Player Watch Tom Mitchell (Delisted 2025)

The backline were amazing under heavy entries in 2023. Repelling time and time again. The Reef/Dean/Frampton position will be vital. IQ and Bruzzy back fit and the skipper with a clear role and well be right there again with injury luck
I'd have us as flag favourites, but I do think someone will have to give way in terms of too many slow mids if they're ever all fit together. And it would probably be Mitchell for me, as the others are all more dangerous offensively. Having them all fit would be one of those nice problems to have.

There's a tipping point of how many you can carry with a lack of pace and the point is shifting to less players as teams get better at opening the opposition up in transition. Not sure that we can get away with playing all of Mitchell, Pendles, Sidey, and Lipinski through the middle of the ground. They'll be really good offensively and position well defensively - but when the ball switches directions quickly, we could be in trouble.
That’s where defensive positioning is important. Those blokes are their to create on offense, but the question is whether the others around the ground can get to the right spots to not expose them.

With the injuries seem to be ontop of him and the emergence of Ned Long, I fear we've seen the last of Titch.
I hope he gets a chance for a farewell game, but I don't see him playing for us beyond 2025...

Ned will have the inevitable dry spell and need to go into the VFL to recapture some form. So having Titch ready to go is essential.

Pendles and Sidebottom will need a few games off this year.They can’t keep playing at the level they’re playing right now without some time off,you would think.And we will undoubtedly get injuries as well,Degoey most likely.So there is a role for Mitchell in this side.It just depends on how fit he can get himself and whether he can get back to the level he was at before he got injured last year.

How do you know this? Garbage

Because he's young. Jack Crisp, Josh Daicos, Pat Lipinski all spent time in the VFL in their first 30 odd games. All but the absolute elite youngsters go through dry spells. Ned isn't one of those elite youngsters.

He is settling in just fine. Quit worrying about a form drop. If it happens it happens

A 40th picked rookie, a 57th picked asthmatic and a 2nd round pick for the reigning premier didn’t play much to begin with? Not sure that’s an equivalent comparison to 22 year-old Long, who has played better in his early games than those you mention

None of them played VFL after they started playing as well as Long has been.

This is going to be a difficult case for Fly to manage.

Tom is convinced he should be in our AFL team and he strikes me as someone who won’t accept not being in the best 23 all that well, but barring any major injuries to our prime movers, I don’t think there is a place for titch in the team.

I hope he doesn’t drop his bundle and sook it up.

Tom is convinced he should be in our AFL team and he strikes me as someone who won’t accept not being in the best 23 all that well, but barring any major injuries to our prime movers, I don’t think there is a place for titch in the team.

Not really.

What attitude do you think Fly would prefer Tom to have?

To reconcile himself to playing VFL for the rest of the year and then retiring / delisted?

Probably not the first footballer to have self-belief

I reckon that his mindset has changed a little since winning the flag and having some injuries, he has more external interests and will play the team role.

No longer a place for him unfortunately, Ned Long has him covered in just about every department atm.

Additionally, even before Ned Long's recent run of form, I don't think we could carry a third slow midfielders (behind Pendlebury, Sidebottom).

Josh Daicos hasn't played a VFL game since 2019, when he was younger than Long is now. Pat Lipinski and Jack Crisp both left their clubs because they were unjustifiably struggling for opportunities when they were obviously good enough to be playing AFL footy.

The last time Crisp wasn't playing AFL footy was Rd 17 2014, when he was (you guessed it) younger than Ned Long is now. Then he walked into Brisbane's side, played 6 consecutive games, came to Collingwood, and didn't miss a game for 11 years. Strange to use him as an example of how Ned Long is going to yo-yo in and out of the side.

Ned Long has arrived, he's here to stay.

Reputation doesnt replace form. Ned has form , Mitchell doesnt unless he strings some games together in the VFL and dominates. Then someone in the 1's in a like for like position has a down game.

We did this well in the 2010 season, Tarkyn and Presti made way for youth with form

Reputation doesnt replace form. Ned has form , Mitchell doesnt unless he strings some games together in the VFL and dominates. Then someone in the 1's in a like for like position has a down game.

We did this well in the 2010 season, Tarkyn and Presti made way for youth with form
Presti was absolutely in our best 22, and pulled himself from selection contention for the Grand Finals knowing he couldn't go at 100% - That's why he was honoured for 10+ years for his sacrifice.

Probably more like Lockyer, Fraser, O'Bree, Medhurst that made way for younger guys - If Presti was healthy, he definitely would have played all season.

Presti was absolutely in our best 22, and pulled himself from selection contention for the Grand Finals knowing he couldn't go at 100% - That's why he was honoured for 10+ years for his sacrifice.

Probably more like Lockyer, Fraser, O'Bree, Medhurst that made way for younger guys - If Presti was healthy, he definitely would have played all season.

Thats fair. But injuries are part of form also. Thats why reputation doesnt get you in after coming back from one and displacing another player thats been performing ridiculously.

Player Watch Tom Mitchell (Delisted 2025)