The Media

We've done our fair share of complaining (I know I have at least), and in fairness, we've had our fair share of gripes. We usually get more or less ignored by the footy media. But if we're going to complain, we've also got to give credit where credit is due. The media have suddenly been all over us for a good couple of weeks now. You only have to look at the regularity with which the Swans Audio/Visual links thread is being updated with clips from various footy shows (many thanks to Grim for that, btw) to see how much of a pump up we're getting right now.

So, a toast, to the oft-times uninformed, inane, and Vic-centric AFL football media, thank you for not only finally recognising us, but also really looking after us. It's been a genuine pleasure hearing the praise, seeing our games being analysed, and getting some informed (and sometimes not-so-informed, but that's OK) opinion on our players, our coach, and our team. :thumbsu:

And reading back on this, it seems riddled with back-handed compliments, but I mean it genuinely. :)

Pretty much the last couple of weeks has been: "Sydney the real deal / contenders / don't suck" because we made it to the top of the ladder for more than a week. They have the most amazing insight.

Now to go on with it. No point beating West Coast and staying on top only to lose a game we should win against the Saints.

They deserve zero credit. Screw em. Next year they'll be writing the same 'drop out of the 8' garbage as usual.

Too right, look how many "experts" dropped us from the 8 at the start of the year (some had Freo in ahead of us FFS) hell we we're 5-1 only narrowly lost to the crows and Caro's crew said it was the beginning of the end for Sydney's season.

All this positive media attention is disturbing the natural order of things. It's like having a group of blokes hitting on your girlfriend - Yes, they are in top form and sublime physical shape, but leave them alone!

To be honest, all the attention was nice for a bit, but i'm starting to wonder whether or not it is a good or a bad thing. Certainly something i'm not really used to seeing from the media as far as our team goes. Hope the team can ignore it and keep to the "flying under the radar" attitude that has served us well in the past. I'm not quite sure we'd stand up well to becoming "the hunted" just yet.

Well I think today's game was a good test of how we're going to live up to the pressure of expectation, and although we started slowly, we got the job done. Good to see the boys not getting too ahead of themselves, and just sticking to what they do best - winning games.

I get annoyed when i here the media say "Hawks to win the flag" and im all like HELLO TOP OF THE LADDER

but at the same time im glad is on them and not us...i like seeing people give us credit but yeah no need for added pressure...they will jump right of the minute we drop a game

Paul Roos usually says nice things about us.
He really doesn't have an option but to say nice things about given we're on top of the ladder. But part of me does wonder if he would actually give the Swans a serving if we played badly, like he did to Richmond last Monday on On The Couch calling their last 43 seconds against the Suns the worst ever in AFL history.

Did anybody else notice before the game on the fox coverage they were talking about AA and 3 of them had Grundy in it but not Ted? They were corrected but says it all really. None had Jetta in it and one had O'Keefe.

He really doesn't have an option but to say nice things about given we're on top of the ladder. But part of me does wonder if he would actually give the Swans a serving if we played badly, like he did to Richmond last Monday on On The Couch calling their last 43 seconds against the Suns the worst ever in AFL history.

I reckon he would. I didn't watch OTC for a period earlier in the year, but what did he say after Tigers/Saints games?

From what I recall a lot of people bitched about how he focused on how poorly and uncharacteristic the swans played, apparently he spent too much time on Sydney's failures and not enough on the rise of the great richmond/saint kilda giants.

The man can't do anything right in some people's books, a team goes bad and they question wether he would say negative things about us.

He bags us and it's oh you didn't give the other team enough credit for a great win.

He talks us up after a win and he focuses too much on Sydney

He talks down an opponent and he is apparently vindictive and sticking the knife in.

I really feel for roo's gets nothing but shit put on him, yet channel seven worship Carlton they literally hang off Judds dick, we all know Eddie's Idea of impartial from the Tigers game.

But simply because roo's doesn't pretend to be unbiased (unlike that Geelong flog ling) he gets shit put on him.

Everytime I see a swans game with Roos commentating I feel as if he's cheering us on from the box. I've never heard him say a bad thing about us when we make a mistake (he just goes quiet) but he likes to criticise the opposition when making a mistake. Watching the replay today I heard him say "horrible"/"disgusting/selfish" when saints made some errors which I thought was a bit over the top. I'd take him over Russell or Bruce anyday but not a great commentator IMO.

Too right, look how many "experts" dropped us from the 8 at the start of the year (some had Freo in ahead of us FFS) hell we we're 5-1 only narrowly lost to the crows and Caro's crew said it was the beginning of the end for Sydney's season.

And if you listen to most of them discussing the current to 4/8, Sydney is usually the team they think will "drop", or is simply not a genuine contender ... they can all lick my bag.

DefconTitleChasers.jpg

Ok now i've realised how hypocritical the victorian knobs are. Even though his (Roos) commentary was bias, it has caught on like a rash amongst media circles. Seriously, they've never heard eddie? Or the channel 7 commentary who continually stroke Carlton's balls. Here's a hint for the victorian media, just listen to the commentary for every game in melbourne when a victorian team is playing an interstate team and then talk about how bias the commentary really was.