kaness

That's it I've had enough! This week has been as boring as hell, not even the crappy little articles on the CFC website have been suffice, with only 2 hours left of work... I am stuggling to keep myself occupied.
As a result... I've decided to just make a few comments on all the players on our list. Critisize and comment as you wish :D
Ps I dont post nor start threads often.

9-John Anthony- Alot to like a bout this bloke, but the rediculous decision making of recent weeks leaves me furious... christ he can kick straight. All in all we have a solid FF for what I hope is the next 7 or more years. But is he gay?
43-Jaxson Barham- Alot on here are quite the critic of his disposal, and I must agree, but gee I love the way he goes about it. Me and my mate call him "Scraps" not sure why but just thought I'd pass that on. He has a bright future if he can tidy his disposal.
17-Dayne Beams- Star... well future star at least. Loves getting in and under, loves a goal and gets alot of the footy at such an early stage of his career. Future captain I beleive. The only citisisms' I have is he seems a little slow and not always willing to chase but thats just my observation.
27-Jarrad Blight-Can't comment on this bloke as I don't watch the VFL.
15-Leigh Brown-The scapegoat of the team. Been handy on the majority and been woeful at times also, not much more can be expected though. And a handy pick-up I beleive, probably lucky to have played so many games this season. That said atm he deserves his spot IMO.
16-Nathan Brown-Pretty ordinary season from a player who showed so much promise last season. Injury aside I have been dissapointed. He really looks out of his depth when being given a big task this year. Hopefully he steps up a little before Presti is gone.
40-Chris Bryan-Last year's leigh brown. Looks like being de-listed, I quite liked the big fella. But dead wood is dead wood I guess.
18-Marty Clarke-Dissapointing to see him in and out of the team this year I love his running goals from 50 and his no-fear style. Hopefully he can cemment his spot before finals... Otherwise I'm expecting a huge 2010 from Marty.
32-Travis Cloke-No where near the infulence he had on games last year but we are still winning so I guess that makes it okay? I like many others would like to see him played deeper forward more often. Consistent season to date.
29-Ryan Cook-Bye bye Ryan. I had hoped he could make it but looks like he's gone during trade week.
14-Anthony Corrie-Hack. Just looks wrong in our jumper. Bye.
12-Shannon Cox-Like this bloke, its a shame he can't get himself sorted and away from KFC and what-not. Sadly I think he might be gone but very good depth, I just don't think being depth is what he wants and therefore loses interest.
1-Leon Davis-AAwesome. I dont this there has been a game me and my mate have watched without saying "hes one of the best players I've seen" in the last few months. Great season, hope he keeps it up next year and through September most importantly.
31-Chris Dawes-I had no faith before last week. He has shown glimpses, but I'm still not convinced. Next year will decide his fate I'd imagine.
33-Brad Dick-Has been okay. Not spectacular, not bad. I think he needs to just have probably 8-10 senior games a year. While building his body size and work on staying involved in the game back at VFL level.
4-Alan Didak-Aren't we glad we kept this bloke. I love his cheeky nature and the way he plays his fooy - although - if he was on another team, boy I would hate him. AA... enough said.
25-Josh Fraser-Same old Josh. Very very reliable for us, but premiership ruckman? I hope so. Get well soon...
6-Tyson Goldsack-Good to see him back in some form at this stage, another one I like the way he plays, alot like Dick, in that once he matures and builds his upper body will be a good consistant player hopefully.
26-Ben Johnson-Isn't he frustrating, one of the only old midfielders left and I think thats why I have a soft spot for him, but as a senior player I wish he brought that hardness back into his game that seen him reported in 07? That said beside his akward kicking style I thik he's been pretty good since coming back, and I love seeming him running into goal from 50 too.
24-Tarkyn Lockyer-Love this bloke. Never stops trying and it shows. Really good team player. Great consistant season to boot.
30-Brent Mcaffer-Decent player IMO but I dont think he will make it, not at Collingwood anyway. He just seems lost and without a role in our team when he has played IMO.

Sorry guys I ran out of time, actually got some work to do now but I'll finish off the rest of the list on Monday if there is any interest in the thread lol.:thumbsu: Enjoy.

Mate, good on you for having a go....but how can you comment on a lot of these guys if you don't watch VFL??

First of all, were you aware that Macaffer has been injured for the 2nd half of this year and that he has now settled into a role across half back and taking kick outs. I actually think he is going to be a star in this position.

You made comments about Corrie, Bryan and Cook which I don't think are completely innaccurate...but without watching them at VFL level you shouldn't comment. Cook has been very good in the VFL all year. But you are probably right about him not been AFL standard. Bryan has also been very good most weeks but I think you are right about him not been up to it...though he still serves as very decent backup considering we only have the 3 rucks on our list and Fraser is injury prone.

As for Ben Johnson...obviously you have failed to take notice of the fact that he has become our designated tagger. Played on guys like Judd and Edwards recently. He is actually in very good nick.

Again, on Chris Dawes...many share your views and have no faith...but if you have watched him in VFL this year you would see he has been very prominant. Seems still a way off, and the jury is still out...but he has earnt a recall through good form in the VFL.

Can't wait to see your opinions on Reid, Stanley, Thomas and O'bree.

But that aside, good thread i reckon...there aren't too many just random threads discussing players....its usually just based on an individual game or an individual player. Worthwhile general discussion I reckon.

9-John Anthony- Alot to like a bout this bloke, but the rediculous decision making of recent weeks leaves me furious... christ he can kick straight. All in all we have a solid FF for what I hope is the next 7 or more years. But is he gay?

Didn't realise sexual preference changed how good or bad someone can play football.... Learn something new every day.

As long as our players aren't chatting up their opponents when the ball is sailing in, I couldn't care less what their sexual preference is.

No pun intended :p

As long as our players aren't chatting up their opponents when the ball is sailing in, I couldn't care less what their sexual preference is.

Although the odd "goosing" from a frangapanni wearing FF has been known to unsettle the occasional FB.:D

Disagree strongly on Nathan Brown.

No idea what some people have expected from him this year. He has been good imo.

Loving your Cornelia Francis like dismissal of players.

Anthony Corrie... Goodbye!

VC_WeakestLink_AUS_2001_Host.gif

Can't see why someone's sexual preference matters really, Jack is who he is, after all it didn't stop another hard tough FF who played for us, no one cared then and no one cares now.

Didn't realise sexual preference changed how good or bad someone can play football.... Learn something new every day.

Where did I say that it did? Was simply a question, something we have a good laugh at each week... So, just curious if it were true...
Eg. During the Richmond game one of the commentators made the call... "Anthony wants it deep"
Childinsh I know... but. LOL

You didn't write something about everyone, so why did you include this in your post?

I was going to finish it off today like I said... And as far as how I commented on Dawes, Bryan etc... I do read the VFL reviews and browse through alot of threads on here... So I guess I felt I had opinion to give, whereas with Blight, I didnt... Sorry.

5-Nick Maxwell- I was very dirty when he was named captain, likewise him donning the #5 but I'll happily say he has been absiolutely excellent, one of the best players at playing their role and doing it consisently. He certainly proved all the doubters wrong one would think.

3-John McCarthy- From the LITTLE I have seen of this lad I can't really give much imput, but he looks promising, I am looking forward to seeing what he can offer the senior side next season/pre-season.

7-Paul Medhurst- Medders is my favorite player, well he was when at his best. What can be said here really, he is slowly slowy getting back to his best, and hopefully in time for the finals, I dont really thin the injury can be used as an excuse now... maybe a change of gameplan or his role in the team? Nevertheless still top 22 easily.

11-Shane O'Bree- His blind snaps out of packs and bombs forward frustrate the crap out of me, that said, he's clearances, experience and cool head are very valuable, and as such so is his role in the team. I do wonder though when he will hang the boots, maybe if we won the flag this year?

8-Harry O'Brien- Nothing but praise for the bloke and the way he goes about his footy, it is great to have that sort of personality around the club. Been rock-solid of late and certainly provides alot of run out of the backline. Seems very versatile too, he could almost have a roll forward I think, he would be very slilppery to stop.

10-Scott Pendlebury- Or as we like to call him... "Smooth Mover". What a star. He just never seems to get himself into trouble. Loves a goal and floats forward and back to great affect. There will be plenty of AA's and B&F's at the end of his 250+ game career I'd say.

35-Simon Prestigiacomo- I thought he was done, I am glad that wasn't the case... loving his consistency atm and the fact he has been able to play majority of the games this season. If he can get through the rest of the year unharmed, you would have to think hell play on, although much like O'Bree, if we won the flag, thoughts may change.

20-Ben Reid- Not a fan of this kid. I dont have a strong argument for or against I'm just not a fan. Probably because he hasn't broken into the main team, but, I think it's a given that he wont make it as a forward, so lets hope he can have an impact off half-back next year in the seniors.

23-Anthony Rocca- I hurts me to say this but he's done. Please don't bring him back in the team, he's not the answer nor the hero he once was, I think it would be very upsetting to the team come finals time.

37-Luke Rounds- Another that I can't comment on, I honestly haven't seen him play, but like all our new players I'm looking forward to seeing him debut.

2-Sean Rusling- I'm not as sold on Rus as some on here, and with a pretty settled forward line atm I'm not sure he will get many chances. Sure he has shown good signs but there has been a long time between drinks, it will be interesting to see if we persist or trade.

39-Heath Shaw- One of my favorite players, there is no one I'd rather see running through half back and onto the wing, although he can be wasteful at times and have his shockers like anyone. He bleeds black and white and is a complete star.

22-Steele Sidebottom- His first season has been solid, his inclusion and exclusion would be unsettling for him, but he's not top 22 yet. Promising prospect but I'm not sold on the fact he will be a star, as opposed to Beams who has it shinning out of his Sidebottom.

28-Danny Stanley- Hard to say much about this lad either but I think it's safe to say that he will be traded/delisted come seaons end. Much like Cook in that I hoped to see him perform but the odds are now against him.

36-Dane Swan- Complete hack! :rolleyes: Eh, but honestly he is a machine, never stops running, rarely beaten 1-on-1 pops up for goals, gets his 30+ touches easily wekk-in, week-out. I hope that Neon and Dids havent stolen too many votes from him because he is a red-hot shot at the Chas this year. Norm Smith betting?

13-Dale Thomas- It's been great watching him develop this season, he is becoming more consistent and more of a team player. Good year from Dale and he will only get better.

34-Alan Toovey- I am what some would call a "Toovey Hater" I can't for the life of me work out how he gets a game, yes, I know he plays a role etc, shuts down a small forward and all that crap, but the reward for effort is just not there in my books. Surely anyone could do as good as - if not a better job. He just looks like a disabled person out on the field. To his credit though he has been slowly improving, and my hate for him is fading, a little. Mick has shown alot of faith in him and I'm just not sure why, and I dont think it should continue.

21-Sharrod Wellingham- Huge raps for this kid. Reminds me of Pendlebury in the way he moves and always seems to have time and space. I am glad he has been given more chances this year, he has earned his spot on the list and will be a big part in the future of the club.

19-Cameron Wood- I am glad he has stepped up, I just hope he can continue to have an influence when Josh comes back. But certainly over the past month he has shown his value and that he was very worthwile trade. I just hope he doesnt dish out much more of his past uninterested, half-hearted crap.

Well guys that is it, don't be too harsh, after all is it just MY OPINION. Feel free to add or comment on what you like, be nice about it though. I don't post to be critisized or analysed, just a nice bit of discussion would be good.

Cheers.:thumbsu:

I've just pinched your list kanessto simplify and added comment.

5-Nick Maxwell-
I picked him as a future Captain in his first couple of games and have maintained he would be throughout, so his appointment was well accepted. The fact he has been so damned good so early is a bit pleasent surprise and the fact that many who doubted now accpet him with open arms is fantatsic and testament to his tenure.:thumbsu:

3-John McCarthy- Have seen even less than Kaness so no comments here.

7-Paul Medhurst- Agree 100%.

11-Shane O'Bree- Love him. He is the one getting his hands dirty on and off the ball so often it makes me smile. A flag would be fitting reward for a great serveant of the club. More than deserves his place in the 22 but also his occasional knocks for bad disposal. The former far outweighs the latter.

8-Harry O'Brien- Champ. The man is half Mongoose and half black Mombassa. All hail the "slippery one".
10-Scott Pendlebury- Quite literally the future of our football club.

35-Simon Prestigiacomo- AA Presti. Never doubted him.

20-Ben Reid- Have not seen enough to comment.
23-Anthony Rocca- Love the man for the cahmpion he is. Maligned by oppo supporters but very respected by oppo coaches. Pebbles is the very essence of what the club was, is and will be.So many times we pinned ALL our hopes on Anthony and he has delivered. In the last decade nothing screams Collingwood more than a Rocca torp from way outside 50.
When he's ready I'd have him in the side any day.

37-Luke Rounds- Haven't seen enough of him and DTM has dropped the ball..:D

2-Sean Rusling- Has not had the chance to show his wares really. I hope he gets his chance if only to reward all te ork he has done to stay on the list. Could be something special if he gets the opportunity.

39-Heath Shaw- The key to the backline. Really has sublime skills for his position ad probably could play in the middle with no problem. Fantatsic mark one on one and always a big voice in defence.

22-Steele Sidebottom- Outstanding first season, stepping up from TAC Cup. Should not be compared to Beams as far as game time as they both arrived thorugh different paths and with wildly different physical experience.

28-Danny Stanley- Hard to say much about this lad either.
36-Dane Swan- This bloke makes my heart sing. Rapidly becoming a favourite with oppo supporters even with the almost insurmountable hatred of Collingwood as a backdrop. Does everything well. Looks as slow as a wombat but regularly beats "faster" opponents to the ball or the contest. Is not afraid to get down and dirty, take a screamer, smash a pack or shepherd for a mate. If he is not the engine then he is certainly the ignition system.

13-Dale Thomas- Still think he is one of the Top 5 for the club. Has been used in many different roles this season, but only as development tool by the master...One more pre-season to develop that bod and he will show his best consistently.
34-Alan Toovey- I am always attracted to the most maligned....He has come a long way this season, almost cementing a spot but not quite. He has been far more adventurous and with confidence comes poise. He won't get the "possum in the headlights tag next year I don't think. Still on the cusp of the 22. His spot to claim though.

21-Sharrod Wellingham- "The Boot" will be part of the side for many years. Has the "time" of Pendles but is not a clone. Another who will benefit enormously from another pre-season. Big wraps from me as well.

19-Cameron Wood- I was a bit cool on Wood due to his apparent lack of "passion" in games. He seemed very lethargic and disinterested. He has really lifted his intensity of late. MM said of Wood that "some players are more mature than others regardless of age" and this could be a factor.
Another pre-season plus time for some more mental maturity will be the key. Still behind Fraser regardless.

There are plenty missed here but some speak for themselves.

Nice write ups mate, good to see we agree on the majority. And also good to see some interest shown in this thread.
Keep it coming, without bigfooty my working week, would be far more boring...