Tribute; Tadhg Kennelly.

• Thread starter Thread starter vonn

vonn

Bigfooty Legend
10k Posts Pokemon is Life Meet-Up Master Pantskyle Podcaster WCE Wings Guernsey Casey Tutungi Future Fund
AFL has it's highs and lows.
Seeing your Team win a premiership.
Your favorite player get an individual award.
(Adam Hunter make a fool of himself.)

Without the Bad we wouldn't appreciate the Good.

But it doesn't make it any easier for when a great player retires.
Tadhg Kennelly; a premiership player.

No matter where you are or who you play for, your contribution to our 05 team that day will never ever be forgotten.
Neither will that jig.

Our hearts are with you where ever you go and best wishes to make your dad proud.

tadgh81205_wideweb__470x300,0.jpg

r260868_1084850.jpg

In my opinion.

My god whingers ill change it.

very good player, top bloke.

sydney will miss him a lot, added a lot of spark to a side lacking a bit of X-Factor.

stoked that he played a big part in the flag.

i still think the timing of the announcements will annoy Sydney more than Roos indicated to the media, but he is free to make his own choices.

overrated player and a class 1 A hole for leaving his team in the way he has. the lil irish sook could have left before list lodgements were made , so he has screwed sydney hard, after they "looked" after him all these years

Yea I second this. How and when he has left have really screwed Sydney over.

Good player, not brilliant just good. Went quite quit often during a game.

Agreed.

Love the guy but what he's done is extremely low.

Very good player, I was a fan of the way he went about his football.

It's a shame that he left the way he did, was a disservice to not only Sydney but to his own legacy in our game.

You guys are absolute jerks.
His achieved a hell of a lot more then you guys have,

How many AFL Irish players who have given up everything at the age of 18, not even their to see his own father die, has achieved what Kennelly has?
If you dont have anythin nice to say get ****ed.

I for one dont think he walked on the club, i know if i was him i'd care a HELL Of a lot more about honouring my dad's memory.

How many AFL Irish players who have given up everything at the age of 18, not even their to see his own father die, has achieved what Kennelly has?

I for one dont think he walked on the club, i know if i was him i'd care a HELL Of a lot more about honouring my dad's memory.
You were better off putting it on the Swans board, doing it this way every smart@rse will take the piss out of you Vonn

I vote this as the best part of the thread. :thumbsu:

and for the record, all the tears & sadness is slightly over the top for a player who tarnished his own record by leaving when he did.

2nd best Irish player though, can't take that away from him.

Hi all!
I started reading this thread with a little hope that there may have been quite a few posts putting a positive light on Kennelly's wonderful time as an AFL footballer.

Perhaps I was hoping to read a post from a richmond supporter saying how big an effort it was for a 'raw' kid from another land to succeed at AFL with a p'ship. Whilst many of his own Tiger players came to their club with "potential champion" stamped on their foreheads, only to be failures!

Perhaps I was hoping to read a post from a Collingwood supporter stating how well behaved the guy was for an AFL footballer, while some of their own Collingwood players couldn't stay out of trouble.

Perhaps I was hoping to read a post from any other club's supporters stating how brave the guy was to consistently play with severe injury, notably after constantly popping his dislocated shoulder back into place. All this whilst a fair portion of players on their own lists have failed to show any heart in their time as an AFL footballer.

Perhaps I was hoping NOT to read anything negative from any fellow Swans supporters about a champion player (yes champion) that was one of the most exciting players I have EVER watched at our club.
The bold dashes from the backline were something to behold as a long suffering Swans supporter. Many a game would be in a stagnant mess until this brilliant individual took it upon himself to instigate something from nothing, bringing any team mate in his path into the play with his quick handball & run to receive, often providing the necessary spark to win the game.
He did it in the "drawn" North game in that last quarter. If it wasn't for Kennelly, that game would never have turned out to be the controversy it was!

Thank You Tadgh Kennelly...........................thank you for all the joy you gave me & my family. Thankyou for inspiring my sons to want to take a dash when they play footy, hoping to emulate their hero!

Good luck with your future & may you achieve your dream of emulating your late father. I've NO doubt that you will achieve this goal.

One must never be a harsh judge on a young man who in the prime of his life, has opted not to take the money but instead, make the less popular decision to follow his heart.

Tadgh Kennelly! I applaud you!
The competition will miss the person that is Tadgh Kennelly!

Ricky Nixon won't!!

But Ricky Nixon is ALL class.....................isn't he?

Kennelly played his guts out for the Swans and buggered his body in the process. We got the best years out of him and now he's returning home. I will miss him, as I know many Swans fans will as well and wish him all the best. As for other supporters who want to drag him down or nick-pick ("champion versus good" for chrissakes who gives a shit you w***ers!), go forth and multiply and leave Swans and Kennelly fans alone to remember a GREAT player.

Mhill respectfully agrees to your request - did not realise you were one of the vonn trapp girls.

Its acutally voN trapp.

Wow.

Bay 13 must be quiet to respond with that rubbish

Exactly. Bay 13 is where you mob need to be if you want to sling shit.

This is meant to be a tribute to a player from an adoring fan.

I agree with Tasmaniac, 2nd best Irishman ever. And probably the reason why every club bends over backwards to recruit these young Irishmen as International Rookies.

Others (myself included) have taken the piss on the Bay that young Tige is soft. But that's the Bay, it's meant to be a piss-take. Any player that gets team-mates to pop his shoulder back in so he doesn't have to go off could hardly be judged as soft.

Outside runner he may be, and that is because of the role he plays in the team, but I don't think you could seriously question his courage.

The only gripe I would have with him is the timing of the retirement from the Swans, but that's his choice.

Besides, my ancestors are from County Kerry!!:p

So, from one lad of Irish heritage to another, an old Irish blessing -

May the road rise to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back,
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
May the rains fall soft upon your fields

And, until we meet again,
May God hold you in the hollow of His hand.

Get ****ed seriously.

I bet if this thread was about **** and beers you guys would be all over it.

:D:thumbsu: Vonn
I am surprised the morons haven't demanded "PIC Pleaz" or a link

Jim Steynes was an absolute marvel. I thought Melb FC must have scoured Ireland for the most athletic "tall" specimen possible? ....and desperately asked a freak to develop/fill specialist role. Steynes was no doubt the best Irish import.. so far!

But in the commercialism of modern football for some young kid to give 18years head -start, relocate, achieve, become an Australian citizen, fulfill committments despite his treasured Da dying.... and you know the rest...

IS an absolute credit .....101/100

Gave everything he had .....and conquoured!

(Most of the lunatics here could not even pick up the rules of a new game of cards! ....esp in time to be effectual)

Good luck Tadhg:thumbsu:.... there is a whole city expectantly waiting for for you to hold the newest Kerry County... All Ireland.... trophy aloft.

I am certain that for longer than Tadhg's lifetime he will be cherished and fondly remembered by his adoption club stalwarts

But OK : If I did not see and consider the importance of what Tadhg has achieved , I probably would not believe it either!