the difference between melb rich

Difference yesterday was Melbournes experienced players. Green, Davey, Sylvia, Bruce and Jamar were their best players. Frawley and Scully were good but these older players are playing the important roles and holding the team together.
^^ This
We simply didn't have the class in the 24 - 28 age bracket that they had out their today. Also we got smashed in the ruck by a quality experienced ruckman.

While I don't disagree with what you say, I question why we are throwing guys like Thursty forward in desperation???
Look, Hardwick has done an exceptional job first up, but for mine this game was lost at the selection table.
While they were never going to line up that way, when you read the selected team and the HF line reads King Farmer Nason, the Dees are rubbing their hands together.
Jack was double and triple teamed as we gave the Dees no other option but to.
At least by throwing Post in there, or maybe Gourdis, you are making another big body accountable!!!
And the non-selection of Collins was a disgrace ... he's the only guy besides Jack who has been capable of kicking a bag!!!
We got what we deserved by picking a team of short people. We were lucky to get away with it the week before, never amke the same mistake twice!!

thats ok dude, at the end of the day with all those mistakes at the selection table with all the outs that should have been in, with all that type of shit pointing to us losing, in the end we lost a game that we should have had just about iced by the big break. This from a first year coach of a team that is being dragged out of the shit hole that it has been in for a decade. Not bad in my book, dont know about yours. Cutting to the chase, and its bad footy i know, but do you really believe the dees would have been within cooee of us had we taken our opportunities? Dont get sucked into the shit they are suggesting about their pressure costing us, it was purely inexeperience that cost us. ;)

It was actually quite enjoyable to watch Melbourne yesterday. There were times when their ball movement and skills were among some of the best I've seen a team pull out of the bag this year. If they're X amount of months ahead of us, so be it, I CANNOT wait to see how we are X amount of months from now then if some of the form Melbourne showed yesterday is any indicator.

In other words, ppl who think we are only 12 months behind these guys are kidding themselves. Yes its only 1 more big clean out to go but we are dipping into a compromised draft to find those players, Dees had 8-9 1st round draft picks sitting on the sidelines, their scope for potential improvement is still massive, we still need to find those 8-10 let alone all 1st round picks.. Think you'll find this is another richmond hawthorn comparison. ie not even in the same ball park

thats ok dude, at the end of the day with all those mistakes at the selection table with all the outs that should have been in, with all that type of shit pointing to us losing, in the end we lost a game that we should have had just about iced by the big break. This from a first year coach of a team that is being dragged out of the shit hole that it has been in for a decade. Not bad in my book, dont know about yours. Cutting to the chase, and its bad footy i know, but do you really believe the dees would have been within cooee of us had we taken our opportunities? Dont get sucked into the shit they are suggesting about their pressure costing us, it was purely inexeperience that cost us. ;)

:)INEXPERIENCE was a huge factor - we are very much in learning mode and executing a Plan B when we are challenged is proving difficult.
I also don't underestimate the Demons like many on here. Melbourne of last year, or the years previous would have been dead and buried by half time. Be it by design orforced, they would have rolled over. They are in it to win now - and I don't think you could have said that last year. Did they tank .. you bet they did and now have built themselves a handy list (personally, I think they'll make the 8 this year!)
As for Hrdwick ... I questioned the team selection and think I'm justified .. pertsoanlly I think we've played too short and too light up forward all year. It's pretty amazing what impact Griff had without really having any. Didn't get a lot of the ball, barely kicked a goal, but we looked far better with him as it gaves us balance. But overall Hardwick gets very high marks ... very high. We have come a long, long way!!

:)INEXPERIENCE was a huge factor - we are very much in learning mode and executing a Plan B when we are challenged is proving difficult.
I also don't underestimate the Demons like many on here. Melbourne of last year, or the years previous would have been dead and buried by half time. Be it by design orforced, they would have rolled over. They are in it to win now - and I don't think you could have said that last year. Did they tank .. you bet they did and now have built themselves a handy list (personally, I think they'll make the 8 this year!)
As for Hrdwick ... I questioned the team selection and think I'm justified .. pertsoanlly I think we've played too short and too light up forward all year. It's pretty amazing what impact Griff had without really having any. Didn't get a lot of the ball, barely kicked a goal, but we looked far better with him as it gaves us balance. But overall Hardwick gets very high marks ... very high. We have come a long, long way!!

man, lets see, Out of debt function the other night, Jimmy's battle etc etc is kinda a good impetus in getting this team up for any game now. They will make the 8, the AFL in their wisdom will see to that too. I mean, not going to go gaga at the umps all to much, but i kinda thought, shit, it looked like one team had a back so they could call in the back and the other didnt so they could call play on. Not to mention the times when holding the ball was on the umps mind before the ball was in the pack if it looked like we were going to be FIRST to it. Its all part of the romance of the resurrection of the dees and their pres's battle with the dreaded scourge. ;)

The difference- Lids and Tuck had their worst game for the year, McGuane had his worst game for a couple of years, Farmer and Connors weren’t to bad but led the clanger list, Nason, Hicks and Webbs had a few cameos, but were largely ineffective, Jack, whilst double and triple teamed, just didn’t look enthusiastic and have his usual spark. Maybe he is the one who needs a rest.

The big difference is we desperately need a big, quality ready made CHF/FF. That should be our number one trade priority.

Positives were, Browne, Gus at times when he went forward, Cuz had a ripper, Kingie continues to improve and impress, Edwards first qtr, he has soooo much class, Hicks for a little bloke has courage and his pace is electrifying, Morton is turning out to be our x-factor, will be awesome in and out of our mid-field. And even though Jackson isn’t the most accurate kick, his centre clearance work was first rate.

Going by yesterday, I have no doubt we are only a season behind the Dees. With some careful draft/trading, another preseason adding this secret 2nd phase to our game plan and we will match them easy. After all, we were only a quality key forward away from winning yesterday.

Shane Edwards...i think will be that x factor he could be that davey that we are looking for, soooo elusive, i remember dennis commentating and saying something like "Edwards with little room to operate....but still manages to do so!! i think it was when he showed some candy to scully on not one but two occassions.

needs to develop consistency but he is a great outside player and will hopefully complement our tough in and under brigade

T

Going by yesterday, I have no doubt we are only a season behind the Dees. With some careful draft/trading, another preseason adding this secret 2nd phase to our game plan and we will match them easy. After all, we were only a quality key forward away from winning yesterday.

And where do you think the dees will be in another years time, when all of our kids have played another 20 games together etc etc? And the four - five top 20 draft picks who arent playing at the moment but will have had another full pre season and are pressing for selection?

The gap between us and the tigers will get even bigger.

Our skills were the worst they have been all year IMO. It really killed us when we had players streaming up the field for a Connors or anyone turn it over.

Plus, our zone got destroyed by their kick-outs. At least they areas we struggled with are easy to fix and I think we'll put in a good performance against the Blues next weekend.

And where do you think the dees will be in another years time, when all of our kids have played another 20 games together etc etc? And the four - five top 20 draft picks who arent playing at the moment but will have had another full pre season and are pressing for selection?

It's amazing some of the shit people can come on to this board and say, yet if we were to do the same at theirs we'd be carded for sure.

You can’t keep getting better for ever, at some stage you plateau, and that’s where Richmond being 12 months behind will catch up. Also a lot depends on how the coaching staff can develop players. Bailey took ages, and you were either crap or tanking, where as up until round 9 we were tipped as the worst club since Fitzroy in the 60`s, but the improvement since has been remarkable. You have every right to be cocky and defend your team, but only a fool would dismiss the talent and quality coaching staff we have developed.

I think the difference between the two sides is based on depth. We we're missing a few key players from our best 22, so we're Melbourne, but I don't think we have the depth to cover for our losses, where as Melbourne can handle that better at this stage. I would still back our best 22 to win, but not without Cotchin, Foley, Collins and another forward option, either Vickery, Post or Griffiths even if only to draw another defender.

The other difference is Melbourne have about a year or two on us in the youth department. We've only loaded up on kids for about a year. Melbourne have probably been doing it for an extra year or two. I hope we do it again this year, it doesn't really matter where they are taken in the draft, good players are found all the way to the rookie draft and the more you take the better chance you have. (Astbury 35, Webberly 67, Nason 71, Hicks at 7 in the rookie draft have all been great value).

Both sides have great topline talent, Melbourne just have a little more depth. It will come down to development now to see which players from each team stagnate or become stars of the competition. I like Hardwick, and have great faith in the new coaching staff, they clearly have a plan, and while Melbourne are a better side now, I have faith the plan will come into play and lead us to success. Melbourne fans too should be looking forward to some success. These two sides could be the next Geelong/Collingwood in a few years.

You absolute moron. And where do you think the dees will be in another years time, when all of our kids have played another 20 games together etc etc? And the four - five top 20 draft picks who arent playing at the moment but will have had another full pre season and are pressing for selection?

Sad thing for you is that even when the endless number of high draft picks means you inevitably end up near the top of the ladder, you'll still only be playing in front of 20,000 of your own fans at the MCG. No one will really care.

Melbourne Demons Supporters are the least passionate in the competition (expansion clubs aside). Just have a look at the post numbers in bigfooty! You barely beat St.Kilda and hardly anyone barracks for them. (Kudos to the North fans on the post numbers front by the way).

Two core reasons why we lost IMO.

1) We could not turn enough forward 50 entries into goals... call it scoreboard pressure if you like but + Demons were allowed to crowd our front half but the end result was we got ZERO 'easy' goals.

2) Deledio, Connors & to a lesser extent Newman all had below par days. Over the past few weeks we have enjoyed excellent numbers & quality delivery out of the backline from these 3 whereas yesterday, all 3 were down on form.

Credit to The Demons for applying pressure in defense and having the skills and run to hurt us a number of times with transition goals but I reckon they were pretty happy to get a 29 point margin in the end.
Spot on

Melbourne Demons Supporters are the least passionate in the competition (expansion clubs aside). Just have a look at the post numbers in bigfooty! You barely beat St.Kilda and hardly anyone barracks for them. (Kudos to the North fans on the post numbers front by the way).

Sorry? Melbourne supporters arent passionate? What planet are you living on? What year do you live in? Has Debt demolition proved nothing to you? We currently have the 6th highest attendance in the league this year. We've just wiped off nearly 6 million dollars of debt in two years. If anything, we should be heralded as THE MOST passionate supporters going around at the moment. Anyone with a brain who follows footy would tell you the tremendous effort by both the club and supporters has been nothing short of miraculous. And yep, post count on bigfooty is the measure of supporters passion :confused:

Your comment is probably the worst most ill-informed bullsh*t I've read on here outside the bay. Open up your eyes you fool :thumbsd:

As for the differences between Melbourne and Richmond, it's 12 months development and a bit of depth. Yesterdays game was an enjoyable one to watch, as both our sides are young and full of enthusiasm. They arent afraid to take risks and attack. We're probably a year ahead with cleaning out our list than you are, but you'll catch up sooner rather than later. It's going to be a great rivalry in the future I think, and I for one cannot wait to see our clubs become superpowers again!

It's amazing some of the shit people can come on to this board and say, yet if we were to do the same at theirs we'd be carded for sure.

Spot on. I was Red Carded last week for commenting on the Crows board about Craig's coaching. And I stand by it, he coaches teams to save and hold games instead of winning them:thumbsd:

foley cotchin and collo surely woulda been worth 3-4 goals

By the same token though you could argue that Grimes, Moloney and Petterd would have added another 3-4 to us.

I was surprised to see how far the Tigers have come since the start of the season. You guys should be proud of the way your club has performed this year. I have absolutely no doubt that in a couple of years the Tigers will be playing finals and doing very well.

Melbourne have the depth to cover for injuries/suspensions and are more advanced by 1-2 years, we don't. They have young guns and fringe players playing in their 2's that would be in our best 22. We lose players like Foley/Cotchin and the next players to come in are the quality of Dean Polo or 1st year kids. That's the difference.

In other words, ppl who think we are only 12 months behind these guys are kidding themselves. Yes its only 1 more big clean out to go but we are dipping into a compromised draft to find those players, Dees had 8-9 1st round draft picks sitting on the sidelines, their scope for potential improvement is still massive, we still need to find those 8-10 let alone all 1st round picks.. Think you'll find this is another richmond hawthorn comparison. ie not even in the same ball park

So do Carlton.

Two core reasons why we lost IMO.

1) We could not turn enough forward 50 entries into goals... call it scoreboard pressure if you like but + Demons were allowed to crowd our front half but the end result was we got ZERO 'easy' goals.

2) Deledio, Connors & to a lesser extent Newman all had below par days. Over the past few weeks we have enjoyed excellent numbers & quality delivery out of the backline from these 3 whereas yesterday, all 3 were down on form.

Credit to The Demons for applying pressure in defense and having the skills and run to hurt us a number of times with transition goals but I reckon they were pretty happy to get a 29 point margin in the end.

Spot on. Good post.

I found out today that one player who had his worst game for the year yesterday was at home today crook with the flu, maybe a couple of others had it too as quite a few just looked flat all game and ran out of legs in the last qtr.

The gap won't increase because we will improve as well. You won't play much better than you have been recently either. We have more improvement in us

while most of us could not fault our defensive pressure endevour commitment etc the thing that stood out was the difference, to use a hardwick euthemism polish.
while we have blokes who have a real go and we have improved in areas we won in many important areas of the game today but it counted for little.

i still remember mick malthouse earlier in the yr proclaiming melb really won the drawn game because their system and overall skills allowed them to use the ball better than collingwood despite collingwood generating many more scoring shots.

today we were more than competetive but in critical areas the chasm was huge.

Enter: Cotchin, Foley, Collins
Exit: Take your pick

and then reload

The difference between Melb v Rich??? They were at 95% compared to 92% full strength, racking up a total average of 80 games per player compared to 65, finally Melbourne's average age 6 months older than our cubs. Let's face the facts, we are at least one season behind the Demons right now!

We had control for 80% of the game.

Your reference to the chasm is total BS. We were toying with them in the most part
Looking at the overall make up of the teams, we are streets ahead in what we are gunning for in the future. We had 2 young ruckmen who are still developing up against 2 dinosaurs that the dees have pinnned their hopes on for the future. Those 2 goof balls have been and remain on the verge of dudsville and from what was shown on the weekend our upside is immeasurably greater than theirs. ;)

You my friend, live in a deluded place. A very deluded place indeed.

The difference between Melb v Rich??? They were at 95% compared to 92% full strength, racking up a total average of 80 games per player compared to 65, finally Melbourne's average age 6 months older than our cubs. Let's face the facts, we are at least one season behind the Demons right now!

geez thats a good spin on it.

melb average age as of the start of the yr was 22yrs 187 days.
rich ave age was 22yrs 152 days.

at the start of this yr melbournes list boasted an average of 44 games per player richmonds boasted 42 games per player

both clubs boast 16 players with 50 games or more to their name.

richmond boast 25 players aged 22 or under
melb boast 27.

richmond boast 4 players aged 28 or more melb boast 3.

the one big difference between the lists is quality or polish or skills what ever you want to call it.

because of the quality difference we have to have another clean out melb dont.
so in effect we are at least one season behind them.