This is why Eddie is President

Agree with most of the talk in this thread.

Mick preaches team. But it is an absolute cop out. As soon as he didn't have power of the team, he quit. Does he suppose that players do not have egos? However they are supposed to park them at the door and do what he says for the good of the team, yet Mick as coach couldn't do the same. He couldn't sit in the back seat and help the team.
The man is as egotistical as anyone. I think he is a fascinating man and I'd love to have a good long chat with him and afterwards i think id love him but as far as a coach I think he is stubborn and lacks creativity.
Sure the players love him. He backs the same ones in all the time, but this is sometimes to our detriment. For every Toovey, Maxwell and O'Brien there is a Cox, Lokan, Cole. How many players who have come out of Collingwood over the past 10 years would be talking about "Mick's favorites".

His petulent child routine over the past year is absurd and truly shows what a control freak he is. The footy show was only one of numerous baffling media performances, when all we were all looking to hear was, "I'm not coaching anywhere else next year and I want to be at Collingwood." or certainly "I have great faith in Nathan and I think he will be a great coach."
Where were those words Mick? You say every assistant you've ever had would make a coach, but the one we want to hear you talk about the most is barely mentioned, and you never have a kind word for him in public.

As for the players loving Mick and not lifting for Bucks, if they drop their intensity because Mick is gone then they can walk right on out that door. That goes for Pendlebury (dont think we'll have a problem), Thomas and Swan. Collingwood is Collingwood. As much as it would hurt to lose stars we want people of integrity not spoiled brats. But its hard not to worry about this given Mick is never complimentary of Bucks, would this not make its way to the players who would then think that Buckley is not going to be a good coach? How could a man as smart as Mick not know what he is doing?

Thanks for all the hard work Mick, I'll never forget the premiership, hopefully I forget this season.

Smoky, I've often found your posting too emotionally charged but that post of yours was outstanding. I've also found some other things he said in the media ridiculously cringe-worthy, his constant need to let everyone know how sorry he feels for the coaches that were on the end of our smashings, whining about the sub rule and being shown up by Adrian Anderson and last but not least his sudden willingness to share ANZAC Day with the rest of the comp.

If we are to believe Ed and I don't see a reason not to, Mick was the one that came to him and started talking about quitting in the middle of '09, Ed convinced him to stay and come up with the infamous deal to which Malthouse agreed. Only when Mick realized how good our list was he suddenly started having issues with that deal, obviously wasn't happy about missing out on a chance to become a coaching legend, ego is a dirty word.
On top of that he wasn't shy to spruik his assistant coaches knowing quite well he won't be at the Club himself.

There's absolutely no doubt that Mick's petulance has contributed to our downfall, he made his decision to go back on his word known 6 weeks ago and that has definitely affected our players, in one way or another. And I'm seriously pissed off about it.

Bloody well said PieBeast. :thumbsu:

I notice that the thread has drifted a little off topic.... as they do from time to time.

Unfortunately some of the discussion is about things that Eddie has been trying to "hose down" in recent days.

After listening to recent Malthouse interviews, I have to admit that Smoky's post has a lot of merit to it, but it doesnt help the club in the future to attack the outgoing coach. Sure, I think some of the stuff that Mick is coming out with is self-centred and just plain wrong, but coaching was his life for a long time and it is going to be difficult for him for a while...

So let's act a little like Eddie would and let Mick have his time in the spotlight to tell the world how great he was for Collingwood and how badly he has been treated ....and let's listen to him and agree that he was great ....and then we move on ....and tell him that he's always welcome back at the club. Let the old man have his final moment...and let's just keep our mouths shut and look to next year under Bucks and another premiership..

Eddie is a class act. I took note of how he came into the Geelong rooms to congratulate everybody after the game and my respect for him raised 10 fold. I also saw him on TV at Gosch Paddock taking time to console the young kids. I used to not be the biggest fan of him, but hes grown on me and particularly after the way he has handled him self and represented Collingwood he's a star.

Thanks mate. We've always known eddie is a class act. If it weren't for him there would be no collingwood today,things were pretty bad and he turned them around. Thats why people can say what they want,most are just jealous because their pres doesn't have the same amount of passion as what he does.At the time he took over collingwood was being pitied by outsiders and eddie didn't want pity he wanted people to hate us lol.

I am the biggest collingwood fan,my heart was broken on saturday,but i know my boys put up a good fight and yours were just too good in the end. My congratulations goes out to you.I hope collingwood has as good an era as geelong one day :)and jimmy bartel,what a champion.Great player. Wish he played for collingwood.all the best

Smoky :thumbsu: PieBeast :thumbsu:

Let's face it Mick has has the hardest coaching job in the AFL for 12 years.
However,

1) he has had the best of everthing at his disposal.
2) he is not given credit where credit is due, other than to praise departing coaches and sabotage the club
3) he has been destructive in too many ways already on his way out this year
4) his decision to put Ried on Hawkins in the first half of the last quarter of a GF ultimately destroyed us
5) I've been a Legends member for years
6) I'm presonally glad to see the back of Mick
7) I look forward to watching Bucks (aka Kevin Rose) take our onfield disposal efficiency into the high 80%'s and onward to a premiership, so that Buck's can get the premiership medallion he deserves and that Mick has ultimately robbed him off with his prolonged coaching.
9) I am actally greatful for the 2010 year.
10) And most importantly, while Eddie is at the helm I have every confidence that Collingwood will be successful, I hope he has a protege that he is grooming for future Presendency.

If someone advocated always telling the truth, would that mean Mick should say - "I honestly think Collingwood is ****ed and I think they sunk the boot in unfairly. I hate Bucks, bloke is an arrogant...." you get the picture - if he believed it?

No instead he went with the story they never clarified the position he would fill... But, now Eade gets the role... he is baffled because it was all his idea to have that role in place and it wasn't the role that the Pies offered him?

I thought no one told you what the role was? You told a multitude of media outlets that over the past 12 months???

P.S:- Me and Bucks were never great mates! Poor form... Your farewell is in the Collingwood Den this Friday.

FFS Mick... you are doing yourself no favours.

Bucks... much respect for keeping your mouth shut through this whole saga. You have proved you don't think you're bigger than the club.

Smoky :thumbsu: PieBeast :thumbsu:

Let's face it Mick has has the hardest coaching job in the AFL for 12 years.
However,

6) I'm presonally glad to see the back of Mick
7) I look forward to watching Bucks (aka Kevin Rose) take our onfield disposal efficiency into the high 80%'s and onward to a premiership, so that Buck's can get the premiership medallion he deserves and that Mick has ultimately robbed him off with his prolonged coaching.

Took a while but you spilt the beans. I hope Bucks is doing it for the club not for his own personal ambition.

Bucks... much respect for keeping your mouth shut through this whole saga. You have proved you don't think you're bigger than the club.

Pfff lol. This whole thing was about Nathan Buckley, not about the club or Mick.

Respect for what? He has nothing to gain by opening his mouth. He is the next Collingwood coach and thats what he wanted.

Took a while but you spilt the beans. I hope Bucks is doing it for the club not for his own personal ambition.

The same exact reason Mick changed his tune on not wanting to coach anymore and reneged on his word?

The ironing is delicious.

I don't go out and use the press to tell people about that though... and I definately don't do it while I'm still being paid about 20 x an average wage that is earned per year.

I don't care what he whinges about when he leaves... but doing it while he still gets paid... C'mon.

Listen to the FULL interview. It's on the SEN website (in 3 parts). There is NOTHING in this "not mates" pull quote.

Malthouse is being made look bad by the media. He says Buckley and himself aren't great mates, but then goes on to explain how well they worked together and it just meant outside of football they had different interests. If the media can highlight something that's no perfect with Malthouse they'll do it. He and Collingwood sell papers.

Going back to the topic but Eddie summed it up when he said he and Malthouse will stay in touch and not keep up to date through the media's drivel. They know what they're saying is being used against them or being twisted. He's a smart man and he is normally on top of things like this.

Well said. Much applause to you.

Pfff lol. This whole thing was about Nathan Buckley, not about the club or Mick.

Respect for what? He has nothing to gain by opening his mouth. He is the next Collingwood coach and thats what he wanted.

Absolutely right.

So, aspiring to be a senior coach and being loyal to the club are mutually exclusive are they?

If we apply that logic to Mick then he would be considered disloyal to our brand for wanting to pursue his own ambition.

This is why Eddie is President