Training report - 18 March

GoodFootyNorth

Mar 19, 2007
Seddon
As part of the early indoctrination process, we took the baby to training this morning.

Notable absentee was David Hale, of whom there was no sign at all. JWS just did running (he must be mighty bored of that). Doing injury recovery type work were Ross, Greenwood and the new guy with the Dale Thomas haircut (very un-North Melbourne - when will they rig some team betting thing to make him shave it?) Other than that they basically trained as one big group, and trained for quite a while.

As well as the usual drills, they seemed to spent quite a lot of time on a full-ground exercise which involved moving the ball quickly and pretty centrally. This was promising from a game-plan point of view and at times looked good.

They then spent quite a lot of time on a semi-match play drill. Sadly, in contrast to the earlier drill, we seemed to be practising a lot of chipping the ball short and wide, with heaps of players in one part of the ground; with occasional switching to the other, empty side of the ground. Not only is this boring, but also unlikely to succeed on match day, given the skill level on display today (and indeed on any given day North plays football).

Perhaps this was us practising the infamous rolling zone. I've been overseas for the last year or so, watching footy on TV, so haven't seen much of it. Whatever we were doing, there was heaps of intervention from the coaches in the set-ups during the match play.

In the absence of Hale, "senior" forward line seemed to consist of Petrie, Smith, Watt and Campbell, with Lower and Ziebell rotating through there at times. Harris seemed keen and looked good to me - much the sharpest guy on the track - so fingers crossed he may have turned the corner.

In other news, watching some skills training later which consisted of passing to leading forwards over about a 30 metre distance, I can say that McMahon and Campbell are both lovely kicks, Rawlings was surprisingly accurate over a short distance (not sure why he kicks long so much in games), Lindsay Thomas has a technical problem with his kicking that means he shanks about one in three, and Azza has amazing hands. But, Rawlings aside, none of that is news to anyone.

Cheers, good to hear Harro doing well. Just wondering what your thoughts on Sex-Ed and Riggio were?

As yes, Riggio was the fourth guy doing rehab-type work (I knew there was someone else). Ed looked good to me at times, midfield / forward, bobbing up with some marks and goals in the match-play drills. If you can tell anything from which "team" they're on in training, I would have thought he'll play round one.

Cheers, good to hear Harro doing well. Just wondering what your thoughts on Sex-Ed and Riggio were?

On Riggio, not sure if anyone else has read Inside Football that came out today, but Laidley was quoted as saying we only have a couple on the injury list at the moment who were one to two weeks away. One was obviously JWS, but the other was Riggio who Laidley said has a "stress reaction in his leg". Might be why we haven't seen much of him preseason. Does anyone else know anything more about this?

As part of the early indoctrination process, we took the baby to training this morning.

Nice one. You should have called the thread - "Massive dummy spit at North training" - to help bring in the punters.

That minor disappointment aside, thanks very much for the report, GFN. :thumbsu:

I was also there with my monkey, actually technically she's my daughter but who can tell?

Seemed to be a bit of media around too for some reason. Kelly Underwood was there doing some stuff on the sidelines (not sure if it was promo stuff for channel 10, or waiting to interview some of the boys after training). Foxtel was there as well and there was a still photographer all set up as well. Not sure what was going on but didnt make it to the end of the session to find out as the monkey was getting a bit restless.

Did you make it to the end GFN? Was anything special going on afterwards with the team and media?

I was also there with my monkey, actually technically she's my daughter but who can tell?

Seemed to be a bit of media around too for some reason. Kelly Underwood was there doing some stuff on the sidelines (not sure if it was promo stuff for channel 10, or waiting to interview some of the boys after training). Foxtel was there as well and there was a still photographer all set up as well. Not sure what was going on but didnt make it to the end of the session to find out as the monkey was getting a bit restless.

Did you make it to the end GFN? Was anything special going on afterwards with the team and media?

No, we left before the end sorry, it was past lunchtime for all involved.

Thanks mate, know the feeling.

BTW, agree with your assessment about Harro. If anything can be taken from form or intensity at training, this guy aint finished yet. Definitely looks as though he wants to get amongst it.

The problem with Thomas kicking is real, he tries to kick around corners too much, needs to run at the target more.

In the absence of Hale, "senior" forward line seemed to consist of Hale, Petrie, Smith, Watt and Campbell, with Lower and Ziebell rotating through there at times.

That's an interesting comment right there.

PS. Good to hear about Harris doing well. I still hope he plays round 1.

The problem with Thomas kicking is real, he tries to kick around corners too much, needs to run at the target more.

Interestingly, the assistant coach in front of me was making exactly the same point. So either you are that coach incognito, or you're a perceptive person. :thumbsu:

Great report GFN, thanks for taking the time. Have you joined the littleun up yet?

Yep. Made the change to a family membership, signing up the littleun and her cousin (better than a baby joey membership, as it has games and therefore counts in the official AFL tally). Sadly, we'll be back overseas for most of the season, so won't get to use it much.

Lindsay Thomas' problem with kicking technique is not just that he tries to kick around corners, but that his ball drop is terrible. He moves the ball around so much beore the drop and usually drops the ball from quite high and to the side of his foot. This is part of the reason why he kicks so many non-drop punts as he is attempting to compensate with his feet for the poor ball drop.

It's almost as predictable as John Blakey missing a long shot at goal to the left.

By the way, GFN, good to see you are making the effort to get to training. just don't stray too far from home. see you soon?

Lindsay Thomas' problem with kicking technique is not just that he tries to kick around corners, but that his ball drop is terrible. He moves the ball around so much beore the drop and usually drops the ball from quite high and to the side of his foot. This is part of the reason why he kicks so many non-drop punts as he is attempting to compensate with his feet for the poor ball drop.

I'd agree with you, and point out that I've mentioned the high ball drop many a time...BUT I'll get harassed for having a go at such a 'talented' player.

Sledging players with poor skills can only be aimed at those that get the ball 25+ times.

Agree about Thomas' kicking probs... Pretty easy to fix though considering its just a technique thing, its not like he's unco, his hands etc. are pretty clean.

Training report - 18 March