Hungry for Double-Up Denham
Last year it was Hawthorn president, Jeff Kennett who led the charge against free agency. He condemned the model saying it would further divide strong clubs from the weaker ones. Former Collingwood coach, Mick Malthouse is the latest to chime in predicting the game is doomed to a two tier competition. Now I think it provides a great opportunity for bottom clubs to become more competitive if they are well run. In fact, the top clubs will struggle to keep all of their good players under the salary cap. I think free agency will strengthen the competition and make it even more competitive.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.
Here’s Jethro’s archived audio:
This is open slather for the managers. You wait to you see how this bloody plays out. They will play player against player, club against club; it will be uncontrollable. They have produced a bowl of spaghetti which is slippery, has no definable ends, and administrators are going to find it increasingly difficult to manage their clubs. Where does that lead? Weaker clubs are going to get weaker.
[He’s Jeff Kennett, That’s His Bloody Take]
Someone here is going to be wrong, but who? KB, Double M, and Mr. Kennett have never run pro sports leagues. No one’s interested in overseas trends, but they’re so different in many ways. Not many pro leagues with market sizes like in the AFL. Nine clubs in Melbourne, too. Will salaries be dissected in the public domain? So many definitive outcomes predicted about something and its consequences that don’t yet exist. Where does one turn to solve this vexing imbroglio? Could it be today’s guests in Liam Anthony from the Kangas; jockey, Craig Williams; or the sorry and sore LeBaron-Ralph back for more slugging after 11am. Will the answer come at week’s end with Puddy Balme, Dave Croupier, Ripper Richo, or golfer, Vaughan Somers? Well, by the guest list it clearly ain’t gonna be a woman. This $@#*! sexist radio must end!
Wait … turning up the radio I can hear the dulcet tones of Marty Rhone which can mean only one possible outcome. The man of answers, and responsible for aging Melbourne F.C. SEN fans double and triple-shotting tequila in their morning Margarita before Keith Mooning their lounge room furniture. Yes, it’s another week-ending double shot of the Dees-hating, Grunk “Venom” Denham.
Grunk’s into the fray quickly by questioning whether clubs will be weaker; 2 or 3 years prep and rare opportunity for weaker clubs to improve; run of-the-mill players can benefit by swapping teams … KB agrees and uses Cats and Pies as example; lower clubs have been gearing up for FA through debt demolitions, etc … So whataya know, that’s what debt demolitions were for – spending more money in free agency. Learn something new every day – debt resurrection. … KB moves again on to Graham Cornes’ three Port players that can win the Brownlow; will Grunk take the bait and bag Cornes? You betcha. “No, no, no, no, no, that’s wrong. We know enough about those three players to say that’s an impossibility and a really, really silly comment to make. Wasn’t it Graham Cornes that made his players at Adelaide walk over burning hot coals and say ‘this won’t hurt boys?’ I mean fair dinkum. Graham Cornes? Goose of the Year wasn’t he, two years running?” KB chuckles at the hook, line, and sinker venom from Denham … Mensa Talkback Society’s take on FA should be exhilarating radio. Here we go. Who’s capable at your club to win a Brownlow?
North in the ‘70s using the 10-year rule is first up; KB nails all the key moves by North … Grunk nominates Judd seemingly as an exhibit for helping the Blues into the spot they are now and other players wanting to stay at Visy Park with Juddy, which has something to do with the new FA, I just don’t know what … KB makes great point by denouncing the Double M’s beef about a two tier competition by listing the Dees last flag in ’64 and the Tigers with no flags in 30 years, Saints as the Aints since 1966, the Bulldogs winning jack since ’54. He adds, “so whatever’s been happening in that period time you would have to say it’s pretty much a two-tiered competition. You can’t get any worse than that when you’ve got clubs that can’t win a premiership for 40 of 50 years of their existence.”
KB can’t remember a bad Brownlow winner… Bombers fan cites Libba and KB defends the former Dog and remembers him missing the last 5 games his winning year year (close, it was 3) … which Don can win one? Caller nominates Hurley, and KB departs him with cheeky “he might win it for GWS.” … Now here’s a femme in caller Anne who doesn’t like F.A. because fans get to love players and it’ll be destabilising as a supporter for Goddard to go to greener GWS pastures because she wants him to a Saint. … Grunk retorts: no Ablett, no problems for flag-winning Cats; KB reminds the filly that Saints have done alright with other team's players … KB and Grunk discuss club confusion over free agency in regards to contract technicalities around when, where, how, and FA eligibility … Grunk suggests KB should quiz Cats’ GM Puddy Balme for some answers. …
KB’s back to the three Port players for a fifth mention; with the ease of hooking on a school of flathead in Port Phillip Bay, Grunk eagerly jumps in the boat. “Look, they’ll be struggling to win enough games this year, Port Adelaide, I wouldn’t even be worried about Brownlow medals.” KB keeps pushing and Grunk continues. “O.K., those three players could all next year go and play for Geelong, Collingwood, and Hawthorn or whatever and they still wouldn’t get close to winning a Brownlow.” … tiresome Brownlow “he could, he can’t” talk dominates … a caller helps KB and Grunk turn into Beavis and Butt-head as they use Swans’ players, McGlynn, Kennedy, Richards, Shaw, and Mumford as examples of the future benefit of free agency when only Shaw would have qualified as a (restricted) FA had the rules applied. Three others swapped to the Swans with no one having more than five years of accrued service. How free agency is going help the Mumfords of the AFL who moved after only two years at Geelong remains to be seen. You can bet the true reason of why free agency exists in pro sport won’t be discussed here. Grunk’s adamant FA will help the mid-range players (refer to disastrous NFL Plan B free agency after the Powell antitrust case, 1989) Grunk, of course, is guessing, like most of the media. But, what the hell, let’s rock on!
Caller predicably lets Grunk have it about last week’s two certainties. Grunk exclaims “oh no.”
Grunk: I’m not predicting anymore. Yes, I apologize to all Richmond fans out there.
KB: Do you ever get anything right, [Grunk]?
Grunk: Yes I do
KB: Are you sure you get something right?
Grunk: Sometimes I do, yeah. Not a very good punter though.
KB covers himself by identifying Grunk as being correct on the LeCras injury which brackets Grunk with about 1.3 million other LeCras injury prognosticators. Good get, that
… Grunk makes the huge declaration that KB’s current prediction of a 108 point Tiges win over the Blues in round 1 is “looking a little bit silly.” But KB is implacable.
KB: I reckon most people would think the Tigers have got a very, very good chance of knocking off the Blues. The Blues have been pretty cocky this year, talking about premierships. They’ve got people do there with white gloves on at the moment polishing cups.
Grunk reiterates that bottom clubs have had time to prepare for free agency and they should handle it very well, but gives not the slightest empirical evidence as to why the poorer clubs on and off the field will be better than the bigger more successful clubs at this or anything else. … Heading into half time it’s clear the collective media and public opinion on free agency can pretty much be found in the introduction of Gustave Le Bon’s 1895 publication, The Crowd – A study of the Popular Mind, but I’m settling with the more toe-tapping Ronnie James Dio who once said: “If you listen to fools the Mob Rules.”
After half time KB immediately trawls the bay for bigger fish like whiting, snapper, and Grunk. What better way is there to hook a Grunk than using the Melbourne Football Club as tasty bait.
Melbourne is the team that I’m keen to see from this week’s second round of NAB Cup games. Previous coach Dean Bailey predicted the Dees were guaranteed success; would play finals this season. But let’s not forget Brisbane coach Michael Voss once predicted Melbourne would be the next super power of the competition. Mark Neeld’s game plan will be on show as will star recruit, Mitch Clarke. The hype around the new-look Dees has been huge: new coach, new director of footy, new fitness guru. The signs tell us they’re ready to finally make an impact. Now, let’s see some action.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.
Grunk jumps the hook and KB begins reeling him in. Like fishing in a tank.
Grunk: Finally make an impact? Well, I hope that’s right, it’s about time for the Demons anyway. It will be an interesting game at Metricon stadium on Saturday night. Let’s hope they can fire but they certainly need to. Their past record’s deplorable. … We know coach speak, right. Vossy did say that. That Melbourne was going to be the super power in July, 2010. Not sure how many games that Brisbane had won at that time, not many, and I think they were playing them next week, so he may well of been getting the Brisbane fans ready for another belting.
KB is keen to see Watts, Grimes, Howe; some urgency … Grunk sits on the journo fence by seeing “potential for down the track”… Grunk wants to see where they’re at as well as Sellar from Adelaide and what’s Neil Craig got to offer … KB tells caller that the Tigers are purring, and Grunk gets more grief for his puffed up blowfish guarantee against Richmond last week … Grunk agrees with caller about Brisbane building a nice team in a few years; KB quizzes if Grunk’s on their bandwagon too. Grunk sees emerging Lion talent and predicts more wins than in 2011. KB talks-up Lions a little and Grunk says “Karnezis, they’re all say he’s going to be an absolute superstar.” KB yanks the rod and seizes the catch and apportions the Karnezis statement to Grunk.
KB: Gonna be a superstar is he [Grunk]?
Grunk: Well, ah-
KB: Give us your early season superstar … because [Grunk] has come up with a doozie then. That Karnezis is going to be a superstar for the Brisbane Lions. We’ve jotted that down if you want add to that.
Next Dees’ fan wants to see some grit … a former recruiting officer backs the Karnezis for excellence prediction from Lions’ staff now attributed to Grunk by KB … Grunk grizzles about NAB Cup player name apathy by commentators while excusing Huddo and Eddie; KB wants names on the back of jumpers … now back to Tiger talkback and by the start of the season every Richmond player may well be a future superstar … Tom Hawkins has slimmed down so much he looks like a jaguar says KB … The Saints Sabastian Ross (No.6) and Terry Milera (No.32) have neither played a game but they’re apparently future superstars as the 158 members of the Ivy Moyle family must be ringing in … more Saints talk as Melbourne FC fans must have gone to China in search of a sponsor.
Games are too long says Grunk; too much time-on … KB wants fans’ opinions but we get another future Saint star in Thomas Curran (No. 43) from a bloke who wants to return to his double free kick debate of last week … an AFL paying customer – unlike Grunk – nixes the shortening of game time idea … listeners love the idea of names on jumpers … expert pro sports economist caller is whining about the time lost in games with TV commercials … KB goes through a laundry list of time-wasting skulduggery by teams … ha, Grunk says he doesn’t remember many quarters going past 30 minutes even when there was 25-minute quarters (pre-’94 the clock didn’t stop during 25-minute quarters)… no major jumper sponsor for Melbourne and it’s a worry six weeks before the season starts says Grunk, and he hopes they get one. Grunk finishes softly-softly on the Dees but you can bet if Melbourne struggles early in the season he’ll be on like a gull on a rotting fish.
Denhamism of the Week
Pendlebury, Thomas or Swany next year could individually poll more votes than Graham Cornes’s trio from Port.
b) Main benefit of free agency will be the run-of-the-mill players moving teams
c) Free agency will work and really good idea (based on what evidence???)
d) Likes the AFL ruck rule; not happy with pre-season haircuts.
e) Apologizes to Richmond fans for last week’s prediction they wouldn’t win a game
d) Trading rules won’t change because of free agency (says the man with a crystal ball)
e) Loyalty is a word we shouldn’t use in football because there just isn’t any of it.
f) Melbourne will be lucky to win 11 games in 2012 and probably miss the eight.
g) Gripes about Foxtel commentators not knowing players names in NAB Cup.
h) Wants home-and-away games to be shorter in time.
i) The one job he just couldn’t do in football is an AFL timekeeper.
Last year it was Hawthorn president, Jeff Kennett who led the charge against free agency. He condemned the model saying it would further divide strong clubs from the weaker ones. Former Collingwood coach, Mick Malthouse is the latest to chime in predicting the game is doomed to a two tier competition. Now I think it provides a great opportunity for bottom clubs to become more competitive if they are well run. In fact, the top clubs will struggle to keep all of their good players under the salary cap. I think free agency will strengthen the competition and make it even more competitive.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.
Here’s Jethro’s archived audio:
This is open slather for the managers. You wait to you see how this bloody plays out. They will play player against player, club against club; it will be uncontrollable. They have produced a bowl of spaghetti which is slippery, has no definable ends, and administrators are going to find it increasingly difficult to manage their clubs. Where does that lead? Weaker clubs are going to get weaker.
[He’s Jeff Kennett, That’s His Bloody Take]
Someone here is going to be wrong, but who? KB, Double M, and Mr. Kennett have never run pro sports leagues. No one’s interested in overseas trends, but they’re so different in many ways. Not many pro leagues with market sizes like in the AFL. Nine clubs in Melbourne, too. Will salaries be dissected in the public domain? So many definitive outcomes predicted about something and its consequences that don’t yet exist. Where does one turn to solve this vexing imbroglio? Could it be today’s guests in Liam Anthony from the Kangas; jockey, Craig Williams; or the sorry and sore LeBaron-Ralph back for more slugging after 11am. Will the answer come at week’s end with Puddy Balme, Dave Croupier, Ripper Richo, or golfer, Vaughan Somers? Well, by the guest list it clearly ain’t gonna be a woman. This $@#*! sexist radio must end!
Wait … turning up the radio I can hear the dulcet tones of Marty Rhone which can mean only one possible outcome. The man of answers, and responsible for aging Melbourne F.C. SEN fans double and triple-shotting tequila in their morning Margarita before Keith Mooning their lounge room furniture. Yes, it’s another week-ending double shot of the Dees-hating, Grunk “Venom” Denham.
Grunk’s into the fray quickly by questioning whether clubs will be weaker; 2 or 3 years prep and rare opportunity for weaker clubs to improve; run of-the-mill players can benefit by swapping teams … KB agrees and uses Cats and Pies as example; lower clubs have been gearing up for FA through debt demolitions, etc … So whataya know, that’s what debt demolitions were for – spending more money in free agency. Learn something new every day – debt resurrection. … KB moves again on to Graham Cornes’ three Port players that can win the Brownlow; will Grunk take the bait and bag Cornes? You betcha. “No, no, no, no, no, that’s wrong. We know enough about those three players to say that’s an impossibility and a really, really silly comment to make. Wasn’t it Graham Cornes that made his players at Adelaide walk over burning hot coals and say ‘this won’t hurt boys?’ I mean fair dinkum. Graham Cornes? Goose of the Year wasn’t he, two years running?” KB chuckles at the hook, line, and sinker venom from Denham … Mensa Talkback Society’s take on FA should be exhilarating radio. Here we go. Who’s capable at your club to win a Brownlow?
North in the ‘70s using the 10-year rule is first up; KB nails all the key moves by North … Grunk nominates Judd seemingly as an exhibit for helping the Blues into the spot they are now and other players wanting to stay at Visy Park with Juddy, which has something to do with the new FA, I just don’t know what … KB makes great point by denouncing the Double M’s beef about a two tier competition by listing the Dees last flag in ’64 and the Tigers with no flags in 30 years, Saints as the Aints since 1966, the Bulldogs winning jack since ’54. He adds, “so whatever’s been happening in that period time you would have to say it’s pretty much a two-tiered competition. You can’t get any worse than that when you’ve got clubs that can’t win a premiership for 40 of 50 years of their existence.”
KB can’t remember a bad Brownlow winner… Bombers fan cites Libba and KB defends the former Dog and remembers him missing the last 5 games his winning year year (close, it was 3) … which Don can win one? Caller nominates Hurley, and KB departs him with cheeky “he might win it for GWS.” … Now here’s a femme in caller Anne who doesn’t like F.A. because fans get to love players and it’ll be destabilising as a supporter for Goddard to go to greener GWS pastures because she wants him to a Saint. … Grunk retorts: no Ablett, no problems for flag-winning Cats; KB reminds the filly that Saints have done alright with other team's players … KB and Grunk discuss club confusion over free agency in regards to contract technicalities around when, where, how, and FA eligibility … Grunk suggests KB should quiz Cats’ GM Puddy Balme for some answers. …
KB’s back to the three Port players for a fifth mention; with the ease of hooking on a school of flathead in Port Phillip Bay, Grunk eagerly jumps in the boat. “Look, they’ll be struggling to win enough games this year, Port Adelaide, I wouldn’t even be worried about Brownlow medals.” KB keeps pushing and Grunk continues. “O.K., those three players could all next year go and play for Geelong, Collingwood, and Hawthorn or whatever and they still wouldn’t get close to winning a Brownlow.” … tiresome Brownlow “he could, he can’t” talk dominates … a caller helps KB and Grunk turn into Beavis and Butt-head as they use Swans’ players, McGlynn, Kennedy, Richards, Shaw, and Mumford as examples of the future benefit of free agency when only Shaw would have qualified as a (restricted) FA had the rules applied. Three others swapped to the Swans with no one having more than five years of accrued service. How free agency is going help the Mumfords of the AFL who moved after only two years at Geelong remains to be seen. You can bet the true reason of why free agency exists in pro sport won’t be discussed here. Grunk’s adamant FA will help the mid-range players (refer to disastrous NFL Plan B free agency after the Powell antitrust case, 1989) Grunk, of course, is guessing, like most of the media. But, what the hell, let’s rock on!
Caller predicably lets Grunk have it about last week’s two certainties. Grunk exclaims “oh no.”
Grunk: I’m not predicting anymore. Yes, I apologize to all Richmond fans out there.
KB: Do you ever get anything right, [Grunk]?
Grunk: Yes I do
KB: Are you sure you get something right?
Grunk: Sometimes I do, yeah. Not a very good punter though.
KB covers himself by identifying Grunk as being correct on the LeCras injury which brackets Grunk with about 1.3 million other LeCras injury prognosticators. Good get, that
KB: I reckon most people would think the Tigers have got a very, very good chance of knocking off the Blues. The Blues have been pretty cocky this year, talking about premierships. They’ve got people do there with white gloves on at the moment polishing cups.
Grunk reiterates that bottom clubs have had time to prepare for free agency and they should handle it very well, but gives not the slightest empirical evidence as to why the poorer clubs on and off the field will be better than the bigger more successful clubs at this or anything else. … Heading into half time it’s clear the collective media and public opinion on free agency can pretty much be found in the introduction of Gustave Le Bon’s 1895 publication, The Crowd – A study of the Popular Mind, but I’m settling with the more toe-tapping Ronnie James Dio who once said: “If you listen to fools the Mob Rules.”
After half time KB immediately trawls the bay for bigger fish like whiting, snapper, and Grunk. What better way is there to hook a Grunk than using the Melbourne Football Club as tasty bait.
Melbourne is the team that I’m keen to see from this week’s second round of NAB Cup games. Previous coach Dean Bailey predicted the Dees were guaranteed success; would play finals this season. But let’s not forget Brisbane coach Michael Voss once predicted Melbourne would be the next super power of the competition. Mark Neeld’s game plan will be on show as will star recruit, Mitch Clarke. The hype around the new-look Dees has been huge: new coach, new director of footy, new fitness guru. The signs tell us they’re ready to finally make an impact. Now, let’s see some action.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.
Grunk jumps the hook and KB begins reeling him in. Like fishing in a tank.
Grunk: Finally make an impact? Well, I hope that’s right, it’s about time for the Demons anyway. It will be an interesting game at Metricon stadium on Saturday night. Let’s hope they can fire but they certainly need to. Their past record’s deplorable. … We know coach speak, right. Vossy did say that. That Melbourne was going to be the super power in July, 2010. Not sure how many games that Brisbane had won at that time, not many, and I think they were playing them next week, so he may well of been getting the Brisbane fans ready for another belting.
KB is keen to see Watts, Grimes, Howe; some urgency … Grunk sits on the journo fence by seeing “potential for down the track”… Grunk wants to see where they’re at as well as Sellar from Adelaide and what’s Neil Craig got to offer … KB tells caller that the Tigers are purring, and Grunk gets more grief for his puffed up blowfish guarantee against Richmond last week … Grunk agrees with caller about Brisbane building a nice team in a few years; KB quizzes if Grunk’s on their bandwagon too. Grunk sees emerging Lion talent and predicts more wins than in 2011. KB talks-up Lions a little and Grunk says “Karnezis, they’re all say he’s going to be an absolute superstar.” KB yanks the rod and seizes the catch and apportions the Karnezis statement to Grunk.
KB: Gonna be a superstar is he [Grunk]?
Grunk: Well, ah-
KB: Give us your early season superstar … because [Grunk] has come up with a doozie then. That Karnezis is going to be a superstar for the Brisbane Lions. We’ve jotted that down if you want add to that.
Next Dees’ fan wants to see some grit … a former recruiting officer backs the Karnezis for excellence prediction from Lions’ staff now attributed to Grunk by KB … Grunk grizzles about NAB Cup player name apathy by commentators while excusing Huddo and Eddie; KB wants names on the back of jumpers … now back to Tiger talkback and by the start of the season every Richmond player may well be a future superstar … Tom Hawkins has slimmed down so much he looks like a jaguar says KB … The Saints Sabastian Ross (No.6) and Terry Milera (No.32) have neither played a game but they’re apparently future superstars as the 158 members of the Ivy Moyle family must be ringing in … more Saints talk as Melbourne FC fans must have gone to China in search of a sponsor.
Games are too long says Grunk; too much time-on … KB wants fans’ opinions but we get another future Saint star in Thomas Curran (No. 43) from a bloke who wants to return to his double free kick debate of last week … an AFL paying customer – unlike Grunk – nixes the shortening of game time idea … listeners love the idea of names on jumpers … expert pro sports economist caller is whining about the time lost in games with TV commercials … KB goes through a laundry list of time-wasting skulduggery by teams … ha, Grunk says he doesn’t remember many quarters going past 30 minutes even when there was 25-minute quarters (pre-’94 the clock didn’t stop during 25-minute quarters)… no major jumper sponsor for Melbourne and it’s a worry six weeks before the season starts says Grunk, and he hopes they get one. Grunk finishes softly-softly on the Dees but you can bet if Melbourne struggles early in the season he’ll be on like a gull on a rotting fish.
Denhamism of the Week
Pendlebury, Thomas or Swany next year could individually poll more votes than Graham Cornes’s trio from Port.
Surveying The Weekly Denhamography
a) Clubs at the bottom must be well administered in free agency (easier said than done)b) Main benefit of free agency will be the run-of-the-mill players moving teams
c) Free agency will work and really good idea (based on what evidence???)
d) Likes the AFL ruck rule; not happy with pre-season haircuts.
e) Apologizes to Richmond fans for last week’s prediction they wouldn’t win a game
d) Trading rules won’t change because of free agency (says the man with a crystal ball)
e) Loyalty is a word we shouldn’t use in football because there just isn’t any of it.
f) Melbourne will be lucky to win 11 games in 2012 and probably miss the eight.
g) Gripes about Foxtel commentators not knowing players names in NAB Cup.
h) Wants home-and-away games to be shorter in time.
i) The one job he just couldn’t do in football is an AFL timekeeper.