The New Blokes

FreoDocker

It looks like our new SA boys were given their first taste at the club today.

Toby Stribling
stribling.jpg

Benet Copping
copping.jpg

Hopefully they can bulk up over the next few years and make their debuts. We've had a decent record at picking players up late, such as Woods, Browne, Medhurst and Thornton, hopefully they fare better than Crowley, Edgecumbe and Doswell.

Our best results have come from when we had first round picks, Haze, Pav, Scham, Jlo etc. (blind freddy could have picked them) most of the ones you mentioned from late, were via the rookie list, where we have been successful. Think blind freddy has worn his purple bandana over his eyes with his mid range picks. I've followed them since day one, and will still be there, but gee it's hard at times, talk about passion boooy it's haaard

wozzie said:
Our best results have come from when we had first round picks, Haze, Pav, Scham, Jlo etc. (blind freddy could have picked them) most of the ones you mentioned from late, were via the rookie list, where we have been successful. Think blind freddy has worn his purple bandana over his eyes with his mid range picks. I've followed them since day one, and will still be there, but gee it's hard at times, talk about passion boooy it's haaard

None of the blokes I mentioned came from the rookie list, they were all picked up in the draft. Gone are the days when you might be able to pick up a James Hird or a Chris Grant late in the draft. The best player picked up late in the draft recently was probably Lokan at #73 a few years back.

Like to welcome you aboard Wozzie, however , if that post is an example of your knowledge of the Dockers I would suggest Dockerland may be a better option, you'd fit in well there.

FreoDocker said:
The best player picked up late in the draft recently was probably Lokan at #73 a few years back.

Geez, you're scraping the bottom of the barrell there.

With the exception of 2002, our late picks have been pretty damn good.

Kenny_01 said:
With the exception of 2002, our late picks have been pretty damn good.

Too right!
I like the look of Stribling, He looks to have a bit of "Mongrel" about him.

The thing that surprised me is the number of players that nominate and don't get picked up. There has to be some late blooming guns amongst them who are sadly destined to never get selected because the draft age is so low.

B.T.W. Welcome Wozza.

FreoDocker said:
It looks like our new SA boys were given their first taste at the club today.

Toby Stribling
stribling.jpg

Benet Copping
copping.jpg

Hopefully they can bulk up over the next few years and make their debuts. We've had a decent record at picking players up late, such as Woods, Browne, Medhurst and Thornton, hopefully they fare better than Crowley, Edgecumbe and Doswell.

The problem with Stribling is that he looks so much like my brother its scary.

docker_azza said:
The problem with Stribling is that he looks so much like my brother its scary.

Copping looks like a bloke I used to play Primary School Footy with, he's got the same build and all.

You're right Freodocker, the names you mentioned were not from the rookie lists, however, Woods pick 51 Perth Browne pick 52 Claremont Medhurst pick 56 Claremont all locals and would have been well looked at all season and proven performers.
Thornton pick 66 VMFL Crowley 55 VMFL Edgecumbe 48 VMFL Doswell 63 NSW/ACT, who looked them over consistently.
Our rookie elevations Grover -Subi. Hayden -Sth Ftle Sandilands -East Ftle Siegert Sth Ftle/VCFL and now Steven Dodd East Ftle Dylan Smith Peel / VMFL again have been well looked at and consistent performers. The rookie list is a great introduction to a club. Eastern States late picks are a real raffle unless they have been well scrutinised. We have some great kids in WA, Cmon Dockers let's give them a go.

Woops, forgot two of the best rookie elevations Webster and Haddrill both champions

BB gun said:
who did port pick up with the picks we gave them

The players taken with those picks are...
Adam Thomson (Sturt)
Patrick Garner (Western Magpies, QLD)
Justin Sherman (Clarence, TAS)

What Port got from trading a bit with those picks...
Adam Thomson (Sturt)
James Ezard (Calder)
Aaron Shattock (Brisbane)
Peter Walsh (Melbourne)

Porthos said:
Adam Thomson (Sturt)

James Ezard (Calder)
Peter Walsh (Melbourne)

Looking at that I believe the boys down at Fremantle would be more than happy with the post season trading/drafting so far.

Scham said:
Like to welcome you aboard Wozzie, however , if that post is an example of your knowledge of the Dockers I would suggest Dockerland may be a better option, you'd fit in well there.

What is the possible use of a post like this? What is its worth?

Porthos said:
Adam Thomson (Sturt)

James Ezard (Calder)
Peter Walsh (Melbourne)
Have to wait a couple seasons untill we see who has come out on top.

RIPPER_46 said:
Come on Scham, you were certainly rude. I just thought you had your period.

I always have my period at Christmas time, the stress gets to me. And so does Dockerland!

Sorry Wozzie, your come back was great, and much more informed. Welcome.

Thanks Ripper.

Scham said:
If I need to answer this, then you should stick to Dockerland too!
Not a big fan of dockerland. they edit to many post. I am stil angry about not being able to post on the croad trade.
The people on there are pretty funny though

Scham said:
If I need to answer this, then you should stick to Dockerland too!

If you need to tell people what to do, why don't you ram it up your thinkbox?

You're dangerously close to revealing how little you really know when you suggest there is a deficiency of football knowledge on Dockerland.

Half the dudes who post here who have any clue post on Dockerland as well. Do you want to banish them for all time too so you can swan about revelling in such superb football insights as "Tazza has the biggest arms in the AFL" unhindered?

If you can't hack the gibberish on Dockerland, then that's a different story and totally your problem. Your criticial exegesis is not much chop, mate.

The Mission Man said:
If you need to tell people what to do, why don't you ram it up your thinkbox?

You're dangerously close to revealing how little you really know when you suggest there is a deficiency of football knowledge on Dockerland.

Half the dudes who post here who have any clue post on Dockerland as well. Do you want to banish them for all time too so you can swan about revelling in such superb football insights as "Tazza has the biggest arms in the AFL" unhindered?

If you can't hack the gibberish on Dockerland, then that's a different story and totally your problem. Your criticial exegesis is not much chop, mate.

Really struck a nerve eh?

Keep playing the "king of the kids" thing you've got going on DL Mish!

You are right though, the DL posters who have a clue do post here, its just we don't get the other 20000 half wits chiming in, and we definately don't get Adolf Richmond stopping free speech.!

Sorry Sabre, I had to retort MM's crap, but the dockerland debate is now over.

It ain't over til it's over.

You didn't strike a nerve, you're just wrong. Obviously you're content to be wrong so anything I say - or Ripper says, or The Pope says, or Blocker says, or Imperial says, or Moo says - won't make a jot or tittle of difference.

If you got edited on Dockerland and you cracked a great big ********ing sad, then how precious are you exactly?

Is your prose so deathless, are your thoughts so vital, that they cannot withstand some bloke deciding he doesn't want it on his site? A bloke who has had his arse offered to him on a plate by defamation lawyers for stuff posted by some clowns he doesn't even know - or profit from.

What makes me laugh is that every thread on the so-called free speech channels that gets a bit contentious or unsavoury winds up getting locked or shifted or tampered with in some way. Or posters get banned.

Or some clown says "the debate is over".

Doesn't seem to stop the self-congratulatory burble about "free speech" though.

(Incidentally, there is a longstanding convention on the Internerd that the first person to mention Hitler or the Nazis loses the argument. Make of that what you will.)