This weeks team

Im happy to see Baird come in, he definietly has potential.

Im hoping that Wight will get a game over addison as i am not convinced that addison is afl ready.
Logic should prevail and bring in a 200cm backmen/ruckmen in - considering that we are a team searching for height that would surely be the logical solution.

No Reason why wight shoudnt play.

Whilst it's good to hear Rocket say Baird will play, don't count on it until it's in ink. I wouldn't mind seeing Baird play all the same, he has sure hands. Not sure if he would/can find enough of the footy atm though. We'll see, perhaps?

Interesting Faulkner is named. People keep saying he's no chance due to fitness and such, but he must be if he's named. First time, or at least one of, he 's been named right? Could be a chance considering he has played a few more games then Wight & Addison and is AFL ready. Don't rule him out just yet.

I would love to see Wight & Baird both get a crack, but somehow I don't see both of them coming in at the same time. Monty & Gia are considered runners, and I'm not so sure Baird is, whilst Wight definitely isn't. He's a tall. So who knows. It'll be very interesting.

My guess:

OUT: Gia, Monty
IN: Wight, Faulkner

Personally, i reckon rocket would've said if Addison was going to make his debut, so with that in mind:

In: Baird, Wight
Out: Gia, Monty

I reckon Baird will be used as a lead up half-foward pushing up to the wings when needed. Wight will be used on McCarthy/Playfair etc, and may even pick up King/Ottens around the ground if Street is in the ruck as i don't think he can keep up with them.

Good choices, gotta give both Baird and Wight a chance to see if they're able to find a role in the side.

divvydan said:
Personally, i reckon rocket would've said if Addison was going to make his debut, so with that in mind:

In: Baird, Wight
Out: Gia, Monty

I reckon Baird will be used as a lead up half-foward pushing up to the wings when needed. Wight will be used on McCarthy/Playfair etc, and may even pick up King/Ottens around the ground if Street is in the ruck as i don't think he can keep up with them.

Good choices, gotta give both Baird and Wight a chance to see if they're able to find a role in the side.
If Baird and Wight come in it represents a considerable restructuring of the team IMHO.

_D-TrAiN_iS_a_GuN_28 said:
Sorry K-MAC has been given the chance and proved **** all !!!! Lets give some more young blokes a go
I hope in life you get better chances than KMac has had. I'm no apologist for KMac and I agree he is struggling, but I believe in a fair go.
In the last two years every time he has had a chance he's been used up. He's been a ruckman at 190 cms, he's been in Darwin when he had no chance because the game meant too much to work him in, and against North he would not only have had to be a champion he would have had to be a miracle worker to have done well. What's more most of his errors could have been avoided if his team mates had been talking to each other and to him.
On the other hand I'm all prepared to give the "young blokes" a go, but they are not playing for their careers and errors they make will not be given the same damming critique that KMac's have. Let's face it DMac made a very error intensive beginning but I have not given up on him.
At the end of the day we are talking about very committed individuals, sure they have to take their chances but we have to be sure that they have had equal chances. 3 goals in his first quarter of his first quarter of AFL football against a rampaging Essendon side don't amount to nothing or as you put it **** all !!!! . Can you tell me who has done better?
If at the end of the year we delist KMac he will still be a human being who tried his hardest and was found wanting, but not a hopeless person. As Dougie Hawkins used to say the difference between a champion and an also ran is less than the thickness of his thumb.

alwaysadog said:
At the end of the day we are talking about very committed individuals, sure they have to take their chances but we have to be sure that they have had equal chances. 3 goals in his first quarter of his first quarter of AFL football against a rampaging Essendon side don't amount to nothing or as you put it **** all !!!! . Can you tell me who has done better?
If at the end of the year we delist KMac he will still be a human being who tried his hardest and was found wanting, but not a hopeless person. As Dougie Hawkins used to say the difference between a champion and an also ran is less than the thickness of his thumb.

A bit dramatic?
I didn't read about anyody calling him hopeless. He obviously has a strong work ethic, but clearly doesn't have what it takes to make it in this side. he has had his fair share of cracks at it, not saying he has had his last though.

And those 3 goals against the Bombers, that was a good performance then. a fair bit has changed in regards to his worth to this list now.

Vulture said:
A bit dramatic?
I didn't read about anyody calling him hopeless. He obviously has a strong work ethic, but clearly doesn't have what it takes to make it in this side. he has had his fair share of cracks at it, not saying he has had his last though.

And those 3 goals against the Bombers, that was a good performance then. a fair bit has changed in regards to his worth to this list now.
Fair comment

Does anybody know what time the game will be on tv and what channel?
I have a football game at 12 and will not be able to make it to the dome until mid 2nd quarter. Probably best to watch on Tv.

Can anyone help me?

Doggies05' said:
Does anybody know what time the game will be on tv and what channel?
I have a football game at 12 and will not be able to make it to the dome until mid 2nd quarter. Probably best to watch on Tv.

Can anyone help me?

It's on Channel 9 - but starts at 4pm delayed. If you have Fox Footy it will be shown at 8.30PM. Perhaps it's better if you just go to the game even though you will miss a quarter and a half.

alwaysadog said:
I hope in life you get better chances than KMac has had. I'm no apologist for KMac and I agree he is struggling, but I believe in a fair go.
In the last two years every time he has had a chance he's been used up. He's been a ruckman at 190 cms, he's been in Darwin when he had no chance because the game meant too much to work him in, and against North he would not only have had to be a champion he would have had to be a miracle worker to have done well. What's more most of his errors could have been avoided if his team mates had been talking to each other and to him.
On the other hand I'm all prepared to give the "young blokes" a go, but they are not playing for their careers and errors they make will not be given the same damming critique that KMac's have. Let's face it DMac made a very error intensive beginning but I have not given up on him.
nobody is judging the guy as a ''person''. the essendon game was 5 YEARS AGO.glad you're not giving up on mccormack after ONE GAME.Keiran's probably a lovely guy who even helps little old ladies cross the road but he isn't up to afl standard.Profound quote by our douggy:p

The two or three times I have seen Baird he has struck me as a player who will benefit from a higher standard.Relies a bit on the quality of delivery so a game at Telstra Dome should suit him.Lets hope the poor bloke doesn't cop someone like Dasher Milburn first up.Perhaps Eade has chosen another lead up player to work it so that Milburn cant dag off his direct opponent.Milburn is absolute quality and a major concern for us IMO.You would think Baird is coming into play a similar role to what Guido played last week.Would have thought K-Mac could play Montys role fairly well.Wight coming in would indicate a bit of a change in our approach.

With Geelong going to play both McCarthy and Playfair, it seems to be the perfect opportunity to play Wight as a defender, allowing Power and Gilbee to be more attacking and perhaps even move them onto the wing as rebound targets for when we get the ball in our defence.

I like the thought of using Baird to play a lead-up role on Milburn and make him accountable and also take him out of the space of Johnno and Robbo. Will only work if the players have the confidence to go through him when we come foward.

Alternatively, he may be started further foward and try and pick up Scarlett and then lead him up out of the 50 as well. An even tougher ask than with Milburn.

If Baird does play on Milburn, he'll have to make sure he doesn't allow him to run foward when Geelong have the ball as that is when Milburn is at his most dangerous.

alwaysadog said:

Excellent response. And Vulture, I don't know whether anyone has exactly said he is hopeless or a hopeless person but they have said as bad or worse. Whether our players are not successful be it due to lack of ability or lack of opportunity, we need to remember that they are human beings and part of our club when criticising them.

I hope that baird and wight come in, just to see some tall guys having a crack at it.

I hope that the past two weeks are cold/flu related. Youd think that if one guy has some virus at the club, then the whole list will pretty much get it. If its the same thing Ive had for the last week, you would feel pretty flat.

funny you dont hear much about the effects of colds and flus on footy clubs, do you? yet they are only human, they must suffer along with the rest of us.

addison was on the bulldog footy show last night.

still doesn't know if he's in the side, won't find out until today i believe.

Bond didnt' really give anything away, was stonfaced as usual when asked who was going to be in the side.

Kind of funny that faulkner got included, even though he's recovering from injury and not fit. Tells you they are running out of options.
(but an injured faulkner still got listed over b.murphy)

Cyberdoggie said:
addison was on the bulldog footy show last night.

still doesn't know if he's in the side, won't find out until today i believe.

Bond didnt' really give anything away, was stonfaced as usual when asked who was going to be in the side.

Kind of funny that faulkner got included, even though he's recovering from injury and not fit. Tells you they are running out of options.
(but an injured faulkner still got listed over b.murphy)
I B Murphy the only 'fit' guy not listed? What's Birss doing?

Kinda surprised B. Murphy wasn't selected, considering his current form...but then are the coaching panel sending a clear message that he's not going to get another shot.

This weeks team