TopGun

twangchild

Rookie
Can anyone help me with the title of a track from Top Gun. i know a woman sings it, i have heard it a million times but the title just escapes me.

Does anyone know?:confused:

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Take My Breath Away - Berlin

The song's not a patch on Danger Zone by Kenny Loggins, but you can't take speccies to Danger Zone I suppose.

No worries 'Music King'....hey bust a move :D

"Danger Zone"
By Giorgio Moroder & Tom Whitlock
Performed by Kenny Loggins
Produced by Giorgio Moroder
Kenny Loggins courtesy of CBS Records

"Lead Me On"
Performed by Teena Marie
Teena Marie courtesy of CBS Records

"Hot Summer Nights"
By Michael Jay, Alan Roy Scott & Roy Freeland
Performed by Miami Sound Machine
Produced by Emilio Estefan Jr. & Giorgio Moroder
Miami Sound Machine courtesy of CBS Records

"Heaven In Your Eyes"
By John Dexter, Paul Dean, Mike Reno & Mae Moore
Performed by Loverboy
Produced by Paul Dean & John Dexter
Loverboy courtesy of CBS Records

"Top Gun Antherm"
By Harold Faltermeyer
Performed by Harold Faltermeyer & Steve Stevens
Produced by Harold Faltermeyer
Steve Stevens courtesy of Warner Bros. Records Inc.

"Mighty Wings"
By Harold Faltermeyer & Mark Spiro
Performed by Cheap Trick
Cheap Trick courtesy of CBS Records

"Playing With The Boys"
By Kenny Loggins, Ina Wolf & Peter Wolf
Performed by Kenny Loggins
Produced by Peter Wolf
Kenny Loggins courtesy of CBS Records

"Take My Breath Away"
Performed by Berlin
Berlin courtesy of Geffen Records and Phonogram B.V.

"Destination Unknown"
By Franne Golde, Jake Hooker & Paul Fox
Performed by Marietta Waters

"Through The Fire"
Performed by Larry Greene
Larry Greene courtesy of Camel/MCA Records, Inc.

"Radar Radio"
Performed by Giorgio Moroder featuring Joe Pizzulo

"Great Balls Of Fire"
By Jack Hammer & Otis Blackwell

"(Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay"
By Otis Redding & Steve Cropper
Performed by Otis Redding
Courtesy of Atlantic Recording Corporation
By arrangement with Warner Special Products

"You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling"
By Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil & Phil Spector
Performed by The Righteous Brothers
Courtesy of PolyGram Special Projects, a division of PolyGram Records, Inc.

Original motion picture soundtrack album on Columbia Records & Cassettes

hehe.. top gun.. great stuff...
was reading quentin taratino's take on the top gun movie:
funny stuff.. haha..

oh yeah.. danger zone .. what a great song!!

-----------------------------------------------

Top Gun is f*cking great. What is Top Gun? You think it's a story about a bunch of fighter pilots. It is a story about a man's struggle with his own homosexuality. It is! That is what Top Gun is about, man.

You've got Maverick, all right? He's on the edge, man. He's right on the f*cking line, all right? And you've got Iceman, and all his crew. They're gay, they represent the gay man, all right? And they're saying, go, go the gay way, go the gay way. He could go both ways.

Kelly McGillis, she's heterosexuality. She's saying: no, no, no, no, no, no, go the normal way, play by the rules, go the normal way. They're saying no, go the gay way, be the gay way, go for the gay way, all right? That is what's going on throughout that whole movie...

He goes to her house, all right? It looks like they're going to have sex, you know, they're just kind of sitting back, he's takin' a shower and everything. They don't have sex. He gets on the motorcycle, drives away. She's like, "What the f*ck, what the f*ck is going on here?" Next scene, next scene you see her, she's in the elevator, she is dressed like a guy. She's got the cap on, she's got the aviator glasses, she's wearing the same jacket that the Iceman wears. She is, okay, this is how I gotta get this guy, this guy's going towards the gay way, I gotta bring him back, I gotta bring him back from the gay way, so I'm do that through subterfuge, I'm gonna dress like a man. All right? That is how she approaches it.

Okay, now let me just ask you--I'm gonna digress for two seconds here. I met this girl Amy here, she's like floating around here and everything. Now, she just got divorced, right?...

All right, but the REAL ending of the movie is when they fight the MIGs at the end, all right? Because he has passed over into the gay way. They are this gay fighting f*cking force, all right? And they're beating the Russians, the gays are beating the Russians. And it's over, and they ****ing land, and Iceman's been trying to get Maverick the entire time, and finally, he's got him, all right? And what is the last f*cking line that they have together? They're all hugging and kissing and happy with each other, and Ice comes up to Maverick, and he says, "Man, you can ride my tail, anytime!" And what does Maverick say? "You can ride mine!" Swordfight! Swordfight! F*ckin' A, man!

COUGAR
Help me with this one, I'm really
screwed up.

GOOSE
Bring it left. Bring it left,
You're high.

COUGAR
This is crazy!

GOOSE
What is?

COUGAR
Wait! Hell!..Something's wrong!

GOOSE
What? What is it?

COUGAR
Were upside down!

GOOSE
You're crazy. We're level.

COUGAR
Can't you feel it? I'm hanging in
my straps!

GOOSE
You're not. We're level. Look at
the instruments, we're okay!

COUGAR
They must be broken. I'm hanging in
my straps! We're inverted!

GOOSE
We're not! Trust me! We're okay.

22. FLIGHT DECK - LSO CONTROLLING 115 - MAVERICK

LSO
A LITTLE POWER...FLY THE BALL.
LOOKING GOOD...HOLD WHAT YOU GOT.

23. MAVERICK'S F-14 - ON FINAL APPROACH.

24. INT. COCKPIT - MAVERICK

He hears Cougar's chatter over the air.

COUGAR (V.O. filtered)
WE'RE UPSIDE DOWN! WE CAN'T LAND!

GOOSE (V.O. filtered)
WELL, WE CAN'T STAY UP HERE EITHER.

25. FLIGHT DECK

Maverick's plane settles in over the ramp, suddenly, BLASTS FROM
IT'S AFTERBURNERS...it ROARS over the deck without touching and
off into the night. The LSO is shocked into comment.

LSO
WHERE THE HELL YOU GOING?

26. MAVERICK'S COCKPIT - (AERIAL)

MAVERICK
I...FORGOT SOMETHING.

WIZARD
What the hell you doing?

MAVERICK
Helping him in.

WIZARD
What makes you think we can get
back in? We don't have the fuel
for this.
MAVERICK
Just get me to him.

WIZARD
He's nine o'clock high. We're two
thousand pounds low!

27. DARK TURBULENT CLOUDS

Maverick's plane pulls up behind Cougar's. Cougar's plane
suddenly flips over, flying inverted.

COUGAR
I'm pulling up.

GOOSE
No! Now we're inverted!

Maverick pulls up off the wing of the inverted aircraft. His
voice is calmness itself.

MAVERICK
HEY, ANY OF YOU GUYS SEEN AN
AIRCRAFT CARRIER AROUND HERE?

Cougar looks over, surprised.

COUGAR
WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE?

MAVERICK
EVERYBODY'S GOT TO BE SOMEWHERE.
..NOW WE'RE RIGHT WITH YOU.
YOU ARE INVERTED. ROLL IT, COUGAR.

Nothing happens.

MAVERICK
COUGAR, THIS IS MAVERICK. HALF ROLL
IT. NOW!

Cougar's plane completes the roll, is now upright.

GOOSE
We're on vapor, Cougar, you got to
put it down.

COUGAR
It's crazy, man. Instruments are
crazy. We're gonna have to eject.

GOOSE
TELL HIM, WILL YOU TELL HIM? OUR
INSTRUMENTS ARE OKAY.

MAVERICK
YOU'RE STRAIGHT AND LEVEL, COUGAR.
COUGAR
I'M HANGING IN MY STRAPS. I TURN IT
OVER AND I'M STILL HANGING IN MY
STRAPS. WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON
UP HERE?

MAVERICK
YOU'RE NOT IN THE STRAPS. IT'S
VERTIGO, THAT'S ALL IT IS. STAY ON
MY WING. I'LL DROP YOU OFF.

Maverick pulls up wing tip to wing tip, inches apart.

COUGAR
MAVERICK.

MAVERICK
YEAH, COUGAR?

COUGAR
YOU BETTER NOT BE RAGGING ME...
IF YOU'RE FLYING UPSIDE DOWN...

MAVERICK
NO JOKE, COUGAR. ON THE LEVEL.
EVEN I WOULDN'T DO THAT TO YOU.

COUGAR
I'M UPSIDE DOWN. I KNOW IT. I'M
GONNA EJECT.

GOOSE
Look at the weather! They'll never
find us! We're near out of fuel.
Put it down.

MAVERICK
COUGAR, YOU'RE ON THE BALL.

COUGAR
OKAY... OKAY. BUT IF I LAND THIS
THING UPSIDE DOWN. AND I LIVE. I'LL
HAVE YOUR BUTT!

GOOSE
You'll have mine, Cougar. It'll be
where your head used to be.

28. EXT. FLIGHT DECK

All eyes are on what they can see of the approach of the two
planes. Maverick drops him off at the pattern and circles. The
LSO watches the approach. The Tomcat drops a wing, straightens,
drops the wing, straightens ... the approach of a pilot
experiencing vertigo as Cougar tries to satisfy his inner ear.

LSO
LEVEL...YOUR WINGS... EASY...
YOU'RE SETTLING....FLY THE BALL.

A wind shear just off the ramp drives the plane suddenly down.

LSO
POWER...POWER!..POWER!...WAVE OFF!
WAVE OFF WAVE OFF!

AFTERBURNERS BLAST, but the Tomcat horrifyingly settles tail-low
toward the deck. The deck crew watches in terror as the plane
wallows in toward them. The LSO'S turn, take a few steps and
throw themselves off the flight deck.

They sail into the night toward the surging seas a hundred feet
below, then are caught in safety nets hung off the side.

28A. THE PLANE

Settles, settles, standing on it's engines, trying to arrest
it's downward momentum. The hook raises sparks as it skids across
the deck... The plane stops falling and hangs for a moment, about
to blast back up, when the hook catches the last wire.. The wire
snags it, plucking 45,000 pounds of fuel, metal and men out of
the air and slamming it all to the deck. WHAMMMM! Right wheel
flies up the deck and over the side...the gear collapses. The
plane SCREECHES sideways. The crew watches helplessly as it skids
slams into it and comes to rest in cloud of fuel vapor and steam.

The LSO runs up, shouting into the mike.

LSO
COUGAR, GOOSE...COME IN COUGAR!
SHUT YOUR ENGINES DOWN, YOU'VE
ARRIVED.

AIR BOSS
GHOST RIDER! ACKNOWLEDGE!

Crash crew leaps into action. The fire crew is there. The man in
the Silver Suit jumps up on the wing and crawls to the cockpit.
The figures inside are not moving. He hits the canopy release.
The canopy pops open. Silver suit grabs at the rear seat harness
release. He screams through his suit's aluminized cloth...

SILVER SUIT
Goose, can you hear me? Goose!

Nothing for a moment. He's dead! Then the RIO'S helmet
moves...His head turns. He tears the mask away from his face,
looks up at Silver Suit. His head clears.

GOOSE

Oh, Hello... Valet parking?

Silver suit is stunned for a moment. He straightens up, his head
inclines quizzically. Then it hits him.
SILVER SUIT
Son of a bitch!

GOOSE
You will put it up front,
with the Porsches?

He grabs him under the armpits, drags him out of the plane.

GOOSE
Hey...easy...Take it easy...
I'm a veteran!

Goose grabs a passing crewman by the arm.

GOOSE
Can you check under the hood. I
thought I heard a funny noise.

Other crewmembers help Cougar out. He seems stunned, but Goose
reacts to his fear with frantic one-liners. He grabs a crew
member's radio, as Silver Suit helps him away and looks to the
figures of the Admiral and the Air Boss far up on the bridge...
He waves to them, does his best impression...Desi Arnaz.

GOOSE
Lucy...Ricky...I'n Home!

Haha, Coxon u r a pis*ser. :D :D

And is Mavericks reaction the death of Goose a form of emotional display that is indicative of homosexuality. Does it shows a deep emotional and spiritual bond between Goose and Mav, something that ventures beyond love on a purely plutonic level.