Deledio2Conca

Wizards, Boro, Daylesford
Hi guys,

Now, this thread is sort of for my benefit, but other people can certainly use it too.

Every off-season I need my tiger fix, but I never have any games on tape or DVD to watch. This got me thinking, how great it would be to own all our great wins over the past 15 years or so.

I don't want to go too far back (1993 or so would be the earliest), but I would just like to ask the people of this board what games do you think would be worth purchasing from 1993-onwards.

I can remember all our great wins over the past 5 years or so, but back to years like 93-94 I've got no idea.

I went back through the archives and found that in Round 12, 1994 we defeated North Melbourne by 5 points at the MCG. North at the time were 2nd on the ladder.

Does anyone remember this game? And if so was it any good?

Like I said, feel free to use this thread yourselves and reminisce about past games, I'm sure there are many I've forgotten!

Cheers guys,

D2T.

I don't really remember this game but the 95 semi final against Essendon. We were trailing by 5 or 6 goals and we came back to win. I've watched the replay and it was a great comeback and win:thumbsu:

2001 round 17 vs the bulldogs. Earlier that year There was the big Knights and Libba brawl. There was a lot said in the week leading up and we won by 2 points. That just about assured our finals spot and made it hard for the dogs to make it(Which they didn't)

I don't really remember this game but the 95 semi final against Essendon. We were trailing by 5 or 6 goals and we came back to win. I've watched the replay and it was a great comeback and win:thumbsu:

2001 round 17 vs the bulldogs. Earlier that year There was the big Knights and Libba brawl. There was a lot said in the week leading up and we won by 2 points. That just about assured our finals spot and made it hard for the dogs to make it(Which they didn't)

Cheers for that mate :)

Yeah I've got an old tape of the 95 Semi but I really need to upgrade to a DVD version I reckon :thumbsu:

I'll look into that Dogs/Tiges one as well.

Keep em coming people!

That one in the 17th round of the 2001 season against the Dogs was good. Match after the whole Libba and Knights incident.

Second game (I think, but aren't certain) game vs Hawks, 2003.
Awesome goal by Richo and great run by Rodan, culminating in a come-from-behind win.

Followed by a stalker coming onto Greg Stafford.

Awesome goal by Richo and great run by Rodan, culminating in a come-from-behind win.

Nice, I'll look em all up and see what appeals :thumbsu:

Anyone have any games from the 90's worth getting and watching again?

1995, one of the early games in the season vs North, we gave them a flogging and Daffy kicked 6. That was a good one. At the MCG, night game.

The drawn game against the Bummers that year will get you mad because James Hird cheated by running over the mark when the whistle had been blown. Should have had that goal disallowed! :)

One of the games at Port Adelaide, I think it might have been the first time we ever beat them at Footy Park (~1998 ish), Duncan Kellaway kicked his first ever goal and we snuck home. Don't remember if it was that good a game or not...

Round 21 1996(?) versus Fitzroy - Richo took like 21 marks and kicked 7(?). Last game Fitzroy ever played in Melbourne. Not really fair on the Roys to be honest, but we did give them a flogging.

Last game of the year, must have been about 1999, when Carlton needed to win to make the finals and we were crap. All they needed to do was win but we trounced them and I think Silvagni might have done a knee.

1995 (or possibly 1994), Princes Park vs the then mighty Eagles. We gave them a flogging and Steven Jurica starred (!) Famous for the 8 second press conference afterwards when Mick Malthouse had had a big sook and stormed out after just saying 'Richmond are a very good side'. He was a tosser even then.

The game at Princes Park, must have been last (or second last) game of the year and Gieschen was coaching us after Walls got the sack a few weeks earlier. I guess that makes it about 1997? the game was close and at the 3/4 time break Giesch took the huddle right over near the Tiger Army, who went mental and cheered the boys home. Can't remember who it was against though.

Not sure how many of these are great games, but they stick in my memory for one reason or another...

Last game of the year, must have been about 1999, when Carlton needed to win to make the finals and we were crap. All they needed to do was win but we trounced them and I think Silvagni might have done a knee.
It wouldn't have been 1999, as they made the finals, and Grand Final, that year.

1995, one of the early games in the season vs North, we gave them a flogging and Daffy kicked 6. That was a good one. At the MCG, night game.

The drawn game against the Bummers that year will get you mad because James Hird cheated by running over the mark when the whistle had been blown. Should have had that goal disallowed! :)

One of the games at Port Adelaide, I think it might have been the first time we ever beat them at Footy Park (~1998 ish), Duncan Kellaway kicked his first ever goal and we snuck home. Don't remember if it was that good a game or not...

Round 21 1996(?) versus Fitzroy - Richo took like 21 marks and kicked 7(?). Last game Fitzroy ever played in Melbourne. Not really fair on the Roys to be honest, but we did give them a flogging.

1995 (or possibly 1994), Princes Park vs the then mighty Eagles. We gave them a flogging and Steven Jurica starred (!) Famous for the 8 second press conference afterwards when Mick Malthouse had had a big sook and stormed out after just saying 'Richmond are a very good side'. He was a tosser even then.

The game at Princes Park, must have been last (or second last) game of the year and Gieschen was coaching us after Walls got the sack a few weeks earlier. I guess that makes it about 1997? the game was close and at the 3/4 time break Giesch took the huddle right over near the Tiger Army, who went mental and cheered the boys home. Can't remember who it was against though.

Not sure how many of these are great games, but they stick in my memory for one reason or another...

Ahhhh fantastic! Thanks for those mate:)

I'm pretty sure the game where Kellaway kicked his first was in Melbourne, as I was there, but yeah it was defintely against Port.

Also I think the Carlton/Richmond game you speak of was in 97?

Do NOT get this game - absolutely tragic. Fitzroy would not have beaten the u10 girls Netball team. Very, very sad, and I was there and did not enjoy it at all.

I suggest Rd 3 1995 - vs Hawthorn at Waverley - not long after Dunstall kicked 17. We kicked 4 goals that day and won! Absolutely persisted down all day - actually, maybe watching on telly you might not get the full atmosphere (ie -6 degrees, wet and windy).

From the same year- Rd 9 vs Sydney. Yes, Richo did his knee and Wigney broke his leg, but it must rank as one of our greatest wins.

has anyone mentioned the round 17, 2001 match against the doggies? that was after the whole knights v libba thing

;)

no...well it was a good game. and it was after the knights/libba thing.

seriously though, the 1997 game against the blues, final round when the scoreboard went ablaze was an awesome game. and 2000(i think) maybe 1999, but maybe 02 or 03 against doggies and richo kicked 10.

I cant remember what year it was but that game against the dogs with libber and Knighta was a ripper.

there was a game v Hawks in the early 90's where Tigers 4.16-40 def Hawks 5.6-36. It was a terrential down pour all game at Waverley. Maybe someone else can help me out, the game won't probably be everyone's cup of tea, but I liked it cos be beat the Hawks back when we were struggling

Someone already mentioned that one, unless there was another game in the wet that we only just won against the Dawks.

It was over Easter 95, the 'Alternative Nation' festival was on that day, at Olympic Park. Totally pissed down. Great show, Pennywise got the power turned off for playing too long and Kelly Slater and Rob Machado (Pro Surfers), who were down for Bells but came on stage for 'Bro Hymn', before getting thrown off stage by the bouncers. But I digress!!

has anyone mentioned the round 17, 2001 match against the doggies? that was after the whole knights v libba thing

;)

no...well it was a good game. and it was after the knights/libba thing.
When Footscray had that dirty scumbag Wallace as coach. What ever happened to him?

seriously though, the 1997 game against the blues, final round when the scoreboard went ablaze was an awesome game. and 2000(i think) maybe 1999, but maybe 02 or 03 against doggies and richo kicked 10.
The scoreboard ablaze game was 1999 (don't think it was the last round either, not even sure we won), the Richo 10 game was 2004.

That was late 2002. We had a shocking year but that was a great game.

Early 2003 vs the hawks. We were down by 50 odd points early in the 2nd quarter. We came back to win by 20 points. Another cracking game:thumbsu:

That was late 2002. We had a shocking year but that was a great game.

Early 2003 vs the hawks. We were down by 50 odd points early in the 2nd quarter. We came back to win by 20 points. Another cracking game:thumbsu:
Ah yes.
I had typed 2002, but didn't think D Rod was around back then...

That next game was the one where Stafford elbowed "Spida" in the head, isn't it?

Round 4, 9 goals in the first quarter, and the duck shutdown for most of the night from memory by wiggins???

1995 Rd 11. was the first game i bought from this year.