Training 8/1/07 Merged Threads

Training 8/1

I wasn't actually at training since I am in switzerland right now but I found this training report on Talking Carlton and thought it might interest some of you since knowone has posted one here yet. Also everyone seems to be giving Tomi Johnson good reviews. Hopefully he'll play well in the VFL (hopefully the Bullants) so that we can take him next year.

This was written by pi canus on Talking Footy so full credit to him.

After last weeks heat, players and track watchers alike could be forgiven for wondering at the strange occurrence of intermittent drizzle and a cooler morning for today’s training. Players were already on track and repeating the handball game from Friday’s session when I arrived at 9:30, so I assume they had an earlier start as the ball work usually follows a decent warm-up. I kept an eye on Blackwell during this session as someone asked about him after a recent training report. I was very impressed with Luke today. At one point he was pitted in the ruck against Simmo and was able to keep Simmo away from a number of contests. Hardly the heavyweight title, but impressive development for someone that just 12 months ago looked in real danger of being snapped in a Jon Brown tackle. Equally impressive is his clean-hands in close.

The hand ball session was followed by an end-to-end exercise. Players moved between one of 6 groups, positioned at full back, each of the flanks and full-forward. A single ball was then moved at pace from one end to the other. Players ran through the middle in waves of three and four. Leads and hand-ball options were presented by the Forwards and advance HFF groups. Interestingly the players at FF were instructed to punch the ball down to crumbing options who would then commence the relay back to the other end. There were plenty of commanding double fisted punches although no obvious heir to the Doull/Silvagni proponents of the creative punch, but then again Carltonians have been spoilt in that regard (pun intended). Aisake was again impressive. He is moving very well and his disposal has improved dramatically with a couple of running pin-point drop punt’s over 40m or more drawing praise from team-mates. I would cautiously suggest that Aisake actually looks to drop the ball to his foot more naturally than Carlos, who notwithstanding his outstanding improvement last year, still seems to take unusual care in guiding the ball to the boot.

The Hampster also continues to impress, a real spring heeled Jack with super pace for a man his size. His jump reminds me of Stephen Oliver, who I reckon had one of the best vertical leaps I have seen in a footballer. His disposal by foot needs a little work, nothing dramatic, but he missed a couple of targets today in an exercise where there was no opposition pressure.

Cam Cloke put in another sound performance. He is quite good at ground level for a ruck, one gather of a half-volley on the run was very clean and his disposal is as good as most in the squad. I don’t mind admitting I was one of many less than enthused by his arrival, but to give the guy his due he has done everything asked of him and is showing signs he may be a more than handy pick-up. Lets hope he renews the tradition of the magnificent ’95 retreads that made full use of a second chance at AFL.

The other player that is impressing me at the moment is Tommi Johnstone. In any exercise close to involving match-simulation he just seems to read the play so well. He has very sure hands and great disposal. The obvious query is his size, but with Simpson’s success hopefully soon to be replicated by Blackwell, I hope the club can continue to create options for Tommi.

After the end-to end work the players did a number of running reps. The group seemed to break into rucks /KPP’s and running players. The former had the short route from goal to goal, whilst the running players had to run the boundary. I was immediately reminded of a mate of mine who is an athletics running coach who annually laments the spring return of his sprinters who ‘run like footballers.’ Almost without exception the players running style betrays a readiness for contact , even mid-way through a summer of distance work. This translates to hands moving across the body so that the ribcage is protected, rather than in closer alignment with the movement of each foot. This is an inefficient running style since the hand acts as a counterweight when running. I wonder whether this could be addressed, especially for the midfielders who reportedly clock up close to a half marathon each game and therefore must be rotated. Anyway – perhaps an issue for another day. To the observations of the groups themselves, and the three separate packs of the midfielders were regularly headed by Jackson, Scotland, Blackwell and Carrots. Blackwell again impressive, as by the final repetitions it was obvious he was hurting and yet refused to yield his spot at the front of the pack. I noticed Murph sat at the back of his pack for each rep, not lagging but taking the sit. His left shoulder has a fair bit of strapping on it and it appears this extra support may be carried into the new season.

The recent draftees left the track at 10:30, presumably to get to the AFLPA ‘Sex Drugs and RockNRoll’ lecture for 2006 draftees. The remaining players did stretching or continued to run reps until about 11. Last off the track were Ackland/Cloke and Libba who stayed after the traditional ‘Goal from the Boundary’ brigade to do an extra 15 minutes of ruck work practice.

Re: Training 8/1

i don't think i have read a better training report than that. thanks and well done!!!:thumbsu: