This time is is somehow ... different

• Thread starter Thread starter Rimmer

good call ... throw Chris Newman in for good measure . been the best month of footy of his career .

spot on with newy, he has alot of respect in the wider footy community plenty of peole have been glowing in their praise...he looks so much more comfortable in the skippers role, like he was born to wear No 17...I would have said polar opposite last year...wonder whether relationship with coach and players had anything to do with it :rolleyes:

Lets not start sucking each others c..ks just yet .

...But

A group of players all coming through the system together ... disciplined .... adhering to goals and standards .

Knowing each other and thier games.

Playing for each other

The whole f..king tanking debate ... god it shits me . More high end draft picks has never been our panacea . A bloke like Damien Hardwick is proving to be . Culture ... ethos

Team first attitudes ... not accepting anything less . If they can turn Daniel Connors around which is looking very much like the case then the sky is the limit for mine . He was on the srcapheap

The improvement in White , Graham and Edwards ... astounding . White has been sooo influential when he was all but written off ... written off by Wallace and the faithful ... amazing what confidence , direction and a gameplan can do .

What we need to see is these steps being replicated for a year ... two years ... three years ... then we can start gobbing each other . but Gee ... we better start puckering up
But I had the oil out and everything... :(

I think it comes down to this, Hardwick and co have shown faith in the players and in turn the players are showing faith in what Hardwick and co are telling them.

Its kind of like when Northey was in charge, we weren't the most talented group back then but come gameday the players would run through a wall if Northey asked them to. I reckon the same thing would happen today if Hardwick asked them to. This time around we should get to see the plan reach its conclusion and not get cut short just as its about to pay dividends like it did back then

I think it comes down to this, Hardwick and co have shown faith in the players and in turn the players are showing faith in what Hardwick and co are telling them.

Its kind of like when Northey was in charge, we weren't the most talented group back then but come gameday the players would run through a wall if Northey asked them to. I reckon the same thing would happen today if Hardwick asked them to. This time around we should get to see the plan reach its conclusion and not get cut short just as its about to pay dividends like it did back then

So how talented are we RT? Willing to stick your neck out? I will. With the talent we have right now and the way its developing (thanks to Dimma and crew) I reckon we are top 8. And the proof of the pudding will be eaten next year.

Its kind of like when Northey was in charge, we weren't the most talented group back then but come gameday the players would run through a wall if Northey asked them to. I reckon the same thing would happen today if Hardwick asked them to.

Nailed it.

What we are seeing is a bunch of young mates learning together, growing together, becoming stronger together. Slide in a bit of belief and arrogance, and you have the making of a good young side on the march.

The real telling point for me was on Sunday when Collins was knocked out in the last. As soon as Newy kicked it, all the blokes went to AC to pick him up and get him going. No more individual acts, it's now about helping out your close mate, wanting him to enjoy everything on the field with you, not letting any of your mates down.

the difference now than with the Northey period is that it is kids developing, not blokes in their mid 20's just reaching their peak. These kids have a lot of upside, A LOT.

Agree with IDDY, no need to get too excited at all just yet. But there's something there. There's a hell of a long way to go, but this period of barracking for the Tige's is as, if not more, exciting than following them in the late 70's / early 80's. I was a kid then, and absence has made the heart grow fonder. Be thankful, not many supporters of other clubs, if any, could have these emotions.

And we have benny Gale as CEO - lets not underplay the footy nouse this guy has got - kinda ties everything together.

Gale is a super smart guy and he bleeds yellow and black.
A man of integrity that holds the clubs interests ahead of his own, unlike so of the other bafoons that have held us down over the past years.