'Torture' Chambers

• Thread starter Thread starter CharlieG

My God, you folks must have laughed when you saw that you'd off-loaded this lump for a second round pick. :(

Three games in the red and white and he is yet to get a kick. Four handballs - all against Port - are his sole possessions. He's had twenty-two hitouts and six tackles.

Next you'll sell us the Harbour Bridge...

I was just going to start a thread about this poor excuse of a ruckman. How the hell did we ever land with this dud?

Useless is too much a kind word!

CharlieG said:
My God, you folks must have laughed when you saw that you'd off-loaded this lump for a second round pick.

We would laugh but we just got beaten by 10 goals, at home, to Hawthorn and we have ruck troubles of our own :o

Oh and the player we drafted with the pick conveniently did not mention he had OP and hasn't kicked a footy since his name was called out last November.

I like the bloke because he tries his guts out as a footballer. He was never going to hurt us on the rebound in relation to the trade but I still respect him.

Let's not forget, he is a 2002 VFL Premiership player!!!! :D

chapmanmagic35 said:
he is a 2002 VFL Premiership player!!!! :D

Oh thats it is it, well kudos to him for winning a b grade comp. But he is still a dud. LAst week he managed to rebound the ball of his foot out on the full while he was picking it up.

:thumbsu:

I have nothing against 'unco' players if they put in the effort. For example, LRT isn't the most graceful player going around but you know he'll put in a good effort.

Chambers though was really bad. There was a passage of play near our half forward line where a loose ball was there to be won and he flat out refused to bend down and go for it. And don't mention the slack chasing he did following McLaren.

Losing Jason Ball and picking up Chambers is like going to market with a cow and coming home with magic beans!

Did Chambers have a 'good' game when we played you guys last year?

CharlieG said:
My God, you folks must have laughed when you saw that you'd off-loaded this lump for a second round pick. :(

Three games in the red and white and he is yet to get a kick. Four handballs - all against Port - are his sole possessions. He's had twenty-two hitouts and six tackles.

Next you'll sell us the Harbour Bridge...

Haha.

Give him a chance, mate. The guy's work ethic is like no other. He doesn't have a lot of talent and struggles to win the tap, but he really does have a dip.

Second round pick was good, though ;)

I remember chuckling to myself when we got a second rounder for Unco :D

jess_555 said:
. If your team had some more depth you wouldn't have to play him.

Thats our problem atm. Our ruck stocks are so thin that we are forced to play him. And now i read Jolly is injured leaving Chambers as first ruck. I hope not and would seriously play Goodes in the ruck again

He looks like a 3d player you see in Playstation 2 games. That cluesless look on his face and that beard!

Diego said:
Thats our problem atm. Our ruck stocks are so thin that we are forced to play him. And now i read Jolly is injured leaving Chambers as first ruck. I hope not and would seriously play Goodes in the ruck again

He looks like a 3d player you see in Playstation 2 games. That cluesless look on his face and that beard!

Tweak_Talent would be proud of that beard :D

Diego said:

Where's Doyle ?

jess_555 said:
As my dad said the guy is still maturing. Lay off him for a few years. If your team had some more depth you wouldn't have to play him. (don't hit me, I'm in a bad mood from the cats loss). He wouldn't be getting a game in the snr's if he was still at Geelong.

It was well known before the season that the ruck would be our weakness. We just didn't realise quite how weak.

'Lay off him for a few years'? He's 24 in June!

CharlieG said:
That's great. I'm sure with such dedication he would make a decent bricklayer. Or maybe a garbo.
Garbo? Then we couldn't borrow him back for a couple of days, CG? There's plenty of rubbish to clean from the Cattery this weekend.

Chambers was promoted from our rookie list at a time when the Coaching staff were looking for grunt over style (and he did prove more useful than Grgic, Whoopee!). Under normal circumstances...um...meaning if your premiership cereal wasn't down to the last few honey-Os and your ruck stocks weren't so badly depleted, I don't think you'd have traded even a fourth round pick for Unco.