Arsenal
So I couldn’t see one of these on here and I figured there must be some keen fisherpeople out there, so let’s have at it.

Have been casually fishing since moving up to Mildura about 5 years ago. I live about 10 mins from the Murray so I have fantastic access to the river. Only been fishing off the bank so far and caught nothing but Carp. This season though I’ve got myself a baitcaster and a few lures so I’m gonna do my level best to grab a Cod or a Yellowbelly.

Heading to Euston tomorrow near the weir. Apparently the Yellows have been going off down there.

51b3ae727b009189df3e0e06c7e93f4a.jpg

My spot for the day. Mate has caught a carp so far.

I love fishing, absolutely love it. Some of my best memories prior to moving to Adelaide for uni are fishing with my old man and mates. Unfortunately on that front kids and work mean I basically don't fish anymore. It's now mostly a "when the kids are older" pursuit.

I cut my teeth on the Glenelg River fishing for bream and mullet, then when I got a bit older mulloway. My PBs are a 12lb mulloway and 1lb 8oz bream. Yep, the old man stuck to imperial for fish.

My best, and I mean BEST fishing memory is with dad fishing for jack salmon at the Carpenters Rocks lighthouse

It was an awful day, howling SW winds. We got a fire going in a sheltered spot, out with the home made cast iron hot plate and had burgers for lunch. I didnt have waders then, and had just inherited dads old surf fishing rod/reel.

Long story short, i struggled with the weight of the rod, we were flicking lures so the rig wasnt a problem but the weight was. Also i was cold. Middle of winter, SE South Oz, surf fishing in a pair of jeans, a jumper and bare feet.

Dad saw it happen. As i released the lure on a cast i was smacked by a wave in the torso. I struggled to keep my feet but did, dad reckons the lure went 40m up and 5m out. By the time i wound in the slack my rod was going nuts.

Not sure what happened but my next memory is me dragging a 4lb salmon out of the wash with dad, in waders, breaking world records for a 30m run to be behind the fish to make sure he could do what he could to make sure it was not going back.

I then sat on the beach with dad both breaking my back with congratulatory slaps and hugging me to keep me warm, and i was shaking probably with equal parts adreniline and early onset hypothermia.

Still the best father/son moment i have had

That is a great story Pweter .

I must admit I don't get out too much these days but I love fishing.

I did a fair bit of fishing on the Daly River/ Wildman River in the NT for barramundi, prawns and even mud crab as a youngster before moving back down down south in the bay for schnapper, flat-head, whiting, squid and even the odd gummy-shark. I have also done a bit of surf fishing down around Ocean Grove at different times with mixed results and night fishing in the bay for banjo sharks using a Hawaiian sling. Once my kids are a bit older, I hope to get them involved a bit. Someone started a yabby thread and I reckon yabbies are a good place to start. Definitely found fishing a lot easier up north although there has been times out on the bay when the flatties were jumping onto our lines as soon as we got them in.

My most recent fishing trip I threw a line in down at the inlet near Tarwin Lower in Gippsland trying to hook a salmon and ended up taking the bait (pippis that we dug out of a nearby beach in Venus Bay) home and ate that instead!

At St Kilda pier right now, missed a big King George a few hours ago was at the pier and broke off on the way up, shattered
How'd you end up?

like most I used to love fishing but the family has pretty much taken away any spare time I had

we had a holiday house on the gippsland lakes (which my parents now live in) on raymond island opposite Paynesville. Its a 20meter walk across the road from deck to jetty.

it was a fishing paradise as a kid, very very active.

so much so little kids could drop a line and the rod would start moving by itself! We would routinely catch pan size bream as kids with little skill.

As time went by and I got older I used to put more effort into it. Would catch my own shrimp with a net in the sea weed for live bait or pump for sandworm.

Its very touchy feely fishing on light gear - you can feel everything. I would be there for hours on end, cast in, tighten line, then slowly trawl the line along the floor with a running sinker set up until you felt a nibble - nothing beats that moment! when you feel nibble....nibble nibble.... third nibble BANG! Strike the rod back...quickly wind a few then hope you feel the chaos on the other end of the line confirming you hooked it

then on the wind in, wondering how big its going to be.. sometimes they go on a run and you feel the line go back out with that screeching noise... oh its a big one!!

I don't think a day went by when we didn't catch something.. bream, flathead, the odd mullet school would come through - at dusk the taylor would take a lure - was just a fishing smorgasbord.

I go there now - its Very disappointing, its been fished to with an inch of its life, commercial fisherman and ppl demolishing bag limits have ruined it - you may be lucky to get the odd juvenile - but in truth I cant even keep the kids at it for more than an hour, because there is no action left - they will never have it as good as I had it there. not even any seaweed any more? for some reason the brackish water has gone more fresh and less salty

on still mornings you could walk out to the jetty and see hundreds of huge bream just swimming around the pylons... no matter how many times you would drop a hand line down there, those wily old big ones would just laugh at you.. yeh good one mate - you think I was born yesterday?

One new years eve a storm blew up, I was out there while the wind was whipping up, it was a fools mission, but as 12 years olds do, you keep trying - I was winding in for the umpteenth time to replace my bait when I felt the line go heavy all of a sudden, damn, seaweed again... until wait? I saw a glimmer of silver.. its a fish! not only any fish, ended up being about a 40cm bream - (quite big for the area)

so I somehow did get one of those wily old ones - the weather was my ally

I ran to my parents with the fish, they were having a bbq with the locals who were all very impressed, they said you should send a pic into the local news! I ended up getting one of those cheesy pics before the weather report on the dodgy southern cross gippsland nightly news.

Howard Moon I've done some fishing off that pier. I have a mate who has a place there. You don't know the Linden's do you? It isn't a really big place.

Yeah was pretty happy with it. Didn’t expect to catch one this far downstream, nor did I expect to catch it on corn!

Probably somewhere between the 30-40cm mark. Didn’t measure since I don’t keep them anyway.

Did alright on the charter. Caught 4 KGW with the biggest at 41cm and a Yakka that fought like hell. The charter had everything with stuff caught like an eagle ray, Pike, Trevally, Toadie, Flathead, Snapper, Salmon and even a tiny Cow fish haha

Nice! I’ve always been kind of wary of charters, paying without any guarantee of catching anything.

I did one in Swakopmund, Namibia one time. Between me and the others we pulled in over 100 catfish and 2 small sharks in 2 hours. Wasn’t really a charter though, we just paid to go out on a boat with a local fishing crew that fished for the markets. Still rod and reel though, no nets.

Went out again this evening.

440c0972b26a63a9333fc22cd235b0c9.jpg

Lots and lots of bites, only pulled a few in. Evening seems to be the go around here, which is good because it means I can go after work and I don’t have to get up early.

D_P_S Nice. Where?
Powlett River, the old man caught 4 nice Bream a week before Christmas down there. Heaps of little Salmon, Mullet and Bream today

At the mouth?

Just a bit to the right at the car park, hard to give an exact spot but i fished about 50-100m right of the car park near the mouth

Nice DPS.

Picked up a few lures just after Xmas. Went out for a day at Sugarloaf with no luck. Heading back to mildura for a couple of weeks before a weekend fishing in Warrnambool. Hopefully will grab a few.