beartoo

Just came on here to find no mention of the team for Saturday. Crouch and Callinan in, Johncock and Martin out.

B: Luke Brown, Ben Rutten, Andy Otten

HB: Matthew Jaensch, Daniel Talia, Brent Reilly

C: Nathan van Berlo, Rory Sloane, David Mackay

HF: Brad Crouch, Taylor Walker, Bernie Vince

F: Richard Douglas, Josh Jenkins, Jason Porplyzia

R: Sam Jacobs, Scott Thompson, Patrick Dangerfield

Int: Ian Callinan, Ricky Henderson, Jared Petrenko, Matthew Wright

Emergency: Graham Johncock, Tom Lynch, Shaun McKernan

In: Brad Crouch (debut), Ian Callinan

Out: Graham Johncock (omit), Brodie Martin (omit)

Good to see Crouch getting a game. Wish his first had been at AAMI

Why has Johncock been outsted from any defensive duties? Actually why the hell has he been dropped at all? He actually looks half dangerous up forward and I dont see why Jaensch is being played in this small defensive role when quite clearly he is not up to it.

But at least Crouch is in.

Poor Johncock. Was far from the worst and still gets the flick. He's going to have a hard time getting back in, unless someone gets injured.

I really hope the Coaches/Selection committee were honest with Johncock about his chances before he decided to continue at the end of last season. I can't imagine he would've stayed on if he new he'd be last in/first out all year.

My hope is that Callinan has been brought in as sub.

I can understand that if Johncock is our ~22nd man we wouldn't want him only playing a quarter of footy after last year's fitness debacle. A full match for PAMFC would ultimately be more beneficial.

Martin's omission (last week's sub) supports this theory, but the fact that Callinan hasn't been starting sub at all while at the Crows makes it a bit less plausible.

Either way Ian could be handy in the role given he has decent skills and speed. I'd expect the lesser performing player of Lynch and Porplyzia would be the one to be subbed out for him.

If Hendo is sub we have no 3rd tall in the forward line.

May be Nutter than, as you say we will have a small forward line if that is the case.

Just thinking it will come from the interchange named.

Wont be Pets or Wright.

Just had a talk on the phone to a mate of mine.

The thinking we just came to about Stiffy's exclusion is that both he and Porps are both playing too similar a role up forward.

Both are strong marks and can play small or tall. However Porps edges out Stiffy as he can play in the middle.

Last week Porps struggled as he could play his forward role effectively with Stiffy there, and thus have a bit of a rest from playing in the middle. Hence he had a poor game.

Just had a talk on the phone to a mate of mine.

The thinking we just came to about Stiffy's exclusion is that both he and Porps are both playing too similar a role up forward.

Both are strong marks and can play small or tall. However Porps edges out Stiffy as he can play in the middle.

Last week Porps struggled as he could play his forward role effectively with Stiffy there, and thus have a bit of a rest from playing in the middle. Hence he had a poor game.

Play Stiffy down back! He's an awesome back pocket and god knows our defense is not so great right now

He did have a couple of shockers down back last year. Has lost a lil bit of pace. I tend to think his days back there are done.

I'm just not getting our selection

1. I thought that Stiffy looked the most Dangeous out of our small forwards this week
2. Callinan comes back after missing a month, IMO there are only a handful of players that we should bring straight back in after a month lay off and nutter is not one of them
3. Again a sub gets dropped after limited opportunity to influence a game, this is always the soft & easy decision

Our use of Johncock since Sanderson has arrived perhaps gives some insight into how Geelong saw us. I wonder if Johncock was seen as something of a weak link for us, or a player that could be exploited? Eg drag him back to the goal square, play through his man, prone to turnovers under pressure...? I must admit that I never saw him this way but perhaps that was the perspective Geelong had. He was susceptible in some marking contests but I always was very comfortable when he was down back.

Another nail in his coffin was perhaps the deplorable midfield performances of Mackay and most particularly Reilly. They've had to be shunted down back to find a role that they don't stink at which has meant fewer backline spots to go around.

I love Johncock but he is a hit and miss forward. I'm actually very happy that he's been dropped and Crouch is in. An old player out, a young player in. Unheard of! This is exactly the type of hard call we've refused to make in the past. Yes, yes... I know Callinan is in as well but baby steps.

Feel a bit for Martin. Still reckon he has something to offer but the clock is ticking.

All eyes on Petrenko and Jaensch.

I'm just not getting our selection

1. I thought that Stiffy looked the most Dangeous out of our small forwards this week
2. Callinan comes back after missing a month, IMO there are only a handful of players that we should bring straight back in after a month lay off and nutter is not one of them
3. Again a sub gets dropped after limited opportunity to influence a game, this is always the soft & easy decision

I ****ing hate the sub rule with a passion.

Will be very disappointed if Crouch is the sub this week. Still unsure how Jaensch keeps his spot in a side with far better options, he better perform big time this week and unless I hear Dwayne say " that's as good as it gets" a few times after Jaensch does something, he will have disappointed.
already stated by Sando that he wont ......get up with news man :p