TassieSaint

Tasmania
Tassie Tigers
Bit late, but perhaps we can discuss the upcoming games here as well?

Anyway tonight was a surprisingly entertaining game, I'm not a fan of T20 but this game really has it's moments. My thoughts:
- David Warner is our future ODI opener. Saw him destroy Tassie with 160 odd earlier this year and I seriously thinks he has what it takes in 50 over cricket. Amazing innings tonight
- AB de Villiers dismissal was the most lolworthy for quite some time. Gets drilled in the ribs and hits his wicket falling over. Felt sorry for him but it was bloody hilarious.
- Cam White getting blinded by the lights reminded me of when your in primary school and you make the unco kid you don't like field in the outfield, and then when a ball finally comes to him he shits his dacks and goes into the foetal position. Classic
- I love Hilfy cause he's a Tasmanian. Ball that got Ntini swung a mile, even if he was lucky it hit back onto the stumps. Must tour South Africa
- Whoever was singing at half time should GTFO
- Warnie and Gilly = commentating combo of the future.

That is all

Tonight for once this summer i actually enjoyed the cricket. Greig's fat head nowhere to be seen. :thumbsu:

I gotta say, im not a fan of their cricket team but i genuinely felt sorry for AB. 150 km rock pummled at your hip joint is cringeworthy. Couldn't hit the ball, but hit the wicket with a nice amount of accuracy. ;)
I lol'd @ White. Especially at the chorus of boos that followed after. Can you tell I'm not a big fan of Cam?

Girl at the break? Jessica Mauboy? She's not too bad, although poor choice of singer especially at a bogan event like the cricket. Playing an old cassette of the village people would've been more of a hit me thinks.

:thumbsu: for Warnie & Gilly.

Warnie & Gilly>>>>>>>>>>>>>rats arseh*le>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Tony Greig.

:)

I'm actually a big fan of Tony Grieg (maybe I should not admit that out loud)

As for the 20/20 match, it was alright. I am not really a fan of the shortened game. My interest in cricket is seriously waning with the messy IPL (It's a joke) However, the recent South Africa tests were excellent cricket viewing.

I am looking forward to the ODI matches. :)

Yeh should have got Shannon Noll in covering C'mon Aussie C'mon (what a song)

I agree with you Chris, definitely not a fan of the IPL myself and don't usually watch T20. Last night was worth watching however.

The irony of T20 I find is that although created to be more interesting, most of the time it's the same dull repetative: slog, slog, slog, catch in outfield going for slog, slog, clean bowled going for slog, slog etc. formula. But there were some great shots on display last night. JP Duminy particularly has beautiful technique.

Yeh should have got Shannon Noll in covering C'mon Aussie C'mon (what a song)

He shoulda came out afterwards with "What about me" and then a collective "shut up ********!" as he mopes off to have a cry. Only thing entertaining about that break of innings was willing one of he backup dancers to give her a shove when she almost fell off the stage.

I went to the game last night brothers and sisters.

Was surrounded by people who knew very little about the game. How is this for a comment?

How can South Africa have lost 9 wickets and still be batting? Australia only has 9 players.

Loved David Warner. After hitting the "milk" Steyn for 6. I thought Steyn would try and kill him, but no Big Davo just bitchslapped him over the fence again for 6. I don't know if even the great AC Gilchrist could do that.

Loved the Hussey catch being likened to Riewoldt flying for a grab. Onya Warney.

Was surrounded by people who knew very little about the game. How is this for a comment?

How can South Africa have lost 9 wickets and still be batting? Australia only has 9 players.
Ahahaha. What idiots.

Almost tops one I heard at the one dayer last year vs New Zealand, Australia in the field: 'Wait... so who wicket keeps when Gilchrist comes out to bat'

I could not stop laughing :thumbsu:

Ahahaha. What idiots.

Almost tops one I heard at the one dayer last year vs New Zealand, Australia in the field: 'Wait... so who wicket keeps when Gilchrist comes out to bat'

I could not stop laughing :thumbsu:

Hilfy was bowling quick last night brother. Mid 140's. Loved it.

How'd Tsotsobe look, as awkward as he did on TV?

Yes very unorthodox. Couldn't believe Steyn didn't open the bowling.

His batting technique would give Chris Martin from the Kiwis a run for the worst I've seen.

He wears #68 as well. One less than the lover's number, so I'm sure there's something in that.

Cameron White what a victorian :D
I'm not a fan, but that was some exceptional hitting tonight. Some exceptional luck too, but it's all about making it count.

Jean Paul would be kicking himself, went from a hero with that catch of Dussey to a villain with totally misjudging Whites miss hit. Parnell also for that last over of his that went for like 17 after it should have been 1 and a wicket.

Dave must be feeling rather unlucky, in form with the bat but as soon as he gets on theinternational scene seems to always pick out the fielders or they do something special to get him out. Lucky he's a pretty decent off spinner in his own right.

Hilfy was bowling quick last night brother. Mid 140's. Loved it.
Yep, plenty of movement as well. Missed last nights match but his figures looked good, I assume it was more of the same. Thing is I reckon he's much more suited to the longer forms, imagine what he could do if he got a gig in the real stuff.
Felt bad for D Huss, finally got to bat with his brother on the international stage, then goes out to a freak catch
What a catch though. I reckon we'll see them in a century partnership soon enough :thumbsu:

Yep, plenty of movement as well. Missed last nights match but his figures looked good, I assume it was more of the same. Thing is I reckon he's much more suited to the longer forms, imagine what he could do if he got a gig in the real stuff.

What a catch though. I reckon we'll see them in a century partnership soon enough :thumbsu:

With Siddle's injury now and Lee and Clark also out injured, Hilfenhaus would have to be a good chance for the ODI team and test squad for SA.

I thought Tait has been very impressive so far in the T20's too but not sure if he can translate that into test form. He has bowled well in T20's and ODI's before but then bowled rubbish in tests.

I didn't see last night (although his figures didn't look great) but in the first T20 I thought Taity had a really great first over when the Saffers couldn't figure out his pace and then afterwards got found out. Essentially he was bowling absolute pies with poor control, just really really fast pies but once Duminy sussed on and got his eye in he Tait no chance.

Don't mind him in T20 or probably even ODI but there's no way he could maintain his pace in the test arena. And once his pace drops off he transforms into a verrrry ordinary bowler.

Hilfy was ordinary last night. Got his line wrong a bit, but it/s 20/20 and that happens.

Don't mind him in T20 or probably even ODI but there's no way he could maintain his pace in the test arena. And once his pace drops off he transforms into a verrrry ordinary bowler.

Tait would get smashed in Tests. Can't keep the pressure on. Spot on Tassie, once his pace drops off, he's fence material.

I can't understand how Shaun Marsh is getting a gig. Hodgey and at least 3 other blokes are miles ahead of him.

Tait would get smashed in Tests. Can't keep the pressure on. Spot on Tassie, once his pace drops off, he's fence material.

I can't understand how Shaun Marsh is getting a gig. Hodgey and at least 3 other blokes are miles ahead of him.

IPL form, that's the only reasons selectors have picked him and they've said as much that they picked him on the past and the future of Australian short form cricket. Pretty much the same with Ronchi since you could make a case for Crossie, Paine, Manou before him yet they persist with him as well.