To much arrogance

• Thread starter Thread starter djudd

Stevo should have played in the Ants and won his way back in like the rest.

His soft style totally killed our previous weeks intensity , hardness and 1 percenters and tackle count.

Poor selection form to go against the previous weeks ideology
He had 5 tackles- equal second in the team and 2 1%ers- better than many. :confused:

Carlton had no confidence taking the ball out of the backline. Every time they would kick to the pocket then have no option but to kick long to a contest on the HBF or wing.

Every time the ball went into your 50 I sh@t myself, Betts, Fevola looked dangerous. Robinson and Gartlett went missing tonight which didn't help either.

Carn the Bombers. I have never felt happier after a game of football during the home and away season. Period. My dog is still in hiding from the jubilent screaming.

i think the only selection mistake we made was not playing an extra defender. Either Sentanta or Austin should have been included.

However i dont think the game was lost over matchups. The umps really f**ked the momentum and seem to help essendon. We got more free kicks for the night, but the umps gave em at least 3 frees in front of goals.

but i truely think the game was lost because we didnt attack the ball or play with the intensity of previous weeks. Going into the third quarter we had 23 tackles. No footy team is going to win with that half-assed effort.

what free kick in front of essendon's goals was not deserved?

Davey should have had another shot on goal after the double goal. Very lucky the ump missed that one, was worse than the first free kick.

Russell has played about 50 below average games in a row and gets a game every week. As if we are not young enough we have to play kids like Garlett, Robinson and Jospeh who are not ready for AFL football. Dropping Scotland was a terrible move. Thornton, Bower, Johnson, Wiggins and Russell are all not up to it. For christs sake try and get some balance in the team next week in terms of youth and experience and bring back Scotland. And Ratten stop picking your mates every week.
Piss off troll.

You never show your face when Carlton wins.

Thornton has switched back to Lloyd after playing well on the half backline. Their midfield outran us to put him under the pump all night with a lot of good ball.Often one out with no help from the midfield and HBF pushing back to help out.

Harsh on Bower who did run with it and try to create play (with no shepherd), only to see no midfielders and orwards running hard to present as an option.

You're a clueless troll.

i think the only selection mistake we made was not playing an extra defender. Either Sentanta or Austin should have been included.

However i dont think the game was lost over matchups. The umps really f**ked the momentum and seem to help essendon. We got more free kicks for the night, but the umps gave em at least 3 frees in front of goals.

but i truely think the game was lost because we didnt attack the ball or play with the intensity of previous weeks. Going into the third quarter we had 23 tackles. No footy team is going to win with that half-assed effort.
I only heard the game on the radio and yet it sounded like our players made a hell of a lot more mistakes than the umpires

Carlton had no confidence taking the ball out of the backline. Every time they would kick to the pocket then have no option but to kick long to a contest on the HBF or wing.

Every time the ball went into your 50 I sh@t myself, Betts, Fevola looked dangerous. Robinson and Gartlett went missing tonight which didn't help either.

Carn the Bombers. I have never felt happier after a game of football during the home and away season. Period. My dog is still in hiding from the jubilent screaming.
:o

Did you win the flag?

Beating Carlton is your premiership, so I guess that says a lot about the mindset of your supporters and where Essendon are as a football club...

Well I would say Russell for one, how else do u explain him getting a game week after week when he consistently does nothing? I reckon Wiggins is another as well as Thornton. I would say Scotland and O'Hailphin aren't to friendly with Ratts based on this weeks selections.

I haven't been happy with the selections at all this year. U can't say much when u are winning but their is just no balance between youth and experience. Robinson, Gartlett and Joseph maybe good prospects but they are not ready to be every week players. We apparently have more options now so why are we playing kids that arent ready?
Ratten said pre-game he thought Russel was in our top 4 players last week.

That was a bit of a reality check for Carlton I thought. Especially when you take into consideration Essendons missing players-

Welsh
McPhee
McVeigh
Hurley
Prismal
Gumbleton
Houli
Laycock
Lovett-Murray
Neagle
Quinn

Even if it was a tight contest right to the end the baby bombers held their resolve against a team the bookies have 3rd favorites for the flag ahead of top 4 teams the Dogs and Saints.:o

That was a bit of a reality check for Carlton I thought. Especially when you take into consideration Essendons missing players-

Welsh
McPhee
McVeigh
Hurley
Prismal
Gumbleton
Houli
Laycock
Lovett-Murray
Neagle
Quinn

Even if it was a tight contest right to the end the baby bombers held their resolve against a team the bookies have 3rd favorites for the flag ahead of top 4 teams the Dogs and Saints.:o
Each team has injuries. Walker, JAMO! and Warnock just to name a few.

And what kind of influence are "regulars" Laycock, Gumbleton, Quinn, Neagle , Lovett-Murray really going to have? What's to say that players like Dempsey and Pears dna Daniher would have been out of the side resulting a loss?

:o

Did you win the flag?

Beating Carlton is your premiership, so I guess that says a lot about the mindset of your supporters and where Essendon are as a football club...

Not really sure what point you are trying to make. Yes, it is always nice to beat Carlton. The 2000 premiership felt great, although there was so much expectation that we would just flog Melbourne (which we did) that the excitement just wasn't there during the game.

Tonight's game had the adrenalin pumping tenfold. As Judd broke from the midfield in the last minutes I almost felt sick. It was close throughout the whole match AND we were significant underdogs. Our captain played a great game after two weeks of criticism. So yeah, as games go in April, my body was put through the rigours of a grand final.

Christ, a four point loss in Round 3 and we're all turning into a bunch of Richmond supporters, demanding everyone be sacked and cannibalising each other. :cool:

Yeah we lost, it sucks but the result has probably given us a bit of reality check. If this Carlton team is as good as we think they can be they'll learn alot from tonight and be a better side for it

Yup... a night all round for learning but I do need to say one thing ARRRRRRRRRRRGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!! Phew..that's better :thumbsu:

Welsh
McPhee
McVeigh
Hurley
Prismal
Gumbleton
Houli
Laycock
Lovett-Murray
Neagle
Quinn

Wow .. St. Kilda are soooo impressive !!!

You really took apart the special olympics side that is West Coast today.

FWIW we're a better side than St. Kilda. Deal with it.

Now Go play with your 28 spoons troll.

Welsh
McPhee
McVeigh
Hurley
Prismal
Gumbleton
Houli
Laycock
Lovett-Murray
Neagle
Quinn

You are a saint fan 3-0 on game day and sober enough to post on the Blues forum
You are a clown!

Wow .. St. Kilda are soooo impressive !!!

You really took apart the special olympics side that is West Coast today.

FWIW we're a better side than St. Kilda. Deal with it.

Now Go play with your 28 spoons troll.

Just like you're a better side than Essendon?

Russell has played about 50 below average games in a row and gets a game every week. As if we are not young enough we have to play kids like Garlett, Robinson and Jospeh who are not ready for AFL football. Dropping Scotland was a terrible move. Thornton, Bower, Johnson, Wiggins and Russell are all not up to it. For christs sake try and get some balance in the team next week in terms of youth and experience and bring back Scotland. And Ratten stop picking your mates every week.

........and give the bloke with the magnetic board a break too!

Just like you're a better side than Essendon?
Yep :)

P Team P % Pts
1 St Kilda 3 172.73 12
2 Geelong 3 119.43 12
3 Western Bulldogs 2 149.06 8
4 Carlton 3 134.63 8
5 Brisbane Lions 3 108.46 8
6 Essendon 3 100.34 8
7 North Melbourne 2 112.93 4
8 Collingwood 3 107.97 4

Yep :)

P Team P % Pts
1 St Kilda 3 172.73 12
2 Geelong 3 119.43 12
3 Western Bulldogs 2 149.06 8
4 Carlton 3 134.63 8
5 Brisbane Lions 3 108.46 8
6 Essendon 3 100.34 8
7 North Melbourne 2 112.93 4
8 Collingwood 3 107.97 4
Wow, lose by 4 and our percentage drops 20. Hows it worked out again?

Welsh
McPhee
McVeigh
Hurley
Prismal
Gumbleton
Houli
Laycock
Lovett-Murray
Neagle
Quinn

I will give you the players not in bold, but the others would not improve their team that much as yet or at all.

Carlton have Fisher, Scotland, Carrazzo, Walker, Warnock, Jamieson to name a few if you want to even up the debate, plus Yarran who is only one game behind Hurley to be picky.

Ratten said pre-game he thought Russel was in our top 4 players last week.

Holding a player to 16 touches after coming of a 37 posy game and getting 22 of your own will do that, Im getting quite sick of people constantly bagging this player there were a hand full of worse players then Jordan Russel tonight. He has started the season very well and has been showing that he is starting to make a lot less bad discussions, i admit he still makes some but Jesus boys any little mistake the kid makes you torture him. he probably had 2 clangers tonight and you boys immediately make him your whipping boy. Direct your attention to next week's game we lost this game big deal where 2-1 could be a lot worse.