The Winning Streak

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

The Saints just won at Telstra Dome against the Sydney Swans.
The score was St Kilda 15.11.101 Sydney 8.10.58

I think this is the start of a significant winning streak.

Next week we play Port Adelaide in Tassie and after that a series of games that I expect to win. Our draw is quite favourable for the next two months.
We should get most of our injured players back and gain some stability with the team selection.
If we can keep them on the park, we will head into the last month with a string of wins and a stable team setup.

A few challenging games in that 5 weeks before the finals will prime us for September.

ROUND 11
St Kilda vs. Port Adelaide Aurora Stadium Sun 5 June 2005, 1:10 PM AEST

ROUND 12
Hawthorn vs. St Kilda M.C.G. Sat 11 June 2005, 2:10 PM AEST

ROUND 13
Essendon vs. St Kilda Telstra Dome Fri 24 June 2005, 7:40 PM AEST

ROUND 14
Western Bulldogs vs. St Kilda M.C.G. Sun 3 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST

ROUND 15
St Kilda vs. Carlton Telstra Dome Sun 10 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST

ROUND 16
Richmond vs. St Kilda M.C.G. Sat 16 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST

ROUND 17
St Kilda vs. Collingwood Telstra Dome Fri 22 July 2005, 7:40 PM AEST

ROUND 18
Melbourne vs. St Kilda M.C.G. Sat 30 July 2005, 2:10 PM AEST

ROUND 19
St Kilda vs. Geelong Telstra Dome Fri 5 August 2005, 7:40 PM AEST

ROUND 20
Kangaroos vs. St Kilda Telstra Dome Sat 13 August 2005, 2:10 PM AEST

ROUND 21
Fremantle vs. St Kilda Subiaco Oval Fri 19 August 2005, 6:40 PM AWST

ROUND 22
St Kilda vs. Brisbane Lions Telstra Dome Sat 27 August 2005, 7:10 PM AEST

There are a few tough games coming but having harvey, hamill and all our other injuries coming back it will help us. St kilda with a full strength team has a good chance of beating any team in the roster.
We should be eyeing off a top 4 spot i reckon..
With the kangaroos starting to loose a few and with a poor percentage.
Plus i cant help but feel like richmond will drop a few games without nathan brown aswell. They play west coast next week.

If the saints can string a few wins together they could be right back up in the top 4 where they belong.
Cant wait to see the injuries come back. Penny and maguire playing together will make our backline stronger

milnedog44 said:
Few toughies in there, however we can without a doubt win all of them.

Tough ones will be.
Port in Tassie
Melb at the G
Freo at Subi
Geelong at TD

Geelong won't be tough. You will SMASH us by ten goals.

If The Sainters are switched on and playing good football then I think you can make a run at the Top 4. The key is to win those games you should win against teams like Carlton, Western Bulldogs, Collingwood and Essendon. It sounds simple but it's true.

chapmanmagic35 said:
If The Sainters are switched on and playing good football then I think you can make a run at the Top 4. The key is to win those games you should win against teams like Carlton, Western Bulldogs, Collingwood and Essendon. It sounds simple but it's true.

St Kilda could finish anywhere from 1st to 8th - just so long as they're in the eight.

If they have 80% of their list up and running, they're the team to beat.

ST KILDA: 3.2 6.6 10.11 11.15 (81)
PORT ADELAIDE: 7.3 13.4 15.5 16.8 (104)

Well - so much for the winning streak !!! :mad:

I am disappointed that we weren't able to overcome Port Adelaide in Tassie.

I had identified the game as a danger match for us but I am shattered that we lost. The team did not have what it takes to beat Port today and in all our other losses, there were valid reasons why we were beaten. Today - none.
We were unable to quell Port when they got their run-on early, nor were we able to capitalise fully when Port weakened in the second half.
This remains the most disappointing game of the season for us.

We might win every other game this season, but I fear that Port will remain our bogey side and we will not truly be best until we can beat them.

Shattered.

While Port Adelaide are our bogey side, be thankful we won''t have to face them in the finals (that's if we make it) this year.

This loss was bad, but IMO not as disappointing as the Adelaide loss. Coming off a 100 point loss and at a stadium where Grant Thomas said we struggle at, Thommo conceded we don't play well there which lost a lot of confidence within the group I thought. Stupid thing to say. So I can't say I wasn't expecting a letdown.

Compared to the Adelaide loss, this time we at least played a half of football, against the Crows we just fell asleep and gee that was one of the worst games I've seen by us over the past two years.

johnnyhoward said:
Compared to the Adelaide loss, this time we at least played a half of football, against the Crows we just fell asleep and gee that was one of the worst games I've seen by us over the past two years.

But I have accepted that there were reasonable excuses why we lost to Adelaide. Sure we played a worse game then but if we were to play Adelaide again this weekend, I believe we would win it. There were no excuses for the Port loss - we actually lost the Port game - they were better than us.

Every game is a must win game and we just didn't look as if we believed that.

We had an opportunity to finish top 2, and now I think that is beyond us.

Losing the home final advantage is a BIG deal.

Port Adelaide are only half a game behind us on the ladder now, we could have had them two and a half games behind and staring at a bottom eight finish. If we lose one more match and they will be ahead of us - so I wouldn't be too confident of not meeting them in the finals.

SATURDAY JUNE 11
Hawthorn 8. 6. (54) def. by St Kilda 15. 10. (100) at M.C.G.

Despite Hawthorn being a bottom 4 side, they have been playing quite good footy. I think we showed improvement today and I was impressed by our defensive game. Maguire was exceptional today (kicking three goals as well as holding down CHB) gaining career best stats. Max Hudghton was also excellent holding the leagues leading goal scorer to one (kicked in the last minute of play)

Winning at the MCG is good experience, as the forwards found out, the kicking is not as straight forward as when playing at the Dome.

I was disappointed with one aspect of the match. We won the first three quarters but lost the last.

HAWTHORN: 1.3, 4.4, 5.4, 8.6 (54)
ST KILDA: 5.2, 8.6, 13.8, 15.10 (100)

When we get in a commanding position, like we were at the end of the third quarter, then we should capitalise on it. We had an opportunity to crush our opponents but we didn't.

Next time - no mercy, Saints. No mercy.

The ladder at the end of the twelth round
Code:
 Pos Team              P  W D L   F    A    %  Total  
 1 West Coast Eagles  12 11 0 1 1309  939 139.4  44  
 2 Melbourne          12  9 0 3 1322 1088 121.51 36  
 3 Geelong            12  8 0 4 1273 1043 122.05 32  
 4 Adelaide           12  7 0 5 1060  866 122.4  28  
 5 Richmond           12  7 0 5 1179 1151 102.43 28  
 6 Sydney Swans       12  7 0 5  997 1008  98.91 28  
 7 Kangaroos          12  7 0 5 1078 1162  92.77 28  
 8 St Kilda           12  6 0 6 1144 1054 108.54 24  

9 Port Adelaide      12  5 1 6  988 1186  83.31 22  
 10 Brisbane Lions    12  5 0 7 1140 1136 100.35 20  
 11 Western Bulldogs  12  5 0 7 1255 1277  98.28 20  
 12 Fremantle         12  5 0 7 1085 1119  96.96 20  
 13 Collingwood       12  4 0 8 1058 1247  84.84 16  
 14 Essendon          12  4 0 8 1039 1252  82.99 16  
 15 Hawthorn          12  3 0 9 1058 1138  92.97 12  
 16 Carlton           12  2 1 9 1046 1365  76.63 10

We are in the eight by the skin of our teeth.
BUT we are only one game below fourth position.
There are at least three genuine finals contenders within a game of us (Port, Brissy and Freo)

Our draw is quite reasonable and we should fare well in the run home.

Richmond, Sydney and Kangas are the teams I think are most vulnerable to dropping out of the eight. Each team that drops out are going to be replaced by one of the three teams I mentioned earlier (Port, Brissy and Freo).

I would rather be facing Richmond, Sydney or Kangas in a finals situation, so if these teams can hang onto their spots it will make the finals easier for us.

Mind you, I don't think we will benefit from an easy run, we need good tough hard games to keep our fellas up.

StKildonan said:
The ladder at the end of the twelth round
Code:
 Pos Team              P  W D L   F    A    %  Total  
 1 West Coast Eagles  12 11 0 1 1309  939 139.4  44  
 2 Melbourne          12  9 0 3 1322 1088 121.51 36  
 3 Geelong            12  8 0 4 1273 1043 122.05 32  
 4 Adelaide           12  7 0 5 1060  866 122.4  28  
 5 Richmond           12  7 0 5 1179 1151 102.43 28  
 6 Sydney Swans       12  7 0 5  997 1008  98.91 28  
 7 Kangaroos          12  7 0 5 1078 1162  92.77 28  
 8 St Kilda           12  6 0 6 1144 1054 108.54 24  

9 Port Adelaide      12  5 1 6  988 1186  83.31 22  
 10 Brisbane Lions    12  5 0 7 1140 1136 100.35 20  
 11 Western Bulldogs  12  5 0 7 1255 1277  98.28 20  
 12 Fremantle         12  5 0 7 1085 1119  96.96 20  
 13 Collingwood       12  4 0 8 1058 1247  84.84 16  
 14 Essendon          12  4 0 8 1039 1252  82.99 16  
 15 Hawthorn          12  3 0 9 1058 1138  92.97 12  
 16 Carlton           12  2 1 9 1046 1365  76.63 10

We are in the eight by the skin of our teeth.
BUT we are only one game below fourth position.
There are at least three genuine finals contenders within a game of us (Port, Brissy and Freo)

Our draw is quite reasonable and we should fare well in the run home.

Richmond, Sydney and Kangas are the teams I think are most vulnerable to dropping out of the eight. Each team that drops out are going to be replaced by one of the three teams I mentioned earlier (Port, Brissy and Freo).

I would rather be facing Richmond, Sydney or Kangas in a finals situation, so if these teams can hang onto their spots it will make the finals easier for us.

Mind you, I don't think we will benefit from an easy run, we need good tough hard games to keep our fellas up.

I'm still looking at a 3rd-4th spot.

milnedog44 said:
I'm still looking at a 3rd-4th spot.

That's where we are now after wins over Western Bulldogs, Carlton, Richmond and Collingwood.

No-one here doubted that we would win these games, the real test is the next 5 games against Melbourne, Geelong, Kangaroos, Freo and Lions.

I expect to win these games - especially the first three, but I had hoped that we had most of our injured players return before we began these more challenging games.

As it turns out, both Melbourne and Geelong seem to have slumped in form, but neither should be taken lightly. Geelong's form drops on a fortnightly basis and this suits us as we play them when their next form drop is expected.

Riewoldt, Hamill, Harvey and Penny should all be in the mix for inclusion next week against Melbourne. Max Hudghton and Ackland might be in doubt and X definitely will be an omission (Hamstring). Jason Gram also played very well in the Springvale Scorpions on Sunday and although not expected to get a game next week, his form and the other inclusions puts the pressure on for all players to keep their "A-grade" effort going.

Round 18 and we anhilated Melbourne

SATURDAY JULY 30
Melbourne 13. 10. (88)
St Kilda 27. 14. (176)
at M.C.G. 2:10 PM AEST

and the ladder has changed from when I last posted it

Code:
Pos Team              P  W D  L   F    A    %   Total  
 1 West Coast Eagles 18 16 0  2 1929 1413 136.52 64  
 2 Adelaide          18 13 0  5 1649 1275 129.33 52  
 3 St Kilda          18 11 0  7 1942 1539 126.19 44  
 4 Sydney Swans      18 11 0  7 1502 1419 105.85 44  
 5 Kangaroos         18 11 0  7 1687 1679 100.48 44  
 6 Geelong           18 10 0  8 1802 1609 111.99 40  
 7 Brisbane Lions    18  9 0  9 1880 1693 111.05 36  
 8 Fremantle         18  9 0  9 1713 1649 103.88 36  

9 Melbourne         18  9 0  9 1821 1877  97.02 36  
 10 Richmond         18  9 0  9 1644 1776  92.57 36  
 11 Port Adelaide    18  8 1  9 1623 1743  93.12 34  
 12 Western Bulldogs 18  8 0 10 1880 1938  97.01 32  
 13 Essendon         18  7 0 11 1649 1889  87.29 28  
 14 Collingwood      18  5 0 13 1551 1900  81.63 20  
 15 Hawthorn         18  4 0 14 1499 1826  82.09 16  
 16 Carlton          18  3 1 14 1612 2158  74.7  14

We have had 5 wins in a row and whilst this is not up to my predicted 9 wins in a row that my first post suggested, it is starting to feel as if the Saints are getting their act together at the right end of the season.

Riewoldt, Harvey, Penny and Hamill all made a successful return to footy and Joey Montagna snuck into the team and contributed enough to hold his place.

Round 19 and we have just beaten an undermanned Geelong:

St Kilda 13 18 96
Geelong 8 7 55

This makes six wins in a row now and this probably does constitute a 'winning streak'.

The game was a scrappy affair, but the Saints never looked in danger of being beaten. Full credit goes to Geelong who are sufferring from at least the same magnitude of injuries that the Saints carried through much of the season. Hamill was excellent tonight with 17 contested possessions, 7+ contested marks and 4 goals. Riewoldt and Harvey were good also and Penny is starting to regain some touch. It appears as if Max Hudghton has torn a hamstring and may be out until finals - he will be sorely missed.

Round 20 and we have just beaten the Kangaroos

Kangaroos 13 7 85
Saint Kilda 16 12 108

Seven wins in a row

The Kangas were widely touted as the first real opposition the Saints have met since their run of wins began. Their recent form included 2 come from behind wins against Port and Collingwood and narrow losses to West Coast and Adelaide.

The game was marred by umpiring.
Frees and 50 m penalties were the main scorers today.
Only one report that I know of - Brent Harvey for tripping.

Luke Ball copped an eye injury
Lenny Hayes seemed to be kept out of the play ? injured.
Brett Voss might have a shoulder injury.

Apart from the constant intervention of the umpires, the game was tight and exciting for most of the match. Neither team showed their best skills due the pressure of the other. The Saints were the most attacking team in the first half

Roos v Saints
3 1 19 1 5 2 32
6 2 38 2 11 6 72
9 5 59 3 12 8 80
13 7 85 4 16 12 108

An interesting thing to note is that the Kangas "comeback run" was based more on possession (hence preventing us from scoring) rather than a huge run of goals. They were very consistent in their scoring, and their move to challenges us coincided with our failure to score. Our defence performed admirably to stave off their attacking run in the third and final quarters.

Roos v Saints
3 1 19 1 5 2 32
3 1 19 2 6 4 40
3 3 21 3 1 2 8
4 2 26 4 4 4 28

Luke Ball and Robert Harvey were great today. Fraser Gehrig was just too strong for Brown, the rotation of Thompson and Peckett on Brent Harvey was very successful. Montagna is playing good footy and has made a strong claim for finals selection. Milne was great in the hard ball gets, Aussie Jones is starting to look like his old self, Sam Fisher again put in a good one and Kosi Roo and Goose played their usual good games.

Ackland was quiet, as was Lenny Hayes, and V2 was favouring a shoulder after a heavy tackle in front of the Kanga's goal.