The Rumour on 5AA

• Thread starter Thread starter Cap

captain ebert said:
c'mon, we're talking about adelaide here - it was hard enough getting the lights at adelaide oval in the first place - none of this will happen (unfortunately).
Unfortunately I agree. It probably won't happen in my lifetime. The only way I can see it happening is if control of Adelaide Oval is taken away from the SACA & then they offer a very big carrot to the SANFL while threatening them with a very big stick.

Even then you can see royal commissions, court injunctions & people lying down in front of the bulldozers.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Adelaide doesn't need 2 stadiums with 50K capacity at the moment.

That was Drakey's point. Redevelop Adelaide Oval and get rid of Footy Park and voila, one multi purpose 50K stadium.

Everyone jumps up and down at the suggestion, but come on, what's so special? Heritage? Nostalgia? Which bits? Those giant tents on the KW St flank? The retractable light towers that don't retract? The occasional giant TV screen needed because nobody wants to change the "traditional" scoreboard? The Bradman Stand, whacked up completely out of character with the tents and old piles of wood rot?

It's a mish mash of architectural designs and consumer accessibility because they keep trying to update it while maintaining it's "traditional appeal". And now we have the worst of both worlds.

Ford Fairlane said:
That was Drakey's point. Redevelop Adelaide Oval and get rid of Footy Park and voila, one multi purpose 50K stadium.

Everyone jumps up and down at the suggestion, but come on, what's so special? Heritage? Nostalgia? Which bits? Those giant tents on the KW St flank? The retractable light towers that don't retract? The occasional giant TV screen needed because nobody wants to change the "traditional" scoreboard? The Bradman Stand, whacked up completely out of character with the tents and old piles of wood rot?

It's a mish mash of architectural designs and consumer accessibility because they keep trying to update it while maintaining it's "traditional appeal". And now we have the worst of both worlds.
I swore the day I agreed with a Power Supporter I'd go move to Antartica.

Guess I better "rug up"!!!:eek: :D

drakeyv2 said:
Unfortunately I agree. It probably won't happen in my lifetime. The only way I can see it happening is if control of Adelaide Oval is taken away from the SACA & then they offer a very big carrot to the SANFL while threatening them with a very big stick.

Even then you can see royal commissions, court injunctions & people lying down in front of the bulldozers.

The old tie network runs the judicial system in SA and they're all Adelaide Oval and Adelaide Club members. You wouldn't get a bulldozer out of the shed ...

**** said:
That's why I reckon the West Parklands, or Keswick would be the best place, instead of replacing Adelaide Oval (which will never happen). As close to the city as you could realistically get, plenty of vacant land (although an athletic stadium and netball stadium got in first, we could demolish them ;) ). Transport infrastructure is already there and although transport would need to be improved it wouldn't take anything drastic. Then people can spend the day in the city, go to the footy, and then stay in the city after the game. It'll never happen, but that's the sort of location that Melbourne would build a stadium (and did with Docklands). A stadium on the edge of the city centre - it's nice to dream. A decision like this needed to be made 10 years ago. With all the new developments of Football Park, it will never happen now.

Where in Keswick?

This still leaves the problem of Adelaide having 2 stadiums which will be under utilized half the year, limiting the revenue they can generate and therefore not being able to afford the upgrades in spectator amenities that will be required over time.

rainmage said:
I swore the day I agreed with a Power Supporter I'd go move to Antartica.

Guess I better "rug up"!!!:eek: :D

There should be some good winter clothing specials now with the warm weather coming ... ;)

Ford Fairlane said:
There should be some good winter clothing specials now with the warm weather coming ... ;)
Cheers mate.

You must have some good Op Shop specials at the moment down the Wharfie way eh??:D

Only Jokin';)

drakeyv2 said:
Where in Keswick?

This still leaves the problem of Adelaide having 2 stadiums which will be under utilized half the year, limiting the revenue they can generate and therefore not being able to afford the upgrades in spectator amenities that will be required over time.
Agreed again with you drakryv2!!:o No . . . I not a suck!!!

Showgrounds could be used as parking with Shuttle Buses (anybody heard of them here?) going to Adelaide Oval.

Another good idea that's wasted in a deadwood State that seems to refuse change. Lets bring this thread back in 15 years time and see how far footy and Adelaide mentality in regards to change has evolved.

We'll still be talking about the same crap.

rainmage said:
drakeyv2 I've been thinking about it a little bit more now and it is a fantastic idea!!!:cool:

Imagine the city after a Saturday night game where the Crows have just one a game. Imagine the life that it would bring back. A Stadium in the heart of the City is EXACTLY what this State needs.

I think this sounds appealing to everyone.....but just not at the expense of the AO as it stands.
A few problems ........Ian Gilfilan will hunt you down for desecrating the precious parklands.....parking is a nightmare in the city, look at the BS with the council everytime there's a Sanfl game on at the oval.......maybe we could consider redeveloping the showgrounds, it needs it anyway........also - there has been a lot of money invested in Footy Park already.
The main problem is money with both AFL clubs not willing to pay.....the SANFL wouldn't want a bar of it 'cos they already own a stadium....and any corporate body would not want to deal with the AFL (refer Telstra Dome)......imagine dealing with Ian McLoughlin and other assorted fossils on the SACA board........and then you've got the Adelaide city council !!! :eek:

A great idea in principle....but....a nightmare financially and logistically

Mad Dog said:
I think this sounds appealing to everyone.....but just not at the expense of the AO as it stands.
A few problems ........Ian Gilfilan will hunt you down for desecrating the precious parklands.....parking is a nightmare in the city, look at the BS with the council everytime there's a Sanfl game on at the oval.......maybe we could consider redeveloping the showgrounds, it needs it anyway........also - there has been a lot of money invested in Footy Park already.
The main problem is money with both AFL clubs not willing to pay.....the SANFL wouldn't want a bar of it 'cos they already own a stadium....and any corporate body would not want to deal with the AFL (refer Telstra Dome)......imagine dealing with Ian McLoughlin and other assorted fossils on the SACA board........and then you've got the Adelaide city council !!! :eek:

A great idea in principle....but....a nightmare financially and logistically

Yep.

Welcome to Adelaide.

"The Nostalgia State":(

rainmage said:
Cheers mate.

You must have some good Op Shop specials at the moment down the Wharfie way eh??:D

Only Jokin';)

Why benefit the middle man when you can climb straight into the Goodwill Bins ... ;)

drakeyv2 said:
Where in Keswick?

Don't know exactly, but where that Athletics stadium is right now could work. Or, you could build it on top of the train tracks, giving the stadium it's very own train station right underneath the arena.

Although I really do like your suggestion, I don't think it's ideal having two sports on one ground. It makes it difficult at the end of summer when both sport are vying for the same ground. Combining with another sport, such as Soccer could be better. Adelaide Oval fills up 3 or 4 days a year for cricket. Soccer potentially brings in more people over a season right now, with huge potential for growth. But again, we've got some crappy soccer stadium in the middle of nowhere that has just had millions spent on it.

Other than that I have thought about your suggestion and agree that it would be great.

People talk about tradition and heritage against progression. We only have to look at the MCG to see that both can exist. MCG v Adelaide Oval. Which is the more prestigious ground? Most unbiased people would probably say MCG. Adelaide Oval could remain great even if modernised. That would be the trick to it all. It would have to be done right. That could involve gaps around the arena leading to some of the views that Adelaide Oval now prides itself on. A big gap at the southern end could reveal views of the city. A space between stands could be left for the cathedral to be seen from inside the stadium.

The more I think about it the more I think it would be awesome.

But there are so many things stopping it from happening that this is no more than a fantasy.

The funniest thing would be KG gurgling and spluttering on AA at the mere mention of it. Cornesy would of course have to agree with the suggestion cos he can't help but bait KG and we could be listening to the first murder/suicide broadcast live on radio!

Did the MCG stop being the home of football when they tore down the old southern stand & built the Great Southern Stand? No.

The vic's said look how bloody good the ground is now! Wait till the new stands there are finished. we will see 1 or 2 articles bemoning the loss of the old members & 50 talking up the new one & within a year they will be wondering why it took them so long to change it. It will still be the site of the 1st test match, still the home of Ponsford, Lawry & Warne, still the site of the magnificent 97 & 98 grand final's and (gulp, nask teeth, cringe & vomit), still the site of the 2004 GF.

Adelaide Oval would still be Adelaide Oval. It would just be a 21st century stadium, not a 19th century one. It will still be the home of Giffen, Hill & Bradman, still the site of Port's heroics of the 50's, Sturt's of the 60's, North's of the 70's & that bloody mark Cornes took in 73.

And who knows, if they did it right people might be saying that the good thing about the cathedral is that you can see Adelaide Oval from there, not the other way around!

**** said:

Other than that I have thought about your suggestion and agree that it would be great.

People talk about tradition and heritage against progression. We only have to look at the MCG to see that both can exist. MCG v Adelaide Oval. Which is the more prestigious ground? Most unbiased people would probably say MCG. Adelaide Oval could remain great even if modernised. That would be the trick to it all. It would have to be done right. That could involve gaps around the arena leading to some of the views that Adelaide Oval now prides itself on. A big gap at the southern end could reveal views of the city. A space between stands could be left for the cathedral to be seen from inside the stadium.

The more I think about it the more I think it would be awesome.

Even the most astute of posters agree drakeyv2.

I enjoy your posts ****. Keep those cogs turning mate.;)

drakeyv2 said:
Did the MCG stop being the home of football when they tore down the old southern stand & built the Great Southern Stand? No.

The vic's said look how bloody good the ground is now! Wait till the new stands there are finished. we will see 1 or 2 articles bemoning the loss of the old members & 50 talking up the new one & within a year they will be wondering why it took them so long to change it. It will still be the site of the 1st test match, still the home of Ponsford, Lawry & Warne, still the site of the magnificent 97 & 98 grand final's and (gulp, nask teeth, cringe & vomit), still the site of the 2004 GF.

Adelaide Oval would still be Adelaide Oval. It would just be a 21st century stadium, not a 19th century one. It will still be the home of Giffen, Hill & Bradman, still the site of Port's heroics of the 50's, Sturt's of the 60's, North's of the 70's & that bloody mark Cornes took in 73.

And who knows, if they did it right people might be saying that the good thing about the cathedral is that you can see Adelaide Oval from there, not the other way around!

ok I'm convinced.......bulldoze the ********er....it's time to move on !

Well in the length of this thread drakey has changed my mind from nah, not really a good idea, to yeah lets get the bulldozers out. :D

drakeyv2 has certainly got everyone's mind and imagination ticking over.

Imagine . . . . all the people . . . .

in the city centre . . . .

CELEBRATING ANOTHER MIGHTY CROWS WIN!!!:D :cool:

My theory is stuff Cheltenham race-course. Go for Victoria Park right in the city and do 2 things.

Set it up for the V8s permanently - not much would need to be done - just improve the quality of pit straight.

Build a new state of the art oval on the south/westernside of pit striaght. (I believe there is already an oval there).

Parking wouldnt be a problem .... lights wouldnt be a problem (east end of Adelaide is basically commercial) ... transport no problem with city buses and the like.

I like the idea of thousands happy fans spilling out of the ground and taking the east end of Adelaide by storm. Reminiscent of Melbourne as everyone leaves the G or the dome and just walks into the city for a drink.

Of course ensuring that the entire vic park precent rermained aesthetically pleasing and very green and open to the public would also be a priority.

rainmage said:
Imagine the city after a Saturday night game where the Crows have just one a game. Imagine the life that it would bring back. A Stadium in the heart of the City is EXACTLY what this State needs.

Ummm they have one its called Adelaide Oval...But I agree with what you say..I remember (back in my day :rolleyes: ) Sturt played Port in a night game at the Adelaide Oval and this was when the Rams stands were still there..I am sure it was the night Ormond-Allen took his screamer...anyway after the game had finished to see the crowds walking towards the city animated and knowing they would cram more alcohol into themselves at any nightspot they chose would have warmed the hearts of many a capitalist.

Funny thing is there WAS a train line near enough right to the doorstep...I am sure there was a terminus(end of line) along Military Rd instead of where it finishes now..gee I am showing my age now ..and this was at a time when Footy Pk was there....1977-78 I would guess the line was taken out.. I'll let some other historian work it out

They are also having the same discussion over here in regards to Subiaco and selling it off for housing and building in the southern suburbs..wont happen.. but I dont agree with the assessment that because its not needed now doesnt mean to say it wont be needed in the future.

PerthCrow said:
Funny thing is there WAS a train line near enough right to the doorstep...I am sure there was a terminus(end of line) along Military Rd instead of where it finishes now..gee I am showing my age now ..and this was at a time when Footy Pk was there....1977-78 I would guess the line was taken out.. I'll let some other historian work it out

QUOTE]
This stop which was along side the road was still a good 25 min walk from the stadium......but the point is - the track goes thru the middle of the golf course on Tapley's Hill Rd ....how hard would it be to divert it a bit??

i remember thinking how crazy the lights at adelaide oval situation had become.

in order to remain backwards thinking, we actually went to the forefront of the world & employed world first technology by designing lights that were supposed to retract.

and now theyre just there full time.

that whole scenario & the grand prix moving interstate (remember the politicians crapping on about it? & bernie getting cold feet?) just sums adelaide up beautifully for me (i still love the place).