounds like a ripper bloke... hear he can drink a bit too!

:p

In regards to not enough tackling I agree 100% its the one area of our game that drives me insane, but that part I highlighted makes no sense when at the end of 22 rounds last year we came 16th in the league in tackling.

We will never make finals if we dont tackle enough and you only have to look at the successful teams to realise how important strong and tackling in packs are to winning footy matches :mad:

I was going to start another thread, but l think that this thread is relevant enough.

What l took away more from Thursday nights game, other than our poor use of the pill, was that how Richmond are a team of indiviudals and have been for so long.

If l can give Collingwood one credit, or more specifically Mick Malthouse, its that he always manages to teach his playing group to play for each other. They may not be the most talented of individuals, but they all seem to get off on playing for each other... shepharding, tackling, hard running, running to positions that benefit the team rather than running to get the ball.

Wallace has never instilled that in our side... never. All premiership team always have that bond that if they play for each, more often than not, they will win - regardless of whether they have the better talent.

Richmond seems to only win games when we are a better side talent wise, or we have a day when everything seems to go to plan.

I hope that makes sense, but l wish our team were closer than they look or at least play with the team spirit. Reckon l might open myself for a spray here... :o

u could tell all that after 1 nab cup game
brilliant

u could tell all that after 1 nab cup game
brilliant

Read it properly mate. I thought l was pretty constructive with my comments... l think there's some people on here that are just happy to sling shit at posters who actually think outside the square a bit.

I have admired the way Collingwood and Malthouse have done it for years... he knows how to get them up even with their backs to the wall. They've been doing it for years... probably the game that stands out the most is when they beat Port in a final over their without Buckley and Rocca.

Name me a game, when you've can remember when Wallace really got the team up and you've said, geez the boys played together today... and not just won because they should've.

:confused:

I have admired the way Collingwood and Malthouse have done it for years... he knows how to get them up even with their backs to the wall. They've been doing it for years... probably the game that stands out the most is when they beat Port in a final over their without Buckley and Rocca.

Totally agree, Sydney have been the same. I thought your first post made some good points Wally. I reckon we showed glimpses of becoming a 'team' last season, but it seems to come and go a bit whereas a side like the Filth are always in that mode. Something to work on.

Tambling is one of our best tacklers. Averaged 3.5 tackles last year.

By comparison:
Deledio 2.2
Newman 2
Thursty 1.2
Thomson 3.6
Polo 1.8

Quoting tackling stats....please????
You singled Tambo out and when someone correctly informs you he's a good tackler you act as if the stats don't matter.
If you were gonna single someone out you should've targeted Brown or Newman (who is a defender)!

Anyone who actually observes Tambling's one-armed tackling efforts would know he's not a good tackler. Those quoting his numbers should watch a game and see how many 'tackles' he makes from hovering at the edge of a pack and wrapping up a bloke who was going nowhere anyway. He is not a good tackler. Try to recall one instance where he has chased a man down or stopped someone in their tracks. Have you EVER had cause to cry, "Great TACKLE, Tambo!"? It would be akin to praising a Pettifer handpass.
I like Richie, but Libba he ain't.:D

No sprays from me Wal, I've been thinking that same thing for a round a decade or so. Too may individuals looking after their own asses and it is so easy to prove, how many tackles do our "stars" lay? zip, that's left to the young guys like White, Jackson, even Kingy etc guys you would call the foot soldiers.
When did you last see a "star" handpass or kick to someone with a better chance at the big sticks? Does'nt happen often. When did you see a "star" lay a shepherd for a foot soldier, it just doesn't happen.
And who do we get stuck into when they make a poor kicks etc , the foot soldiers.

Give me a team of soldiers than a team of "stars" anyday.