Jobe3votes

Suspended
Liverpool & Melbourne Storm
Just wondering if anyone has ever thought about actually watching AFL and using some of the 1 liners the commentators and using them in the sim ?

or even ...

some reflection of special plays/goals (a couple of lines) like they do on Fox Footy ?

Just wondering if anyone has ever thought about actually watching AFL and using some of the 1 liners the commentators and using them in the sim ?

or even ...

some reflection of special plays/goals (a couple of lines) like they do on Fox Footy ?

Like this -

"Freakie, looking for options, sees Fred all alone. Spearing pass and Fred is away, he has a bounce, killer presents and takes the mark. Not much movement ahead but Kooka has found space, he takes the mark and gives the handball to Mobbenfuhrer, over the top to PTizzle, he goes long to the top of the square. REARDO FROM THE CLOUDS, that is the greatest mark I have ever seen, and if you care to notice, the Roys were attacking alphabetically. Super stuff from the boys from Brunswick Junction.":thumbsu:

Like this -

"Freakie, looking for options, sees Fred all alone. Spearing pass and Fred is away, he has a bounce, killer presents and takes the mark. Not much movement ahead but Kooka has found space, he takes the mark and gives the handball to Mobbenfuhrer, over the top to PTizzle, he goes long to the top of the square. REARDO FROM THE CLOUDS, that is the greatest mark I have ever seen, and if you care to notice, the Roys were attacking alphabetically. Super stuff from the boys from Brunswick Junction.":thumbsu:

pretty much yes. On Fox Footy they commentate over goal replays including a couple of lead up plays to the shot on goal.

Too hard basket I'd think in regards to every game and stuff, but I think for finals and SoO whoever sims that should incorporate that manually.
It is time consuming to add commentary manually, it takes me about an hour per game. I wouldn't want to be simmer for a whole season and have that expected of me. For practice games or shorter tournaments like pre-season and SoO though it would probably be workable.

I think if Mobbs had the time (or us) I reckon the actual in-sim commentary could end up fantastic. I mean, there's heaps and heaps of lines of commentary, I've looked through it myself, but some lines get churned out repeatedly and it looks a little bit weird sometimes.

If loopy can, though, I'd like to see him go more in-depth in the upcoming grand final than last season's one, where boncer chucked in one-liners every now and then. That would be great especially if he did it well.

Manual commentary is brilliant, but it's difficult.

Thing is, there is a lot of commentary per match. The number of individual comments available is already quite extensive, but because so much commentary happens, repetition continues to happen.

The stuff you're talking about is difficult, but adding additional commentary options is always there. "[player] from the clouds!" can be added, I just never thought of that one. Te sim allows for more commentary lines to be added to the repository. You can use the editor function, or just manually edit the files with notepad (slightly more risky but not much, just pay attention to what you're doing).

The are all essentially stand-alone. Closest to anything dynamic are [player with or winning possession] [opponent or player losing possession or intended recipient losing possession] and [number of goal player with posession has to date]. Things like whether a team is coming back, a player being hot or cold, are just not implemented, nothing that examines play to date is implemented (except for goals a player has kicked). I could add something that examines stats to date (eg [player] racks up disposal number [n]) but rating it eg [player] already has [n] disposals to his name or That's only [player]'s [n]th disposal to date are not yet possible, they'd require looking at the amount of time expired plus whether its a high possession game overall (ie: weather).

Stuff CAN be done, but it's HARD.

J3V, do you mean like this?:
Comm #1: What a fantastic end-to-end goal by the Dragons!
*Commercial starts*
Comm #2: Yes, that was incredible. Gibbsy did really well to compose himself and run almost half the ground, but that final pass to Andonis was beautiful because it cut through the whole defence of the Demons and there was no chance of catching up to Andonis there. Gibbsy is a definite star here and us and you guys on the couch are enjoying his class.
*Commercial is over*
The Centre Bounce is punched by Easty. Over to Gibbsy, and lines up from 55... OOOOHHH!! What?! It's in! What an amazing goal! This lead is getting bigger and bigger every minute!

Like that?

J3V, do you mean like this?:
Comm #1: What a fantastic end-to-end goal by the Dragons!
*Commercial starts*
Comm #2: Yes, that was incredible. Gibbsy did really well to compose himself and run almost half the ground, but that final pass to Andonis was beautiful because it cut through the whole defence of the Demons and there was no chance of catching up to Andonis there. Gibbsy is a definite star here and us and you guys on the couch are enjoying his class.
*Commercial is over*
The Centre Bounce is punched by Easty. Over to Gibbsy, and lines up from 55... OOOOHHH!! What?! It's in! What an amazing goal! This lead is getting bigger and bigger every minute!

Like that?

Just some personal touch, don't mean from every couple lines, I just mean a bit more which would constitute only a few extra lines each quarter to be manually added.

I guess it could be done just for the match of the round each week just like it's done for the Grand Final.

EG - What a smother by Easty after he totally miss-judged the ruck work in the middle of the ground. Some true inspiration there for his team mates.

And another example - Spike has it laced up for an easy chest mark in the pocket, he plays on and kicks a beautiful banana that would make Milne happy.

That's difficult because each individual action is separate, so you can't combine the two. Doing something like "Eth pushes forward and takes a strong grab, and he plays on and kicks truly." can't work, instead it would have to be "Eth pushes forward and takes a strong grab." and then "He plays on and kicks truly."

There is a lot of room for more lines to be added. Just need to be really creative with them.

Just some personal touch, don't mean from every couple lines, I just mean a bit more which would constitute only a few extra lines each quarter to be manually added.

I guess it could be done just for the match of the round each week just like it's done for the Grand Final.

EG - What a smother by Easty after he totally miss-judged the ruck work in the middle of the ground. Some true inspiration there for his team mates.

And another example - Spike has it laced up for an easy chest mark in the pocket, he plays on and kicks a beautiful banana that would make Milne happy.
Delicious has to be in there :D

After seeing the Demons vs Hawks practise match just before, I was thinking about other stats that could be incuded into the sim when it spits out the match results/stats after the game ...

What are peoples thoughts of including Clearences into the stats aswell? I mean include that along with the hitouts, free kicks for & against etc ... ?

Would it take much coding from Sir Mobbs ?

What are peoples thoughts of including Clearences into the stats aswell? I mean include that along with the hitouts, free kicks for & against etc ... ?

Would it take much coding from Sir Mobbs ?
Very difficult, I'm guessing, since there is no such thing as a clearance in qooty, just hitouts, handballs, kicks, etc.
Inside 50s and Rebound 50's might be a little easier, given its a count of how often the ball goes into certain zones on the ground, but wouldn't be all that informative, if I understand the way the game treats it.

Very difficult, I'm guessing, since there is no such thing as a clearance in qooty, just hitouts, handballs, kicks, etc.
Inside 50s and Rebound 50's might be a little easier, given its a count of how often the ball goes into certain zones on the ground, but wouldn't be all that informative, if I understand the way the game treats it.
Jobe does make a valid point though - a clearance can just be recorded as the first disposal (or first effective disposal, which I would think is possible).

If it can be implemented, I think it'd be pretty cool. All up to Mobbs, though...