3AW and MMM would get
Friday Night
Saturday Night and Arvo (best games)
Sunday's best match.

These are called the A and B packages.

1 Million a year for the A package.

Told you this in August :D

peternorth said:
Question. If the Victory and Tigers/Dragons are playing at the same time which game gets prefence on SEN?
definitely the victory. there is more of a listening audience with the soccer.

LOL @ Victory.
Oh well I guess some fans are so insecure that they have to sledge other codes and sports if they commentary isn't covered.
BTW Geoff from Wantina needs serious mental help.
IN the last few days he has suggested that Ben Graham is switching from the New York Jets to the Melbourne Victory, the 2010 World Cup is being switched to from South Africa to Optus Oval and last night he said that Carlton FC are having more board dramas and that Smorgon will be replaced as president with Bill Clinton.
He actually seems to believe all this gossip as well :)

peternorth said:
where did that come from?? :confused:

Oh some late night world game callers were ticked off that the AFL got rights to SEN. I mean all that means is that SEN will miss only the first 2 or 3 games of Victory (considering the late season start of the A-league) and the horrid football bogans the Four Diegos will be gone for good hopefully in footy season anyway :)
The thing is though the A-league and world game fans are catered so heavily with media coverage in this country, the NBL and basketball for instance are dying for more FTA and press coverage !!!
I love the world football as well but I do think that some soccer fans have an bitter axe to grind against AFL

whats wrong with the 4 deigos?they have a cult following on SEN, and lets face it who cares about the NBL these days, the NBL had its hey day in the mid 90s but now is a second rate competition

the days of the 15,000 fans packing rod laver arena for the derby game are long gone

MagpieScouser said:
whats wrong with the 4 deigos?they have a cult following on SEN, and lets face it who cares about the NBL these days, the NBL had its hey day in the mid 90s but now is a second rate competition

the days of the 15,000 fans packing rod laver arena for the derby game are long gone

They are twits who are so unfunny.
I can't stand that jingle at teh start of theri show with those teeny boppers "THE FOUR DE AGOS SOCK HER SHOW !!!"
That jingle makes 'Jaques' ads sound tolerable :)

celtic_pride said:
They are twits who are so unfunny.
I can't stand that jingle at teh start of theri show with those teeny boppers "THE FOUR DE AGOS SOCK HER SHOW !!!"
That jingle makes 'Jaques' ads sound tolerable :)

I think you'll find those 'twits' are the US Womens Soccer Team, one of the Diegos mentioned that a little while ago.

I don't know how you can possibly think that soccer fans are 'heavily catered for'.

The AFL get by far the most coverage of any sport on SEN in its current state - and rightly so.

But considering that SEN will be broadcasting well over 100 games of AFL next year, you can see Victory fans who have a season of not many more than 20 games, being a little concerned with potential time clashes. And also concerned with the AFL taking up further time on the station at the expense of not just soccer, but rugby league, basketball etc.

In regards to soccer v basketball, the Victory are on the up - pulling good crowds to the Dome, the NBL is struggling at the moment. Why wouldn't SEN give more coverage to the Victory?

puddingfactor said:
But considering that SEN will be broadcasting well over 100 games of AFL next year, you can see Victory fans who have a season of not many more than 20 games, being a little concerned with potential time clashes. And also concerned with the AFL taking up further time on the station at the expense of not just soccer, but rugby league, basketball etc.

So this theory applies for NBL as well Im assuming, with A-League and NBL instead of AFL and A-League? No doubt soccer is on the up at the moment, but why does that mean NBL still shouldnt get coverage?
Theres room for all sports and if soccer fans arent happy with:
Live coverage of ALL games, a weekly hour show dedicated simply to their team and the 4 Diegos each week plus daily soccer guests on the SEN shows, what more do you want?

NBL fans get 1 hour on a Sunday Night, Live coverage of only home games and less coverage during the week as well.

Yes the thing is though in internationals - all oz games are televised live (or they have been until next year I belief)
But the oz mens basketball team isn't covered by any FTA team at all ?
Look i watched A-league tonight, the Sydney FC and Melb Victory and enjoyed the game very mcuh, but I do think that world football gets a good suck of teh source bottle on SEN and the media in general,.
NBL fans have been starved for years, not to mention the american sports fans like NBA, NHL, MLB, NFL etc ?
It's nothing to do with teh 4 d's that bother me (i'm listening to them now) but gawd their presentation irritates me a lot, esp when they take calls from twits like Sam from Bulleen and that other bloke who supports Mancheter United.

SEN's AFL rights has caused plenty of back-slapping and high-fives at the station, it's like "Woo hoo, we've made the big time!!".

Unfortunately, this means SEN will drop their VFL coverage like a poor relation. :thumbsd:

I'm not saying soccer doesn't get a fair run - especially now, not only with the World Cup, but with the Melbourne media also jumping on the Victory bandwagon.

The point I was making in regards to soccer, is that as a Victory fan, I would be disappointed that there is a chance that some Victory games will now not be broadcast because of the AFL Rights deal.

But if I was in charge of SEN Programming, an AFL match, particularly if it involves 2 Melbourne teams at the business end of the season, will probably get priority over a Victory game. However, as a Victory fan, I would argue that if the ABC is already broadcasting that game, SEN should broadcast the soccer.

Similarly, SEN seem to have made the decision that soccer takes priority over basketball. And I belive that is the right call. But I guess my view is skewed as I'm more of a soccer fan than basketball fan, however, I dare say that even from a commercial point of view, there are more ratings in the Victory than there is in the Dragons/Tigers. So with SEN, if a Victory match, clashes with an NBL game, they take the Victory match. They did try to broadcast both once last year, and it sounded terrible.

However, I can understand if basketball fans are not happy with that. SEN, in the past, have had The Dribblers, are dedicated two hour basketball show, which was on Friday nights, before being moved to Sunday Afternoon. There may have even been a brief stint on Saturday night. Andrew Gaze and Nigel Purchase hosted it, I think, and did a good job.

Now, there is only a general basketball show which is part of Born in the USA. I haven't heard it, so I can't comment on it. There are also the live match broadcasts, and while they are generally good, Doran really battles.

That said, his coverage of the Mark Price story today was pretty solid.

On another point, I typed SEN 1116 into Google tonight, and a West Papua Benefit Gig hosted by Anthony Hudson and the ABC's Gerard Whatley popped up. Nothing wrong with that of course, but it certainly makes a change from your average corproate lunch or sportsman's night.

SEN have been covering the Baskerball well in the last 2 days, with the sacking of Mark Price. The live press confrence that Mark Price did was on SEN about 1 hour and half a go and did he tip the bucket on Shane Heal and others.

My North said:
SEN have been covering the Baskerball well in the last 2 days, with the sacking of Mark Price. The live press confrence that Mark Price did was on SEN about 1 hour and half a go and did he tip the bucket on Shane Heal and others.
What did he say?

My North said:

Yesterday they interviewed 'Backstabber' Heal only moments after the press conference [just after 1pm],meanwhile the news service SEN take [3AW/Southern Cross] hadn't even reported the sacking at 2pm.

likka said:
What did he say?

He was used, was undermined repeatedly and to an extent that he hasn't seen in all his years in basketball. Said Heale had to learn to sleep at night after what he had done and Heale had lied saying he was not approachable. Sounded emotional.

Dont' forget it's Wacky Wednesday tonight on World Sport Overnight.
Worthwhile listening for the first hour or two LOL

celtic_pride said:
Dont' forget it's Wacky Wednesday tonight on World Sport Overnight.
Worthwhile listening for the first hour or two LOL

About the whole night. Talkback radio after midnight to early on in the morning is a laugh.

I only heard a bit of Bevas show last night [around 9pm-10pm].What the hell was Scott from Rosebud on about ? Actually,what was he on ?

He rang up and suggested Carlton should have coasters made up commemorating the 95GF.Beva and Finey sounded totally confused [as was I].Then he rang up 20 minutes later and suggested they should have kettles made up commemorating the 95GF.

Is he SENs version of a Bigfooty troll ?

JUBJUB said:
I only heard a bit of Bevas show last night [around 9pm-10pm].What the hell was Scott from Rosebud on about ? Actually,what was he on ?

He rang up and suggested Carlton should have coasters made up commemorating the 95GF.Beva and Finey sounded totally confused [as was I].Then he rang up 20 minutes later and suggested they should have kettles made up commemorating the 95GF.

Is he SENs version of a Bigfooty troll ?

Ah hell I suspect it is that Geoff from Wantina geezer (or sometimes he calls himself Shaun from Hawthorn)
He is a country near Iraq and must have come from a very repressed society because he really holds nothing back (after midnight LOL)

Some of his gems lately include -
Jason Akermanis to be traded for Michael Voss
Ben Graham to leave the Jets to sign with the Melbourne Victory
Graham Smorgon to be replaced as president of Carlton by Bill Clinton.
The Soccer World Cup from 2010 to be moved from South Africa to Optus Oval
Since Carlton recruited Cain Ackland from St.Kilda, the Blues won't use the no 1 pick in the national draft on Leuemberger or Bryce Gibbs, but rather Aaron Hennemen from Essendon
Also his favourite commentator is one who calls public executions from his country :) (Troy Zantuck said in reply he's lost his head :D )

SEN has a lot of weirdos on the airwaves (esp Chrstian from Mount Eliza) but this bloke tops the cake.