bradf

Draftee
The word is that Travis Baird will be taken by collingwood in the Pre season draft.

Travis Baird is a recently delete Brisbane rookie, who did not want to stay with Brisbane. If he did not want to go home, he would have been added to Brisbane senior list.

What information does people have on this player ?

Is this a good move by Collingwood ?

I think it better to draft an improving 19 year old, then the other prospects that will be in the per season draft.

"The word" is a lot of internet innuendo. Do you have a superior source?

Personally, and without having seen him play, I think it would be a fairly smart move. The kid missed a heap of footy through injury in 2004, hence only getting a rookie spot. He did very well in the AFLQ and was promoted when Pike went down and even landed a couple of games. Seems odd that Brissie didn't want to keep him, which is why I think he's had scouts monitoring him (John Hook?) and have promised him a spot back home (Brisvegas said anuvva rookie year only).

It would be smart move in that he's a kid who's shown a bit in the midfield, shown he's over injuries and is 189cms tall.

But naturally, not having seen him, I have some simple questions;
1. can he kick, at least on one side;
2. can he find the damn thing;
3. does he have courage;
4. can he run faster than a speeding snail;
5. does he have one or two things he's particularly good at.

If we have a fair few decent answers to those questions and the Filth go for McLaren, then we should pick him up.

1: He's actually pretty dual-sided, and that's not because both sides are crap. He's a good kick, a right footer by nature.

2: Don't know if he'll ever become a 25 possession a game player - that would be one of his bigger downfalls - however...

3: It's not for want of trying like with a Ryan Lonie. He will always try. One of his better quality is his toughness

4: He's not really slow - probably good pace for his height. Somewhere around Ben Davies-ish

5: He's a pretty good kick, and he's a strong mark. As I said, the major downfall is that he sometimes struggles to put in a consistent 4 quarter effort, more than anything else.

If your assessments are correct vinnie, I reckon he sounds like the sort of guy Malthouse would get a bit out of.

Sounds like a better gamble than pick 53 if we can get him via the PSD. Has earned a couple of AFL games. Pick 53 mightn't ever do that!

Yeah, that makes a lot of sense - a 19 year old midfielder who couldn't break open the senior side in Brisbane must not be any good. He still managed two games in his first year on the rookie list - he has talent.

Campo? Well, at least you've confirmed that you've lost your mind.

I'll guarantee you that Travis Baird will play more good AFL footy than Camporeale from 2006 onwards.

understudy said:
Couldnt make it at Brisbane, dont go near him.
Incorrect. He did make it at Brisbane. He played two games. He even got offered another year as a rookie, which he politely declined. The only kid who'd knock back a spot on an AFL list, is one who's confident of getting a better shot elsewhere. The next question is who's offered him a better deal than a rookie spot in the most successful club of the past 15 years??

FIGJAM said:
Incorrect. He did make it at Brisbane. He played two games. He even got offered another year as a rookie, which he politely declined. The only kid who'd knock back a spot on an AFL list, is one who's confident of getting a better shot elsewhere. The next question is who's offered him a better deal than a rookie spot in the most successful club of the past 15 years??

No problem considering him for a rookie spot but not for the primary list thankyou very much. Dont rate him, this is 2005 Brisbane not 2003.

understudy said:
No problem considering him for a rookie spot but not for the primary list thankyou very much. Dont rate him, this is 2005 Brisbane not 2003.
That's cool dude, but please extend your logic to Campo (ie. this is 2006 Campo, not 1997)!

Think we'd be pretty much guaranteed a couple of years out of campo versus the risk of two years of nothing from a young vanilla skinny little runt. Campo for mine.

Beauty is we get him for nicks versus the first round draft pick we shelled out for woewoe.

FIGJAM said:
Vanilla? Please explain...

Usually whats left at the arse end of the draft. Guess we'll just have to wait and see whats left at the end of the national draft and whats available in the psd. Then we'll see what Hine and MM come up with.

FIGJAM said:
Before Nick Maxwell broke into the league he was down at Geelong. Whilst he showed some ability he was only considered as a top up player for the Cats VFL side. Nick was planning on getting a rookie spot and Mark Thompson said in a condescending tone "Thats the BEST you can hope for son". Nick told him to "stick" his offer and decided to make it at another club. Baird could end up being another Nick Maxwell for us and we could do a lot worse (ie Campo, imagine him to sharing a room with Brodie on interstate trips). Baird featured in the best players for Victoria against the Allies last year and you have to love a guy who tells the Lions to ******** orf.

Hine and MM must make the call and be accountable for it, as much as he could be the next maxwell (not that maxi's yet made it as a geniune afl performer yet) he could be the next mullins in the same breath.

Dont fancy him myself, we've already got quite a young list and quite a few quality youngsters hopefully coming in this year already, would prefer to go with Campo myself, believe he is what we need.

understudy said:
Usually whats left at the arse end of the draft. Guess we'll just have to wait and see whats left at the end of the national draft and whats available in the psd. Then we'll see what Hine and MM come up with.
"Vanilla" is a Bullet In Board term for bog standard six footers with FA pace and limited ability.

Baird is at least 189cms, which is tall for a kid with midfield potential. Word has it he's not exactly slow and has some skill. And he's achieved senior selection in his first AFL year, which is no mean feat!

I haven't seen him, but Campo's a washed up softmalechicken. Pick 53 might even struggle for a Willi Serior berth. As such, Baird sounds like an inneresting option. At worst it sounds like he could be a tall run with player, which we need (reports are Maxwell is being groomed for this role, but I reckon he's a better defensive option).

So in closing, don't get Campo. There's no rhyme or reason why we should, unless we are contenders next year and even then I could argue you under the table stating why we shouldn't.

Didnt like the look of Baird much myself, as you say you've never seen him but go ahead talk him up if you must ...

if its campo or baird id go campo myself but you prefer baird, go luck to ya.

understudy said:
Didnt like the look of Baird much myself, as you say you've never seen him but go ahead talk him up if you must ...
I'm not really talking him up. I'm merely pointing out the fact that he's done OK after being given a rookie list spot and got games in his first year. He's since knocked back a rookie spot, which I find interesting (ie. he's been got to by someone and has links to us FWIW).

I am also saying that we MUST think long term no matter what we do and Baird would seem to be at least a long term proposition. Campo is short term (at longest!).

FIGJAM said:

If what your saying is correct (you admit you havent seen him) then pick 53 is a more viable decision than the PSD. If there's only one palyer you want by the time you get to pick 53, why wait for the PSD?

And yes you're right - no Campo. I'd rather we took a punt on a kid than this soft old hack. In fact I'd rather re-draft Woewodin. At least he's a team player and would not cost an arm and a leg. Besides, I really like the idea of Camporeale at Essendon.

hotpie said:
If what your saying is correct (you admit you havent seen him) then pick 53 is a more viable decision than the PSD. If there's only one palyer you want by the time you get to pick 53, why wait for the PSD?
Yeah, haven't seen him, but hopefully our scouts have (eg. Johnny Hook). It's their job to identify talent, not only at U18 level, or that of "name" players, but the "No Brand" players too.

If Baird nominates for the national, then there's no guarantee he'd be there at 53. If the Filth claim someone (ie. McLaren), then we have an absolute guarantee to pick him up for the effective cost of #53. It'd be nice to see who's left at 53 (have our cake) and take Baird if there's nothing better (and eat it too), but it's dun work like that.

Hey, he might have left the Brians because he's just a cocky bastard, and mightn't get picked by anybody, but I personally have my doubts.

Eitherway, I dunno much about him, I'm just stating that there's whispers and if we want to claim him (or have even had a hand in him turning his back on Brissie) then we'll be taking him in the PSD. A first year player who got senior time, and a midfielder to boot, isn't inherently against the strategy I'd like to see us using, whether it be a new draftee or a young player like him.

But at the end of all of this, I'm more lashing out against taking the likes of Campo or Stoopido just because we can, so we're effectively in agreement.

Yup see your point now. Leave him out of the ND and promise him a spot in the PSD. If we miss him because Carlton steal him, then we've got Guerra or McLaren or some other nobody to choose. But we only have one team to nick him not two.

But not Campo or Stupido.

Take off the blinkers.

'Taking a player youve never seen just cause you've got some gribe against snearing senior experienced players for nicks' dont make a lot of sense.

The club will off course have an idea about Baird and whether they consider him worth pursuing. Personally have got my doubt and not sure if they are interested in him ?

Players you've never seen are the future. We're not the ones to judge which players will make the grade - thats up to the experts - but Campo and Cupido dont suit our short term or long term plans. Guerra might, thats a good debate, but those two wont.

beware a person that has something to prove! Having told brisbane to ******** off, he obvioulsy thinks he can make it and if he doenst he will end up with egg on his face, proud ppl will never allow that!