U/18 National Championships

Thanks for your summary BluesFan78. Good Read.

Care to have a stab at naming your Top 10 in draftable order as was done earlier in the thread? Do you think there are any other potential draftees besides Cornelius and Robinson?

Matt Burgan (who is well-known for his Phantom Draft's) had a little write-up of the Vic Metro vs Tas game on the AFL website, and seem to only notice possessions and not effectiveness as you indicated. Here's a part of it:

"For Tassie, Tom Salter continued his excellent carnival with a game-high 26 disposals, as did Hunter Harrison Medallist Mitch Robinson and teammate Jesse Crichton, who both collected 21 touches each. "

Yes it seems they get caught up in possesions rather then whether they can play or not.

Cornelius - Good player, struggling at this years U18 carnival as he is recieivng more attention from better KPP from Div1, this is probably the biggest dif in Div2 and 1 i think, there KPP are much better. But he has proven himself in the Devils and is a genuine talent 1st round still for me.

Robinson - Overage but cant ignore the fact that he just about been Tassies best every time he has wore the map, not sure how much recruiters care about him being 1 year older, 2nd or 3rd round for me.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I beleive that after Cornelius and Robinson the chances of the rest drop considerbly.

McCulloch - Has been talked to by Adeliade which is where the mariners previous coach is now a recruiter, for alot of KPP players their performances are not always as important as their potential. Because of this i beleive Bart is probably the only other boy who has a chance of being picked up in the normal draft this year.

The rest will probably struggle to be picked up, perhaps in the rookie.
Hislop - Mihocek - Milne - Williams are in this category.

Agree with you on that one Tiger, it seems even Cornelius is slipping in a lot of people's minds. Initially he was touted on BigFooty as a Top 10, but a lot have concerns about his height as a KPP.

Any chance you would like to have a crack at lisitng the Top 10 of them in 'draftable' order? I'd go:

1. Cornelius
2. Robinson

3. Salter
4. Allwright
5. Williams
6. Milne
7. McCulloch
8. Mihocek
9. Cox
10. O'Brien

I'd also add Crichton, however I belive he is too young for this year's draft.

Very good effort - quite close to the mark.

I'd have:

1. Cornelius
2. Robinson

3. Salter
4. McCulloch
5. Mihocek
6. Williams
7. Hislop
8. Milne
9. Allright
10. O'Brien

I've coached a few of these young blokes as juniors and know a couple really well

Jesse Crichton is a really interesting one. He's one i've had a lot to do with as i played footy with his Dad for the last 10 years and taught him at school. From a development perspective and based on some of the comments above he should get a chance in the next couple of years. I played him in a finals series as a skinny kid (alongside his dad) in the NEFU seconds two years ago and he was great, bigger bodies of older, hard men weren't a problem. Had another terrific year for Branxholm last year in a team full of kids that got smashed every week. Interestingly, if you base his physical development on his dad (Brett), then this will excite afl clubs. His father is round 6' 2" or 3" and played at about 85 to 90 kg. Runs like a gazelle and did it all day. Could stand on an opponents shoulders from a step. Some older readers here might remember him playing for Scottsdale and representing the NTFL in carnivals as a tall wingman. Very similar type player as Brett Burton. Jesse's biggest drawback is that he's not the sharpest tool in the shed.

I've also coached Thomas Salter and Shaun Collis.

I've coached a few of these young blokes as juniors and know a couple really well

Jesse Crichton is a really interesting one. He's one i've had a lot to do with as i played footy with his Dad for the last 10 years and taught him at school. From a development perspective and based on some of the comments above he should get a chance in the next couple of years. I played him in a finals series as a skinny kid (alongside his dad) in the NEFU seconds two years ago and he was great, bigger bodies of older, hard men weren't a problem. Had another terrific year for Branxholm last year in a team full of kids that got smashed every week. Interestingly, if you base his physical development on his dad (Brett), then this will excite afl clubs. His father is round 6' 2" or 3" and played at about 85 to 90 kg. Runs like a gazelle and did it all day. Could stand on an opponents shoulders from a step. Some older readers here might remember him playing for Scottsdale and representing the NTFL in carnivals as a tall wingman. Very similar type player as Brett Burton. Jesse's biggest drawback is that he's not the sharpest tool in the shed.

I've also coached Thomas Salter and Shaun Collis.

From all reports Salter was outstanding on Saturday.

Great kid, hard and does alot of unrewarded stuff.

i like the boy!

Im really pleased for Thomas. He's just a really good kid form a nice family. Very dedicated to his footy, and while he was a standout as a 11 or 12 year old, he realy has taken his footy to the next level through sheer hard work. Has made many sacrafices that many kids who were 14 or 15 onwards would not be prepared to make. Case in point another kid i coached and played alongside, Nic Sutton, who now plays with North. I reckon he's a more natural footballer than Salty, but lacks the inner drive to really have a crack.

Hey Big H, reading alot of your posts you seem to know alot of about the boys from North Launceston, they must be doing something right there as they have I beleive 7 kids in the mariners this year.
I have already heard your take on Jesse Crichton and Tom Salter, know anything about these ones?
Nick Johnston
Shaun Collis
Jesse Higgs
Beau Thorpe
Jamie Clippingdale

I know a bit about most of them, would be interesting to hear how others percieve these kids...

Cheers Bluesfan, i only know of the boys i mentioned really as i had a bit to do with them in the North East. Shaun Collis is from Ringarooma and another really likeable kid. Probably hasn't got the upside of the other boys, but is a really hard worker with nice skills. I hope he does well but seems to me is often overlooked when playing for Tassie and doesn't get a fair showing?

The other boys i can't comment on as i've only watched North a few times this year and don't know them too well. FWIW i actually coached Nic and Darius Sutton, Mathew and Adam Viney and Alan O'Sign as well. The problem with North is that they are full of short people. If they could recruit a spine to ad support around some of the blokes they've got they'd be a fair side.

Also, keep an eye out for a young bloke playing for Scottsdale atm, Joey Robinson. Year younger than Jesse Crichton, but i rate him higher than both Salty and Jesse at the same age. He's pretty driven as well so i hope to see him start pushing up for u18 selection next year.

Cheers Bluesfan, i only know of the boys i mentioned really as i had a bit to do with them in the North East. Shaun Collis is from Ringarooma and another really likeable kid. Probably hasn't got the upside of the other boys, but is a really hard worker with nice skills. I hope he does well but seems to me is often overlooked when playing for Tassie and doesn't get a fair showing?

The other boys i can't comment on as i've only watched North a few times this year and don't know them too well. FWIW i actually coached Nic and Darius Sutton, Mathew and Adam Viney and Alan O'Sign as well. The problem with North is that they are full of short people. If they could recruit a spine to ad support around some of the blokes they've got they'd be a fair side.

Also, keep an eye out for a young bloke playing for Scottsdale atm, Joey Robinson. Year younger than Jesse Crichton, but i rate him higher than both Salty and Jesse at the same age. He's pretty driven as well so i hope to see him start pushing up for u18 selection next year.

Yes as i posted earlier, Collis didnt seem to get much game time in Hobart vs Metro but when he was on he did very well, had no trouble finding the footy. From what i read in the papers and what ive seen, he is playing very well for north, been in there bests often.
Yes they are very short, doesnt help that there CHF is out with injury either. If they can keep all the good mids they have and recruit even just 2 or 3 talls next year they could be very good.
Joey Robinson, he missed out on state U16s this year, was one i thought would have probably have made it. Hopefully he doesnt take it to hard because he definately has the potential to make U18s.

Here we all go on about the kids getting drafted..from this year cornelius and robinson will go and maybe even allwright (the kid has preformed at seniors level) but for next year draft probaly the real only chance from tasmania is young Liam Jones.
I remember watching him last year big key forward, very quick, huge leap and best pair of hands for a kid his age!
he is an AIS boy this year but a close friend of his said that he has gone over with a footy scholarship to a school in melbourne and did his knee and thats why he didnt play at the nationals.
I was looking at results from the AIS trip to SA and he featured in the best two or three times, so he is surely going to get drafted and he would have made a good contribution towards tassie's chances!
he in my opinion will be the only one to get drafted next year! c(could still go this year but the knee injury will be hard for him to make it, but you never know)

Here we all go on about the kids getting drafted..from this year cornelius and robinson will go and maybe even allwright (the kid has preformed at seniors level) but for next year draft probaly the real only chance from tasmania is young Liam Jones.
I remember watching him last year big key forward, very quick, huge leap and best pair of hands for a kid his age!
he is an AIS boy this year but a close friend of his said that he has gone over with a footy scholarship to a school in melbourne and did his knee and thats why he didnt play at the nationals.
I was looking at results from the AIS trip to SA and he featured in the best two or three times, so he is surely going to get drafted and he would have made a good contribution towards tassie's chances!
he in my opinion will be the only one to get drafted next year! c(could still go this year but the knee injury will be hard for him to make it, but you never know)

Well you obv dont no much as Jesse Crichton will be drafted next year. I play with him at north and mariners and clubs would take him this year if he was old enough. Much better prospect then laim jones next year. I would say is almost a definate to be taken next year. He's the only one atm getting talked up on the AFL site...

Another for next year i believe will be Joseph Groenewegen, Robert's son. He is still very tall and skinny, but can run and has great skills. Started the nationals well, but has struggled for TOG in the Div 1 series. Has improved immensly in the last two years and expect more in the coming 12 months. He also has the "name" which does help somewhat!

Yeah form what i heard that jesse can play but what i have also heard just a little to skinny and not much weight on him but hopefully he bulks up a bit!
He isnt a better prospect than Jones though i tell you that! Jones has the best set of hands in the state behind cornelius!
yeah i know about jesse getting talked up on the AFL site but Jones got an injury just after he got back form touring with the AIS and is out for the whole year!
he is also the son of former st kilda player Bob Jones! and he could play back in the day aswell!

Impressive WA pushes through Tassie

By Jennifer Witham 2:36 PM Sat 05 July, 2008
Marsh_WA_07_246.jpg

Mitch Marsh kicked four goals for Western Australia

WESTERN AUSTRALIA has taken another step towards defending its NAB AFL under-18 title with a 60-point thrashing of Tasmania at Casey Fields.
In the first of a triple-header of under-18 action on Saturday, WA was simply too strong for Tassie, winning 14.16 (100) to 6.4 (40) on a crisp but sunny morning at the Cranbourne complex.
The Apple Isle side was kept scoreless in the opening term with Western Australia racing to a 24-point lead.
From there, Tasmania was never really in the game as WA moved steadily ahead each term to set up its 10-goal win.
Kane Lucas was the primary ball-winner for WA with 20 disposals, while Mitch Marsh topped scored with four goals, Michael Walters booted three and Chris Yarran two with his seven tackles.
Highly-touted WA pair Nick Naitanui and Daniel Rich had solid games with the former dominating in the ruck with 19 hit-outs, and the latter having 16 touches, including seven entries into the forward 50.
Rich then complemented his day with an impressive running goal in the fourth.
For Tasmania, 2008 HC Harrison Medal winner Mitch Robinson had a game-high 28 disposals, and Jesse Crichton was the side's only multiple goalkicker with two.
Aaron Cornelius was impressive with a big second quarter.

Western Australia 3.6 7.8 10.12 14.16 (100)

Tasmania 0.0 3.3 4.3 6.4 (40)
GOALS
Western Australia:
Marsh 4, Walters 3, Yarran 2, Lucas, DeBoer, Rich, Duncan, Jetta
Tasmania: Crichton 2, Cornelius, McCulloch, Salter, Shade
BEST
Western Australia:
Yarran, Lucas, Naitanui, Fiegert, DeBoer, Rich
Tasmania: Robinson, Crichton, Allwright, Cornelius, Weller, Salter
The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL.

Mitch Robinson yet again! Surely he is a certainty to be drafted now. Good to see Cornelius finally put in a decent game.

Tassie have just been rolled by Vic Country by 98 points in their final game of the U/18 Champs. I listened on some Melbourne radio station who were streaming the call online.

The Tassie boys put up a good fight in the first half and I think they were only down by about 19 points going into the long break. However their major ball-winners in Robinson and Crichton went missing in the 2nd half.

As far as individual performances go for the entire carnival, I am now convinced that only 3 players are possible draftees this year (not including rookie-listings); Cornelius, Robinson & McCulloch

Aaron Cornelius has probably slipped since the start of the draft and will be a late first-rounder at best and may even go as far back as the 2nd round. Obviously has played on the best defenders in the country and is continuously double even triple-teamed, so some leniancy will be given for that, however he probably only showed glimpses of his best during the tournament.

Mitch Robinson has done the opposite to Cornelius and has firmed in many people's phantom drafts to be a possible 1st-rounder and may even go ahead of Cornelius. Going against him may be that he is playing as an overage player at 19 and therefore his development may be ahead of many of his opponents. You can't however argue against his numbers that he has racked up (possibly the most in the championships) and the wat he goes about getting them. Lead from the front for Tassie and was just about BOG in every match. Smokey for the Div 1 medal (Larke?) to go with his Div 2 Harrison medal.

Bart McCulloch is the smokey for me. Big, tall and very athletic. Able to play as a KP forward or push up onto the wing. Many clubs will see a potential for significant upside with this boy and therefore may be prepared to used a 3rd pick to secure his services.

Others who may have a chance at being rookie-listed include Tom Salter, Tom Allwright & Tyson Mihoceck.

Tasmania 2.3 4.3 6.3 6.4 (40)
Vic Country 4.3 7.4 14.6 22.6 (138)

GOALS
Tasmania:
Cornelius 4, Mihocek, Symmons
Vic Country: Butcher 5, Hughes 3, McKenzie 3, Sheehan 3, Blair 2, Browne, Hooper, Jones, Martiniello, Rockliff, Young

BEST
Tasmania:
Robinson (24p + 8 I50's + 5 clearances), Cornelius, Allwright, Williams
Vic Country: Butcher, Sheehan (21), Sidebottom (17), McKenzie, Hooper (18), Suban, Heyne (15 + 10 I50's), Hughes, Jones

Watched this game Ken. They were within 1 goal at about the 5 minute mark of the 3rd quarter and the Vics kicked the last 15 goals of the game. Robinson is a gun, who will go top 20 i reckon.

Trying to find a torrent of it myself Benny. On the Draft boards they are talking up Robinson as a likely 1st-rounder. Tommy Allwright is also getting a bit of a mention, so must have performed Allwright yesterday. Sorry:eek:

Robinson is 19 though. Slides a bit for that IMO.

Whats in it for local clubs?

So if Robinson gets drafted that will be two players from Lauderdale in 2 years.

What will Lauderdale get out of this?

500 bucks/$50,000 ratio is not right in anyones mind.

Is this right?

Shame AFL TAS.

Time the local Jurnos got out of their comfort zone and started asking the hard questions on these matters.

Q. If it goes statewide what would a statewide club get for a drafted player?

A grand?

U/18 National Championships