THORNTON - RESIGNED 3 years !

i still think this is a negative. pick 22 and 33. im sure you would've picked up a defender better than thornton with those picks.

Kaitsey said:
i still think this is a negative. pick 22 and 33. im sure you would've picked up a defender better than thornton with those picks.
A T-Bird in the hand is worth two in the draft.

Any 18 year old defender would take a long time to come on. We have players looking elsewhere right now because they are sick of losing. We can't afford to sit down the bottom collecting draft picks.

Kaitsey said:

For another team with adequate supply of big bodies down back perhaps so....

But we would have had to chuck in an under-done skinny prospect into jobs such as Pavlich, Hall, Gherig, Treadrea, Brown....etc...

We dont want a Zac Dawson situation.

That very situation may e the cause (yes I know he's crap) of Livingstons demise.

Its not the ideal situation or prospect facing an 18 year old in their first year of footy.

This is a significant step forward for the blues.

we kept a required player & sent a significant message to those looking to trade with us.

WE ARE CARLTON, EVERY ONE ELSE CAN GET FU**ED

HEHEHEHEHE:D

Kaitsey said:

You are a complete sook mate, your team wins the GF and your negative with every post you make! Stick to your board only positive posters wanted here. :cool:

Kaitsey said:
There is no negative in retaining Thornton. If the picks are so positive the whore-x should be really happy they ended up with them.

Just reading The Australian today with the article about Chris Pelchin and how he tried to deal with us. The more you hear about him, the more he sounds like a very ordinary individual who has no morals at all. Again, great work Blues.

Heres the bit of the article about it:

Rogues gallery exposes lunacy of trade week

Chip Le Grand
October 14, 2006

THIS is the absurdity of trade week. With less than an hour to go before yesterday's 2pm deadline, Hawthorn approached Carlton with an offer of a second- and third-round pick in the national draft for disgruntled defender Bret Thornton. Only, Hawthorn didn't have a third-round pick to give, as the Blues knew only too well. Carlton said no.

About 20 minutes before the deadline, the Hawks came back to Carlton with an improved offer of two second-round picks; 24 and 33. Only Hawthorn didn't have pick 33, as the Hawks and Blues knew only too well. Carlton said no and Thornton stayed put.
In another corporate box at Telstra Dome, Sydney officials were twiddling their thumbs and wondering if they would get to trade for Hawthorn's out-of-contract ruckman Peter Everitt or be forced to wait to secure him through the pre-season draft in December.
The Swans were holding picks 33 and 49; the second- and third-round choices Hawthorn had promised to Carlton. Carlton wanted both but Sydney steadfastly maintained it could have one or the other. With five minutes to go before the deadline, Everitt was still a Hawthorn player.
When Hawthorn's final pitch to Carlton collapsed, the Hawks rushed to trade Everitt for 33 -- a deal they could have done for the same terms as early as Monday morning. The paperwork went through with a few minutes to spare. Another trade for Dean Solomon to go from Essendon to Fremantle reached the AFL with seconds left on the clock.
As player managers, the AFL players' association and clubs all say at the end of each trade period, it is no way to manage important assets within a billion-dollar industry.
A few minutes after trading has finished, Hawthorn personnel manager Chris Pelchen explained what had gone on. Pelchen earned his trade-week stripes last year when he cajoled, twisted and frustrated the Kangaroos into giving up two first-round draft picks for a broken down defender in Jonathan Hay. He was yesterday unapologetic for how the Hawks have handled their business this year.
"We are duty-bound at Hawthorn to get the best deal for our club and I don't think we need to trade on any player prior to 2pm on Friday," Pelchen said. "I think it is more important we achieve the best outcome.
"What we have done over the course of the week is speak to several clubs about Peter, we have actually had several deals on the table so to speak that have been taken off; that is the uncertainty of trade week. We do the deal when we think it is an appropriate time to do it."
Hawthorn's trading philosophy is simple: good deals are done if you can keep your head in the final minutes of trading when others are losing theirs. It is also a recipe for the laborious, tedious negotiations all too common in player trading.
Collingwood chief executive Greg Swann was happy enough with his club's lot yesterday but still wondered whether most of the week had been a waste of time.
The trouble with trade week is what clubs say and do are very different things. Pelchen joked throughout the week that he couldn't reach Carlton to talk about Thornton but Carlton cannot recall the phone ringing once between Monday's initial meeting between the clubs and yesterday's frenetic trading.
Pelchen said Carlton approached Hawthorn about a deal for Thornton in the last hour of trading but, according to Carlton, it was Hawthorn which kept approaching it through Thornton's manager Anthony McConville. On Monday morning, Carlton coach Denis Pagan said publicly that Thornton would not be traded. There is no evidence the Carlton position wavered throughout the week.
Thornton will now decide whether to nominate for the pre-season draft or re-sign with Carlton. If he goes into the pre-season draft, he will most likely be taken by Essendon. This is the reality of trade week.

Nice written article. Incredible the moralistic high ground that Hawthorn has taken, only to have their tactics questioned by many. As I 've previously stated 'You can't trade a pick that you do not have."