The "take it outside" thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Dockernut

do they have beer at genuine 1970's prices?

If so - I'm coming to spectate (and have a couple of coldies!)
I haven't checked it out yet, but unfortunately the days of genuine 1970s prices at bowls clubs are over. Will still be cheaper than the pub across the road though, so I'll see what I can organise for the Hawks game.

If they do a nice dry martini with an extra olive at a good price count me in. She who makes the major decisions and little she who makes the rest will be with me for the Hawks game and if the decor and the drinks aren't up to scratch all hell will break out.

Bowling club decor usually consists of vast walls of honour boards detailing the holders of administrative club positions and the winners of various championship events back to the dawn of time.

I've dropped into the bowls club to grab some beers a couple of times when the tavern's bottle shop was closed at about 10pm and the other pub wont do take-aways anymore. They wanted $3.50 each I think, takes some sweet talking to get them though because they are understandably worried about getting done for allowing street drinking I guess.

It's actually because most clubs operate on a club or club restricted licence which limits the sale of alcohol to members only.

Shhhhhhhh!

It's actually because most clubs operate on a club or club restricted licence which limits the sale of alcohol to members only.

Shhhhhhhh!
Regardless though I heard that the pub close by got some considerable fine for street drinking, hence why they wont let anybody buy anything to go with a sign out the front now.

y'all sounding more and more like this dude:

crackerjack.JPG

Regardless though I heard that the pub close by got some considerable fine for street drinking, hence why they wont let anybody buy anything to go with a sign out the front now.
Yeah, bullshit ****ing laws. Whatever happened to the individual being responsible?

They should only be able to bust the pub if the person bought a stubby inside that the staff opened, because technically they have to when they serve it, and then the person walked out of the pub.

I used to close up at our local club and walk home with my last one. If I passed a police car on the walk home I would think to myself "go on, pull over and say something and then I'll remind you that it's illegal to have your high beam on where there's street lights".

Yeah, bullshit ******* laws. Whatever happened to the individual being responsible?

They should only be able to bust the pub if the person bought a stubby inside that the staff opened, because technically they have to when they serve it, and then the person walked out of the pub.

I used to close up at our local club and walk home with my last one. If I passed a police car on the walk home I would think to myself "go on, pull over and say something and then I'll remind you that it's illegal to have your high beam on where there's street lights".
Yeah that was my thinking as well, surely it should only the person's responsibility as soon as they set foot outside the door?

Lol walking to the Prelim from Leederville station I ducked into Coles liquor to grab a can of Jacks I think, guy looks at us suspiciously as I'm handing over money "You aren't going to the footy, are you?" me with Freo scarf stuffed under my jumper "Nah mate, hate that crap."

Yeah that was my thinking as well, surely it should only the person's responsibility as soon as they set foot outside the door?

Lol walking to the Prelim from Leederville station I ducked into Coles liquor to grab a can of Jacks I think, guy looks at us suspiciously as I'm handing over money "You aren't going to the footy, are you?" me with Freo scarf stuffed under my jumper "Nah mate, hate that crap."

We live in a world where no-one takes any accountability of their own actions. The youngsters have it easy now.

Youngsters. Should be horsewhipped for their long hair and attitudes now a days. We used to have to walk 10 miles to school in snow.

We were so poor that folks used to call me patches
and every morning before I went to school I fed the
chickens and I chopped wood too. You see I was the oldest
Of the family and everyone was depending on me.

We were so poor that folks used to call me patches and every morning before I went to school I fed the
chickens and I chopped wood too. You see I was the oldest
Of the family and everyone was depending on me.
Patches! We could only afford one patch on our clothes.

We used to hate rich kids like you, flashing your hard boiled eggs and firewood carvings in our faces.

Patches! We could only afford one patch on our clothes.

We used to hate rich kids like you, flashing your hard boiled eggs and firewood carvings in our faces.

Pfft, my staple diet was dripping on bread with pepper. Boiled eggs indeed.
We used to hear about eggs on the wireless.

Pfft, my staple diet was dripping on bread with pepper. Boiled eggs indeed.
We used to hear about eggs on the wireless.
Well we had bread too...in February.

The rest our the year we had to eat our week old dripping off a cow pat, sprinkled with sawdust.

Wireless!! We had to make do with telegraph and semaphore flags. We also had a homing pigeon, but kept it for Christmas dinner.