Ty Zantuck

tigertime said:
Are we so spud headed to think frawley decided to get rid of knights all on his own?? Who was the beneficiary. Why wont knights come back with frawley gone....

My thoughts are I would prefer knights to be playing next year and leading the club and campbell to have been axed.

Campbell has never been in knights league on any level... His stop and prop game is that of a selfish player...

I agree with everything else that has been said here though..

I think zanners will be a good player for us now that we have a decent coach..

If he had a decent captain last year, he wouldnt be in this position to begin with.

Mate you are basically saying that Campbell is a dud and Zantuck is a good player. I'm not sure if you even warrant a reply to such stupidity but here goes....

Campbell has been adjudged our best player by four different coaches, has been all australian twice and played in the International rules series on multiple occasions. How isn't he on Knights' level? What has Knights accomplished?

Knights' biggest claim to fame is his performance in the 1995 final v Essendon. Well let me ask you, who was adjudged our best player for that year? And also, in 2001 when we reached the finals, Campbell was our second best player for the year and during the finals, he was easily our best player for the series.

So again, how is he not on Knights' level?

1980 said:
Maybe John F, but what if they do the same with the gun recruits we pick up in the draft this year? OK to mess with Zantuck who's done nothing, but if Fiora imporves at the Saints, it says a lot about our team leaders and senior players.

The cancer is the senior players as far as I'm concerned. They've been there all along whilst the team has been winning wooden spoons. And its Spuds cosy relationship with them which made him even more ineffective as a coach. Not enough to get rid of Spud. Get the rest of the culprits to walk the plank

The Saints were a better team when they got rid of Lowe, Burke and Everritt

1980, Zantuck is a dud. Fiora is an even bigger dud. You don't hear anyone of substance complaining down there. it's always the losers who want to look at everyone but themselves for excuses.

I agree the leadership group is crap/nonexistent at the moment, and Zantuck may have legitimate concerns with the leadership group but that is not the reason he has done FA during his tenure. For that he can look to himself.

1980 said:
Good for you Tigertime. He's always been a selfish player, more interested in his kicks tally than the team win. Inventor of the quick kick throwing the ball onto the boot and straight up in the air. Always looking over his shoulder when he gets the ball cos he's $hit scared of copping a tackle.

Worst choice for RFC captain of all time. I cant think of a worse capatain we've had at the club

Over to you JF

ROFLFMAOOOOO 1980, thanks for the bait mate.

Quick kicks, taking too long to kick the ball, which is it?

For the former, its called having reflexes, in the case of the latter, its called having a footy brain and wanting to size up your options. he may take forever to move the ball on sometimes, and I get frustrated by that myself, but unlike 90 percent of our list he always hits a target.

As for being a pussy and being scared of getting tackled, mate, how did he earn 2 all Australian guernseys in the midfield if he is such a pussy? How does he rank being one of the premier midfielders (prior to this year) in clearances if he is such a pussy?

LOL

JohnF your a star

these bozos wouldnt have a clue what a decent player is or what it takes to be a decent player.

these are the same clowns that have praised the likes of Hall, Fiora, Pettifer, Flemming, Rogers, D Kellaway, Rodan and now Zantuck when they have or had produced 1 good game every blue moon

It's ok though after years of useless and substandard performances it would be easy for one to get confused between a player who can play and one that shouldnt have even pulled on an AFL jumper.

PRR, I'm glad my words aren't being wasted on everyone around here.

Campbell may not be the greatest player we've ever had but he has been the one guy in the last 20 years you could be confident in to play a decent game each week.

He has also been one of the few players at the club with any vision or direction when looking at the bigger picture. His demure personality has never made him a fan favourite, and the mob have always preferred to see the theatrics of someone like Zantuck putting a guys head into the turf that is half his size, than acknowledge someone who runs his guts out and does the percentage plays.

Having the mentality to take the side of a fool like Zantuck over a near 300 game player who has done everything for the club is just a symptom of the rabble we have become.

JohnF said:

Campbell may not be the greatest player we've ever had but he has been the one guy in the last 20 years you could be confident in to play a decent game each week.

He has also been one of the few players at the club with any vision or direction when looking at the bigger picture. His demure personality has never made him a fan favourite, and the mob have always preferred to see the theatrics of someone like Zantuck putting a guys head into the turf that is half his size, than acknowledge someone who runs his guts out and does the percentage plays.

Having the mentality to take the side of a fool like Zantuck over a near 300 game player who has done everything for the club is just a symptom of the rabble we have become.
Spot on JohnF I don't think any of us Campbell followers on this board make him out to be a champion, but he's definetly a better than average player and not the dud that some here make him out to be.

I don’t know if he knifed Knighta in the back, but a decent hissy fit – boo hoo, I’m leaving – and then suddenly he was captain a few years later and Knighta wasn’t. I know who I’d rather have. Knights was a champion in every word – person, player, team mate, etc. etc. and I’m sure he’ll be remembered more for just his efforts in the ’95 semi – pretty insulting to a great player, John.

You would have to be deluded if you think a guy like Voss wouldn’t have at least won a few more games off his own boot than Campbell would have in any era he’s played. Can’t remember too many Weenie’s won off his own boot. Hey, we’re talking Rolls Royces and Volkswagens here, John – I wouldn’t have brought up a comparison in Voss to enhance Campbell’s position – an embarrassing one me thinks, as he’s the best leader I’ve ever seen IMO.

"What were you saying about him in the years 1992, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2002 when he was finishing in the top 2 of the best and fairest at the club?"

Me personally, I was thinking what a sad indictment for such a soft player to be our best – a pretty crappy era. You talk about bagging him when he’s at the end of his career. IMO, his best year was at the later part of his career in 2002 I think, when he actually showed some of those qualities you’ve been seeing (but no-one else has). I’ll give him 2002 and nothing else. Quite amazed me that year – but then I think he got injured, which was a shame because he was on a roll and could have left the club leaving people with a different image of him.

"If you care to look up any stats on clangers you will find Campbell has less than the likes of Hird, Buckley, Voss, Ricciutto, Crawford, West"

Lies, damn lies and footy statistics. I hate statistics when you’ve got players like Campbell – I’d rather have any one of those players you mentioned at the end of their careers than Campbell in his prime – again, you’re talking about leaders who actually win games for their clubs – bad comparison again me thinks!

Of course Wayne is valued by his coaches – I’m sure he has a great work ethic, and does all the right things off the track, and is a handy contributor on field, and is a mystery to me and I bet a few others how he won All Australian. But as far as on field leadership and being a great player worthy enough to win all those B&Fs and other accolades, I don’t see it. Getting thirty touches a game is great if their effective disposals. Flying the flag – seen it once in a 5 second piece of something that looked like a Three Stooges skit – taking on the smallest man in the league – bet you were proud of that effort lol

Zantuck may be a tosser, but he does show a modicum of fire and under a good coach who can bridle that, he will be a good player. Martin Pike was a tosser – how many premierships later to his belt. He just needs a decent coach who can direct his and everybody else’s fire on the opposition instead of fighting their team mates off field. Zantuck is an unknown quantity, and is useless to compare him to Campbell – two different types of players – but I know which one I’d prefer.

Back to my meditation lol

lol, go back to your meditation froars. By the way where you been?

Got a couple points though before you go.

How was Campbell able to gain all those awards if there were Champions like Knights (and Richardson, Broderick, Gale and other fan favourites) in the team? Surely Knights should have had about 6 best and fairests if you want to call him clearly better than Campbell. Does he though?

About Voss. Well (not that they are on the same level) we attempted to bring in Kane Johnson, a quality player to boost out team. Did it work? Nope. The year after we brought in another quality player in Brown? Did he have any effect? None at all. To me this shows that there is problems with our list that go deeper than one player or two. And for that reason, i don't think even an outstanding player like Voss would have been able to make a difference to our team. We were getting thumped by big margins most weeks and even Voss, for as good as he is, wouldn't have made that much difference. We still would have been last. No team stands with a few good players alone.

About preferring Hird, Voss and Buckley etc. over Campbell, who wouldn't? Just dispelling a myth that he wastes the football. That's bullschit. He's one of the most accurate disposers of the footy there is. By the way I'd take him over Shane Crawford as a player. Just becuase he doesn't release videos about himself and have his head in the media spotlight doesn't mean he's an inferior player.

As for flying the flag against Liberatore, yes that was an embarassing moment. He is no fighter. Just interesting to note though that one of the few times he has shown emotion on the field it was to stand up for the bloke who he backstabbed and hated. Funny that.

Pike was at the right place at the right time. Having said that, he is a way better footballer than Ty Zantuck.

Anyway, for those thinking Zantuck is redeemable, i'll bring him up in two years when he is no longer playing AFL (like he is now, LMFAO) and we'll talk then.

Now, back to my frikken uni essays, lol

I wish people would realise that Cambpell is not the problem!!!

The duds that have been in and out of the side over the last twenty odd years have been the problem and a culture that no coach has been able to fix.

Campell only causes angst in supporters because his status has been elevated by a crap side around him. Yes his B & Fs collection can't be compared to players from good sides but that is not his fault.

I dont understand why people give it to Campbell and yet players like Justin Plapp and Rodan become cult favourites for simply looking like they might be good.

Realisation is more than potential. Supporters seem to hold players who have yet to be even have played a good season,even played for the club in greater awe that Campbell.

True 1980GFVideo. I think most are just desperate to find the messiah who will turn things around for us, and they get excited at any sign of potential. Seeing that Campbell has had his time, been captain of the club and has failed to deliver success, people get rancorous towards him. (Mind you they were rancorous towards him before he became captain).

Like Daniel Jackson for example. The kid might plateau and be a less than average player, but people already have him in contention for being the biggest surprise packet of the last ten years! Amazing..

“lol, go back to your meditation froars. By the way where you been?”

Trying to get enthused about footy and life John lol. I am a footy Internet junkie and I have joined AA for footy Internet Junkies. Part of the treatment is to ban yourself and try and not post. But bastards keep on bringing up these little “teasers”, and I can’t help myself lol. And if I see another post rating Wallace’s performance after one month in the caper, or a post saying we’re gonna make the finals next year, I don’t know what I’ll do lol. Geez ppl, little steps – but long term vision lol!

“How was Campbell able to gain all those awards if there were Champions like Knights (and Richardson, Broderick, Gale and other fan favourites) in the team? Surely Knights should have had about 6 best and fairests if you want to call him clearly better than Campbell. Does he though?”

I guess if the fans cast the votes, there might have been a different result. A bit of – how do you put it – rogering might have been a good career move lol. One of life’s mysteries John.

Hey, I don’t hate Campbell (well, as much as I used to – time heals :) ) – but I don’t think I’m blinkered either to any player. I’ve seen games when I think he hasn’t done much, and then I go home and watch the replay and see him pop up everywhere. But in none of those games – or very rarely, does he stamp his authority on a game. He is a good player, but you’re talking about him as an out and out champion, which I just don’t see – what is it to you that sets him above the contributions of the Richos, Brodericks, Gales, Knights etc. I value things differently. How many times did we see someone like Benny go back into the backline and time and time save a game. Knightas silky skills, fantastic kicking – a definite stand out in a team of kicking spazzes lol. And Richo has won a game or two on his own. I value these efforts more than a person who gets a 100 disposals, and we still don’t win a game. Brown you mentioned, I saw more from him in the first half of this season in actually showing “quality”, good value leadership than we’ve seen in a long time from any player. The only problem with Brown is we should have got him earlier – too late now. I even rate someone like Fleming - so go figure what's in my head lol

Now stop doing this to me. How can someone avoid a Cambo bashing thread lol.

See you in the new year, John – I hope I can hang out till then and save myself lol. Made some early new years resolutions:

. Get rid of 10 email accounts I’ve got floating around cyberspace
. Every time I hear something funny, not to reply with LOL – still not working lol
. To stop logging on at 4am in the morning and actually consider other activities :D
. When my daughter visits, I might actually speak to her instead of giving her the quick once over and an even quicker hi lol
. Become the world’s worst guitarist
. Become a great wine taster
. Get a good tan
. Not think of the RFC (except for draft) until the praccie matches

Cya

Ty Zantuck is a head case ................. period

I have a long standing saying that i will stand by to my grave .

" For every bloke who plays AFL footy , there are three who could have ."

Every bloke who makes it onto an AFL list has talent . It`s whether that bloke has the work ethic , the intelligence , the discipline , the persona , the dedication , to be able to establish themselves at the elite level .

How long do you persist with someone like Ty Zantuck ? It`s the $64,000 question isn`t it . Does he have those qualities ? We all know he has the ability .

The sad fact is that all we have seen so far is Zantuck is a failure at the elite level , that is fact . So how long does the RFC persist with him ? That question has been answered . But worse though , from my perspective , is not only his own failings , but the effect he has on the rest of the playing group , in particular , the young blokes . Word is , the senior players have had enough and there is no going back . He may well go on and be a decent player for another club but , his bridges are burnt at punt rd. and there is no going back from that .

I`ll wager that in 3 years time he will be washed up , he is a complete tool who dosen`t have what it takes to make it .......IMO

lmfaoooooo, fair enough froars, shouldn't agitate ya whilst you're in rehab, lllollll
Good idea not to get addicted. I'll need to go into rehab as soon as my studies finish too.

You are right about a fan vote for who our best player is. Campbell would never win one of those.

I guess what makes me appreciate Campbell is that I have a bit of a penchant for praising those that are unsung. Like you said, watching heaps of games live he doesn't seem to have much of an impact, and the big grabs of players like Richo, Gale and the skills of Knighta are what stand out in the memory when you recall parts of matches.

But if you watch what he does closely you realise how many things this guy does, and how well he does them. He just seems to do the simple things well and and does them pretty much consistently. He hardly ever went missing throughout his career and hardly ever turned the ball over, contrary to popular opinion.

I don't consider him one of the games elite, but he is one of those very good players like Cameron Ling, Adam Simpson, Darryn Creswell, who are smart operators who don't do anything really exciting but play good, consistent footy. I suppose that's the key to why he always did well in the B&F counts: consistency. He was at least serviceable every game, rather than being tremendous one week and horrible the next.

And hey, if you are getting 24 touches a game for over a decade with a low clanger count you can't be that bad.

Anyway, good luck with your new year resolutions!

IDGAF said:
Ty Zantuck is a head case ................. period

I have a long standing saying that i will stand by to my grave .

" For every bloke who plays AFL footy , there are three who could have ."

Every bloke who makes it onto an AFL list has talent . It`s whether that bloke has the work ethic , the intelligence , the discipline , the persona , the dedication , to be able to establish themselves at the elite level .

How long do you persist with someone like Ty Zantuck ? It`s the $64,000 question isn`t it . Does he have those qualities ? We all know he has the ability .

The sad fact is that all we have seen so far is Zantuck is a failure at the elite level , that is fact . So how long does the RFC persist with him ? That question has been answered . But worse though , from my perspective , is not only his own failings , but the effect he has on the rest of the playing group , in particular , the young blokes . Word is , the senior players have had enough and there is no going back . He may well go on and be a decent player for another club but , his bridges are burnt at punt rd. and there is no going back from that .

I`ll wager that in 3 years time he will be washed up , he is a complete tool who dosen`t have what it takes to make it .......IMO

Hear hear IDGAF, I'll make the same wager, but I'll say he doesn't have more than 2 years left in the AFL.

I was a big Knights fan and at the time he lost the captaincy I thought he was harshly dealt with. But, although I think Knights was a more skilful player, I think Campbell has actually been a better leader on and off the field. For mine, knights has slightly tarnished his image the way he carried on like a sooky lala after losing the captaincy.

And for those who criticise Campbell for wanting to leave the club, remember this. Jack Dyer requested a clearance to Collingwood before he had even played a game for us, and once walked out on the club when he was a Richmond player. He still went on to be captain, coach and Richmond legend.

p.s. How players like Campbell and Knights even get brought up in a thread about a fringe player like Zantuck has me beat.

JohnF said:

FROFLMFAFOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

U sik ********.

LMAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

If Zantuck can work out his problems with those players and stays with us, this could be a huge bonus because he has alot of talent and he may realise that playing for the Wallace Tigers is a great thing :D. Pity Ottens doesn't realise that. If he did, he would have stayed and we wouldn't have needed to give away Fiora for Simmonds. I think we would have seen the best of Fiora, Ottens and Zantuck on a permanent basis, because Wallace is a top coach ;). But we have lost them pretty much and this is a step backwards for the start of Wallaces coaching period for us, but we'll cover that quickly

madtiger2005 said:
If Zantuck can work out his problems with those players and stays with us, this could be a huge bonus because he has alot of talent and he may realise that playing for the Wallace Tigers is a great thing :D. Pity Ottens doesn't realise that. If he did, he would have stayed and we wouldn't have needed to give away Fiora for Simmonds. I think we would have seen the best of Fiora, Ottens and Zantuck on a permanent basis, because Wallace is a top coach ;). But we have lost them pretty much and this is a step backwards for the start of Wallaces coaching period for us, but we'll cover that quickly
Sorry mate but you are talking shyte

The essencece , the nucleus , the root of all evil , as regards to why we are currently in the position we are in ....... IS ........ persisting with players who are over rated , over payed , thier hearts just aren`t in it , don`t have the ability .

Don`t you get tired of trtting out the same old excuses ? But if we got a decent coach ? etc. etc . etc .

The top clubs of years gone by generally give a bloke 2-3 years and if they don`t work out then they trade them off to clubs like us and we hold onto them for 5-7 years thinking we can turn them around ......... no more ,please .

Seriously..............RALMFAO @ not being happy at trading Simmonds for Fiora

But other clubs haven't been coached by Frawley lol. Ur telling me that Ottens wasn't good enough to keep? lol. Our game plan was shocking and I'm telling u that Zantuck, Ottens and Fiora would be quality players in a team with a game plan. Wallace would still have them on our list if they didn't want to leave and if we weren't forced to trade.

Dopey Darth said: John F your response to these halfwits was everything i wanted to say but couldnt be bothered. well said, well said.

Kretchy said: Spot on JohnF

Dearest Peejay said: Hear hear JF

ALL A PACK OF SUX :D lol

Ty Zantuck