Tim_#8

Gday guys

Im travelling over to bangkok later on in the year with my mates and really have no idea where we want to be located. obviously we will be very into the nigt life as we are all quite young just wanting to know if anyone has any good hotels or areas in bangkok that we should look into booking at. Thanks heaps

Gday guys

Im travelling over to bangkok later on in the year with my mates and really have no idea where we want to be located. obviously we will be very into the nigt life as we are all quite young just wanting to know if anyone has any good hotels or areas in bangkok that we should look into booking at. Thanks heaps

What type of nightlife?

There are clubs, bars, go-go bars, karoake and lots of other stuff.

There are several areas all over the city that have nightlife. Most westerners on holiday here stay in Sukhumvit area or in Khao San Road (which is full of backpackers if thats your thing).

There are nightlife areas everywhere in Sukhumvit, also in Silom (home of Patpong) and in places like Ratchada (RCA).

The best idea is probably Sukhumvit in a hotel near the BTS (skytrain/monorail) which, together with taxis, will give you access to most places and will be easier to get a feel for the place.

Then its a matter of budget.

Go to TripAdvisor.com and have a look - note that this is by no means all the hotels and other places in Bangkok but it gives you an idea. You can pay from $30 a night through a $1,000.

Let us know your budget and your requirements (own rooms, sharing etc) and I'll try and help a bit more.

^^^^^ Knew you'd be first to reply Eagle!

I figure the Novotel on Sukhimvit Saam-sip-saam (33 for the uninitiated) would be a good mid-range suggestion, but as you say depends on budget, taste, etc, etc.

As novices they'd also we well advised to "test" what they're buying (a-la Mick Dundee) before being in for a rude shock ;)

^^^^^ Knew you'd be first to reply Eagle!

I figure the Novotel on Sukhimvit Saam-sip-saam (33 for the uninitiated) would be a good mid-range suggestion, but as you say depends on budget, taste, etc, etc.

As novices they'd also we well advised to "test" what they're buying (a-la Mick Dundee) before being in for a rude shock ;)

hahaha....

Indeed.

There is a place called Legacy Suite in soi 29 (halfway between 23 and 33;)) which costs about A$80 a night. A 4+ star accommodation but without room service (somewhere between a hotel and serviced apartments). 10 minutes walk to Asok, about the same to Phrom Phong and less than 10 to Cowboy and Soi 33.....

haha thanks for the advice, yeh hav been warned about trying before you buy over there. theres 4 of us going over not looking to stay in luxury but we would like a decent hotel. thanks for giving us a picture of where the spots to be are i was afraid that somehow we would book a hotel over there and be in a dead quiet place with no nigtlife and a waste of a trip , but now we have a good idea of where to go thanks again

I've stayed at the Asia Hotel a fair few times, although it's not near the nightlife, taxis are cheap. (It's near MBK(?) shopping center...Eagle will be able to tell you where that is :)
Last time was about 5 years ago and through STA travel I got it for A$45 a night...no idea what it is now.

Very good hotel to be honest

I've stayed at the Asia Hotel a fair few times, although it's not near the nightlife, taxis are cheap. (It's near MBK(?) shopping center...Eagle will be able to tell you where that is :)
Last time was about 5 years ago and through STA travel I got it for A$45 a night...no idea what it is now.

Very good hotel to be honest

Next to Ratchathewi BTS (skytrain) and from memory you can walk straight from the hotel by link into the station. 2 stops from MBK (which is a large cheap shopping centre - "genuine copies" ;)) but only 1 stop from Siam Paragon & Central World - frigging massive shopping centres where you can buy things like a Ferrari .....

Its right in shopping central ... some nightlife but most is actually about 3 or 4 BTS stops (5 - 8 minutes) away ....

It will cost about $70 a night I'd reckon. Its a few years old now and cant say I know the quality ....

First went there in 1989 so you're right but the quality was good just a few years ago.

Man I almost needed a GPS artound MBK...enourmous place

You should try Jatuchak market on a weekend.... bigger than MBK ... no airconditioning ... largely in tin sheds.....

Cheap... and frigging hot!!

Try a site like agoda.com (or asiarooms.com) which has maps of the city with hotel locations & prices. By the sounds of it Sukhumvit may be your best bet as its a good mix of some good hotels & nightlife close by. Silom is closer if you just want patpong but I found the whole area a little too sleezy for my liking. Not sure what the hotels there are like.
Khao San road is a fair way away from these areas & as others have pointed out is the backpackers mecca. Its an interesting place to visit after dark for people watching & some cheap food but I've never stayed there. I usually stay around Siam Square at hotels like the Novatel & Siam@Siam which is a magnificent but pricey hotel.

You should try Jatuchak market on a weekend.... bigger than MBK ... no airconditioning ... largely in tin sheds.....

Cheap... and frigging hot!!

HOT! they should market that place to people wanting to lose weight. Don't check into a fat farm, spend a few hours shopping at chatuchak & you'd bound to sweat out at least 4kg's! Never works for me though as i always seem to follow up some shopping with a session on the singhas:thumbsu:

Indeed. Really funny watching a farang family arrive at 2 in the afternoon (hottest time) and sweat there way around.

By the way, the perceptive may have noticed that we have both spelled Chatuchak/Jatuchak/Jatujak differently. The Thai language has its own alphabet and as such all English signs are simply someones interpretation into English of a completely foreign word. Its worth remembering that in some maps its Chatuchak (most) but in some it starts with the J and in fact the local area signs often use the J .... when reading any English sign here its an approximation of the sound and as such spelling for the same place might vary.

Anyway, off for some of those Singhas! :thumbsu:

Try a site like agoda.com (or asiarooms.com) which has maps of the city with hotel locations & prices. By the sounds of it Sukhumvit may be your best bet as its a good mix of some good hotels & nightlife close by. Silom is closer if you just want patpong but I found the whole area a little too sleezy for my liking. Not sure what the hotels there are like.
Khao San road is a fair way away from these areas & as others have pointed out is the backpackers mecca. Its an interesting place to visit after dark for people watching & some cheap food but I've never stayed there. I usually stay around Siam Square at hotels like the Novatel & Siam@Siam which is a magnificent but pricey hotel.

I have a friend who works at Siam@Siam who is currently looking over my shoulder and telling me that I must advise that they currently have an internet rate of 3600 baht per night .... umm... apparently this includes breakfast and wifi ..... thats A$130 a night - which is seriously cheap for that hotel.

Great location for shopping.

OB1 did you manage to stay away from CM2 in the Novotel? Tonight is i-candi night apparently. :p

If you want to do the tourist thing then there is a boutique hotel about 5 minutes from Kao San Rd called the Lamphu Tree House in Banglamphu. Was pretty good value @ 1200BHT a night which I think is about $40 at todays rates. Nice and clean, A/C good pool, good food and really nice staff. http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g293916-d940156-Reviews-Lamphu_Tree_House-Bangkok.html

Also worth noting that the exchange rates over there are much better than they were when we went. The difference was about 5bht to the dollar, which adds up pretty quick.

I know I am probably in the very small minority, but I never really quite worked out the appeal of Bangkok.

What about StD's?

The guy said he was young and into the nightlife?

I think it warrants a mention?

Most definitely.

I'd recommend the historic Atlanta Hotel (Sukhumvit Soi 2) for those on a budget... cheap, clean, no sleazy prostitutes around and an interesting clientele.

Indeed. Really funny watching a farang family arrive at 2 in the afternoon (hottest time) and sweat there way around.

By the way, the perceptive may have noticed that we have both spelled Chatuchak/Jatuchak/Jatujak differently. The Thai language has its own alphabet and as such all English signs are simply someones interpretation into English of a completely foreign word. Its worth remembering that in some maps its Chatuchak (most) but in some it starts with the J and in fact the local area signs often use the J .... when reading any English sign here its an approximation of the sound and as such spelling for the same place might vary.

Anyway, off for some of those Singhas! :thumbsu:

Chatuchak IMHO. One of my more pleasurable Thai experiences is sitting at that place (however TF you want to spell it!) drinking Singha's at one of the little bars there whilst watching the world (and 50 million others) go by. Nothing better in life (well, almost ;)) than sitting drinking beer and doing bugger all else whilst sympathising that over 50 million folks around you aren't having such luck.

Beer Singh... beer Thai.....

EDIT - whilst the missus runs around sweating chasing turtles and basset hound puppies and such.

I know I am probably in the very small minority, but I never really quite worked out the appeal of Bangkok.

Yes you are in a small minority (or maybe you just don't eat?) but never mind, you'll enjoy your next life. Next time go to Koh Chang or Koh Samet or Hua Hin or Koh Tao or Koh Phi Phi or Koh Lanta or even Koh Smaui or... never mind.

Confucious say man who walk thorugh turnstile sideways going to Bangkok.

There's probably only 3 reasons to go to Bangkok;

1. Work
  2. Experience a different culture
  3. Get shitfaced on cheap beer and cocktails, and stock up on knock off gear.
The first 2 are great reasons to go, it's an amazing country though mostly outside of Bangkok and Phuket. The last one seems to be the same reason most Australians travel :rolleyes:

Yes you are in a small minority (or maybe you just don't eat?) but never mind, you'll enjoy your next life. Next time go to Koh Chang or Koh Samet or Hua Hin or Koh Tao or Koh Phi Phi or Koh Lanta or even Koh Smaui or... never mind.

Ko Samet has some of the best beaches close to Bangkok I've seen, particularly at the northern end of the island (very white sand).

Further south it gets cheaper and less crowded and you'll see some great bungalows right on the beach. In the off season you'll get a beach all to yourself down south.

Confucious say man who walk thorugh turnstile sideways going to Bangkok.

I don't want to get into an arguement over it, as everyone is entitled to their opinions. However I did say Bangkok, not the rest of Thailand....

Some of those places you mentioned I did go to and they were awesome. However as far as asian cities go, I thought Tokyo and Hong Kong were far better cities then Bangkok.

I don't want to get into an arguement over it, as everyone is entitled to their opinions. However I did say Bangkok, not the rest of Thailand....

Some of those places you mentioned I did go to and they were awesome. However as far as asian cities go, I thought Tokyo and Hong Kong were far better cities then Bangkok.

Roger that Houston, fair enough.