Ummmm

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

SpringChoke said:
I agree, love the Poms, best sense of humour in the world. All the Pommy sterotypes are so wrong IMO. They could also show us a thing or two about drinking.

Yeah amazing wit. Its such a big part of the culture. For example, you go to a Premiership league game and the chants/retorts from rival fans puts AFL cheering/supporting to shame

And all those great European lagers on tap at most pubs......even Fosters tastes better over there :eek:

Lets hope they dont show us a thing or two about cricket though in a few months. Surely they cant beat us this year, can they?

thanks for the No1 DP I'll take that into mind - I dont know how long i'll stay in Paris I'm only going there at request of my GF !!

I'm looking forward to looking around luckily I have friends in wales and the GF has family in London !!

Hopefully this is the 1st of many trips (planing to go to Croatia 06)

gotta say that edinburgh is my fav city in the whole world, could keep going back there (been twice already). We have booked most of our accommodation in europe at the Ibis' - cheaper than most places, you know exactly what you are getting and they are always close to the main public transport. The best way to see cities in europe is to walk around, you discover lots of lovely things that are often not the 'main' tourist track.

Oh, from Leeds there is a train that goes to edinburgh up the coast that is just lovely, but interesting thing about the train system in england, it is is snowing, has leaves on the track or is windy they won't run!

lovely reading your opinions guys - gotta say that my boy really wants to visit Hungary, mainly from a poster in the airports ;) but in prague he very much enjoyed the views!

No 1 Draft Pick said:
OK heres N1DP itinerary for you. Its all reasonably rushed and ideally another week or so would allow the below itinerary to be done much more leisurely. It all comes down to how much you want to see in a shortish time. Stay in B&B's and enjoy flexibility in your travels

Week 1

Day 1-3 London - my favourite city in the world. You could spend weeks there and just scratch the surfaceDay 4-5 Bath, Cotswolds, Oxford - historic, well preserved towns (Bath, Oxford), Cotwolds also worth a look
Day 6-7 North Wales - lovely scenery and country feel. Just dont try conversing with the locals too much
Day 8 - The 'great' Northern cities of Liverpool, Manchester and Leeds are a possiblity but personally I would skip them and head straight to Scotland. Perhaps overnight in Glasgow
Day 9-13 Scotland - up the west coast to Fort William, Oban perhaps as far as Isle of Skye (which is perhaps overated). Quick stop in Inverness to the east Coast and make your way down to Edinburgh which is worth a day or two (at a minimum)
Day 14 Drive back to London after having lunch in York

Day 15 Fly/Eurostar to ParisDay 16-18 Paris - one of the worlds great cities with so much to see
Day 19-22 4 days to see another couple of places - either train/fly to Amsterdam or alternatively perhaps to Brugge and Brussels which are closer

Ryan Air/Easy Jet are budget airlines flying from London and you can often get great deals

Enjoy

Nice itinerary No 1 and I can back you up on the one's in red having been there about 3 to 4 months ago or so.

I spent 5 days in London - the greatest city in the world to visit - and as you say, you'd need weeks to do it justice. I absolutely loved London. Bath is a must as well, to be able to go back in time 2000 years.

Paris is a must see as well - as you put it - another of the world's great cities.

Brugge and Brussels are worth the visit, and Brugge must be one of the prettiest quaintest towns you'd ever find. I went for a horse and carriage ride around it and saw all the little nooks and crannies you'd normally miss.

I'm getting itchy feet just thinking about it. ;)

I've been struggling for ideas for a few weeks, thanks for the pointers !!

Hopefully I'm in London for the lords test (21-25 July) so i can at least catch 1 day !!

Looks like i'm going to be renting a Car to drive around Ireland and scotland which sounds like fun as well

has anyone been to Limerick ? I new someone from there once and they said I should visit it if ever in Ireland - but I'd say that about my home town as well !!

Also keen to see the isle of man but dont reckon i'll have the time

How do you plan to get around england? The Buses can be quite cheap if you book them early enough - trains can be a problem depending on the weather, but driving a car around is pretty good as long as you have a good map and someone who can follow it (plus stick to the A roads - the B ones are fun but really not a good idea with traffic coming from the opposite direction using the same amount of space as you :eek: )

Capitalist said:
Looks like i'm going to be renting a Car to drive around Ireland and scotland which sounds like fun as well

has anyone been to Limerick ? I new someone from there once and they said I should visit it if ever in Ireland - but I'd say that about my home town as well !!

You're gonna have a ball - we hired a car and drove around Ireland. One of the real highlights of our overseas trip. Make sure you have your evening meals in the pubs and meet the locals - friendly as and great people.

Limierick is okay, no better, no worse than the rest of Ireland, which is all great.

The pea of Ireland without a doubt is Killarney, and to drive around a peninsula of land called the Ring of Kerry, which has got the lot.

http://www.ringofkerrytourism.com/whattosee.html

Definitely stay at the B&B's - they are 1st class and much cheaper and better than staying in hotels. This the B&B we stayed at in Killarney - absolutely magnificent, and no dearer than the rest.

http://www.crystalspringsbb.com/

You're gonna have a ball!!

oh a a little hint for the guiness and the jameson's factories - you actually don't have to pay to get in, only if you want the "free" stuff - like a 14 euro pint of guiness which you can just pay for much cheaper anyway in the skybar (although you do get a nice little plastic paperweight too but you end up spending quite a bit in the shop anyway ;) ) and if you get selected as a whiskey taster at Jameson's, and you get 3 or 4 drinks at each of the bars there for your ticket so well worth the price. I just think that guiness is VERY overpriced. If you get to go up Northern Ireland, giants causeway is a must and the bushmills whiskey distillery is one that russ and I are kicking ourselves that we didn't do (oldest one in the world)

just to get you in the mood - the gorgeous Giant's Causeway

IMGP1037.jpg

IMGP1039.jpg

Alright i'll have a go:

London: First things first, get hold of a TNT magazine ( free at most tube stations ), heaps of travel info.
Beatles Walk - excellent,
Jack the Ripper Walk - Brilliant, highlight was beers afterwards at the ten bells,
Tower - Didn't go, mates said it was really good,
London Dungeon - tacky but enjoyable,
Farringdon Prison - Ask at Farringdon station for directions. Go in the morning and then have lunch ( don't take GF ) at the Griffins Head - very tacky strip bar, but good laugh.
Buckingham palace - Did a tour - execellent,
Go to the Theatre - not a big fan but when in Rome,
Go to an Aussie/Kiwi bar - Red Back use to be okay,
Soho,
Chinatown,
Walk ( stagger ) from Trafalgar Square to Piccadilly Circus,
Harrods/ Madame Tusseuds - For the GF,
English Pubs - great laugh,
English footy - London Derby,
Thames evening boat cruise,
Brixton Academy - Great place to see bands.

England: - Cornwall,
Bath,
York,
Blackpool - very tacky, but great fun. brilliant theme park, scary roller coaster,
Liverpool - soccer if possible, the Cavan,
Manchester - soccer if possible,
Lake District - Alton Towers - Theme Park,
Oxford,
English countryside.

Wales:

Very average, Cardiff and Swansea just other cities, countryside is beautiful.

Scotland:

Edinburgh - I agree with Nikki, one of the best cities in the world. Plenty of drinking and sight seeing. Make sure you do the ghosts of the old city walk and a similar walk, same company ( name escapes me ) - errie and fascinating. If you have limited time in Scotland, spend the majority of it in Edinburgh.
Stirling,
Inverness,
Amazing country side,
Loch Ness
Castles.

Ireland: Dublin- see Edinburgh, great pubs - drink plenty of guinness,
Galway - Nice beachside city,
Countryside,
Cork,
Belfast - I didn't go mates said it was good.

BTW I drove through Limerick but my irish GF said there was nothing worth stopping to see.

Paris - Amazing city - Don't go unless you can spend at least 2 nights/2 days.

Found belfast to be a little on the boring side - but then again it was a long weekend and I think the locals had all disappeared elsewhere. Although the large grafitti on the building directly opposite our hotel with was interesting to wake up to every day!
IMGP1055.jpg

Dublin VERY expensive for a drink and other things but great vibe in the city.

Tower is all good - except on the beefeater tour when they ask if anyone is from Australia and if you say yes they answer "welcome home" - not for part of my family it ain't!! but the beefeaters are great and funny and very informative (and it's free in the admission price). London eye is supposedly really good too if you can get on around sunset and see the city start to light up. Just wander around is the best thing to do in London itself and trust me the tube stations are not that far apart from each other. Not been to see buckingham palace yet but caught a train out to Hampton Court Palace - brilliant and leave a whole day aside for it and see if you can make it through the maze fully with only 2 wrong turns to beat my record! I still want to go back as I didn't get to see it all.

The Borders area in Scotland is really nice, with all the ruined abbeys etc and I can give you the name of a cool castle to visit that cost all of £2 to get into, looked really small on the outside but gives you an amazing idea of what it was really like to live in a castle. Drove from Edinburgh up to inverness and back in one day and shocked the owners of the b&b we were staying at as they would never have been able to do it. Loch Ness is not as impressive as you would think - go on a little more scenic route on the way up past some of the other lochs (towards fort william) and you get some great views, especially the church up on the top of the hill.

www.visitbritain.org is a good site to get some ideas and if you are a member of the National Trust in Australia you can get into all the National Trust stuff here on a reciprocal arrangement and is much cheaper.

If you need any other ideas, give me a bell and I can help you with some local info ;)

No 1 Draft Pick said:
No Pantsman details though ;) :D

ah the pantsman...

personally I think there is no reason why the crows could not have cheerleaders like that... all they have to do is start auditions down at the crazy horse. sorted. ;)

NikkiNoo said:
Found belfast to be a little on the boring side

You should have grabbed a drummer and a trumpeter and walked around busking... in orange.

That would've stirred some excitement.

dyertribe said:
You should have grabbed a drummer and a trumpeter and walked around busking... in orange.

That would've stirred some excitement.

giggle - I don't think I would be chatting away here today if I did that - especially considering the street we were staying on. Although I never felt unsafe at all in that city, just felt like a really big country town (but much slower than adelaide!) - although I didn't get out to the suburbs at all, which might have a different feel to them.

NikkiNoo said:
giggle - I don't think I would be chatting away here today if I did that - especially considering the street we were staying on. Although I never felt unsafe at all in that city, just felt like a really big country town (but much slower than adelaide!) - although I didn't get out to the suburbs at all, which might have a different feel to them.

:)

All in all it sounds like you enjoyed yourself, I hope to do a tour of there and the rest of Britain and Ireland one day... I'll just be sure to leave the Sunkist polo at home. ;)

The Crows girls definately need a "refurbishment" if I can put it that way, none opf them did anything for me in those photo's but to be fair, they were not of great quality.

I actually went to school with one of them didnt do anything for me then and doesnt do anything for me now.

Blue Red and Gold said:
The Crows girls definately need a "refurbishment" if I can put it that way, none opf them did anything for me in those photo's but to be fair, they were not of great quality.

I actually went to school with one of them didnt do anything for me then and doesnt do anything for me now.

Wait until you reach the old farts stage, they would.
Right Noddy?

Infact they do to my mate. Waiting, waiting, waiting...............

Markthirtytwo said:
Wait until you reach the old farts stage, they would.
Right Noddy?

Infact they do to my mate. Waiting, waiting, waiting...............

female, breathing and willing to wear skimpy clothes regardless of if most people wish they wouldn't are his standards? really he should move to the uk ;)