Travis Cloke

liverpool-soccer
I believe for us to win that elusive flag,Travis Cloke is an integral part of our forward structure.
The slight problem i hear about is that he was one of the players that was nursing his knee niggle through a lot of this season,and it flared up in Arizona.

Some are saying that it is no problem, where other quarters are saying he is no way 100% fit.

Although Travis does have at least 3 months to get himself to 100% i really hope he is tip top come the start of the season,and this ijury is just a minor niggle and not something more serious that it upsets our premiership plans in 2010.

A fit strong Travis, and hopefully the inclusion of Dawes smashing packs and taking over the Rocca role is what we need,to win the big one.
Anthony and rusling a very good forwards but they are not power forwards like Cloke and Dawes.For Dawes next year will be his big chance
to shine,otherwise it may be curatins for him.He must be given a good go
These two hold the key to our premiership hopes.

Your thoughts?

GO PIES IN 2010.

its got to the stage whenever Trav lines up for a goal,I just go and get another drink.

seriously though,I thought id never see a person miss so many goals from 15m out than Anthony Rocca,then Trav comes along and makes him look like Darren Jarman

hopefully Bucks can set him right.Doesnt help the midfields mindset when they routinely see their hard work be underdone by travis

its got to the stage whenever Trav lines up for a goal,I just go and get another drink.

Lol love this.

I never wanna watch when he has a set shot.

If he can fix his kicking he could win a match off his own boot. We have all seen what he can do, I just hope he can find that form again.

The collective groan that goes up when he has the footy in the 50m arc from the pies supporters is depressing at any game. He is vital for a premiership win, considering how good he is apart from kicking for set shots. I love watching him play, hate watching him kick for goal...

Funny how in the 09 season trav was actually doing alright from set shots. Actually nailed. One on the boundary from 50 after the half time siren in a game if memory serves? Correct me if I'm wrong. Can't remember who against.
With trav I think it's all a confidence thing. Get a couple of good nab cups into him and a good start to the season and I think he'll get to the 50 mark for the season. If be starts off bad during the season though... Well... It could be another long year

Funny how in the 09 season trav was actually doing alright from set shots. Actually nailed. One on the boundary from 50 after the half time siren in a game if memory serves? Correct me if I'm wrong. Can't remember who against.
With trav I think it's all a confidence thing. Get a couple of good nab cups into him and a good start to the season and I think he'll get to the 50 mark for the season. If be starts off bad during the season though... Well... It could be another long year

It was against the tigers which he also missed one from 10 meters directley in front lol

Travis is pivotal to the team's success. If he is carrying a knee, he is not going to get the most out of a pre-season. I agree that Dawes needs to step up and become a power forward. Ideally, we should be able to rotate any one of Nathan Brown and Reid through the key forward posts, even Cloke at CHB, to give us some options. That way, if we Cloke is down, or Brown, swap players around in the manner that Sheedy has done with players in the past.

Was just saying to a mate that if i could name one player to have his best season in 2010 it would be Trav. Still only 22? but is so crucial to us. Was 2007 a one off or is 08/09 what we should expect?

Please god the 07 version returns for the next 10 years as it was pretty awesome.

imo we need dawes to step up and consolidate himself at CHF. Travis Cloke isnt a CHF, he is more of a half foward flanker, just like chris tarrant. think about trav and chris for a second and you'll realise how many similarities they have.

massive engine, requires to lead up to the wings to get a mark, shocking kick for goal, goes for chest marks rather than taking it overhead when required, lacks physicality for someone of his size and position. unlike tarrant he does not have the speed to ensure he could make it as a backman.

yes travis is somewhat important to us as he is playing in one of the most important positions on the ground, but he is not suited to that position at all. a lot rests on dawes to make it or else we have a massive hole at CHF which makes our chase for a premiership all the more harder.

It's why I don't understand why we didn't take a Temel Serhat type in the rookie draft at least. I understand there are questions surrounding his mobility, but he is exactly the type we need. These long athletic skinny types won't get the job done.

Saw him at Doncaster shopping centre last night.

Bloke would have a seriously massive meat axe.

It's why I don't understand why we didn't take a Temel Serhat type in the rookie draft at least. I understand there are questions surrounding his mobility, but he is exactly the type we need. These long athletic skinny types won't get the job done.
I agree Temel would been a Good Project as a Rookie as he is not Very Athletic but he is a Big Body Forward who can make just about everything near him

Travis has missed plenty from the goal square. I remember one from Anzac Day 2007.

He should have been traded as he is too unreliable as a goal kicker. He will never kick a pressure goal in a final when needed unless he flukes it.

We are stuck with the third overrated Cloke. He should not play in the first until he can prove he can kick. Highly unlikely.

Because he just isnt very good

Treacle slow and wont be able to monster AFL players like he did under 18 kids, same goes for McDonald before TD mentions him

Because he just isnt very good

Treacle slow and wont be able to monster AFL players like he did under 18 kids, same goes for McDonald before TD mentions him

Alot of his game depends on his physical toughness, crashing packs and the like. But I think your assessment is quite critical given we have seen him in 07' as, I would rate as a decent forward performing in his most consistant year. And as mentioned, carrying a knee injury however strenious it is on his body now, was clear he was feeling the effects of this problem in 09. I could only imagin how damaged structures would be if this niggle was to continue. A fully fit team is what we need and i reckon Trav's a big part to our sucess. As mentioned before, I too look away when he is kicking for goal. But i think anyone under the guidance of Bucks can only be headed in the right direction, at least .

Cloke, Dawes, Rusling, Anthony - HUge potential

I had a dream a few weeks back that involved Trav, 3 hookers and my little old self (myself being one of those hookers). Gotta be in my top 15 weirdest dreams :o

Alot of his game depends on his physical toughness, crashing packs and the like. But I think your assessment is quite critical given we have seen him in 07' as, I would rate as a decent forward performing in his most consistant year. And as mentioned, carrying a knee injury however strenious it is on his body now, was clear he was feeling the effects of this problem in 09. I could only imagin how damaged structures would be if this niggle was to continue. A fully fit team is what we need and i reckon Trav's a big part to our sucess. As mentioned before, I too look away when he is kicking for goal. But i think anyone under the guidance of Bucks can only be headed in the right direction, at least .

Cloke, Dawes, Rusling, Anthony - HUge potential

optimax was talking about temel, not cloke

Thanks gifted I did indeed mean temel

on that part of the topic the only kpf I rated real highly were butcher and griffiths, as both were strong but neither lumbering dinosaur types

Hasn't this been discussed ad nauseum?

I mean, we all know Cloke is important, same way we all know he can't kick well enough to be the player we need him to be.

Which makes me think we should get him learning how to kick right foot from under 30 metres, and to completely learn from scratch in the Shae McNamara school of Aussie Rules.

I'd be happy if Cloke got 50-60% from outside 30 with that raking left foot, but got 75% from inside on an adjusted right foot 9 iron chip.

If Cloke comes to play and gets a few 5 goal hauls, we will win the flag this year. Quite simply, he is one of a half-dozen players who could become the "Nick Riewoldt" star player, but just for whatever reason doesn't deliver.

Massive year for Cloke in 2010. We cannot afford for spuds like Dale Morris, Adam McPhee and Ryan Schoenmakers to give him a touch up while the best back duels with Jack.