Toughest Training Sessions

chalkie said:
Something slightly different to a physically challenging session, however very similar to what Shaun did. After a 80 point win against the bottom side our coach was p i s s e d off with our performance so he made us run back to our home ground ( 500 m away) and run 10 laps and yell out each others names, as the coach didn't think we talked or worked hard enough. Very embarrassing considering we then showered and went back to the oppositions social rooms to have a few drinks.

Chalkie have you played in the Central Murray League before.

chalkie said:
After a 80 point win against the bottom side our coach was p i s s e d off with our performance so he made us run back to our home ground ( 500 m away) and run 10 laps and yell out each others names, as the coach didn't think we talked or worked hard enough. .
Not under the "toughest training sessions" headline but a strange one, we had to do a similar thing years ago (at training though, not after a game).

The coach obviously thought our talk wasn't good enough. At training on the Tuesday night he just ordered the whole group to jog together continuously up and down the ground from goal line to goal line and he would tell us when to stop.

The group didn't know what was going on and after running about 15minutes (pretty much in silence), an assistant coach came out and said something along the lines of "you better start talking or you'll be running up and down this ground for an hour or more". The talk started up, we ran a couple more and then he called us in.

As I said, not tough, but at the time it was certainly weird, and the coach's point was well made.

TuskenRaider said:
Not under the "toughest training sessions" headline but a strange one, we had to do a similar thing years ago (at training though, not after a game).

The coach obviously thought our talk wasn't good enough. At training on the Tuesday night he just ordered the whole group to jog together continuously up and down the ground from goal line to goal line and he would tell us when to stop.

The group didn't know what was going on and after running about 15minutes (pretty much in silence), an assistant coach came out and said something along the lines of "you better start talking or you'll be running up and down this ground for an hour or more". The talk started up, we ran a couple more and then he called us in.

As I said, not tough, but at the time it was certainly weird, and the coach's point was well made.

who was that playing for tusken raider?

This is somewhat off the topic but I thought I would throw it in anyway.

A couple of years back I was playing for a team in Melbourne. We were playing down on the bay and our coach made us get out on the beach in our playing kit for our pre-game warm up. He started carrying on a bit and drew a big line in the sand and said there is a war on today, we have to cross the line, etc, etc. He then proceeded to walk out into the water up to his chest and started shouting "who is willing to cross the line with me today....we need commitment......etc). We stood there looking at each other blankly until finally someone followed him out there. So there we all were out in the water in the middle of July in our full playing gear. We played the first half soaking wet and lost by ten goals. Very bloody strange coach - some ex army dude or something. Have never seen the opposition so confused though.

Dropkicker said:

A couple of years back I was playing for a team in Melbourne. We were playing down on the bay and our coach made us get out on the beach in our playing kit for our pre-game warm up. He started carrying on a bit and drew a big line in the sand and said there is a war on today, we have to cross the line, etc, etc. He then proceeded to walk out into the water up to his chest and started shouting "who is willing to cross the line with me today....we need commitment......etc). We stood there looking at each other blankly until finally someone followed him out there. So there we all were out in the water in the middle of July in our full playing gear. We played the first half soaking wet and lost by ten goals. Very bloody strange coach - some ex army dude or something. Have never seen the opposition so confused though.

:D:D:D:Da

This one comes under wierd and tough..
Many moons ago our coach supplemented his coaching income as a farm hand for a chicken farmer..Our team had lost a game we should have won and we were not very accountable for our opponents as punishment we were met at training on Tuesday night by the local school bus where we were piled on and driven to the previously mentioned farmers chicken sheds.
Turned out that the 1000 free-range chooks had to be loaded onto a truck.
The training session comprised of the 30 odd blokes having to cath 30 or so chickens each. The first 10 or 15 were easy but as the numbers dwindled the chooks had more romm to run and dart and the legs certainly did burn.
The up side was the club got some coin from the farmer and we won the next week, thank god as there were a couple of thousand more chooks that needed to be moved over the following couple of weeks and didn't the coach hang that over our heads if we lost.
I still laugh about it when I sit down to a feed of chicken......

Dropkicker said:

Yes dropkicker believe I played in the same game also. Down at Williamstown. Was in fact the captain not the coach, the guy was an ex army guy and very passionate. We did get beaten convincingly that day but kicked 10 goals to 0 in the last quarter. Will never forget emptying the wet sand out of my boots after the game. Had holes in both boots so they filled with sand and sea water when we went in. Also the captain made us go to our opponents when we lined up and tell them what we just did, my opponenet thought it was pretty funny.

Heard that a guy who coached Coleambally had the players tow a car around town with ropes attached to their bodies. He then put them in the back of a van blind-folded and drove them out of town. He let them out and took the blind-folds off and made them run back to the ground. Only problem was that they were lost and it took them a couple of hours to get back.They were not impressed.:thumbsu:

Bloke up in the riverina some years ago in his first coaching year decided after yet another loss that the lads were'nt fit enough and told the boys to bring runners tuesday night. Took them on a 10k road run out of town. Didn't inform anyone of there destination or orgsanise a pick up. Run turned to 20k. Coach sacked mid year.

I have two to throw in there one was an under age team that had to run 10K every tues ontop of training and if you didn't go tues u wld complete it on the wednes, this happened every week including grand final week which we one in a canter. May have been those extra runs?

The second just happened out at east burwood where we had a list of things to bring to training incl a 20L bucket, 2 bricks and photos of loved ones. We then had to run 400's carrying the bricks, then 200's carrying the bucket full of water and to finish off we had to run laps in groups of 6 carrying another one of our players around with us. The photos were there to show us wat we were playing for.

Snoozer said:
Aparently Numurkah footy club lost a game once and were made to push a bus around town in their underpants.

Snoozer,

If you're who I think you are, you would have painful memories like myself of running phosphates during preseason!

Cheers,

CFScores:)

cfscores said:
Snoozer,

If you're who I think you are, you would have painful memories like myself of running phosphates during preseason!

Cheers,

CFScores:)

Great thread this one men!

My toughest encounter was with TOC(Touch of Class/To touch his mum's arse) mum, with the box smell she has, l don't wish that upon anyone! :eek:
It was one long pre season.

M.WEBBER said:
Great thread this one men!

My toughest encounter was with TOC(Touch of Class/To touch his mum's arse) mum, with the box smell she has, l don't wish that upon anyone! :eek:
It was one long pre season.

U really need some help goose....
U love c o c k... dont ya???:eek:

M.WEBBER said:
cantbuyafag y6ou need to really get a life feral one!
As for loving c ock just ask you mum if she does! :eek:

I do look at the stuff u write u make me laugh...
Ill keep following u goose....
Tell her i said hi....
Sorry mate she doesnt go for boys....:D

Toughest Training Sessions