Player Watch Tom Mitchell (Delisted 2025)

Not sure what to make of Fly's words around Tom being a Winter player. Does this mean he isn't a Spring player? Get the feeling Tom isn't one of Fly's favorites like Nick. Yet without him I doubt we would have won 2023. For a first game back, after a year, with 26 disposals, most high quality, and yet only 69% on ground that is nothing short of an excellent result. We will need him for finals. Go Titch!

Dont think Tom has ever been a favourite tbh, words always been he likes to do it his way. The idea to play on Neale grand final day was his, and worked. But feel Fly probably doesn’t like that, he’d be stupid not to play him tho.

The role he’s playing currently and in 2023 (different to 21-22 for hawthorn) is very selfless and is about the team, and being able to make others better or look better.

He’s gonna be the one getting the crap inside ball, doing the shit work while others capitalise. One of if not the best game Nick Daicos has played for the year. Gives flexibility too for others if he can sit inside all day.

You would hope Fly has the right idea about it.

Dont think Tom has ever been a favourite tbh, words always been he likes to do it his way. The idea to play on Neale grand final day was his, and worked. But feel Fly probably doesn’t like that, he’d be stupid not to play him tho.

I am sure I have heard Fly talk about not getting in the way of champions and letting them make their own decisions e.g. Nick?

I would assume someone with a Brownlow, Premiership and 2 All Australians to his name would also fit in that category?

I am sure I have heard Fly talk about not getting in the way of champions and letting them make their own decisions e.g. Nick?

I would assume someone with a Brownlow, Premiership and 2 All Australians to his name would also fit in that category?
Yeah, it’s an interesting concept.

The role he’s playing currently and in 2023 (different to 21-22 for hawthorn) is very selfless and is about the team, and being able to make others better or look better.

He’s gonna be the one getting the crap inside ball, doing the shit work while others capitalise. One of if not the best game Nick Daicos has played for the year. Gives flexibility too for others if he can sit inside all day.

Fly coached Titch and Hawthorn and drove his recruitment

To say he doesn’t like him is ludicrous

Had a great game did Titch.

Still think he is in the gun so to speak, as a fit Sidey and DeGoey (🤞) will warrant midfield time too.

But if he keeps playing like that, will be tough to leave him out. And his contested style does suit finals.

Degoey won't play significant midfield minutes this year. Has missed too work. He'll be a forward.

Mitchell will play finals if he is fit.

We played a bunch of spuds last night but Mitchell showed how valuable he could be.

Nick played more outside and disposal efficiency was up.

We saw how he and Long can co-exist in the same side. Long got to rest forward a bit or play a bit of a negating role at stoppages, while Titch got to rest throughout the game.

He’s going to be important over the next few weeks when we play against the GC and Freo mids.

If Fly didn’t like that, Tom Mitchell wouldn’t be on our list.

What a return, he looked like he hadn’t missed a single game, let alone over a year of footy.

We are going to have some seriously unlucky players this year if we make the grand final and have a relatively healthy list to choose from.

Fly coached Titch and Hawthorn and drove his recruitment

To say he doesn’t like him is ludicrous

I would argue that Graham Wright was the main driver of the recruitment both at Hawthorn and Collingwood. Hopefully NOT at the Blues :)

At a player level listening to Nick & Josh after the game it is clear his team mates love Titch. And I don't for a second believe Fly hates Tom. Just feel he deserves a bit more respect and maybe some enthusiasm in Flys voice like he has for the younger players.

Also after hearing DeGoey mentioned continually for the last couple of months while Tom has gone under the radar I beleive the narrative should change ...

I think they timed it just right as well. Fly mentioned him coming in every week asking what more he needed to do to get picked, but I’m glad they’ve waited and got a few VFL games under the belt, had the bye and played a couple more to be really cherry ripe.

It’s not a bad thing to be able to leave Brownlow medalists in the VFL and play a few kids whilst you’re flying high.

Ideally JDG gets back for 2-3 VFL games first as well.

Huge score? We played an undermanned, lifeless Carlton brother, 115 is very good, but 'huge' is not an adjective I would use.
I reckon 105 to 3/4 should be considered as high which included 5 premiership players to come back in, and when McRae clearly told the team to help out his best mate Voss, given that 100 point loss would have surely seen vossy sacked, so we were playing putrid footy on purpose.

I was one of those calling for him to come into the side to see if he could re-establish his best 22 position. He took a step in the right direction yesterday and looked like his 2023 self.

He obviously stays in the team on the back of yesterday. Let’s see how he goes against a great inside/clesrance team with the Suns (yes Carlton know how to win first possession but clueless as to what to do next so easy for someone as smart as Titch around the ball to position himself for the post clearance kill). Would be interesting to see him matched up on Rowell.

Thing is, Titch in the middle has repercussions on the rest of our structure. The question becomes whether he is valuable enough to keep his spot and therefore push Sidey to a wing (losing Steele/Allan), push Long’s minutes forward up (therefore meaning if Jordy comes in then Membrey could come out) and force Perryman down back (meaning we are very unlikely to see Frampton get his spot back and would back Moore Bruz and Howe against tall forwards). Smash the Suns midfield with him starring and he’s making a good case.

This is all injury dependent so may sort itself out but I’m sure the coaches are thinking about all this with us sitting top of table two games+ from second and pretty much having secured top 4.

Harder to notice at the ground by virtue of how he gets a lot of touches (on hands and knees), but watching highlights and passages of play, wow.

Gone from thinking he’s depth to wondering who he squeezes out as other players come back.

Small sample size being 1 game, but he’s playing for his career and he played like it.

I watched Titch closely on Friday night (as closely as I could on TV) and I am embarresed to say I'd forgotten how much value the Wombat adds to our team. It's fair to say he was just a fraction off in his timing in the first few minutes but he soon got in sync. His positioning is elite and his ability to extract is second to none. Like others have said, he is so valuable allowing out outisde mids to be their best. On that performance alone he will not lose his spot.

outside mids are a dime a dozen. Most able bodied human beings can run fast if they train enough. Being strong and having spatial awareness to not get tackled and being able to dispose of the ball with 3 people hanging off you.. this is a much rarer type of player.