BB1888

Celtic, Barca, Everton.
Just a thought, I am a big admirer of Dale Thomas and I was wondering if Collingwood supporters rate him as below, as high or higher than Ryan Griffen?

Best of luck on Sunday lads and ladettes.

So now the Doggies are going to start trolling our board?

If Pies supporters rate Dale higher then we will get hordes of Doggies come here to bag us.

FWIW, Griffen would be in front of him at the moment.

in terms of match winning ability, thomas is better.

in terms of all round game, i think griffen is better.

pretty tough one.

So now the Doggies are going to start trolling our board?

If Pies supporters rate Dale higher then we will get hordes of Doggies come here to bag us.

FWIW, Griffen would be in front of him at the moment.

Dude, chill out. Of course Doggies supporters will have a look at your board in the week leading up to us playing Collingwood.

I simply asked the question as I am a big fan of both players and I think they are a little similar, thats all.

Dude, chill out. Of course Doggies supporters will have a look at your board in the week leading up to us playing Collingwood.

I simply asked the question as I am a big fan of both players and I think they are a little similar, thats all.

Sorry mate, you probably mean well, but I'm just fed up to Pussy's bow with all these Carlton trolls that have been hanging around here.

I rate Griffen too, he's in my SC team. :thumbsu:

Not sure if anyone else has noticed it, but Griffen moves/looks more like a young Buckley than anyone else I've seen. Obviously he's a long way from Buckley's level, but I still love watching him play.

To answer your qn, I rate Griffen significantly higher than Thomas. He has everything required to be a true elite mid maybe with the exception of natural football instinct (seems a tad mechanical sometimes).

And as far as trolls go, this is a 6/10. Subtle and polite, but not terribly imaginative. Can I make a Pendlebury vs. Ray thread on the Dogs' board now? ;)

Sorry mate, you probably mean well, but I'm just fed up to Pussy's bow with all these Carlton trolls that have been hanging around here.

I rate Griffen too, he's in my SC team. :thumbsu:

No worries mate. ;)

For what its worth I think Thomas is a flashier player who can run and bounce and kick great goals that lift your team and Griffen is a bit harder at the in and under stuff and winning his own ball.

If Griffen could finish like Thomas and Thomas had Griffs grunt you would have an all round superstar.

Not sure if anyone else has noticed it, but Griffen moves/looks more like a young Buckley than anyone else I've seen. Obviously he's a long way from Buckley's level, but I still love watching him play.

To answer your qn, I rate Griffen significantly higher than Thomas. He has everything required to be a true elite mid maybe with the exception of natural football instinct (seems a tad mechanical sometimes).

And as far as trolls go, this is a 6/10. Subtle and polite, but not terribly imaginative. Can I make a Pendlebury vs. Ray thread on the Dogs' board now? ;)

Go for your life mate, I don't think that there is anything wrong with starting level headed debate with another club's supporter base, regardless of how imaginative it may or may not be.

It's similar to having a chat with another clubs supporter in a pub about their players etc which is one thing I love about our great game.

I am not a big fan of Rays to be honest, he was a high draft pick and hasn't done a lot, mainly due to injury.
He does have great run and carry but appears a tad soft and his disposal at times is woeful. I don't know enough about Pendlebury to give an educated opinion TBH.

Yeah Nothing Wrong With It. It's not a Troll at all.

I rate Griffen as the Better Player at the moment but if Daisy keeps on getting better then it could easily change

I'd have Griffen in front at this stage, but then so he should be because he's been in the system longer. I rate Griffin, though he hasn't quite come on as quickly as I thought he would.

Thomas is a terrific talent, though. And his month prior to the Carlton match was very good. (Why we returned him to HF after we only broke his form slump by putting him in the middle has got me stuffed. But that's a post for another thread.)

Go for your life mate, I don't think that there is anything wrong with starting level headed debate with another club's supporter base, regardless of how imaginative it may or may not be.

It's similar to having a chat with another clubs supporter in a pub about their players etc which is one thing I love about our great game.

I am not a big fan of Rays to be honest, he was a high draft pick and hasn't done a lot, mainly due to injury.
He does have great run and carry but appears a tad soft and his disposal at times is woeful. I don't know enough about Pendlebury to give an educated opinion TBH.

I'm all for discussion mate, I just didn't think this was a particular favourable comparison (i.e. I'd have Griffen comfortably ahead, as I said).

Actually, I'd prefer to avoid any discussion of our young mid prospects vs. the Dogs'. :o

I'm all for discussion mate, I just didn't think this was a particular favourable comparison (i.e. I'd have Griffen comfortably ahead, as I said).

Actually, I'd prefer to avoid any discussion of our young mid prospects vs. the Dogs'. :o

Thats interesting, because personally I would have them both neck and neck, maybe with Griff a touch in front.

Thomas has what you cant teach which is instinct and footy nous. With time I think he will be an absolute gun.

I also think this about Griffen but his disposal lets him down I think.

As far as pure ability, potential and talent goes I rate Griffen ahead of any other mid under the age of 23 - including his gun teammate from the same draft.

The way he breaks lines and just takes blokes on is sentational, and his disposal has always been penetrating.

Will be interesting to see if he can stay on the paddock for a full season after a full pre-season and realise some of that potential.

Weall ahead of Daisy in both output and potential, they've got a beauty there.

Need to take all factors into it, rather then just comparing them straight up head to head.

Dale Thomas in his third year (now) >>> Ryan Griffen in his third year (last year)

Thomas broke a collarbone in his first year, from memory. It was against WC at the Dome.
No It was Against the Crows at Footy Park:

[youtube]wXcMXyJjVoI[/youtube]