Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Crows get Grundy, Giles, 35ish Lose Tippett, pick 19..

Would that outcome be fair?

Sydney would lose pick 22 and Grundy while we get Grundy and Giles. That's decent but I wouldn't give up pick 19 our first round draft pick.

Ignoring the complex draft deals here's a simple trade. It might be seen as unders a bit but the Crows aren't looking for a like for like player for Tippett.

GWS - Gain: Pick 22 Lose: Giles
Sydney - Gain: Tippett Lose: Pick 22
Adelaide - Gain: Giles Lose: Tippett

GWS can use one of their 6 first round draft picks to pick up a new ruck or more likely trade for an experienced ruck. Personally I'd like to pick up B Grundy as a ruck/key forward in the draft but he'll probably be long gone by the time pick 19 comes around - most likely GWS which would leave GWS with both Giles and Grundy which is a lose/lose for Adelaide.

Are there any key/midsize defenders in the SANFL worth pursuing outside the radar of interstate clubs?

That is nothing other than twisting the in and outs. Its simply no different to Tippet to Swans for their pick 22. Even the pies got pick 17 for Wellingham. Either you are taking the piss or your full of crap.

For those here interested in GHS of the Cats: I wouldn't be too fussed with his lack of AFL experience in the first two years. I went to the same school as him (although I was several years older), and even then there was talk of this little kid coming through the ranks who was touted as the next gun cricketer and footy player. He is a seriously talented sportsman, just a natural. In this age of Draft combines and 20 metre sprints and standing jump tests and beep tests and who knows what else, those with fitness and agility often take the plaudits over people who can simply play the game. Thankfully we have Dangerfield who checks both boxes, but there is no doubt that GHS is just a natural footballer. He may not be blessed with explosive acceleration, top end speed or Rioli-like agility, but then again, does Sam Mitchell? I think Mitchell is the template for a footy player, good on both feet, thinks his way through traffic, opens space for others, etc. GHS has the ability to do all these things.

Obviously talk of GHS to Adelaide is a BF pipedream, but I'd jump at the chance to have such a home-grown talent play for the Crows.

For those here interested in GHS of the Cats: I wouldn't be too fussed with his lack of AFL experience in the first two years. I went to the same school as him (although I was several years older), and even then there was talk of this little kid coming through the ranks who was touted as the next gun cricketer and footy player. He is a seriously talented sportsman, just a natural. In this age of Draft combines and 20 metre sprints and standing jump tests and beep tests and who knows what else, those with fitness and agility often take the plaudits over people who can simply play the game. Thankfully we have Dangerfield who checks both boxes, but there is no doubt that GHS is just a natural footballer. He may not be blessed with explosive acceleration, top end speed or Rioli-like agility, but then again, does Sam Mitchell? I think Mitchell is the template for a footy player, good on both feet, thinks his way through traffic, opens space for others, etc. GHS has the ability to do all these things.

Obviously talk of GHS to Adelaide is a BF pipedream, but I'd jump at the chance to have such a home-grown talent play for the Crows.

Who did he play for over here....... ie SANFL or School etc?

I would go

Adelaide lose Kurt Tippett & pick 59*
Sydney lose Tom Mitchell & pick 22 and pick 42
West Coast lose Mitch Brown
Carlton lose pick 11

Adelaide gain - pick 11 & 22 and 42
Sydney gain Tippett
West Coast gain Tom Mitchell
Carlton gain Mitch Brown

Adelaide will upgrade 3rd round pick 59 to Sydney 2nd round pick 42

I feel at the end of the day, that maybe the best we can get.

I would also inquire with the Western Bulldogs for pick 5 or 6 or Richmond for pick 9 and take the best deal as I feel (hope) Mitch brown just wants to return to a Victorian club.

The trouble with finalizing it at the 11 th hour is it leaves us little time to use the picks we gain to do other deals unless we tie the whole thing together. Then we are vulnerable to the deal collapsing I would just like it finished sooner rather than later

Leaving it till the 11th hour is how the Japanese used to negotiate. Suddenly your in a position of having to make a quick decision about a proposal because time has run out. Bad way to negotiate

We would have to retain 19 in that scenario. Even then unders but hey if we could all move on????

I don't understand the need to move on so early in the trade period. Surely if we rush a deal and get unders "just to move on" we are a lot worse off than taking a couple weeks to get a fair deal.

Who did he play for over here....... ie SANFL or School etc?

Geez, not having a go but i reckon I've posted this at least 5 times.

He played school footy for pembroke.2 x u/18 games for sturt.

Never had a pre season as he was captain of junior Australian cricket side

I don't understand the need to move on so early in the trade period. Surely if we rush a deal and get unders "just to move on" we are a lot worse off than taking a couple weeks to get a fair deal.

Quite correct, let's not worry about moving on, let's worry about getting the best deal possible. Even if that takes all 3 weeks.

If you're frustrated at the lack of movement, log out and come back in a few days. This will take time.

We need to finalize it because then we know what we have to use in trades ourselves . With tippets salary spare in the salary cap we could do quite well.

This is our currency to do other deals but if we gain under, we will have dig deeper into our playing list to make other deals happen.

Much to some people chagrin, we will not be trading Richard Douglas. That is not going to happen as we don't need to or want to. If we were fishing for a big time player (ALA Tippett) we may have had to expand the search of the player pool but we're not.

We need to gain a maximum output in the returns for Tippett to make any other deals.

Quite correct, let's not worry about moving on, let's worry about getting the best deal possible. Even if that takes all 3 weeks.

If you're frustrated at the lack of movement, log out and come back in a few days. This will take time.

And I also wager that AFC is not sitting back until the 11th hour. There will be Plan A negotiations going on for at least 2 weeks before receiving unders in a deal. I'm looking forward to seeing how this unfolds.

Heard that a few years ago. Makes you want to cry.

Blight wanted McGregor over Pavlich then Ayres wanted Carey over Pavlich.

No wonder he hates us.
I had heard that the " retruiters" we're split evenly between McGregor and Pavlich but John Reid made the casting vote of McGregor. Then again he was a good mate of Blighty so maybe he went with his pick so as not to upset him.

I would go

Adelaide lose Kurt Tippett & pick 59*
Sydney lose Tom Mitchell & pick 22 and pick 42
West Coast lose Mitch Brown
Carlton lose pick 11

Adelaide gain - pick 11 & 22 and 42
Sydney gain Tippett
West Coast gain Tom Mitchell
Carlton gain Mitch Brown

Adelaide will upgrade 3rd round pick 59 to Sydney 2nd round pick 42

I feel at the end of the day, that maybe the best we can get.

I would also inquire with the Western Bulldogs for pick 5 or 6 or Richmond for pick 9 and take the best deal as I feel (hope) Mitch brown just wants to return to a Victorian club.
Carlton give up pick 11 and get Mitch brown who isn't getting a regular game at WCE. We can give them ottens instead for pick 11.

Also WCE get Mitchell who would be a top 10 pick in this draft for Brown.

If other clubs are involved then they need to get a fair deal or it all falls over.

Does is annoy the crap out of everyone else, or is it just me, when I read these threads there is a picture behind the thread and the little dipstick himself is in the bottom right hand corner!!!

Carlton give up pick 11 and get Mitch brown who isn't getting a regular game at WCE. We can give them ottens instead for pick 11.

Also WCE get Mitchell who would be a top 10 pick in this draft for Brown.

If other clubs are involved then they need to get a fair deal or it all falls over.

Because he was injured, not via poor form. He broke this thumb in round 4

Have to remember with trade week stretched out over 3 weeks this is still like day 1 any other year. Perhaps there will be a bit of a rush around the end of week 2 and then week 3 treated as the bonus time for last minute deals.

Sydney would lose pick 22 and Grundy while we get Grundy and Giles. That's decent but I wouldn't give up pick 19 our first round draft pick.

I think Grundy and Giles for Tippett is way overs for us... We would need to sweeten the deal... If we got close to that I would be jumping for joy