No Oppo Supporters The Sun Lounge (Suns posters only)

I really like there being a Suns only area. The intruders popping in at times infuriates me. I actually wish we just had always a Suns only forum but that’s just me.
Anyway could 17er be reinstated please? That’s the main reason I’ve decided to post something.
He’s part of the SunsCast duo and is a clearly a fair dinkum rolled Gold Suns supporter.
He sounds like a great bloke on the podcast.

Nobody did a like or a reply. Don’t people want 17er around?? Not ever Sunner spoke up for him.

In general I’m finding this exodus of players just absolutely soul destroying. I’m exasperated that the VFL media don’t care one iota either.

I’d hate to be in the Suns Memberships Department. It’s going to be a very hard sell.

Nobody did a like or a reply. Don’t people want 17er around?? Not ever Sunner spoke up for him.

In general I’m finding this exodus of players just absolutely soul destroying. I’m exasperated that the VFL media don’t care one iota either.

I’d hate to be in the Suns Memberships Department. It’s going to be a very hard sell.

I've been talking to him privately but he doesn't get a pass for his suspension because he's a "good bloke". He's been made aware on several occasions via suspensions but continues to take the bait or attack people with opposing views and needs to dial that back a bit I think.

Great contributor with generally well thought out posts and a lot of footy info so enjoy reading most of his stuff, just needs to use the ignore function a little more often.

Hey bods,
I havent really had time to investigate why 17er was banned, i knew he was on his last legs and he knew this too. He has a recurring role on the GCSUNSCAST, Im not sure if he will get unbanned but will still have a voice on the show to express his opinions on the suns. As i have told him privately bigfooty politics stay out of the show, (he's almost like our sam newman. LoL).

Back to club talk.
Im actually all aboard for mass changes. Whilst id prefer to see May, Martin and Scrimshaw stay im also aware the club has likely asked these guys to consider their futures at the club this means the club is looking for commitment and if they cant commit im fine to see them go. Would still hope we push for the best value we can get but im sick of every year expecting a different result with the same list its the definition of crazy. Id love to go to the footy next year and see 75% of our team having a fair dinkum crack for 100% of the game. I guess what they can sell is stability with an angled trajectory of improvement just like what we want with the GDP.

Can’t elp but think bailey Scott and this years draftees could be a turning point for us.
If he chooses us
And we get a couple of young committed stars and win a few games no doubt it will change some narrative

I really like there being a Suns only area. The intruders popping in at times infuriates me. I actually wish we just had always a Suns only forum but that’s just me.
Anyway could 17er be reinstated please? That’s the main reason I’ve decided to post something.
He’s part of the SunsCast duo and is a clearly a fair dinkum rolled Gold Suns supporter.
He sounds like a great bloke on the podcast.
17er provided some really good content on our forum. He asked an interesting question on Trade Radio yesterday too. I think he should be allowed back under another name to start afresh here. If he does come back, he's got to learn not take the bait, when people have a go at him.

Scrimshaw as good as gone to Hawthorn. They have picks 14 & 33 I believe. The 33 could end up late 30s once academy, father sons and free agency is complete.
Posted it here to avoid opposition fans to post their rubbish. what do we think he’s worth and what realistically do you think we will get?
I’m now in the 20-30 pick return.

Scrimshaw as good as gone to Hawthorn. They have picks 14 & 33 I believe. The 33 could end up late 30s once academy, father sons and free agency is complete.
Posted it here to avoid opposition fans to post their rubbish. what do we think he’s worth and what realistically do you think we will get?
would be a real shame if the kid couldn't stick it out at a club only 2 years after being drafted, especially having signed a contract extension through until the end of 2020. he's got a better chance at getting a game next year than at some other clubs i reckon.

hasn't played much, would be a bit rich of us to ask for anything better than late first/early second considering the state of the draft market.

I know is under , pick 33 - pick 43 inclusive of F/s and academy will do for Schrimshaw in my opinion , some kids just take longer to develop .There are some rough diamond waiting for club to discover in 30+ range in this year draft . Last Year ( Ballard , Worpel , Guefi , Zac Langdon )

I think mid 20’s. Suns seem to want him gone, maybe want to use his $400k elsewhere but I think we will still make the Hawks work for it.

Maybe Hawks 2019 2nd Rd could be worth the risk? Unless a Hawks best 22 player pops up?

would be a real shame if the kid couldn't stick it out at a club only 2 years after being drafted, especially having signed a contract extension through until the end of 2020. he's got a better chance at getting a game next year than at some other clubs i reckon.

hasn't played much, would be a bit rich of us to ask for anything better than late first/early second considering the state of the draft market.
He does seem like a decent kid too. It’s a shame as this was the pick for Prestia and it would keep being watered down.

I suggested that on the main board and they shoot me down pretty fast .
Coz there ignorant.
Kid is contracted
A top 10 pick
About to hit his stride

The equivalent of a late 1st, early 2nd is more then fair. Its what hawks paid for o'rouke from gws former pick 2 a few years back.
Scrim and 26/29 for 14 is about right.

Just wanted some thoughts on raising the draft age. I've read some posts around big footy talking about it. Wanted your opinions on it plus I just wanted to post in the Suns Only thread.

It’s fine as is for me.
When players can come in and be impactful in their first year that shows that they are ready.

Rayner, brayshaw, Stephenson, Cerra, naughton, Bailey, Richards, Higgins, Ballard, McCartin, worpel all had positive impact for their respective teams.

I don’t have figures but certainly doesn’t seem like a higher rate of injuries in those guys.

As long as they have the opportunity to finish high school I think it’s fine.

Have you read any supporting arguments for why it should be raised? To allow for more mental maturation? As it seems some players who have the talent aren’t ready to put it all together because they are still immature at 18.

It’s fine as is for me.
When players can come in and be impactful in their first year that shows that they are ready.

Rayner, brayshaw, Stephenson, Cerra, naughton, Bailey, Richards, Higgins, Ballard, McCartin, worpel all had positive impact for their respective teams.

I don’t have figures but certainly doesn’t seem like a higher rate of injuries in those guys.

As long as they have the opportunity to finish high school I think it’s fine.

Have you read any supporting arguments for why it should be raised? To allow for more mental maturation? As it seems some players who have the talent aren’t ready to put it all together because they are still immature at 18.

Yes most of the talk for raising it is maturity and the "homesickness" aspect. I like it as is but honestly it's all I know.

Seems like the homesickness card gets used a lot up to the mid 20s really so don’t think increasing the age by one year does a lot to fix that.

A major part of the argument supporting raising the draft age is that it would be easier to identify which players are going to be any good. It would involve less guesswork about how big they will be when they stop growing & potentially, how they will go when they play against men.

Are you in favor of raising the age?

For mine, the best argument for raising the age is to separate the final year of High School from the draft year. Kids should take year 12 seriously (in Australia), and if they are draftable, they also should take football seriously. That is a lot of seriousness in a single year.

You can get drafted as a 19 year old, but the system is set up to find the best 18 year old players. I suspect that if you are not 18 you are at a disadvantage.

But the current system seems to work itself out OK, so I would argue for no change. You can find plenty of players who are ready for the AFL system and plenty who are not. So about right on that front.

Are you in favor of raising the age?
It doesn't worry me, but I think it might be better to raise it. It might add more interest to State League competitions, if the kids play a season for them. Also as Stroppy said, it would take a bit of pressure of their Year 12 schooling. I haven't given it a lot of thought.

In all honesty, how often do we see the homesick card used for a player in their first two years at the club?

Caddy? (although some would say other circumstances contributed here)

Scrimshaw? Has this been confirmed yet?

Seems that age doesn't really appear to be the contributing factor