Thoughts on tonight's game

i love tonights game, Bombers are running like they won more than 5 games. They are full of confidence and playing like a side the fans expect them to pay. Hird was good today just hope it isnt his last season,

Good win hope it continues next week. :thumbsu:

Awesome. Sure beats the heartbreak of previous weeks! :p

I thought we saw the future of the football club on show tonight. The kids were great. Dyson was on fire, Hille a real captains game, Nash looks very polished, Angus, surely his body is too small for that ticker of his. I may be getting swept away in the emotion of the win, but fu_ck it, I reckon we should be aiming for another flag before the likes of Fletcher and Lucas hang up the boots. Go the Dons! What a game. Im now sitting down to watch the replay on Fox Footy, just to make sure i aint dreamin.

HOW LOUD WAS OUR TEAM SONG IN THE ROOMS AFTER THE GAME!!! McPhee showed so much passion during our anthem, the veins in his neck resembled metal scaffolding!

I thought one of the many positives to come out of the game was the form of Keplar Bradley.
Now i'm not saying this because he kicked 4 goals but more for the fact that actually looked stress free.
It was almost like he was relieved to have the pressures of the backline off him and it showed in his form.
His disposal was quite good, he obviously kicked to 4 goals which should help his confidence in the upcoming weeks.

Although it is only small steps that he took i hope a few more small steps like this in the coming weeks can give him some confidence to have a good year next year.

DaSawx said:
Dyson and Monfries really stood up in the last quarter when it was close which was awesome to see.

Couldn't believe the radio bagging Lucas after the game, losers.

What were they bagging him about mate?

Merv Neagle said:
I thought one of the many positives to come out of the game was the form of Keplar Bradley.
Now i'm not saying this because he kicked 4 goals but more for the fact that actually looked stress free.
It was almost like he was relieved to have the pressures of the backline off him and it showed in his form.

His disposal was quite good, he obviously kicked to 4 goals which should help his confidence in the upcoming weeks.

Although it is only small steps that he took i hope a few more small steps like this in the coming weeks can give him some confidence to have a good year next year.

Merv, couldn't agree more. As another who has been bagging him lately the differences I saw were 1) He was part of a winning team, playing with confidence and enthusiasm, and 2) His approaches to the set shots were great. I'd definitely keep him in the forward 50 for the rest of the season, he's starting to use his height to get marks and scoring opportunities, not trying to get hte ball out of danger.

Three times Lucas could have handballed instead of kicking at goal.
Twice he kicked goals, once he didn't make the distance.

Two out of three, I'll take that.

Kepler Bradley, good.
Monfries and Dyson outstanding.

Jay Nash good again, got led to the ball a bit too much early but his second half was much better. Handballed to Hird once when he could have ran and kicked, it almost looked like he gave it to Hird just because it was Hird. But every time he got the ball forward of the centre, we had a shot at goal.

Good to see McPhee take that hanger. Hopefully that helps bring his confidence back in going for his marks.

Dean Solomon took the game on, good to see. Couple of mistakes, bad ones, but he ran with purpose.

The reason we won last night was because for the first time this season (including the Sydney game), we had more contributors than the opposition. 11 blokes had 20+ disposals, most players made an impact.

Longy413 said:
Three times Lucas could have handballed instead of kicking at goal.
Twice he kicked goals, once he didn't make the distance.

Two out of three, I'll take that.

Kepler Bradley, good.
Monfries and Dyson outstanding.

Jay Nash good again, got led to the ball a bit too much early but his second half was much better. Handballed to Hird once when he could have ran and kicked, it almost looked like he gave it to Hird just because it was Hird. But every time he got the ball forward of the centre, we had a shot at goal.

Good to see McPhee take that hanger. Hopefully that helps bring his confidence back in going for his marks.

Dean Solomon took the game on, good to see. Couple of mistakes, bad ones, but he ran with purpose.

The reason we won last night was because for the first time this season (including the Sydney game), we had more contributors than the opposition. 11 blokes had 20+ disposals, most players made an impact.

Only Reynolds and Lovett had less then 10. Great game by the whole team. I thought Stanton, Monfries, Dyson and Nash all played well especially in the last quarter which was great to see. Dyson is doing the small things a bit more now which is also good. That smother he got in the forward line and got the ball out was awesome. Monfries is going to kill himself one day but he is awesome.. Amazing courage...
For anyone on right now, Scotty is on the sunday footy show

Nash should hold his spot.

NLM might come back via the 2's. He's had three weeks out and probably wasn't in the same form when he went out as he was earlier in the year. He'd be stiff.

Heff would also come under consideration, as would Slattery.

jules101 said:
Only Reynolds and Lovett had less then 10. Great game by the whole team. I thought Stanton, Monfries, Dyson and Nash all played well especially in the last quarter which was great to see. Dyson is doing the small things a bit more now which is also good. That smother he got in the forward line and got the ball out was awesome. Monfries is going to kill himself one day but he is awesome.. Amazing courage...
For anyone on right now, Scotty is on the sunday footy show

There were a few instances that Reynolds was ignored as he led out from the square, but Im not too fussed...he wouldnt be in my top 25 at the club, never has been.

go_the_bombers said:
Team selection for the swans will be interesting

Team structure will change again with the Swans this week, Bradley would no doubt have to lend a hand down back to combat Hall, O'Loughlin and Goodes.
NLM will be straight back in to keep close check on their smaller forwards and hopefully Johns will come straight back in also, to be picked up by Richards.
Dont think Heff will be back till the week following, Reynolds will likely be dropped and Slattery (if he comes in) will help down back against the smaller forwards again. Hird v Kirk will be a great contest.

Very confident it can be 2 in a row as long as long we shut down their forwards by playing an energy sapping close checking game in our back 50

1 of Hird or McVeigh forward makes Reynolds almost entirely expendable. Unfortunately for him it could career over. He's the only one i can think of who 'deserves' to be dropped.

I'd give a lot of consideration to resting Hird this week btw. We're always saying play him 1 on 1 off but we never do. 2nd week back is usually a bit of a let down as well.