Tom Mitchell

• Thread starter Thread starter heavho

When will you realise most West Aussies would rather the Eagles and most eastern staters don't give two shits about coming to play in Perth, or us.

He simply will not come.
lol what a crock of shit

We are well and truly into the time that every young draftee has grown up in a Western Australia that includes both eagles and freo, what exactly are you basing your judgement off mate? or just some more anti-freo bullshit from you

lol what a crock of shit

We are well and truly into the time that every young draftee has grown up in a Western Australia that includes both eagles and freo, what exactly are you basing your judgement off mate? or just some more anti-freo bullshit from you
Not that we should have got him in retrospect, but how about Jetta? Yeo? Cripps? We constantly miss out on the homesick Sandgroper.

Keep drinking the kool aid.

Not that we should have got him in retrospect, but how about Jetta? Yeo? Cripps? We constantly miss out on the homesick Sandgroper.

Jetta? Playing WAFL mainly and being beaten.

The pick we could have traded for Yeo we got Alex Pearce. Enough said.

Can't say we missed much with Cripps.

Did you miss the part where we knocked Yeo back, apparently we didn't have a role for him, a mistake in my opinion.

Yeo would have loved to come to Freo but carry on.

Yeah Yeo was a club mistake, not a player mistake.

WCE have a greater support base in WA anyway, so I hardly think it's surprising that they get relatively more 'go home' preferences. The small sample size makes it practically impossible to make definitive statements about it anyway though.

Both the Carr's, Hedland, Farmer, Bennell etc....reckon we have done OK over the journey particularly given our relative lack of success.

Jetta - we got the better player in Bennell
Yeo - The year we were clearly going for talls in the draft so turned him down in preference of Apeness and Alex Pearce, Eagles also had the higher pick to trade unless we wanted to trade out of the first round and miss either Mccarthy or Apeness...
Cripps - Why on Earth would we trade for him when we have Walters and Ballantyne? Would he actually get a game in our side? I highly doubt it

Cripps is a soft as **** marshmellow anyway.

Yeo was looking good but seems to have stalled a little? We could've picked him but we knocked him back, I still think we should've taken him.

Jetta - we got Bennell instead. Jetta is stuck in the WAFL. Once Bennell is gets back on the track he will no doubt be a far better player.

Mitchell is a good player and you can't have too many good players on your list. No need to denigrate him and claim he's not required.... IMHO it would cost too much to get him and I agree it's highly unlikely he'd come here anyway. But certainly worth investigating.

No, we most certainly do not need another player who finds a lot of the footy but can't do anything with it and is slow. We already have Neale and Barlow for that.

Agreed. Oakley-Nicholls, Cale Morton, Dalziell, Lucas, Armstrong, Tunbridge..
They are no good granted. But the dude has a point. Our trade history since 2004 for WA players:
2004: Josh Carr
2010: Jon Griffin
2013: Scott Gumbleton
2015: Harley Bennell

Whereas Yeo, Cripps and Wellingham in more recent years have been more than Serviceable pick ups. The jury is definitely out on Lewis Jetta.

Also the likes of Kane Lucas, Jamie Bennell, Jarrod Oakley-Nicholls, Simon Tunbridge and Steven Armstrong were all Rookie selections. So they are not Traded in players but certainly looking at that list the Coasters go the delisted players route too often. I'd rather our approach to the Rookie draft.

We could be looking at a PSD with Gaff, O'Meara and Mitchell in it.
Jaeger Bomb is on the verge of playing again. All reports are that he will stay with GC or head to a Vic club. Tom Mitchell from what I read is very close to resigning with Sydney but there is a big offer from Carlton on the table. There has been a little bit of noise re: Gaff to Essendon but I suspect he will resign with the Coasters.

Honestly who of any great value ends up being picked up in the PSD (or anyone at all). It is pretty much redundant.

I would hope our targets are on the lower cost scale incl. Cam McCarthy (3rd round), Mason Wood (player swap), Shane Kersten (2nd/3rd round draft pick) and Angus Litherland (Delisted FA). I know many on here crap on about Kersten hating Freo or whatever but if that was even true it was a long time ago.

Aside from hopefully a few moneyball gains sounds like Freo will bat pretty deep in the National Draft.

Mitchell is like a shorter version of Barlow. Maybe he would be a useful addition for the post Mundy/Barlow years, but not at 650k (or anything in that ballpark). That seems way too much. Carlton might cough up the bucks, as their midfield is basically Cripps and nobody else.

Murphy and Gibbs with Kruzer is the making of a pretty handy midfield and love the way the good Cripps goes about his footy.

Would still pick O'Meara pending a medical of course. Genuinely hope he gets a injury free run from now on wherever he ends up.

O'Meara's agent is seeking an "elite midfielder's salary" for potential suitors and offers. Basically around the 750k mark. Now in terms of trade value, it would cost us our first rounder and maybe a steak knife or 2.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...t/news-story/273ac3c668241f0486337f96e32d492d

To be honest, If we were a team like Carlton or maybe the Saints, Brisbane, etc I could understand his trade value, he is a marquee player that could be a long term investment that can carry a midfield for the next 5-10 years. But given the status of his best football a few years ago winning the rising star and the issues with getting his body right, its more of a gamble with alot more to lose than gain, given the cap space he would take up.

Personally, i would be looking at another ruck/forward and maybe another medium to tall defender if we were going to look at poaching, Mason Wood was on Freo's radar but undoubtedly that would have changed with his last 5 weeks standing out, his value will be too high to be worthwhile a trade. I would like to see them go after someone like Billy Longer, Aaron Black and of course McCarthy (priority!), McCarthy is the must secure, Longer or Black is basically leftovers.

We could be looking at a PSD with Gaff, O'Meara and Mitchell in it.

If it came to it (and I seriously doubt it would), unless they are locked into a club that doesn't manage to pull off a trade, they will likely nominate for the ND you'd think. In which case they all become 2nd round, maybe late 1st round picks.

In O'Meara's case it would really depend on how his fitness situation looks. He's going to be one of those high(ish) risk-high reward prospects.

Murphy and Gibbs with Kruzer is the making of a pretty handy midfield and love the way the good Cripps goes about his footy.

To be honest it seems like they've been around so long, I thought they were older than they are (e.g. Mundy's age). Still, they're in their late 20s (not a great age for a team in Carlton's situation), and the Blues don't have much else. Their future midfield stocks look putrid on paper.

If it came to it (and I seriously doubt it would), unless they are locked into a club that doesn't manage to pull off a trade, they will likely nominate for the ND you'd think. In which case they all become 2nd round, maybe late 1st round picks.

In O'Meara's case it would really depend on how his fitness situation looks. He's going to be one of those high(ish) risk-high reward prospects.
I wouldnt think so. The PSD allows the player to set their own contract value, the national draft doesnt.