The Turbinator Twins

• Thread starter Thread starter WCE2000

WCE2000

Anyone here reckon that the two off spinners that India have, Harbajan Singh and Sarandeep Singh are chuckers.

Harbajan (the turbinator) is pretty borderline, but Sarandeep (turbinator II) is the most blatant thrower i have ever seen in the history of test cricket.

Out of the the three suspects (the Singhs and Murilitharan) he is without doubt the worst i've seen.

And something needs to be done, because this is getting beyond on a joke now. The amount of extra spin and control you can get on when you throw is about 200% extra then if you bowl the thing.

I hate to say it, but my opinion is that these guys are blatant throwers, and are a real blight on the game.

Murilitharan is 29, still probably has 7 or 8 years left in him barring injury, has taken 374 wickets already, and is a big chance of getting to 700 wickets. Looks pretty ordinary when your leading wickettaker (which he may not get that far, but there is no risk in the world he'll pass Courtney Walsh) is a thrower. :mad: :mad: :mad:

I'm sure that Harbhajan has had corrective work done on his bowling action in the past. I have to say I thought he looked alright in Oz's tour of India.

Haven't seen the new bloke so can't comment.

As for Murali, I've never been able to decide whether he chucks or not. He's got a weird action (have you ever seen anyone else who can bend their wrist like that?) and his arm is rooted (can't fully straighten his elbow?.

WCE2000, do you think he chucks every ball or just some of them?

Harbhajan looked ok to me, and I haven't seen the new guy.

Not sure about Muralitharan - like BMD said, what kind of bloody action is that? Too hard to pick. The Aussies didn't seem too concerned last time Australia played Sri Lanka, because he got carted around, getting 1-100 etc every innings. He could have been throwing them, and "bowling" from both ends, all 90 overs of the day, and they wouldn't have cared.

Here's one for you : Ray Lindwall. Having seen the highlight reels I can't believe this bloke was never called. Is the old footage so dodgy it makes a straight arm look bent? :confused:

Originally posted by WCE2000
. Looks pretty ordinary when your leading wickettaker (which he may not get that far, but there is no risk in the world he'll pass Courtney Walsh) is a thrower. :mad: :mad: :mad:

I've always thought Courtney Walsh bowled with a kink in his arm too.

Originally posted by Darky
Here's one for you : Ray Lindwall. Having seen the highlight reels I can't believe this bloke was never called. Is the old footage so dodgy it makes a straight arm look bent? :confused:

I heard a story about Bradman once. Apparently he played a reel of a left arm quick to a few people who all said "He's a chucker". He then played a film of a right arm quick and they all said his action looked fine. Turns out it was the same bowler each time, just played back to front. I cannot recall who it was said to be but it may have been Lindwall.

Anyone else heard this story? Was it Lindwall? Does it sound like an urban myth to you? Does your chewing gum lose it's flavour on the bed post overnight?

Originally posted by Dave

I heard a story about Bradman once. Apparently he played a reel of a left arm quick to a few people who all said "He's a chucker". He then played a film of a right arm quick and they all said his action looked fine. Turns out it was the same bowler each time, just played back to front. I cannot recall who it was said to be but it may have been Lindwall.

What does that mean - people have a subcionscious bias against lefties? :confused:

Muralitharan is a blatant chucker. The only reason it gets overlooked is because of the hysteria that results everytime he is questioned. It isn't worth the trouble. Sarandeep Singh is definitely a chucker, I couldn't believe it the first time I saw him bowl. Harbajhan isn't so bad...

Anyone else heard this story? Was it Lindwall? Does it sound like an urban myth to you? Does your chewing gum lose it's flavour on the bed post overnight?

Yeah I've heard that story. I think after everyone said that the leftie was a chucker Bradman played the film the correct way and said it was actually Lindwall,who everybody thought had a "perfect" action. Much scratching of the chin after that!

Dave, I've seen those films too and Lindwall was a fair dinkum chucker. Pity about Meckiff, my dad used to rave about him......probably because I was a lefty too.

But the difference with Lindwall is that he is regarded as one of the greats of Australian, and dare I say it, world cricket. His record backs it up.

Muralitharan - dubious action, almost 400 wickets, widely labelled a chucker
Meckiff - dubious action, hounded out of Test and state cricket because of his action, forever remembered only for being a chucker and being called
Lindwall - most blatant thrower I have ever seen, Australian cricketing great. :confused:

Go figure.

By no means do I wish to cast aspersions on Lindwall's character or his excellent record, but the point is that I'm amazed the "maybes" are labelled chuckers and the worst of the lot is a legend.
Whenever there is a throwing controversy (which these days is rather uncontoversial in starting with an investigation), the names of Meckiff and Muralitharan are brought up... but never Lindwall's.

The thing with Murali is that when anyone brings it up his defenders say oh he can't straighten his arm therefore he can't be a chucker.The law states though any straigtening of the arm, so even if he moves his arm from being very bent to partially bent then he's still chucking.
I reckon he's a chucker & I reckon Shaiob is as well, not so sure about Harbaj, & the other Singh I'm only seeing for the first time.
The trouble is that there is so much suspicion in world cricket that whenever one of these Asian bowlers is suspected of chucking his board get all defensive & start screaming racism & Aussie/English bias.Rather than trying to weedle out the chuckers for the good of the game.

Don't they send footage of all these blokes to some biomechanics department of a University in Australia & don't they always declare them to be ok?

I saw Harbhajan's action on the oz tour and he looked fairly clean from my view.

For the other bloke Sarandeep, I've never seen him. But if he's a chucker I reckon his name could be translated to "Deep in *****"

I think the Bradman film Dave(?) referred too was shown by Bradman to the poms, the bowler was Harold Larwood reversed to make him a left arm quick.

As far as chucking goes, I've always thought of it as just another way to no ball, like overstepping...