Tiger Airlines cheap flights today.....

Ive already received a email for a change of time flight, but its only a 50 min difference on a Thursday night.
I really hope I don't get a email about Anzac weekend because I only have a 3 hours leeway between arriving in Melbourne and the Anzac match.
Also, they don't automatically give you a refund? I mean I know you chose a new flight, but only coz they changed your original which you chose to suit your preference. That sucks.

Im not sure about refunds, I was just joking about getting the difference back because the value of the new flight was $150 more than the flights I eventually ended up with.

But yeah I dont think there is any refund available if you don't use the new flights, unless you buy insurance maybe?

If you get the email call because the stupid thing is, we are actually back on our original flight. So it seems they are happy to change your flight back if they havent sold the seats. I am guessing they try and move people off the more popular flights and onto the ones which arent selling.

I got return flights for $70 from melbourne to adelaide 3 weeks ago for a praccy match against blackfriars.

went to the airport on the sunday arvo at 5.00 to get the flight back but they had chaged our flight to the monday (without notifying us)

They had no seats left on either plane and only qantas had a ticket (just the one) home and it was $380... I had work the next day and the mate i was with had a job interview so all we could do is hire a car....after driving home from adelaide to melbourne the day after a footy trip and getting in a 3am...i almost went to burn down the tiger terminal!!

They send you an email weeks before a change.

We are booked to go with them on 22 May for a weekend away with friends, and yes I am missing the home game against the Blues. They emailed us to say we are being moved from the 615am flight to an 8pm flight. This was not good as we want the Friday in Melbourne. We rang and told them we were not happy, and without much complaint we were moved back to our 615 flight. The girl on the phone said they do move people, but if you ring to change back you will almost always get on your inteneded flight.

Just had a couple of trips with Tiger back & forth from the Gold Coast - no problems either way, flight home was delayed by 30 mins due to a mix of rain & slow boarding on the preceding Melbourne flight (****ing Victorians...)

Also got my luggage straight away, which is more than can be said for some poor Qantas customers on Monday...

Anybody see the Tiger Airlines report on TT ... Not suprising. One couple scheduled to return home from interstate monday morning but after having their flights cancelled with no explaination they could only schedule them to return home wed arvo.

$28 sale fare flights being cancelled only for the customer to go online and see that the exact flight that was "cancelled" was still available online for the full fare...

Anybody see the Tiger Airlines report on TT ... Not suprising. One couple scheduled to return home from interstate monday morning but after having their flights cancelled with no explaination they could only schedule them to return home wed arvo.

$28 sale fare flights being cancelled only for the customer to go online and see that the exact flight that was "cancelled" was still available online for the full fare...

Bear in mind TT have always bashed the low budget airlines. 10 years ago there was a string of Virgin bashing stories. A couple of years ago, it was Jetstar bashing. Now it's Tiger bashing.

I watched the article as well and two things to come out of it

1. In the first part of the article, you never get anywhere if you stand around in a menacing group trying to intimidate employees. With the conduct of some people on that clip, I can understand why the supervisor was refusing to speak to them. I can understand they may be frustrated, but abusing staff will never get you anywhere, and if you do go down that path, you deserve to be left on your own.

2. It seems that flight chopping and changing is an all too common thing on Tiger. Why do they do it?

brucetiki said:
2. It seems that flight chopping and changing is an all too common thing on Tiger. Why do they do it?

Possibly two reasons, if it is a light passenger load either direction and they arent going to make any money they would rather cancel it, or due to having just the 5 aircraft if one breaks down then their whole system falls to peices.

I was reading last night that Tiger will be starting Melbourne - Sydney flights from July.

Its just happened to me, except the sale fare could still be found online.

Lucky for them the objective of the trip will remain uninterrupted.

I may be wrong cause I have never bought Tiger tickets, but friends who have and I am sure one of the clauses is exactly that, they can change your flights at not much notice......

Tiger aren't the only ones who do this.

Returning from my overseas trip (London Heathrow -> Sydney 6:45am), about a week and a half before leaving, my Jetstar 1:05pm Sydney -> Adelaide flight was "cancelled" and I was folded into the 6:15am Sydney -> Adelaide flight, which was the only one on the day that had not been "cancelled".

In the end had to go 11:25am Sydney -> Gold Coast, and then 4:20 GC -> Adelaide.

Not so bad, except for the fact that Gold Coast airport is worse of a hole than the old Adelaide Airport, I hadn't slept for about 32 hours by the time I got there, and both the airport and my flight there were filled with Schoolies. Ugh.

Looking at flying Tiger to visit a mate in Canberra in July... and possibly the snow fields since, you know, they're nearby ;)

How much have they changed your times by???
Not by much, 1 hour max for all.
But the one I'm not happy about (however I'm not worrying about seeing as it is in August) is a flight originally scheduled for 1pm Melb -> Adelaide now flies out at 9pm... I figure that its already changed once, it will probably change another 10 times before then, so Ill just wait and see what happens.

I have 2 return flights with Qantas that I booked late last year. Haven't received anything from them. Not that I expect to.

Not by much, 1 hour max for all.
But the one I'm not happy about (however I'm not worrying about seeing as it is in August) is a flight originally scheduled for 1pm Melb -> Adelaide now flies out at 9pm... I figure that its already changed once, it will probably change another 10 times before then, so Ill just wait and see what happens.

I have 2 return flights with Qantas that I booked late last year. Haven't received anything from them. Not that I expect to.

No I wouldnt expect Qantas to change your flights, as I said with Tiger with having the five aircraft their scheduals are tight and aircraft breaksdown it throws the whole operation out of whack, also if they see the passenger load is low it may also force them to make changes/cancellations.

These small airlines will also list multiple flight times in a day, and when some of them are inevitably undersold, they are all folded into the one or two flights with the cheapest gate rental time from the airport, usually at around "It's too ****ing early" o'clock.

It's what happened to me.

These small airlines will also list multiple flight times in a day, and when some of them are inevitably undersold, they are all folded into the one or two flights with the cheapest gate rental time from the airport, usually at around "It's too ****ing early" o'clock.

It's what happened to me.

Very true because they hope to fill those flights. Larger airlines might not fill a particular flight but it needs to operate that flight as the next flight it operates might be full.

Tiger Airlines cheap flights today.....