Roast Umpires

Can anyone make montage videos?

I'd like one to be made of all the non free kicks got by the Eagles today so that I can send it straight to Gieschen. Absolutely disgraceful.

If by doing this you get dean Margetts banished to the wafl forever, you will be doing everyone at west coast a massive favour.

You get him once or twice a year. we put up with the useless prick every second week. amazed a few went our way this week

I've noticed the disdain you guys have for him.

Isn't he a mad Eagles supporter?
Hadn't heard that before the post on here.

In fact guy on the Eagles board said he was hated at his footy club because Margetts had also played there and was a very vocal Eagles hater.

Umpires defeat Essendon? Seriously?

F-ing embarrassing. Grow up.
:thumbsu:
The umpiring was VERY bad yesterday, but calls of match-fixing and umpiring having any effect on the outcome... Spare me. Laughable.

On a side note, have never been to a game in WA, so don't have any prior thoughts about them, but from tv last night, I'm wondering if they are the biggest bunch of flogs ever. Apart from clearly having the rub of the umpires they were not just in disagreement with Watson getting a free kick for high contact, they seemed to be absolutely ropeable. :confused::confused: Was as clear a free kick and 3+ week suspension as they come. Can someone who was at the game clarify if there was something that I missed from watching tv? Cos it certainly came across as though they went bananas at the giving of that free.

it was baffling when two essendon players collided, embley out of the action just standing behind them and the umpire pays a free kick to Embley!

apparently its now illegal for essendon players to bump into one another.

the umpiring was a disgrace. worth about 10 goals to the eagles.

The umpiring was VERY bad yesterday, but calls of match-fixing and umpiring having any effect on the outcome... Spare me. Laughable.

On a side note, have never been to a game in WA, so don't have any prior thoughts about them, but from tv last night, I'm wondering if they are the biggest bunch of flogs ever. Apart from clearly having the rub of the umpires they were not just in disagreement with Watson getting a free kick for high contact, they seemed to be absolutely ropeable. :confused::confused: Was as clear a free kick and 3+ week suspension as they come. Can someone who was at the game clarify if there was something that I missed from watching tv? Cos it certainly came across as though they went bananas at the giving of that free.
I was at the game and saw the replay about 2 or 3 times on the screen. It simply didn't look like any high contact at all. I haven't had the benefit of seeing it on TV so don't know if high contact was made so I have to rely on what others tell me for the time being. For what it is worth, we did get a good run with the umpires which surprised me as Margetts was umpiring. He usually crucifies us and he and his cohorts nearly pushed Freo over the line in a game they basically were never in.

I don't feel guilty though as I remember James Hird being given the same run as Judd now gets for a number of years.

I also liked how after palming McVeigh off in the face, the played took the ball out of bounds twice and kicked a goal. So much fail in the space of about 10 seconds.

Yep, so much fail. :thumbsu:

I was at the game and saw the replay about 2 or 3 times on the screen. It simply didn't look like any high contact at all. I haven't had the benefit of seeing it on TV so don't know if high contact was made so I have to rely on what others tell me for the time being. For what it is worth, we did get a good run with the umpires which surprised me as Margetts was umpiring. He usually crucifies us and he and his cohorts nearly pushed Freo over the line in a game they basically were never in.

I don't feel guilty though as I remember James Hird being given the same run as Judd now gets for a number of years.

might help if you open both eyes

I've noticed the disdain you guys have for him.

Isn't he a mad Eagles supporter?

I know his brother is a Bulldogs supporter..

I was there and no you didn't miss anything. Eagle supporters seemed to think Watson was staging. They watched the replay on the screen and then booed him off as he was helped from the ground. The nuffies per square metre at any eagles home game is one of the highest you'd see outside a Christian Democratic Party rally.

The umpiring was terrible and clearly favoured them. I think the differential was 8 their way in the end? Seeing Lynch get tackled twice and drop the ball two metres away from the umpire who called play on was the icing on the cake for me.

And the candle on the cake was the crusty old bastard who thought it was a great joke to tell me and my mate on top note that no Essendon supporters were allowed on the train we were trying to board after the match. Yeah that's hilarious pops. Just take your four points and shut the **** up.

Fantastic call, wish we had a player who could get 4 touches a game and kick 1 goal when the game is over, that was brilliant.

Robbed yesterday, that was disgraceful, disgraceful from the gentlemen in green.

I thought eagles probably got a SLIGHTLY better deal yesterday. The fact that you guys have 37 pages in a thread about umpires probably says more about essendon supporters than it does about umpiring.

Sorry couldn't hear you, stop booing before you speak in the future.

To be fair I reckon the standard of yesterdays umpiring was a bit better than most of the games I've seen this year. That's not really saying much coz I reckon the standard this year has been nothing short of abysmal.

The Hudson 50 last week, the Buddy 50 against the North guy were prime examples of why the umpiring fraternity is sick and in need of help.

The problem was we got dudded on about 6-7 calls which cost us goals.

On a side note, have never been to a game in WA, so don't have any prior thoughts about them, but from tv last night, I'm wondering if they are the biggest bunch of flogs ever. Apart from clearly having the rub of the umpires they were not just in disagreement with Watson getting a free kick for high contact, they seemed to be absolutely ropeable. :confused::confused:

Its because of the blatant bias shown to them by the umpires at Subiaco to the point where anything not in there favour they think the world is against them.

Going to be in for a rude reality check when they hit the MCG against 50k Pies fans and wonder what happened to there 5 goal umpire advantage.

But then again, given the arm chair ride they got down here against us maybe they are the charmed lot where ever they go.

Tossers.

It's not just the ones that get paid that are annoying, but the inconsistencies. The soft one against Reimers gets paid, but Kennedy gets away with one. The Hocking throw was another which you compare to just about every 'handball' NicNat has. It was lucky Crameri kicked that goal before halftime otherwise my remote would have made a b-line for the middle of my TV screen after he was held by Waters.

If the AFL is going to allow Nic Nat to throw the ball, should it be like rugby where he is only allowed to throw the ball backwards? :)

Roast Umpires