This Is Why.

• Thread starter Thread starter Fairtex09

That really isn't true. If you don't get a good enough score for your course, there is always another way. It just might take an extra year to get there.

In a week nobody will care about your score. I can't even remember mine from 4 years ago.
Your first point is completely true; but the score still shapes your life to a certain extent though because it means you do still have to do those extra years that you otherwise wouldn't have. Maybe you would have travelled the world or obtained employment if you got in directly and finished the course earlier rather than doing those extra years. The score definitely won't 'change' your life but I think it plays a part in shaping it, in my opinion.

Although, in two years I probably won't give a shit about the score and look back at this post and laugh. :D :thumbsu:

No no, not BS!!!!!!!! what was the score ?????

Incidentally, it seems like our resident three-legged dog doesn't like me so much now. I'm so terribly disappointed of course ;)

Law, International Relations or Arts. These are pretty much my preferences and they're all scattered across the various unis in Vic.

What do you guys all study at uni or tafe?

Paramedics at Monash

Don't stress about your mark. Remember, there's a lot of ******s boosting up your score thanks to the bell curve. The ENTER really isn't that important unless you get all your self esteem from succeeding at school work.

*calculates incoming projectile trajectory*
*The deeman discharges a wedgie of epical proportions on melbournemartin*

God bless any person with the intellectual capacity to study science or maths because it is so fudging hard.

Quick question actually for you melbournemartin, I know that science students have ridiculously long contact hours, so do you have the time to go to treck to the G when the Dees play? Or is it a matter of having to make time to be able to go?

"There are 2 kinds of people, Jocks and nerds. I am jock and it my duty to make fun of the nerds. **points** NERRRRRRRRRRRD!!!! "hey man did you see that nerd?"

Ahhh the simpsons.:thumbsu::D

Your first point is completely true; but the score still shapes your life to a certain extent though because it means you do still have to do those extra years that you otherwise wouldn't have. Maybe you would have travelled the world or obtained employment if you got in directly and finished the course earlier rather than doing those extra years. The score definitely won't 'change' your life but I think it plays a part in shaping it, in my opinion.

Although, in two years I probably won't give a shit about the score and look back at this post and laugh. :D :thumbsu:

Believe me no one gives a crap once you are in. P's get degrees is what they say. And some private schools (particularly in Tasmania) 'fix' their students internal marks, despite moderation.

Though if you are really worried about a number I recommend picking subjects that you are interested in rather than one you think you should do. But really like MM says once you get in no-one mentions it. ...Well actually this one really competitive f-wit I go to Uni with always asks that kind of question. But he is a exception...and exceptional tool that is.

Considering that this thread has become the miscellaneous thread, I'll take the opportunity to inquire as to whether any posters have finished year 12 this year and are nervously waiting for monday to approach?

Jeepers - you were still swimming around in your Dads balls when I was studying deeman12..

I studied construction management and investment finance at RMIT.

And yeh definately enjoy your uni time and dont stress about your grades so long as theyre solid. Worry more about how many chicks you can put away. Those chances just dont come around like they used to... :(

A good saying I heard once which is scarily accurate is;

The C's report to the A's, and the A's report to the B's.

Believe me no one gives a crap once you are in. P's get degrees is what they say. And some private schools (particularly in Tasmania) 'fix' their students internal marks, despite moderation.

Though if you are really worried about a number I recommend picking subjects that you are interested in rather than one you think you should do. But really like MM says once you get in no-one mentions it. ...Well actually this one really competitive f-wit I go to Uni with always asks that kind of question. But he is a exception...and exceptional tool that is.
Wait, you mean that they have Unis in Tasmania? :eek:

I'm sorry, I was overwhelmed by the need to say that. Apologies. :o

You're joking, surely? How the hell can a state only have one uni, and three campuses?

Have you been to Tassie?

No but seriously we have UTAS which has about 20,000 students, at varying levels (i.e. part time, full time, phd...you get the idea). There is no need for more due to lack of demand. Lots of people go to uni's else where like monash and qld.

We also have The Australian Maritime College (AMC) as another tertiary institute. This specialises in aquaculture type things..though i don't know much about it.

So basically when you have a population like Tassie, which is a similar size to Box Hill, you don't need that many places. Which is a real shame as to make it viable they seperated what can be learnt at each campus. I.e. Launceston has nursing and health science type things, aswell as most basic degrees.. B Sc.,Arts, Computing ect. And Hobart has Engi, Law, Med, Ag, ect..and Cradle Coast offers sweet **** all, with lots of classes run via video comm.

Its good in some aspects like small classes, most my classes I have under 10. Though thats a freak occurence in my degree only. While other bigger degrees like Law and Engi. only offer very general degrees and those wanting further knowledge are forced to do Hons or go elsewhere. For example dental and archeology are not taught anywhere in Tassie.

Basically there is not a need for it. Lots of TAFEs though and plenty of tradies....And truck loads of dole bludgers.

I think quite alot of students from Tassie tend to go interstate for their Uni courses. My cousins all went to Melbourne and Sydney to study. A couple went back to Tassie but most of them stayed.

I tend to disagree. A few do but its like 1 in every maybe 300 who do.