Training, 25/1/13

Spirit of 39

The Trident - Awarded to posters who do a hell of a lot on the Dees board Melbourne Demons - Ricky Petterd 2011 Player Sponsor Melbourne Demons - Jeremy Howe 2012 Player Sponsor Melbourne Demons - Ricky Petterd 2012 Player Sponsor
Everything is methodical, and meticulously planned at MFC training these days. A whistle blows and coaches shout, players move hastily, bibs are exchanged, balls are dropped. Everything is done for a reason. Dave Misson stands on the sideline looking at his watch. He blows his whistle when a drill has gone the required amount of time. “Have we finished that drill, Misso, or is it half time?” bellows Aaron Greeves. “We’re done!” he screams back.

My highlight of today: It was a match simulation incident. A ball was kicked in the air to Ro Bail who looked like he would take a comfortable mark. Lynden Dunn came from nowhere to execute a spoil, landing on top of Bail in the process. As Dunn was getting up, he pushed Bail back to the ground. Bail didn’t like it, so before you knew it they had grabbed each other around the neck. It got quite serious when Dunn gave Bail a jumper punch to the chin. Dunn finally had the sense to release Bail, and as he did that Bail gave Dunn a decent elbow to the back of his neck. The two continued to play on each other with Dunn giving his usual elbow to Bail in the guts and back. Finally someone was sent out by Neeld to tell Dunn to pull his head in. It really did quite heated.

My observations:

-No Frawley, Clark or Trengove today. Gawn did his own running and skills session separate to the main group. D-Rod had the session off and helped Gawn do some skills work. Every other player took part in the main session.

-There was a match simulation exercise. It was white jumpers versus blue. It was scrappy and I was disappointed by the amount of times kicks failed to find targets going into the forward-line, and by the number of times the ball was coughed up with indiscriminate handballs, resulting in a turnover.

-Toumpas had no trouble finding the ball. He used it pretty well too. He did caught a couple of times. (He’s adjusting to the pace of the game at the higher level.) And he ran out of steam pretty quickly. (Again, this is to be expected.) I think he’ll need some good NAB Cup form to have any chance to play round one.

-Tom McDonald beat any forward he played on. He was just too good for them. Dawes, Sellar or Pedersen would start ahead of him on the lead, and he would get in front of them and execute a spoil. Tom was good at ground level and used the footy really well. BOG for mine.

-Matt Jones looks a player. He is quick, a good size. He makes good decisions with the footy. Matt just needs to put some size on.

-Shannon Byrnes never wastes the footy. He spends most of his time lurking in the forward line. (He gets to dangerous positions when the ball hits the ground from a marking contest.)

-Jack Grimes won a heap of the footy through the midfield. He is moving well. In my opinion he must start in the middle.

-Jesse Hogan has great hands. He looked a bit lost in some of the drill, but he marked strongly and was very good below his knees. The kid doesn’t fumble.

-James Strauss really impressed me. He looks fit, and most importantly for him his body language and voice is very positive out there. Strauss takes the game on. He is quick, and he was happy to get physical with and defenders he manned up today. He might surprise a few.

-The players are a vibrant, enthusiastic group who are working hard to improve. They continually encourage each other, but are happy to give out constructive criticism to each other when required.

Great write up, thanks. Dunn sounds like the Stampy of the MFC. Nice to have a jerk on the team, no doubt when the season proper starts he'll actually direct that toward the opposition instead of his own players.

How did Watts look, in terms of body size?

Like a second or third year player. He's definitely bigger than when when he started, but he'll never be a monster.

Was the Dunn/Bail thing healthy competition?

Sounds like there may be a bit of bad blood between those two, either that or Dunn is just being a dick.

It started off fairly mildly, but then it got uncomfortable to watch. Dunn really went a bit far. The coach sent someone out to Dunn to tell him to pull his head in. Dunn changed himself off Bail as soon as the runner came out to him.

Was the Dunn/Bail thing healthy competition?

Sounds like there may be a bit of bad blood between those two, either that or Dunn is just being a dick.

You just answered your own question.

Like a second or third year player. He's definitely bigger than when when he started, but he'll never be a monster.

How about in comparison to last year? He'll never be a monster, but he should be able to get to 97-8kg's which would be pretty solid for someone of his height.

I would say he is a little bigger than last year, but I'd still be worried about him going one on one with an opposition key forward. Everything they do at training suggests they'll use him as the loose man/third defender up type.

Dunn may see that as part of what will keep him in the team. He has skill but without an edge most players on our list will or have gone passed him. Playing the antagonist of the side during contact sessions/drills brings a touch of reality to the simulation & he might see it as a means of put his name in the mix by his endeavor. Who knows, maybe Neeld even asked him to push some players buttons but he just took it a little far.

Right or wrong at least he gives a damn. The fact Bail fired back, I like that too, sick of seeing our players pushed around.

I would say he is a little bigger than last year, but I'd still be worried about him going one on one with an opposition key forward. Everything they do at training suggests they'll use him as the loose man/third defender up type.

Thanks, I would think that he would have made more progress if not for his bout of gastro - a mate had it and lost something like 6 kg's in a week.

Thanks Spirit, champion.

Reckon Toumpas would play footy if there were bigger bodies around him, but may be introduced very slowly into the side. How did Jack V play?

I'll echo the sentiments and say you're a legend Spirit of 39. You've been doing a super job.

Re: Watts - reckon he will play the Jared Rivers role in 2013. Frawley, McDonald and sometimes a Sellar will take the bigger body players while Watts will have someone he can compete with one on one and zone off on as well. We know he's not a big boy so I see them playing him to his strengths.

I'll go with HFF and ask how Viney played, and also a few others such Dawes, Pedersen, Howe and some of the new boys like Terlich. Cheers again S39!

Jack Viney is a beast. He hunts the footy. And if he is not first to it he does his level best to either win the football back or to hurt the person that has the footy. JV is quicker than I imagined. His kicking skills are above average. And one of his great strengths, apart from his physicality, is his ability to accumulate the footy.

Put your house on him playing round one.

Jack Viney is a beast. He hunts the footy. And if he is not first to it he does his level best to either win the football back or to hurt the person that has the footy. JV is quicker than I imagined. His kicking skills are above average. And one of his great strengths, apart from his physicality, is his ability to accumulate the footy.

Everything I wanted to hear and more. I think I'm going to enjoy watching him at the footy this year. Already seems like the sort of player who lifts the crowd noise a little every time he gets it.

Dunn is a genuine shit bloke. I love it!

index.php

Col Garland, Spirit?

He has looked really switched on and hasn't skipped a beat. Col had a great duel with Howie in the match simulation stuff today. They were pretty competitive, those two lads, and really wanted to get the better of each other. Col will be important for us this year.

Dunn may see that as part of what will keep him in the team. He has skill but without an edge most players on our list will or have gone passed him. Playing the antagonist of the side during contact sessions/drills brings a touch of reality to the simulation & he might see it as a means of put his name in the mix by his endeavor. Who knows, maybe Neeld even asked him to push some players buttons but he just took it a little far.

Right or wrong at least he gives a damn. The fact Bail fired back, I like that too, sick of seeing our players pushed around.
about time we had some mongrel as a team , been too nice for way to long.