Duff TV

Suspended
All Football teams
Apparently it is rumoured that Clarence FC have bought back the AFL Tasmania game for this week v Devonport, just a few days out from the match going ahead.

Too bad if people had other things organised.

I mean really was it ever going to go ahead at Oatlands on a Sunday?

I hope this turns out to be correct but I doubt that will turn out to be. Clarence must be getting a nice $$$ to transfer the game to Oatlands but it's no good having a debt free club with no supporters who still are interested in going to watch. I for one went to Richmond and Snug but Oatlands is testing my loyalties a bit too much!

It will be played @ Bellerive on Saturday......
95% sure of it.

They're mucking about with that bloody roster again....

AFL Tasmania scheduled Hobart's next home match against North Launceston, originally to be played at the TCA Ground next Saturday to be played at Huonville instead.
Hobart put their foot down and said 'No!', given that they've had a total of ONE home match at the TCA in the last six weeks and obviously haven't been able to make any money.
Instead, AFL Tasmania has fixtured the game for next Sunday at the TCA Ground.

This is actually starting to get a bit annoying, with Sunday fixtures, being sent to sub-standard venues constantly, only one televised game this season (the least of any TSL club).
It's making things very difficult to keep our following from drifting away.

Apparently it is rumoured that Clarence FC have bought back the AFL Tasmania game for this week v Devonport, just a few days out from the match going ahead.

Too bad if people had other things organised.

I mean really was it ever going to go ahead at Oatlands on a Sunday?

Interesting to see where Glenorchy coach Ben Reid reckons that Glenorchy shouldn't have to travel to West Park to play the dockers in a 2nd semi final if they finish 2nd and the Dockers on top. Instead he reckons it should be played at Araua Stadium. Well Benny the North West clubs are a big part of the State Wide League and if they finish high on the ladder wasn't it part of the criteria that they will be rewarded with a home final. Before you all say its not up to scratch AFL Tas did see fit to play an VFL game there only last year. A final at West Park will draw 4-5 thousand. At Araua you might get 2000. So that covers the other part of the criteria $$$$$$. But then again if you 6 southern clubs get together you may be able to get it transfered to North Hobart under lights on a Friday night and the drinks after the game could be held at KGV in your portable change romms. Reward those teams that finish higher thats what was agreed on from the start.

Wouldn't have thought Huonville Oval would be behind the TCA facilties in many areas, Kingpin?! I seem to recall you saying as much on here many times over the years as well!

Interesting to see where Glenorchy coach Ben Reid reckons that Glenorchy shouldn't have to travel to West Park to play the dockers in a 2nd semi final if they finish 2nd and the Dockers on top. Instead he reckons it should be played at Araua Stadium. Well Benny the North West clubs are a big part of the State Wide League and if they finish high on the ladder wasn't it part of the criteria that they will be rewarded with a home final. Before you all say its not up to scratch AFL Tas did see fit to play an VFL game there only last year. A final at West Park will draw 4-5 thousand. At Araua you might get 2000. So that covers the other part of the criteria $$$$$$. But then again if you 6 southern clubs get together you may be able to get it transfered to North Hobart under lights on a Friday night and the drinks after the game could be held at KGV in your portable change romms. Reward those teams that finish higher thats what was agreed on from the start.

He's responding to the comments by Scott Wade that even if Glenorchy beat Burnie at West Park in the second semi, the grand final if against Burnie could be played in Launceston. In effect saying Glenorchy have no hope of hosting the grand final in Hobart.

http://www.theadvocate.com.au/news/l...s/1564978.aspx

What was agreed was that the best grounds would be used, Aurora & Bellerive in particular( probably Devonport & North Hobart as well). Ben Reid said that if Glenorchy were on top he would have expected to play a 2nd semi at Bellerive, not KGV. Once again northern clubs just want it their own way.

Just make it that the team which finishes higher on the ladder gets to choose which ground to play at.

Yes TCA, Lauderdale, real quality venues, that'll bring the crowds & promote the competition. Why cant we just use the best two venues? That was surely part of the value of playing in this new league. Burnie is not one the best 4 venues, let alone the best 2 in Pork park & Bellerive.

Gee that is very kind of you Madmug, so if Glenorchy finished on top, they would gladly move their game to North HObart, 2 minutes down the road,or to Bellerieve 5 mins over the bridge, but Burnie would still travel the complete distance?????? Yeah lets play it at York Park so both teams travel the same distance and play on a neutral ground and finishing on top means absolutely nothing! If you want to keep people on side, reward teams for finishing in their positions, that is why we have a roster ********! If you played a final at west park you would get a couple of thousand there same as if it was played at KGV. Play it on a neutral ground in the middle and you will get 800!

Gee that is very kind of you Madmug, so if Glenorchy finished on top, they would gladly move their game to North HObart, 2 minutes down the road,or to Bellerieve 5 mins over the bridge, but Burnie would still travel the complete distance??????

Well your saying if Burnie end up on top then Glenorchy would have to travel the same distance!!! Whats the problem with using our best facilities? If it was say a
Burnie v Glenorchy or Clarence:eek: GF would you play it at Pork park??

Gee that is very kind of you Madmug, so if Glenorchy finished on top, they would gladly move their game to North HObart, 2 minutes down the road,or to Bellerieve 5 mins over the bridge, but Burnie would still travel the complete distance??????

Well your saying if Burnie end up on top then Glenorchy would have to travel the same distance!!! Whats the problem with using our best facilities? If it was say a
Burnie v Glenorchy or Clarence:eek: GF would you play it at Pork park??

Clubs were told at the start of the year that those sides that finished high would be rewarded with final allocations. No arguments on the grand final played at Aurua. Have some though if it was to played at Bellrieve:eek:. North Hobart is the home of football in the south:thumbsu:. Magic setting and atmosphere Bellrieve is the home of CRICKET and to all the AFL Tas donuts who simply have got no ****en idea:).

Burnie v Glenorchy or Clarence:eek: GF would you play it at Pork park??[/quote]

Don't think anyone is disputing where a grand final should be played madmug, Reid was talking about the first final in the second week, 1v2 to see who goes in the grand final. First should surely get rewarded for finishing first and if thats Glenorchy it should be KGV, and if they want to move it to one of the other grounds in hobart, they should have the final say ie, Glenorchy. I totally agree with the grand final, two hobart teams, play it in Hobart, two launy teams play it in Launy, 2 North West teams play it on the coast.
Hobart North West play it in launy, Launy Hobart i think it should be played in the region who ever finished highest! Otherwise whats the point of busting your ass all year to finish top, you get "NO" rewards at all!

The AFL gives it to the team's home city, the NRL gives it to the exact home ground in the first week...

So playing on your own turf in a final is not old news in elite sporting competition.

You could argue that Geelong playing at the MCG or Telstra instead of Kardinia is the same as Burnie playing at York Park, but I'd personally counter that with the sheer difference between 80 000 at the MCG v a few hundred at YP...

Commonsense should rule alongside fairness here - Burnie is 150km from Launceston, and this is a Tasmanian local comp which is designed around minimising travel, of all things, because the players can't be bothered getting up at 5am more than 3 times a year. So if those expectations are accommodated for the players, you sure as hell won't see Burnie punters driving for their TENTH 50/150/350km trip in a season...Burnie finished top, they play at home. It's up to Glenorchy to finish above them, then they'll have nothing to sulk about. Leave the elite venue arguments for the GF...

I thought that Burnie would play Glenorchy in first round of finals at West Park. If Burnie wins, the GF is at Aurora. If Glenorchy wins, the GF would be at Bellerive.

Hmmmm?

I thought that Burnie would play Glenorchy in first round of finals at West Park. If Burnie wins, the GF is at Aurora. If Glenorchy wins, the GF would be at Bellerive.

Hmmmm?

Clearly, if they finish on top then Burnie deserve to host the semi (and the prelim if they lose the semi) and I suspect that Glenorchy privately have no issue with that. AFL Tas has deemed the GF to be played in Launceston or Hobart so if Burnie win the semi then it should be in the closer venue, Launceston. What doesn't seem reasonable is that if Glenorchy win the semi they don't get to host the GF in the closer location, Hobart, but have to travel to Launceston for the convenience of their opponents. The point they are making, is that if they are going to be forced to give up hosting rights of the grand final to reduce travelling for Burnie, why aren't Burnie being asked to give up hosting rights of the semi to reduce travelling for Glenorchy? i.e. what's in it for them?

Considering how the NWC media & public rejected the Devils then absolutely condemed this SWL before it even started, its incredible cheek that they want to run it now!!!!!! The idea was to lift the standard & use the best venues, but no, as soon as we start the comp going, we are back to the old 'play it on my mud heap' & forget the best facilities thing. AFLTas sold this comp on improving standards, that has obviously lasted 5 minutes.

Respected the players immensely and personally admired their commitment to play at VFL level. Tell me though what did this program give back to Tasmania. Sweet F A I could tell you some stories on how the northern/north west players were treated. Some are still owed money for their traveling expenses. Way back at the start both the South and the North had to restructure because the Devils came on board. With this came a fierce you pricks v us. I think the score line at the end of that rivalry tallies 9 to us 1 to you pricks. Tell me why the Tas v Qld game was played at the home of cricket? Tell me why the game wasn’t played at the home of football in the state? Aura Stadium. You wonder why we are so wary up here when you have self centered little rats thinking south south south all the f…n time. We are very fortunate this time around with the SW that those running football have no options but to stand by what they promised at the start of the year. Some of those being ground allocations come finals time. You see I reckon they have taken note of the 9/1 score line that prevailed over the last decade between us and you pricks and thought shit maybe we need them more than what they need us. We didn't condem it as such (SW) we just don't trust you. :thumbsu:

If Glenorchy are good enough to beat Burnie at West Park, they earn the right to host the grand final at Bellerive.

I must admit, the grand finals at Nth Hobart provide a good atmosphere. I think we will find that there would still be a good turn out if the game is going to be held at Bellerive. In terms of Aurora being the home of footy, pfft.....

There should be AFL games in Hobart too.

If Glenorchy are good enough to beat Burnie at West Park, they earn the right to host the grand final at Bellerive.

I must admit, the grand finals at Nth Hobart provide a good atmosphere. I think we will find that there would still be a good turn out if the game is going to be held at Bellerive. In terms of Aurora being the home of footy, pfft.....

There should be AFL games in Hobart too.

I totally agree, only minor finals you should host for where you finish, GF it doesn't matter, depends on where the teams are from. As for AFL games being played in Hobart. Where do you suggest? I think you find they are not up to AFL standards, the Cricket pitch in the middle hurts Bellerive! Maybe they could play them at Lauderdale.

Respected the players immensely and personally admired their commitment to play at VFL level. Tell me though what did this program give back to Tasmania. Sweet F A I could tell you some stories on how the northern/north west players were treated. Some are still owed money for their traveling expenses. Way back at the start both the South and the North had to restructure because the Devils came on board. With this came a fierce you pricks v us. I think the score line at the end of that rivalry tallies 9 to us 1 to you pricks. Tell me why the Tas v Qld game was played at the home of cricket? Tell me why the game wasn’t played at the home of football in the state? Aura Stadium. You wonder why we are so wary up here when you have self centered little rats thinking south south south all the f…n time. We are very fortunate this time around with the SW that those running football have no options but to stand by what they promised at the start of the year. Some of those being ground allocations come finals time. You see I reckon they have taken note of the 9/1 score line that prevailed over the last decade between us and you pricks and thought shit maybe we need them more than what they need us. We didn't condem it as such (SW) we just don't trust you. :thumbsu:

What the f****** was that all about? Dont blame me for the sins of AFLTas. NO club (except maybe Lauderdale) have had a fair deal with them. During Devils/SFL days they sucked players & sponsors away from clubs, no wonder the SFL were weak, OPEN YOUR EYES UP. The last SWL ended when Burnie spat the dummy, the Devils started as a Tassie side but ran off the rails with the merger (seemed like a good idea at the time) & Creswell. AFLTas all over that mess. Also Why is Pork Park the 'home' of football? Just because our polititians decided to put AFL footy their, whats that got to do with a Tasmanian state game? The last one being played their 2 years ago anyway. Weather you like it or not Hobart is the biggest city with 1/2 the state population in one area. It is also the biggest city in Australia that gets no major winter sport. All AFL, Soccer & Rugby being played at P.P. The Devils are gone, so Hobart gets nothing, & YOUR still not happy??? Talk about parochial, your pathetic!

Does your boss really know how dumb you really are. Who gives a flying on where the population base is. The state game should of been played at Aura what part of that can't you under stand. Whats the better venue for football. Bellrieve or Aura? It was gone before Cressa came on board and we must stop using him as a scapegoat. Sucked SFL players to play??? What no northerners were sucked to that program either. Aura is a magnificent venue and should be used when ever rep football is played. You blokes get the hockey so that has to be a positive.

Yes he does!:D I'll let others worry about you spud:eek:. Population size does matter. I'm quite pleased that things get played at 'Aura', but to get nothing (except the shin bashers which has also been played in Smithton & L'ton) in Hobart is wrong. Their are a lot of people who do find it too hard to get to 'Aura', they are supposed to just put up with this unfair situation. Surely its better to give more people an opportunity to see some major sport than just those who live in Launceston & those who have the time & money. After all its MY taxes, as well as yours, going into buying these games from Hawthorn etc..