Radio The SEN Thread 9

Hungry for Double-Up Denham
Last year it was Hawthorn president, Jeff Kennett who led the charge against free agency. He condemned the model saying it would further divide strong clubs from the weaker ones. Former Collingwood coach, Mick Malthouse is the latest to chime in predicting the game is doomed to a two tier competition. Now I think it provides a great opportunity for bottom clubs to become more competitive if they are well run. In fact, the top clubs will struggle to keep all of their good players under the salary cap. I think free agency will strengthen the competition and make it even more competitive.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Here’s Jethro’s archived audio:
This is open slather for the managers. You wait to you see how this bloody plays out. They will play player against player, club against club; it will be uncontrollable. They have produced a bowl of spaghetti which is slippery, has no definable ends, and administrators are going to find it increasingly difficult to manage their clubs. Where does that lead? Weaker clubs are going to get weaker.
[He’s Jeff Kennett, That’s His Bloody Take]

Someone here is going to be wrong, but who? KB, Double M, and Mr. Kennett have never run pro sports leagues. No one’s interested in overseas trends, but they’re so different in many ways. Not many pro leagues with market sizes like in the AFL. Nine clubs in Melbourne, too. Will salaries be dissected in the public domain? So many definitive outcomes predicted about something and its consequences that don’t yet exist. Where does one turn to solve this vexing imbroglio? Could it be today’s guests in Liam Anthony from the Kangas; jockey, Craig Williams; or the sorry and sore LeBaron-Ralph back for more slugging after 11am. Will the answer come at week’s end with Puddy Balme, Dave Croupier, Ripper Richo, or golfer, Vaughan Somers? Well, by the guest list it clearly ain’t gonna be a woman. This $@#*! sexist radio must end!

Wait … turning up the radio I can hear the dulcet tones of Marty Rhone which can mean only one possible outcome. The man of answers, and responsible for aging Melbourne F.C. SEN fans double and triple-shotting tequila in their morning Margarita before Keith Mooning their lounge room furniture. Yes, it’s another week-ending double shot of the Dees-hating, Grunk “Venom” Denham.

Grunk’s into the fray quickly by questioning whether clubs will be weaker; 2 or 3 years prep and rare opportunity for weaker clubs to improve; run of-the-mill players can benefit by swapping teams … KB agrees and uses Cats and Pies as example; lower clubs have been gearing up for FA through debt demolitions, etc … So whataya know, that’s what debt demolitions were for – spending more money in free agency. Learn something new every day – debt resurrection. … KB moves again on to Graham Cornes’ three Port players that can win the Brownlow; will Grunk take the bait and bag Cornes? You betcha. “No, no, no, no, no, that’s wrong. We know enough about those three players to say that’s an impossibility and a really, really silly comment to make. Wasn’t it Graham Cornes that made his players at Adelaide walk over burning hot coals and say ‘this won’t hurt boys?’ I mean fair dinkum. Graham Cornes? Goose of the Year wasn’t he, two years running?” KB chuckles at the hook, line, and sinker venom from Denham … Mensa Talkback Society’s take on FA should be exhilarating radio. Here we go. Who’s capable at your club to win a Brownlow?

North in the ‘70s using the 10-year rule is first up; KB nails all the key moves by North … Grunk nominates Judd seemingly as an exhibit for helping the Blues into the spot they are now and other players wanting to stay at Visy Park with Juddy, which has something to do with the new FA, I just don’t know what … KB makes great point by denouncing the Double M’s beef about a two tier competition by listing the Dees last flag in ’64 and the Tigers with no flags in 30 years, Saints as the Aints since 1966, the Bulldogs winning jack since ’54. He adds, “so whatever’s been happening in that period time you would have to say it’s pretty much a two-tiered competition. You can’t get any worse than that when you’ve got clubs that can’t win a premiership for 40 of 50 years of their existence.”
KB can’t remember a bad Brownlow winner… Bombers fan cites Libba and KB defends the former Dog and remembers him missing the last 5 games his winning year year (close, it was 3) … which Don can win one? Caller nominates Hurley, and KB departs him with cheeky “he might win it for GWS.” … Now here’s a femme in caller Anne who doesn’t like F.A. because fans get to love players and it’ll be destabilising as a supporter for Goddard to go to greener GWS pastures because she wants him to a Saint. … Grunk retorts: no Ablett, no problems for flag-winning Cats; KB reminds the filly that Saints have done alright with other team's players … KB and Grunk discuss club confusion over free agency in regards to contract technicalities around when, where, how, and FA eligibility … Grunk suggests KB should quiz Cats’ GM Puddy Balme for some answers. …

KB’s back to the three Port players for a fifth mention; with the ease of hooking on a school of flathead in Port Phillip Bay, Grunk eagerly jumps in the boat. “Look, they’ll be struggling to win enough games this year, Port Adelaide, I wouldn’t even be worried about Brownlow medals.” KB keeps pushing and Grunk continues. “O.K., those three players could all next year go and play for Geelong, Collingwood, and Hawthorn or whatever and they still wouldn’t get close to winning a Brownlow.” … tiresome Brownlow “he could, he can’t” talk dominates … a caller helps KB and Grunk turn into Beavis and Butt-head as they use Swans’ players, McGlynn, Kennedy, Richards, Shaw, and Mumford as examples of the future benefit of free agency when only Shaw would have qualified as a (restricted) FA had the rules applied. Three others swapped to the Swans with no one having more than five years of accrued service. How free agency is going help the Mumfords of the AFL who moved after only two years at Geelong remains to be seen. You can bet the true reason of why free agency exists in pro sport won’t be discussed here. Grunk’s adamant FA will help the mid-range players (refer to disastrous NFL Plan B free agency after the Powell antitrust case, 1989) Grunk, of course, is guessing, like most of the media. But, what the hell, let’s rock on!

Caller predicably lets Grunk have it about last week’s two certainties. Grunk exclaims “oh no.”
Grunk: I’m not predicting anymore. Yes, I apologize to all Richmond fans out there.
KB: Do you ever get anything right, [Grunk]?
Grunk: Yes I do
KB: Are you sure you get something right?
Grunk: Sometimes I do, yeah. Not a very good punter though.

KB covers himself by identifying Grunk as being correct on the LeCras injury which brackets Grunk with about 1.3 million other LeCras injury prognosticators. Good get, that:rolleyes: … Grunk makes the huge declaration that KB’s current prediction of a 108 point Tiges win over the Blues in round 1 is “looking a little bit silly.” But KB is implacable.
KB: I reckon most people would think the Tigers have got a very, very good chance of knocking off the Blues. The Blues have been pretty cocky this year, talking about premierships. They’ve got people do there with white gloves on at the moment polishing cups.

Grunk reiterates that bottom clubs have had time to prepare for free agency and they should handle it very well, but gives not the slightest empirical evidence as to why the poorer clubs on and off the field will be better than the bigger more successful clubs at this or anything else. … Heading into half time it’s clear the collective media and public opinion on free agency can pretty much be found in the introduction of Gustave Le Bon’s 1895 publication, The Crowd – A study of the Popular Mind, but I’m settling with the more toe-tapping Ronnie James Dio who once said: “If you listen to fools the Mob Rules.”

After half time KB immediately trawls the bay for bigger fish like whiting, snapper, and Grunk. What better way is there to hook a Grunk than using the Melbourne Football Club as tasty bait.

Melbourne is the team that I’m keen to see from this week’s second round of NAB Cup games. Previous coach Dean Bailey predicted the Dees were guaranteed success; would play finals this season. But let’s not forget Brisbane coach Michael Voss once predicted Melbourne would be the next super power of the competition. Mark Neeld’s game plan will be on show as will star recruit, Mitch Clarke. The hype around the new-look Dees has been huge: new coach, new director of footy, new fitness guru. The signs tell us they’re ready to finally make an impact. Now, let’s see some action.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Grunk jumps the hook and KB begins reeling him in. Like fishing in a tank.
Grunk: Finally make an impact? Well, I hope that’s right, it’s about time for the Demons anyway. It will be an interesting game at Metricon stadium on Saturday night. Let’s hope they can fire but they certainly need to. Their past record’s deplorable. … We know coach speak, right. Vossy did say that. That Melbourne was going to be the super power in July, 2010. Not sure how many games that Brisbane had won at that time, not many, and I think they were playing them next week, so he may well of been getting the Brisbane fans ready for another belting.

KB is keen to see Watts, Grimes, Howe; some urgency … Grunk sits on the journo fence by seeing “potential for down the track”… Grunk wants to see where they’re at as well as Sellar from Adelaide and what’s Neil Craig got to offer … KB tells caller that the Tigers are purring, and Grunk gets more grief for his puffed up blowfish guarantee against Richmond last week … Grunk agrees with caller about Brisbane building a nice team in a few years; KB quizzes if Grunk’s on their bandwagon too. Grunk sees emerging Lion talent and predicts more wins than in 2011. KB talks-up Lions a little and Grunk says “Karnezis, they’re all say he’s going to be an absolute superstar.” KB yanks the rod and seizes the catch and apportions the Karnezis statement to Grunk.
KB: Gonna be a superstar is he [Grunk]?
Grunk: Well, ah-
KB: Give us your early season superstar … because [Grunk] has come up with a doozie then. That Karnezis is going to be a superstar for the Brisbane Lions. We’ve jotted that down if you want add to that.

Next Dees’ fan wants to see some grit … a former recruiting officer backs the Karnezis for excellence prediction from Lions’ staff now attributed to Grunk by KB … Grunk grizzles about NAB Cup player name apathy by commentators while excusing Huddo and Eddie; KB wants names on the back of jumpers … now back to Tiger talkback and by the start of the season every Richmond player may well be a future superstar … Tom Hawkins has slimmed down so much he looks like a jaguar says KB … The Saints Sabastian Ross (No.6) and Terry Milera (No.32) have neither played a game but they’re apparently future superstars as the 158 members of the Ivy Moyle family must be ringing in … more Saints talk as Melbourne FC fans must have gone to China in search of a sponsor.

Games are too long says Grunk; too much time-on … KB wants fans’ opinions but we get another future Saint star in Thomas Curran (No. 43) from a bloke who wants to return to his double free kick debate of last week … an AFL paying customer – unlike Grunk – nixes the shortening of game time idea … listeners love the idea of names on jumpers … expert pro sports economist caller is whining about the time lost in games with TV commercials … KB goes through a laundry list of time-wasting skulduggery by teams … ha, Grunk says he doesn’t remember many quarters going past 30 minutes even when there was 25-minute quarters (pre-’94 the clock didn’t stop during 25-minute quarters)… no major jumper sponsor for Melbourne and it’s a worry six weeks before the season starts says Grunk, and he hopes they get one. Grunk finishes softly-softly on the Dees but you can bet if Melbourne struggles early in the season he’ll be on like a gull on a rotting fish.

Denhamism of the Week
Pendlebury, Thomas or Swany next year could individually poll more votes than Graham Cornes’s trio from Port.

Surveying The Weekly Denhamography
a) Clubs at the bottom must be well administered in free agency (easier said than done)
b) Main benefit of free agency will be the run-of-the-mill players moving teams
c) Free agency will work and really good idea (based on what evidence???)
d) Likes the AFL ruck rule; not happy with pre-season haircuts.
e) Apologizes to Richmond fans for last week’s prediction they wouldn’t win a game :D
d) Trading rules won’t change because of free agency (says the man with a crystal ball)
e) Loyalty is a word we shouldn’t use in football because there just isn’t any of it.
f) Melbourne will be lucky to win 11 games in 2012 and probably miss the eight.
g) Gripes about Foxtel commentators not knowing players names in NAB Cup.
h) Wants home-and-away games to be shorter in time.
i) The one job he just couldn’t do in football is an AFL timekeeper.

movies-logo-Master-of-the-Universe--He-man-0016-5097-brand.gif

New Master of Aussie Fast Bowling Universe or just a very naughty Aggressive, Mouthy, Abusive He-Man?

Hungry for He-Men on a Manic Monday
The poor Indians are copping it left, right, and centre. First of all it was the Mankad incident, now two dodgy decisions yesterday. Shane Watson in his first game as captain of Australia should have recalled Sachin Tendulkar; Brett Lee clearly blocked his run. And Dave Hussey should have been given out for interference. He nearly tried to catch the ball. I think the Indians have every right to feel they have been robbed.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Putz is on KB’s side for the Hussey incident but he is part of the fast(ish) bowler fraternity and thus is not 100 percent on the Brett Lee incident … KB repeats his Lee argument sensing Putz’s 50/50 call, even though Putz thinks Watson had an opportunity to recall Tendulkar … KB’s now flabbergasted as he seeks support from talkback … now to AFL video that Putz says it wasn’t used enough on the weekend; KB likes video and it’s just early days … Callers nail the Brett Lee incident stating how Tedulkar gave up the run due to Lee’s position and there’s as much chance of KB changing his mind by the end the hour as there is of him ever handballing anything … every minute detail is dissected in the search for utopia in officiating: Hussey’s hand position, Lee’s “big backside” and so on.

Audio played of Shane Watson saying he’s comfortable in trust and decisions made by two of the best umps in the world (Bowden and Taufel) in reference to incidents and KB’s sees that as a generalisation and, well, he don’t handball:
KB: O.K., total trust in the umpires says Shane Watson. Just wonder [Putz] when he’s batting whether he’ll ever actually go to the third umpire when they give him out?
Putz: [LOL] Kevin!
KB: No, no, these two guys are fantastic and their decisions good enough for me. I’ve been given out LBW and it’s clearly hit the bat but that’s good enough for me. That’s rubbish what Shane Watson just said. Absolute rubbish!
Putz: Kevin!
KB: He’s a contender for Gibberish of the Week
Putz: OH, he is not. He’s the captain and explaining how he saw that incident.
[Silent pause]
KB: Rubbish!
Putz: [LOL] Oh, you’re very anti-cricket today.
KB: No!

Callers agreeing with Putz, but the overriding opinion is that it’s just not cricket and what about the spirit of the game … Hmmm, sounds like an Indian accent now on the talkback: Hussey out; “Tendulkar is one of the real gentleman of the game,” and he didn’t want to run into Lee, so he lost his wicket and any other batsman would have crashed the bowler.

KB: Tendulkar, he was clearly disappointed. He appealed to the umpire and also the Australian cricket team, saying “c’mon.” So he was disappointed. Is he allowed to hit him over the head with a bat as he’s trying to get past [Lee] [Putz]?
Putz: Only if he’s very angry.:D

Here’s another caller’s opinion: “It’s the cricket Gods. [E-Kohli] has been an absolute tool all year and it’s just coming back to bite the Indians; all these little decisions, that’s all it is.” … So much for the fast bowling fraternity as Putz blowtorches our own.
Putz: I’ve been watching those cricket games. I reckon that [E-Kohli’s] only given what he’s got. I think that that’s most unfair to pick on [E-Kohli] because I think the Australians have played with an extraordinary aggression, no more then James Pattinson who’s taken one wicket in his lifetime, and he’s running up and down the pitch mouthing off at all these champion batsman. Learn to count your run-up first, James, before you become this big aggressive He-man in the tradition of Australian fast bowlers. Learn your trade first, son, and don’t go around abusing your opposition.

One wicket, eh? Patto burst into the Indian series with a two-game Test tally of 14 wickets and today has 25 at an average of 18.1, as well as a handy batting average of 29.3 from just a total of four games. That’s a fair advocacy for a young testosterone-filled Aussie paceman to do a little aggressive chest pumping of his own. As for picking on the Indians, Pattinson only played them twice and hasn’t played since January 6. Now speaking of “extraordinary aggression,” and “abusing your opposition” and, not forgetting “He-Man,” let me play Skelator’s advocate for a moment and revisit the archives of cricket in the burbs where amateurs and sportsmanship thrive:
http://www.thelatemail.com.au/the-late-mail-articles/2007/10/28/the-ten-cricket-chuckers/
10. Patrick Smith (1970s)
Best known in these parts as a belligerent columnist first with The Age and then The Australian, Smith was equally aggressive as an opening bowler for district club Prahran in the 1970s. He once copped a two-week ban for following through and chesting a batsman to the ground. Smith was also said to have a questionable action, although he was never called.

Speaking of archives, if memory of history serves me correctly, Carlton may not have won a practice match in 1981/82 and went on to back-to-back flags but I don’t suspect the realities of the first round of the NAB Cup are going to save the Blue Boys from the roar of Tiger KB off a very long comedic run.
KB: We’ve had the first round of the NAB Cup; which side do you think has been the most impressive during the NAB Cup games? Have you enjoyed the first round of the NAB Cup games? And what about Carlton!? They’ve polished that premiership cup; fair dinkum, they’ve pumped up their tires all summer, and then Brett Ratten comes out and says “you know what, we didn’t come to play.” … I see Chris Judd’s not playing next week as well, [Putz]. Mark my word, that shoulder of his, [Putz], he can not lift it above his head at the moment. He won’t be there for the first game of the year! But Carlton, after all that talk, and big noting during the summer, “we didn’t come to play.” What rubbish! (KB’s 2,109th reference to Juddy’s dodgy shoulder.)

KB likes the Adelaide approach to long kicking to a contest and the Crows could be entertaining; Putz says it’s good and accredits the efforts of KB and the rules committee … KB thinks Melbourne made Collingwood look like they go down the corridor and players must have been instructed that every kick had to go to the boundary line; a chuckling Putz refers to the terrible conditions and asserts that KB’s “in a very tough mood this morning.” … Time for a sling-tackle tirade.
KB: I know I said this last year but Josh Hunt had a sling-tackle against Sydney. I think the boy’s name might have been Luke Parker… Now Josh Hunt is a big strong man; picked him up, cart wheeled him, and dumped him on the ground. Now nothing will happen to Josh Hunt because last year we saw that. I think Trengove got rubbed out for about three weeks when he dumped Dangerfield on his head. Then there was another incident when the player got dumped, maybe even Trengove again, and there was no case to answer because the player didn’t land on his head and therefore he wasn’t injured or knocked out, or concussed. Now someone one day, [Putz], Josh Hunt’s sling-tackle, as I say, nothing will happen to Josh Hunt, picked him up, absolutely cart-wheeled him and dumped him. Now he had no idea where he was going to land. These guys are big, they’re strong, and if you start picking up players like that with a sling-tackle, I’m telling ya, [Putz], one day someone is going to have their neck broken. Now when that happens the game is going to feel very, very sad for it. The player who was responsible for it is going to feel absolutely distraught. And it’s going to be tragic for the person who has the broken neck.

Putz agrees the rule is not right and that tackle adds nothing to the game … KB is disappointed in the first round of NAB Cup; likens it to intra-club games; teams not concerned about score lines; teams not interested in making the final. Putz lists weather conditions and thinks KB is too harsh; KB counters that players have been sent out to go through the motions; result doesn’t matter and Carlton couldn’t give two hoots about the results; NAB Cup has lost its edge … Caller talks sportsmanship and cites footballers knowing they’ve kicked a point and letting a goal given to stand … Putz says two different games, two different ways they operate; two different cultures and two different philosophies and you have to accept that. … KB bemoans he kicked a goal in the 1982 Grand Final and it was given a point; Putz uses an obviously well practiced Donald Bradman impersonation to attack KB for talking about himself

Is Foxtel too expensive as a caller states concern over no free-to-air during NAB Cup? … Will the extra home-and-away games on cable lead to more subscriptions? … How much does it cost asks Putz whom apparently has no idea; KB thinks it’s around $80 a month for the package with footy which is nearly a $1000 a year; Putz muses that’s a lot of money for a lot of people … Is it too expensive quips KB again? ... The standard annual package including Fox Footy can be currently picked up for $732, but who needs to be accurate when people want everything for nuthin’.

It’s that Mensa time of the hour as a Carlton fan vents his displeasure.
Caller: I was at the game yesterday and look, I can’t work out – I know Carlton years ago had David Parkin – why aren’t they going to Michael Malthouse a hundred mile an hour? That effort – I know some people will say it’s a NAB Cup but hey – Carlton reckon they were a top four side, that was an inssssipid performance yesterday; there was no want whatsoever. I think [Double M] should be in that box and I tell you what, he wouldn’t accept that crap that was served up yesterday.

KB admits he’s only having fun at the Blues expense reiterates that no clubs are too interested in winning. … Putz says NAB Cup’s a bit of a giggle; KB ends the hour with wait for the next couple of week’s games. And Putz is off into Sports Journalism Universe until tomorrow

Humour of the Day
Well they fell into full clinical depression on the stand, Kevin. They had electric shock treatment just to come back to life. Silliest think I’ve seen in football.
-On St. Kilda’s behaviour after winning the pre-season competition in 2004

Guus of the Week: Peter Forrest for first ODI century.
Goose of the Week: Clive Palmer for putting “Freedom of Speech” sign on the team’s jerseys.

The poor Indians are copping it left, right, and centre. First of all it was the Mankad incident, now two dodgy decisions yesterday. Shane Watson in his first game as captain of Australia should have recalled Sachin Tendulkar; Brett Lee clearly blocked his run. And Dave Hussey should have been given out for interference. He nearly tried to catch the ball. I think the Indians have every right to feel they have been robbed.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

My god this senile old fool just gets worse and worse. :eek:

Its getting harder and harder to listen between 9 & 10.
If you had to save just one from a burning house who would you save Smith or Denham, or let both burn.

"We Don't need no water let the Mother F***** burn, burn Mother F*****! Burn"

Its getting harder and harder to listen between 9 & 10.
They, or someone other than Pat or Schibeci, should talk about about motor racing instead! ;)

Rohan Connolly is now on the Run Home with Ox and Mark , he will have a Tuesday night segment with them.
Awesome! :thumbsu: Of all the footy journos, Rohan is light years ahead of the rest. He'll carry Mark and Ox, no problem. (someone needs to!)

Frankenstein.jpg
images

If you look deep enough the resemblance becomes damn uncanny! Aaarrraagghh!
Both villains have never run a business or a pro sports team, and they are both scary to children.

Hungry for Clarification on Curmudgeon Tuesday

I’m very happy that Josh Hunt copped two weeks with an early plea for his sling-tackle on Sydney’s Luke Parker. Now I have nothing against the Cats’ premiership player but his action was dangerous and a player will have his neck broken one day. I thought he would get off, for the match review panel didn’t punish Melbourne’s Jack Trengrove last season when his sling-tackle on Callum Ward was given the green light, at the time sighting the majority of the contact was to the shoulder. Hunt could argue the same case. But what is important is that players should buy in and take ownership of that tackle and outlaw it.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

And with the partisan players and ex-players in the media to feed us predictable content we get this offering from “Crazy Cat,” CC Mooney:
Look I thought he was a little bit stiff to be honest. I completely understand where KB’s coming from and we don’t want to see guys get injured that way. I didn’t think it was as aggressive as he thinks, or anyone probably thinks and as far as I always thought is when an opposition player has the ball in arm and you’re tackling him, you can be fairly aggressive. I was a little bit shocked with that decision to be honest.

KB began Monday’s second hour by disagreeing with “Crash” Craddock’s article yesterday only to be informed by Mr Craddock that Malcolm Conn wrote the article.:eek: KB better shape up today for the crotchety Smith, an unleashed Giesch, some Zappers, Gary Lyon’s once great idea for a head coach in Peter Rhode, some Purchase hoops, and a little quirky Turfy to finish the show. And what ever else may pop up.

Putz starts by baging the sling-tackle and joins KB in asking the players to take responsibility and is glad to see Adam Goodes picked up for his legs-first tackle. KB thinks match review panel is toughening up on slinging … The concussion linked to mental health story initiated by everyone’s favourite player agent, Peter Jess:rolleyes: is on the table for discussion. KB wasn’t aware Andrew Krakouer “had suffered a lot of head knocks but obviously he has.” Putz takes the medical privacy angle about Krakouer’s condition on the back page of the paper and asks “for what reason.”

Well, if these two sports boobs weren’t so anti-American in sports they’d now the suicide deaths of the one-time dirtiest player in the NFL, Andre Waters, and the more recent hard-hitting Dave Duerson led to a spate of concerns of head trauma and – with so many retired NFL players being bankrupt – compensation claims. The US debate pops up often around CBA time (last season) and wouldn’t you know we hear what should be confidential private material about Andrew Krakouer just days after his career is in jeopardy, not by, say, another concussion-causing sling tackle, but a blown knee. I have a hunch on what Mr. Jess may be up to.;) But I digress from the dynamic duo’s constant attempt at bi-weekly conflict resolution with each other. On to talkback.

No-one’s liking the sling-tackle … KB’s still positive about video replay system being a winner but he’s a little fascinated that Alastair Clarkson would talk about Richmond on last night’s On the Couch programme … Putz backs Prof. David Bishop’s claim that altitude training that AFL clubs do doesn’t do much good; KB’s not sure about the Professor’s Take, pardon the pun.
Putz: Oh, Kevin, wait a sec. One club went over to Arizona and came back and said they felt great so fourteen clubs went over there. All like lemmings.

Intricacies of the sling-tackle in redux continues … caller nominates Timothy Michael Watson for Gibberish of the Week for saying the NBA All-Star game is pointless and boring. Says Watson played State of Origin, and yes, that’s his argument. KB refutes caller and points to NBA’s lack of pressure and game being more like the Harlem Globetrotters, which it is; Putz backs KB by saying NBA players are “on $13 million/$20 million dollar contracts.”:rolleyes: If Putz was cutting the pay checks he’d soon learn what is the market price for an NBA all-star contract … Caller Rob commends the show for being “entertaining where [Putz] is never wrong and Kevin’s not always right … KB and Putz laugh it up about how the clubs follow each other when a new trend arises. Swans get called again for early morning icy dips in the ocean by Putz …

Now on the cost of cameras on the goal line KB plays audio from Channel Ten’s David Barham:
It’s a really interesting topic but basically I think it cost us around $10,000 to do the Grand Final. We had to build special pads, we had to put four cameras in at each end and had to cable them and then you had to run them back into the truck and have an extra EDF machine which is a quick replay machine and that’s about $3,000 dollars. So you’re looking at, you know, by the time you’ve install it, build it and put it in … it’s a rather substantial amount of money. And there’s no way that a broadcaster could afford to put those cameras in at every game unless something has dramatically changed from the time I haven’t been doing it.

Caller says “G’day KB, oh just hold on,” and disappears to do something … on to Gibberish of the Week and Putz gives it to Jude Bolton for interchange comments … The hold-on caller is back now with the proclamation that any ball game with two goal umpires has no controversy. Yeah, right, sure pal. … Now here’s Swans fan Mary from Doncaster and gunning for guess who?
Caller Mary: Why is it, [Putz] Smith hasn’t got a decent word for the Sydney Swans?
KB: Why is that, [Putz]?
Putz: I love the Swans
KB: What has he said that’s upset you, Mary
Putz: What have I done?
Caller Mary: Every time he gets a chance he roasts the Sydney Swans and laughs about it. What’s he ever done in football? Has he ever kicked the football?
Putz: Mary, what have I said about the Sydney Swans? All I’ve mentioned is Jude Bolton.
Caller Mary: Because you always have a snide … pass a remark about them. Why don’t you grow up you silly old fool.
Putz: Nah, there’s a lot of wisdom in that. A lot of people have been giving me that advice recently.

Putz thinks KB is reading too much into Dane Swan’s pre-Arizona Brownlow votes and post-Arizona Brownlow votes … the $400,000 for Black Caviar for the government is a complete waste of money says Putz, stating schools, education, or scientific research are more worthy; bemoans racing not having a central decision-making nation body (he would) to preside over what’s best for racing; Black Caviar has done nothing for racing attendances between this and last year’s Blue Diamond race days. … KB Fact file: Dane Swan-13 votes in ten games pre-Arizona; 21 votes in eleven games post-Arizona. … Caller backs caller Mary stating three occasions that Putz had a crack at the Swannies; Putz intermittently to play the Swans theme song in the background.:D And then before vanishing into radio SEN’s black hole for the rest of the week he applauds Michael Clarke for answering his critics.

Hour 2
Starts off with the Prof David Bishop discussing research on high altitude training: evidence good for endurance athletes (100 days a year); Geelong no altitude training and a bunch of flags; works for some, not for all; diet important … Unleash the Giesch: No altitude training here, umps’ camp outside Ballarat; boundary ump did 5k in 14:52 and field umps doing 5k in 16 minutes; camp was 170 participants over 3 days … Impressed with fast-tracked Jordan Bannister’s first up effort ; wants more ex-players … should have been more reviews on weekend; goal umps need to use score review if not sure; work in progress; four goal umpires isn’t going to eliminate errors … sling-tackle free kicks not paid is worrying and umps have a little work to do and now the Giesch is now leashed.

Peter Rhode from Port talks to KB: teenager Chad Wingard impresses KB, Brad Ebert too, with Graham Cornes’ three Brownlow nominees Port look O.K.; are Westhoff and Butcher making up the two key forwards asks KB, Rhode offers usual GM/Coach-speak answers … Expectations are to “improve,” and lots of resources into fitness and medical areas (like 17 other teams), young talent needs to develop (Ugh), certainly expect to improve and work up the ladder, hope to win 8-10 games … KB working his arse off here and keeps pushing; impressed with Jasper Pittard; Rhode expects big steps from Jaspar, Butcher, and Andrew Moore [3 first rd draft picks two years ago] Ben Newton and Wingard plus Renouf and Ebert; “improve as a group but, you know, we’ve got a long way to go.”

Oh look, surprise, surprise, it’s Peter Jess who wants to make some clarifications on the Hun article, you know, to be sure, um, we all see things the way he sees them. Hmmm, let’s listen in because I’m betting on some, you know, classic linguistic genius from Jess:

KB: You’ve got some concerns about the back page of the Herald Sun
Jess: No, look, I simply want to make the clarification that the AFL and the AFLPA class mental health problems as a um, no different to any other form of problem that a player has, whether it be a broken arm or broken leg. It’s classed as a um injury. So, in that, you know, context it is treated exactly the same as if you’ve broken your leg or, you know, you’ve broken your arm.

KB: Well, er, it’s probably a little more sensitive than that don’t you think, Peter? Generally we see clubs if a player is suffering from depression or, you know, has got some mental issues that they just sort of put it under the headline of personal issues don’t they?
Jess: Well, what I’m saying to you is this, this is an injury, right? And as such is treated in the same manner as if it was a broken leg. Now whether we like that or not it is a fact, and, you know, players are able to get paid on that basis. Now, you know, what I’m saying to you is that, um, too often if you talk to Jeff Kennett and others, these are the types of problems that need to be discussed, not tucked away, not hidden. They are a real problem and I’ve been involved in footy for thirty years and I see problems, post-footy, that can clearly be, you know, related to the types of injuries that players have had during their playing games. And then, you know, manifest themselves in a whole different range of things, and I’m sure you had with, you know, friends you’ve played footy with.

KB: [Putz] said this morning that there was court action to make certain that people’s health records weren’t made public and he was a bit surprised that you’ve gone public with the mental health issues.
Jess: Well, it’s an injury, Kev. That’s what I’m saying. It’s classed as an injury. So [you’re] saying you shouldn’t talk about that?

KB: No I’m just saying that in the past clubs have suggested it’s all to do with personal issues and people that have been suffering from depression that-
Jess: No. It’s classed as an injury. So that means on the, you know, premise that it’s classed as an injury, it should be spoken about.

KB: Umm, look, I don’t know whether the AFL class’s it as an injury. I’ll take your word on that, mental health issues. I don’t know whether they say it’s an injury.
Jess: I’ve been involved in this issue over the last five years, you know, and I’ve written to, you know, the AFL. I’ve written to, you know, the AFLPA on the basis of research that’s been on-going in the States to say to them there is significant issues in terms of, um, the studies that are on the table at the moment, there is a clear cause of, you know, relationship between multiple head hits and the early onset of dementia and a whole range of other problems, right. And in, you know, the States you have players who now donate their brains for further research, you know, you know, simply, you know, because of that problem. What I’m saying to you is this, is that it has been recognized in the last three or four years as, you know, being in the same state as any other type of injury, which is great because I don’t think it should be hidden. I think if, you know, we have these issues out then people can then not have any stigma and, you know, talk about it in a real way. Which is exactly what Kennett has been saying with Beyond Blue and other things. This is what manifests itself and, you know, makes it worse for people because, you know, you actually can’t see it. If he lost an arm or he lost a leg it’s very easy for, you know, people to see.

KB: Well, obviously we do agree with you that if you get concussed and you get a number of head injuries and we’ve seen players have all sorts of problems, particularly over in the States and we’re seeing it hear as well. It can bring on, it appears dementia and maybe even Parkinson’s disease and things of that nature. We see Mohammed Ali, but is that the same as depression?
Jess: It’s one of the states that is, you know, related to it.
KB: So depression can be cause you’re claiming from getting concussion and heavy hits to the head?
Jess: That’s a fact. And in fact there’s been two or three players who have on fact lodged claims and have been paid on that basis. So it’s not new. I mean, it, it’s now in the mainstream.

KB: O.K., I wasn’t even aware that Andrew Krakouer had suffered a lot of head injuries and head knocks during his career. Can you bring us up to speed with that?
Jess: You see, what, um, you know, goes on is that this it’s, um, with the type of player he is, he’s in and under, and even though he may not have been, um, diagnosed as um, as being,ah, concussed, he has taken a lot of head shots. Now, um, in the old days and probably when you were playing is that if you got knocked, um, you would have had a belt, you would have kept playing, right, you, you, wouldn’t have been told ‘look you have minor, ah, concussion,’ you just would’ve gone on and said, you know, look he’s suffered a knock to the head, right. And those things build up over time and what has been shown, you know, in the research is this: it has a cumulative effect, right, and, and it, you know, doesn’t need to be a concussive state for it to manifest itself at some future date. And that’s the issue and it’s a big pattern that were finding in professional sports in terms of where you have a, you know, ballistic outcome, where you hit each other, where you bump each other in a … even with the sling-tackle. I mean that’s one of the, you know, problems that you gonna face with it, going forward.

KB: So you’re saying , Peter, that when it was first announced, unfortunately he’s got a knee injury at the moment and it looks like he won’t play for the year, but he moved away from Collingwood. I’m not quite certain whether he went back to Western Australia, I think that’s where he went, that he had personal issues. That was said by the club that he was missing from the club for personal issues. You are telling us that these personal issues were the fact that he’d been whacked in the head too many times through concussion and he was suffering , what, some sort of brain damage?
Jess: No, no, what I’m saying is that there is a causal relationship, right, between the behaviour that manifests itself and the type of getting knocks on the head over a long period of time. He’s been in football twelve years, right-
KB: But when he left Collingwood just recently and went away from the club, they just said it was persona issues. Are you saying that these personal issues were actually caused by being whacked in the head too many times?
Jess: Could well be, I mean, you know, we’re not saying it is and we’re not saying it’s not. What we’re saying is that that type of behaviour manifests itself from that. So if it, if it is an injury we will be getting back to it.

KB: O.K., well, appreciate you giving us a call through, Pete, and are, just adding to what’s on the back page of the Herald Sun today that Head-High Alert… We know there’s been head injuries in the past and we’re all concerned about being whacked in the head and also what it can do to a player later on. But I wasn’t under the impression or understanding that it could lead to depression as well. I thought it could lead to dementia and things like that, maybe even Alzheimer’s, maybe even Parkinson’s disease. But you believe that there’s been studies that tell us that players can get depressed as well.
Jess: Well, look there’s a clear link. And in fact, um, there has been current day players who have been paid in that context and it’s been classed as I said before, ah, no different to us than suffered a broken leg or a broken arm.

KB: So had he recovered when he cam e back and played in that practice match game?
Jess: He was focused, um, and really wants to play and it’s all part of, you know, of the rehab is getting out there and playing footy.
KB: O.K., look we wish him well. Obviously he can’t have the Lars surgery; he’s got to have the conventional surgery and most of us think that will put hi out for a year a report today, Peter, that maybe he hopes to come back at some stage during the course of the year. I’m not quite certain how he can do that but we wish him well and thank-you for ringing through.
Jess: Yep. Alright, thanks, Kev.
KB: Peter Jess, manager of Andrew Krakouer

Whew, glad that’s finished. Now, WTF? Putz is back. What’s he want? He wants to clarify stuff, too.

Putz: If you remember when the story broke with Majik Daw, there was some discussion about how that was treated and there’s also discussion about how Collingwood handled the Andrew Krakouer story. And it was reported widely that Collingwood football club rang senior journalists and said “look, we’ve got a problem with Andrew Krakouer; it’s very sensitive, we’re going to say it’s personal problems, we don’t want to go any further than that.”And all the journalists honoured Collingwood football club’s wish that it not be mentioned specifically what the problems were. So that’s why I think it’s a breach of Andrew Krakouer’s medical privacy, for Peter jess to go with that story on the back page. It’s as simple as that. If Collingwood don’t want it mentioned on behalf of the player I think it’s frivolous to describe it as an injury and then just whack it on the back page. … I don’t regard as an injury, I regard it as a serious illness. And I think it’s a very private matter that players and people deal with in their own way. And certainly Collingwood didn’t want it dealt that way.
[…]
KB: Now I said this to Peter Jess: I’ve never heard before that depression is coming from heavy knocks to the head. I’ve heard about maybe Parkinson’s disease, like Mohammed Ali, and we hear about dementia and Alzheimer’s and too many hits to the brain and damage to the brain, but I wasn’t quite sure that was related to depression, which he called an injury.

Putz: There may well be a body of research that says hits to the head bring upon depression, the point is, do you make that public? And I don’t think you do.
KB: He said it’s best to get it out in the open now because he was talking about Jeff Kennett and beyondblue. Ya get these things out in the open and make people aware of it. It should be treated just like an injury. …
Putz: Well Collingwood didn’t want that to happen, Kevin. Collingwood was the club closest to the boy; knows the circumstances, advised him to go away from the club. … Everybody honoured Collingwood’s wish. Peter Jess has the story on the back page of the Herald Sun today. I think that, again, I just make the point that it’s a very serious breach, I believe, of Andrew Krakouer’s privacy.

US legal cases filed just six weeks ago, that Mr. Jess certainly knows about, will have a difficult task using the studies Jess referenced with KB in proving a cause and effect relationship of severe head hits with the many maladies suffered by ex-players. Seventy-two percent of NFL players are bankrupt within two years of retirement. Most of the players pre-1994 made little money compared to the Murdoch television money era. Many of the 1970s and 1980s players in the US gulped down drugs and overused steroids at incredible levels. An era that included the aforementioned Andre “don’t talk dirty to me” Waters and Dave Duerson who are the two players whose brains were analysed after death. Many of those players took more upfront money instead of deferred payments during CBAs whereas contemporary players negotiated excellent pension and injury payment clauses, etc, in trade-offs for salary caps, drafts, reservation clauses, and player trading processes.

Cause and effect can be made from anything. A person in the US commits suicide every 18 minutes and we lose six people a day in Australia. Fair dinkum, Peter Jess, our Erin Brokovich? After re-reading the Jess waffle, if it’s to be taken seriously, there is no way the AFL can now let Andrew Krakouer play again. It’s now too risky. All football codes are dangerous, just like life. What about the cause and effect in the Dead Pool of Darren Bennett’s old teammates that played in the 1994 Super Bowl? These deaths are included in averages to state dangers (including concussion systems) of being a US football player:
Lew Bush (42) – heart attack
Rodney Culver (26) – on board ValueJet Flight 592 that plunged into the Florida Everglades
Dave Griggs (28) – car accident
Doug Miller (28) – struck by lightening
Shawn Lee (44) – cardiac arrest
Chris Mims (39) – enlarged heart
Curtis Whitley (39) – drug overdose

Time to relax with quirky Turfy antagonising KB. And if Smith returns I’m gonna sling-tackle myself into a concussed state.

Loved the intro for TRH today, an absolute p***er! Trolling Mark Allen and Smokey Dawson over their comments about India during yesterday's game. Both of them completely writing off India and were caning them.

And Smoke, if you just happen to be reading this, get off the station you bum. With the amount of s*** you talk, you're not a cricketing expert's a*******. Stop embarrassing yourself with your lack of knowledge on cricket (as yesterday demonstrated) and p*** off from the station, you clown!

He is in there, its a joke. Why can't the person on air give us the score, or one of their sports update juniors

Sen like 3aw is a commercial station , that is how they make there revenue to pay their staff and bills and remain on air.

All the cricket score announcements are sponsored for each match , test , 1day and T20 , that is an add is played before the on air announcer crosses to the in studio cricket commentator.

Yeah sure people could switch over to 774 or watch the game live on their mobile phone for an up to date live cricket score , but as Sen are not yet allowed to broadcast any cricket , as a dedicated sports station they are keeping their toe in the water so that if the ACB splits the cricket broadcasting rights in the future they are a good chance of getting some games , which would help fill their summer station content. Smokey Dawson would get plenty of on air time then just as Bryan Martin has been brought back for the horse race broadcasts.

3aw have done it for the last 20 years , with Graeme Bond , Clinton Grybas others and now Shane McInnes sitting in the 3aw studio for interstate or in the MCG comm box for any game held there , even any sheffeild shield match.

Hungry for Tip-off Wednesday

Now I’ve always believed we should support all sporting codes in this country…. It’s important for AFL, NRL, ARL, and also the A League to flourish playing sport and talking about sport is great for the community. But is there any sport other than soccer that continues to shoot itself in the foot? The A League is enjoying its best ever season, crowds are up, TV ratings have increased yet negatives dominate the game. Clive Palmer versus Frank Lowy has turned the sport into a shambles. An owner and the game heading in two different directions, and arguments over licence fees, acquisition fees, also dominate the landscape. Oh by the way, Australia plays Saudi Arabia tonight, not that anyone would know or care.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

The smooth operator is at the week’s pivot position as usual to tangle with KB. Jon LeBaron-Ralph takes the tip-off and says that’s what happens when sporting clubs become rich boys’ toys; adds that something is wrong with the game when Palmer and Tinkler are losing millions of dollars despite improved attendances and TV audiences. … KB’s still on about negatives overriding the (edge-of-the-seat) Saudi Arabia game … both compare Lowy’s position to Mr. Demetriou’s get-the-job-done way of doing things … JLF goes strong to the hoop and gets an and-one with “it was a double-edged sword; it was a poison chalice to allow him in to the league,” in respect to Palmer. … A-League is a “young raw code that is making some massive missteps” adds JLB; KB double dribbles with “private ownership has never worked in Australia.” But why Kevin? Tell us why it can’t work?

LeBaron-Ralph adds some financial numbers while KB stumbles around private ownership. KB needs an early time out here. … When in doubt put the ball in the best player’s hands, hence KB changes the subject to Double M’s prediction of Richmond making the eight with eleven-and-a-half wins; JLR blocks KB’s shot by saying he likes Malthouse more as a coach than a prognosticator. JLB is cognizant on this and dunks on KB by breaking down the Tigers’ awful early draw and how imperative it is to sign Hardwick. “It’s a tough draw” says the posterized KB. The two muse over the possibility of the Double M coaching Richmond. JLR nixes the idea of any finals football this year for Richmond.

JLR hits from down town with impressive Hawk talk as talkback itself fires up … pinhead Tigers supporter predicts 6 of first 8 games will be wins; next caller is fanatical yellow and black fan, too … JLR plays solid D-fence on their waffle … Hardwick is the only Victorian team coach to come out of contract at the end of 2012 … JLR loves the Kangas having GC and GWS twice.

KB changes the match-ups by moving to the Daytona 500 being the most dangerous sport in the world but JLR moves the ball with great passing by referencing Days of Thunder scenes… More Richmond talkback before LeBaron-Ralph has his first turnover while moving the subject to ODIs over T20s; KB is a T20 man … Oh boy, double technical foul on both as they stumble over the cricket debate, but JLR finally scores a free throw on cricket finance talk …

Hey I thought we were talking soccer today?:confused:

The minutia of the AFL draw marks some scoreless play … KB loves the Double M’s theory of the bottom sides from the previous year playing each other in the early rounds and states all the positives, but, of course, gives no negatives for some balance. That’s another technical foul on KB who is in danger of fouling out of his very own show. Maybe the listeners should just cut out the middle man and all turn the radio dial to 3AW in search of whatever else the Double M has on his mind. … JLR commends the Pies for offering Andrew Krakouer a 2013 contract … Richmond talkback meanders on and on … JLR predicts an enormous year for Tom Hawkins on the back of the safari suit wearing Kermit Bretheraton’s prediction of Hawkins being a flash in the pan … KB likes Chris Scott for no spin on the sling-tackle incident. But JLR is running fast breaks on ever KB strategy.

KB shoots another air ball by decrying the crowd of 6,000 in Tasmania for India v Sri Lanka while shouting a bravo for the 11,000 that attended the Storm v Broncos practice game; JLR windmill dunks again on the hapless KB by stating the finances involved in cricket coverage.

KB this week has already handed Limerick Pickering a couple of easy gets for his media segment on Saturday and now he suffers massive pummelling today at the hands of JLR! Grunk Denham must be brimming with confidence. As an aside it should be noted that so much of KB’s show is talkback where callers set the agenda. And the show’s set-up for soccer discussion amounted to nothing.:(

"It was a poison chalice to allow him in to the league" was sheer LeBaron-Ralph gold. That's gold, Jonny. Gold.

Rohan Connolly is now on the Run Home with Ox and Mark , he will have a Tuesday night segment with them.

Another ex 3aw voice comes across to Sen

Going down like nine pins at radio pensioner.:thumbsu:
Like Rohan personally and hope gets some good air time.
Just a message to their newsreaders. The western Bulldogs are not playing Geelong at the weekend ( heard it 3 times in the news service)
KB had a seniors moment talking to Peter Rohde he mentions their new coach ( Sanderson) had introduced the barrel from full back.:eek::eek:

Same state as the game? :confused: I bet a round at Green Acres and Kew (whatever it costs), that he's in the same studio, watching the same screen as Harf, TRH and Finey!

Sen like 3aw is a commercial station , that is how they make there revenue to pay their staff and bills and remain on air.

All the cricket score announcements are sponsored for each match , test , 1day and T20 , that is an add is played before the on air announcer crosses to the in studio cricket commentator.

Yeah sure people could switch over to 774 or watch the game live on their mobile phone for an up to date live cricket score , but as Sen are not yet allowed to broadcast any cricket , as a dedicated sports station they are keeping their toe in the water so that if the ACB splits the cricket broadcasting rights in the future they are a good chance of getting some games , which would help fill their summer station content. Smokey Dawson would get plenty of on air time then just as Bryan Martin has been brought back for the horse race broadcasts.

3aw have done it for the last 20 years , with Graeme Bond , Clinton Grybas others and now Shane McInnes sitting in the 3aw studio for interstate or in the MCG comm box for any game held there , even any sheffeild shield match.

interesting post mate.

i didnt know the rationale for having someone sit in the studio giving updates. (bolded bit). although it does make sense.

but regarding bondy, i can tell you he definitely did NOT report on the golf in QLD over summer from the studio.