Unlocking locked threads.

• Thread starter Thread starter *PAF

*PAF

10k Posts Port Adelaide - Nathan Krakouer Player Sponsor 2015 Port Adelaide - Brendon Ah Chee Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Jarrad Redden Player Sponsor 2014 Port Adelaide - Matthew Broadbent Player Sponsor 2013 Port Adelaide - Foundation Sponsor Port Adelaide - Captains Club 2012 Sponsor Port Adelaide - John Butcher 2012 Player Sponsor
Port Adelaide
Pity that it cannot be done.
Now would be a good time to resurrect the Pickett = Cheat one.
It would be good to see how a few people felt now that the tribunal has been going for a couple of months. :rolleyes:

SBR_04 said:
How does the tribunal making a decision change what Pickett done?
Have you read the thread?

*PAF said:
Pity that it cannot be done.
Now would be a good time to resurrect the Pickett = Cheat one.
It would be good to see how a few people felt now that the tribunal has been going for a couple of months. :rolleyes:

pickett is still a dog, but so is miller, pretty simple. 4 wks for both is appropriate imo. Although i have no prob with pickett getting the extra 2 wks for his history of picking guys off.

*PAF said:
Have you read the thread?
Yes mate, i have read the thread... im saying that no matter what penalty that was dished out to Pickett... he's still a dirty player, as is Miller.

outback jack said:
pickett is still a dog, but so is miller, pretty simple. 4 wks for both is appropriate imo. Although i have no prob with pickett getting the extra 2 wks for his history of picking guys off.
Miller's record is alot worse than Pickett's.

outback jack said:
Don't know where you get the history bit from OJ. Pickett has never, I repeat NEVER, been suspended for a similar offence.

SBR_04 said:
So? Pickett is stil a dirty player, Millers record doesn't change anything.
WTF!!!!!!! Tribunal history doesn't change anything! Does Jonathan Brown know about this? I recon he might have a 'please explain' letter for the AFL.

What_the said:
WTF!!!!!!! Tribunal history doesn't change anything! Does Jonathan Brown know about this? I recon he might have a 'please explain' letter for the AFL.
I wasn't reffering to how many matches they get, i was saying that Pickett is dirty no matter what the Tribunal hands down compared to Miller.

*PAF said:
Don't know where you get the history bit from OJ. Pickett has never, I repeat NEVER, been suspended for a similar offence.

i realise this PAF and it was brought up by many at the time. It doesnt hide that fact that his hits werent in the spirit of the game, and hitting someone with their head over the ball was something he has done for yrs. Its only cause the rule was changed (which was done specifically because he was exploiting it) that he has lessened the cowardly acts. He should try and win the hard ball himself and this should be the goal of any footballer really, not sitting on the outside looking to line someone up. Miller appears to be doing the same thing so i have no respect for him either.

SBR_04 said:
I wasn't reffering to how many matches they get, i was saying that Pickett is dirty no matter what the Tribunal hands down compared to Miller.
You forgot to add the:
"So there! You lose I win. Na na na-na na." :rolleyes:

Paralowiepower said:
Miller's record is alot worse than Pickett's.

i am talking more from a moral ground where pickett has lined guys up in the past, which i consider as gutless, so he deserves the extra two weeks. I know from the tribunals point of view he has no record. Personally i reckon both offences are worth 4 wks, and from a tribunal point of view pickett gets no exta wks (due to his immaculate record ;) ) and miller gets and extra one cause he was stupid enough to keep doing it. Hopefully though someone lines both of them up before their careers are out, i’d hope u’d agree even being a power supporter. I was disappointed that no one decided to get into millers face from our team when it happened. I suppose we just dont have those kinds of players.

outback jack said:

You can call Pickett what you like. The reality is that he has been a hard hitting player for 10 years and only once been suspended. The very system that you are defending has deemed all his hits to be legal apart from the one on Begley. He got his punishment, he served it and now he's back.
Crows supporters are just emotional about it because it was one of their players, that's cool. I still and always will remember Bickleys hit on Wakelin.
Pickett deserving to be rubbed out isn't the issue. The issue being raised is that the AFL is not being consistent with it's punishments. Port thought his punishment was harsh and decisions that have been made since have proved them right.

SBR_04 said:
No i didn't... Troll :)
For a minute I thought you went back and edited it back in. :p
I even went back a page to check it. :D

outback jack said:
i am talking more from a moral ground where pickett has lined guys up in the past, which i consider as gutless, so he deserves the extra two weeks. I know from the tribunals point of view he has no record. Personally i reckon both offences are worth 4 wks, and from a tribunal point of view pickett gets no exta wks (due to his immaculate record ;) ) and miller gets and extra one cause he was stupid enough to keep doing it. Hopefully though someone lines both of them up before their careers are out, i’d hope u’d agree even being a power supporter. I was disappointed that no one decided to get into millers face from our team when it happened. I suppose we just dont have those kinds of players.
I will not debate the rules. That is not the point.
The point is that in the other thread there were people calling for Pickett to be hung, while others calling the penalty harsh but as long as from now on the tribunal was consistent, then so be it. There was no middle ground.
Pickett got sc***ed big time.

SBR_04 said:
Dirty player based on what? Thousands of hits that are deemed legal by the AFL or 1 that wasn't?

What_the said:
Dirty player based on what? Thousands of hits that are deemed legal by the AFL or 1 that wasn't?
That one and quite a few others... im not going into arguement's with you guys about this, because no matter what you Port supporters are blinded by your own thick minded selves. You can view Picketts brand of footy how ever you like but everyone has there own way of seeing it, Pickett head hunts in my mind... and by you boys is congratulated for it. I in no way want the sport of Aussie Rules footy to turn soft, but Picketts bumps etc.. which he has gotten away with in the past just stretch the "Rules" too far, and it was about time he was given the right penalty.

I am staying out of this thread and avoiding any "arguements", asthecrowsfly is my place and am not bothering with a paaah player in Pickett.

:)